Terre a Terre

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 61 reviews )
Contact
+44-1273729051
Find

71 East St, Brighton, England, BN1 1HQ

Contemporary vegetarian food cuisine incorporating multi-ethnic tastes and cooking techniques. A la carte menu, children's menu, afternoon teas, organic wine, sweets. Also sells cookbook and some produce. Reservations necessary on weekends. Open Tue-Fri 12:00pm-10:30pm, Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Beer/Wine, Take-out, British, Catering, European

61 Reviews

First Review by Stevie

A great night out - Edit

We had dinner at Terre a Terre a few nights ago and were very happy with the whole evening of food, wine and service. Although we had booked for 7:00pm, when we arrived the restaurant looked empty from the street until we were asked if we wanted to sit in the front or back. When we looked at the back section it was already actually quite busy. I suggested to the waiter that they put a few people in the front as passing diners are often reluctant to go into empty restaurants. He agreed but said the back room was just the most requested area of the restaurant. We chose to sit in the window which was fine by us as it was a lot quieter and we got to people-watch over dinner. Would definitely return to try new dishes from the menu. A great night out in Brighton.

Pros: Great food, Great service

Cons: Not fully vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Super restaurant - Edit

Visited here for the first time in years - the food is still excellent, imaginative and can't be beaten, so no complaints there. The prices have shot up and it wasn't as busy as it always used to be, possibly due to price increases and their policy of welcoming small children and babies in all areas. Unfortunately all the screaming kids running around combined with the wooden flooring made for an extremely noisy and stressful experience. Don't mind the noise so much in a cheap place but when you are paying £80+ for a lunch for two you would prefer a more relaxing atmosphere. Please could we have a child-free area?????

Pros: Fantastic food, Great organic and local wine menu, Vegetarian kitchen

Cons: Noisy children everywhere, Very expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

THE BEST FOOD EXPERIENCE AROUND - including meat restaurants!! - Edit

EVERY SINGLE BITE IS EYE ROLLING ECSTASY. This is Michelin starred gourmet heaven, for vegetarians or meat eaters; everyone.

Pros: staggering food experience

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Hileydangerous">Hileydangerous</a> <br/>Sorry but this is half eaten. We couldn’t wait <br/> September 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/307765'>Report</a>

Sorry but this is half eaten. We couldn’t wait

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Hileydangerous">Hileydangerous</a> <br/>Speechless. Every bite is ecstasy  <br/> September 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/307764'>Report</a>

Speechless. Every bite is ecstasy

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Hileydangerous">Hileydangerous</a> <br/>Shockingly delicious <br/> September 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/307763'>Report</a>

Shockingly delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice - Edit

Was looking forward to go hear for a long time. It was great ! A Little bit more expensive then other vegan places, but it's worth every penny!
Definitely will return!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Beautiful - Edit

Lovely restaurant with a bit more luxureous feel to it than the average veggie place.
They have a menu that reflects the name, and they do it in style.
We had the KFC, Korean style fried cauliflower. A starter presented beautifully with lots of different textures, tastes and colours, great!
Our main, the quirky named Sneeky Peeking Steamers, was fabulous as well, 2 layers of steam basket filled with light,soft rice cakes stuffed with Szechuan tofu and ginger bok choi, accompanied by a small plate of pickled watermelon, cucumber and daikon, creamy miso dip, and some homemade kimchi.
This restaurant is a bit more expensive, but worth every penny of it, from the patient and friendly staff to the food and the drink selection. Nice.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

perfect - Edit

Well worth the price, absolutely fantastic food, service was faultless, friendly staff. Best meal I've had in a very long time

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/HannahToplis">HannahToplis</a> <br/>Strawberry sorbet  <br/> July 10, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/278606'>Report</a>

Strawberry sorbet

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/HannahToplis">HannahToplis</a> <br/>KFC <br/> July 10, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/278605'>Report</a>

KFC

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Spectacular - Edit

Absolutely incredible food, beautifully presented and served by lovely staff. Our meals were like nothing we'd had before and were truly delicious.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth a visit - Edit

I couldn't understand what all of the food was. That's not to say it wasn't delicious: I mean that it was educational at the same time! Unpretentious staff.

