• The Holy Donut - Park Ave

  • (30)
    34
    Loading...
  • Bakery Bakery
Bakery

Donut shops using Maine potato as an ingredient. Serves coffee and has vegan donut options. Open Mon-Thu 6:30am-4:00pm, Fri 7:30am-3:00pm, Sat 8:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for The Holy Donut - Park Ave
© OpenStreetMap contributors

30 Reviews

First Review by nafanc

LilMsVegan

Points +1985

Vegan
09 Dec 2023

Decadent!

Every time I come to Portland for work, my coworkers order the vegan doughnut options from Holy Donut for me

Always delicious! As far as vegan donuts go, they are 4 out of 5 stars, in NY we have Peaceful Provisions and no doughnut I have found stands up to them - Holy donut comes close though.

Advertisement

sam654321

Points +2672

Mostly Veg
02 Dec 2023

Yummmm

Today I got a Chai and
a lemon.
Both super yummy 😋 !!

SaraNorlin

Points +2869

Vegan
29 May 2023

Worth a visit, worth a lifetime

The best donuts in the world come from this place. The lemon donut is my favorite

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-29

Jazzman221

Points +96

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

Worth the 1/2 hr wintertime walk!

Delicious donuts — I loved the chai. And the number of vegan choices is at least on par with the non-vegan ones, hooray! Coffee was good quality too, with an interesting lavender syrup among the flavor shot options.

Pros: Numerous vegan donuts choices!, Basic interior design but homey, Friendly staff

Cons: Set up for takeout so limited seating

EmilyBisson

Points +44

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Vegan potato donuts!

We were looking for breakfast options and came across this place about a ten minute walk from our B&B. I’d never heard of or tried potato donuts before, but they were so good! Definitely a little heavier than standard donuts, but somehow a lighter dough flavor, and the frostings were all really distinct. They had a good amount of vegan options, and the vegan choices were clearly marked.

potatopancake

Points +1169

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Potato donuts! Who knew!

When I heard potato donut I was expecting them to be denser than dense but they were perfect, light, airy, and fluffy! We got three- the chocolate caramel coconut, lemon, and the third I can’t remember. So so good! The line was quite long so we ordered online and we’re able to skip the line.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-08

Pros: Fun flavors

trent

Points +26

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

Great vegan donuts

Great vegan donuts. They have expanded the vegan options over the years. But get there early or order ahead, otherwise you may be disappointed.

JenniferCerio

Points +68

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Delicious Vegan Donuts

We loved the vegan donuts and coffee! A must-try restaurant if you’re in Portland!

Pros: Multiple vegan options

Cons: Parking situation , No dining in (currently)

AnnieDalphin

Points +20

Vegan
21 Nov 2020

The long moves fast. I bring guests from away here for local coffee and donuts.

It’s cute, local and right next to Deering Oaks park.

Pros: A few different vegan donuts

hekatelaloba

Points +113

Vegan
10 Nov 2020

Pretty good.

I was REALLY excited to go here but I felt a little let down after all the hype. Coffee was ok. I guess I’ve been spoiled by Seattle and Portland’s vegan donuts.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

AjCapretta

Points +54

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

I am a fan

Doughnuts are definitely an item I miss from the old days...these vegan doughnuts hit the spot. I had 3!

Jsabins

Points +195

Vegan
02 Sep 2020

Lots of options

Lots of options for vegans! Their iced coffee also uses coffee ice cubes, which I love! Very tasty, the lemon donut was my favorite!

Pros: Lots of options

Raqi

Points +70

Vegan
29 Mar 2020

Great vegan options!

Delicious donuts! Offer lots of vegan options.

Pros: Great donuts

Cons: Long wait

mszmyt

Points +223

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Go nuts for vegan donuts

Expect to wait in line for these yummy treats! I had 6 vegan donuts to choose from. The cinnamon/sugar and the toasted coconut or my favorite!

HopefulForChange

Points +112

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

4 Vegan Donut Options + a 5th Vegan except for Honey

We tried all 4 vegan donuts and the donut with local honey that was otherwise vegan. Delicious all around!

Vegan_Bri

Points +76

Vegan
28 May 2019

Amazing Donuts!!

Definitely go here! Our group got one of each vegan option (Cinnamon Sugar, Vanilla, Lemon, Toasted Coconut, & Chocolate Striped Triple Berry) and shared them all. I'm not usually a lemon in sweets fan but the lemon was surprisingly my favorite - perfectly balanced sweet and tart. The simplicity of the cinnamon sugar & vanilla donuts was really lovely and tasty. I was expecting the toasted coconut to be my fav but it didn't really hit the spot.

Pros: Vegan options, Friendly staff, Delicious

LukeHayward

Points +85

Mostly Veg
12 Feb 2019

The vegan donuts are awesome

I had the pomegranate and coconut vegan donut and they were both very very good. Highly recommend

Pros: vegan donuts

Ksis

Points +1046

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Yes yes yes yes

I wanna cry these donuts are so delish. Cinnamon sugar is the bomb but they have a few other vegan flavors that I’m sure, if I ever branch out, are incredible. If you’re in Portland, don’t pass this up! It’s worth getting up for.😄(Not necessarily 6:30a, we got here around 8:45a on a Thursday and still plenty of options)

dlachica

Points +2441

Vegan
29 Aug 2018

Yummy!

It’s not often we find vegan donuts and when we do, they are ok. These were fantastic. The day we went there were four options- cinnamon sugar, coconut, lemon and pomegranate. We bought and ate them all in one day. Will go back again before we leave!

Pros: More than two vegan options, Interesting flavors, Feeling like a local

PeterNM

Points +184

Vegan
01 Aug 2018

Full vegan coffee & donut experience!

I’ve been coming here regularly for years when I come to Portland for work. During normal donut/breakfast time (early to mid morning) they normally have about 4-5 different vegan donuts labeled with “v.” They’re potato donuts so they’re a little more filling than flour donuts. Super delicious and they have lots of interesting flavors to try. It looks like they’ve recently upgraded their coffee options, as I saw today people ordering espresso and cappuccino at a new counter I hadn’t seen before. The coffee is self serve, and the soy milk is out alongside the non-vegan cream options, and there’s no extra “vegan surcharge” for soy milk!! :). They also have almond milk behind the counter if you ask for it, also no surcharge. They have self-serve agave for your coffee too.

Pros: Many vegan options, though come early!, No vegan surcharge for basic coffee fixings

Cons: Not tons of seating; more than downtown location., Donuts sometimes run out.

JaimieBernstein

Points +190

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

don't be confused

We were nervous as we walked in and stepped into the long line that blocked the door. We could see all of the gluten free options and the option to add bacon and cheese to donuts for a fee but we did not see anything on the menu of website that gave a clue that there were vegan donuts. As we got closer, we saw a tiny (v) next to the flavors labeled on the donut shelf indicating which ones were vegan. We got one of each. Cinnamon and Sugar, pomegranate, berry and lemon. All were delicious!

Pros: fresh vegan donuts are not easy to come by

Cons: meat is actually served here , not clearly marked

LadySnowIva

Points +156

Vegan
12 Oct 2017

Thr Holiest of Donuts

The donuts are always out of this world delicious. Unfortunately, If you do not live in the area you will probably not be so lucky. They make their donuts fresh every day and only so many to keep things fresh. You will not get days old donuts when you go there. If your in town and it's before 2pm you might be in luck. Well worth my 45 minute drive if I can get there before 2pm

Pros: amazing donuts

Cons: not a lot of seating, runs out of donuts really qu

JamieElder

Points +76

Vegan
16 Jun 2017

vegan options!

Great donuts and nice vegan selection but they sell out quick so get there early!!

Pros: variety , nice atmosphere

Cons: they sell out fast!

Bgeezy

Points +744

Vegetarian
29 Apr 2017

My Tum Says Yum

I got a vegan cinnamon sugar donut and got there around 12pm and had no problems with a long line. The only two options they had that were vegan were the cinnamon sugar and coconut. Super quick service, kind staff. The donut was so delicious. Best donut I've ever had even before I became vegan. Only thing I didn't like is how hard parking was to find, but that's a thing you'll come across anywhere in downtown Portland.



Updated from previous review on 2017-04-29

Pros: Quick Service, Delicious and unique recipe

Cons: Parking

MaddyR

Points +178

Vegan
22 Mar 2017

fantastic potato donuts!!

Ordered a vegan coconut donut and it was amazing!! Very fluffy, moist, and flavorful.

Pros: quality ingredients & great taste, friendly service, community service advocates

Cons: a little spendy , wish there was a sugar free option

colonelforbin

Points +65

Vegan
04 Jan 2017

the best vegan donut

SO. DAMN. GOOD. Their Park St location and Old Port location offer different flavors which is cool and they often switch up a vegan flavor. They always offer cinnamon sugar and berry glaze but the third flavor is anything from chocolate cannoli to mojito.

Pros: DELICIOUS, speedy service, inexpensive

elMB

Points +20

Vegan
21 Oct 2016

The best donut I've ever had

These donuts show up on any "must do/see/eat" list for Portland, ME and for good reason. These donuts are phenomenal! Many flavors, but they do sell out quick. Get there early! There is another location on Exchange St.

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing




This page has been viewed 6373 times.