Pros: Tried new things to eat, Unpretentious staff

Cons: A bit pricey, but not ridiculously so

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Interesting food - Edit

My favourite restaurant in Brighton. Weird and wonderful dishes creatively presented. Staff very helpful but could be more knowledgeable about allergies. Service can be slow, although that doesn’t bother me as it’s such a relaxing place to sit around and chat to friends or just enjoy the atmosphere and savour all the wonderful flavours.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Unbelievably delicious - Edit

I cannot fault this place. Me and my girlfriend visited Terre a Terre for our anniversary, and what a perfect choice it was. The food, the staff, the atmosphere, everything was faultless. Everything about the food was just a pleasure to the senses, the look, the smell, the taste, the textures, everything. We were served by an amazing gentleman called Dirk, he was so attentive, we ordered based on his recommendations (which were a fantastic choices), he knew the menu like the back of his hand, he was so warm and friendly, he is a credit to the restaurant. More than happy to pay more for such high quality food and service. Can't wait to come back

Pros: Food, Location, Staff, Atmosphere,

Cons: None

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Natures_Kid">Natures_Kid</a> <br/>awaken your senses  <br/> October 5, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/179799'>Report</a>

awaken your senses

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Natures_Kid">Natures_Kid</a> <br/>amazing  <br/> September 29, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/178582'>Report</a>

amazing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointed - Edit

Wayyy over priced for 2 ice berg lettuce leaves with mostly what I can only describe as Mayo thrown in. Teensiest bit of whatever the food was meant to be in there. Service not very friendly, said thanks on the way out and didn't even get a response back. Not relaxed atmosphere (I was eating alone) and the food took about twenty minutes, even though it was a cold, tiny dish. If you want good quality, reasonably priced tapas you should go to root candi

Pros: liked the look of the menu

Cons: small portions, not great quality , over priced , unfriendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not too much vegan choice but superb food - Edit

Going there for the second time we already had to repeat some courses because most dishes are not vegan, BUT: what you get is amazing!
Very friendly and totally professional staff, nice elegant atmosphere.
Tip: Get the mixed starter plate and the vegan churros!

Pros: Fantastic food, Friendly

Cons: Comes at a high price (but worth it)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

TERRE-IFIC! - Edit

My wife and I visited Terra a Terra over Easter and were treated to a fantastic fine dining vegan experience. The food was delicious and visually stunning. We ordered the Bangkok broken balls to start, which were coconut Thai rice balls served with peanuts and a lovely dressing, followed by the big bamboo steam dreamer, which we made vegan and the KFC to share. The steam dreamer and KFC (Korean Fried Cauliflower) were delicious in particular. To end we got the rice cream, which was again lovely but a little too sharp for my wife. The presentation of all the dishes was beautiful and the the staff were very helpful and attentive to your needs. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and cannot wait to go back.

Pros: Fantastic food & presentation, Fine Dining Experience, Great Staff

Cons: Quite expensive but well worth it!

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>Vegan Rice Cream pudding

Warm cream coconut cinnamon toasted rice pudding with star anise and tamarind molasses caramel Pineapple, limes and green apple with sweet Sichuan miso coconut yogurt ice sorbet <br/> May 16, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/149290'>Report</a>

Vegan Rice Cream pudding Warm cream coconut cin...

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>KFC (vegan)

*You gotta order these* <br/> May 16, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/149286'>Report</a>

KFC (vegan) *You gotta order these*

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>Steam Dreamer (vegan) <br/> May 16, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/149285'>Report</a>

Steam Dreamer (vegan)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Exquisite - Edit

My wife and I visited Terra a Terra for dinner recently whilst on a weekend away. We had heard good reports and were not disappointed. The food was amazing, it was imaginative, beautifully presented and wonderfully delicious. The staff were lovely, helpful and attentive. We enjoyed the experience so much we returned the following afternoon for the vegan afternoon tea which was equally as fantastic. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough

Pros: Exquisite food, Afternoon tea, excellent staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Quality - Edit

The tapas contained a great variety of vegetarian dishes. Good service.

Pros: vegan options, quality foods

Cons: expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

gormet vegan - Edit

I had the tapas and it was beautifully presented and delicious! The staff recommended a KFC starter that was also great and the staff were so knowledgeable and happy to help. My boyfriend had the gnocchi which was also really delicious!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the best meals I've ever had - Edit

I would visit Brighton just to eat here - food was amazing. Service is also excellent. I wish they would open in London! The only thing I would say is that the churros are regular donuts, not Spanish donuts. But definitely worth ordering!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good for a fancy special dinner - Edit

loved everything here. Best gnocchi I've ever had. the tofu skewer was also really good. Just try everything and save room for dessert.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great ! - Edit

I went there during a trip in Brighton. The staff was so nice with us and very helpful. The food was teasting great, but the best was the desserts ! The bad point goes too the price : it's a bit expensive !

Pros: Dessert, Staff

Cons: Expensive

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Shalyaesishua">Shalyaesishua</a> <br/>Ahh the best dessert in the world ... ! <br/> January 27, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/133924'>Report</a>

Ahh the best dessert in the world ... !

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/Shalyaesishua">Shalyaesishua</a> <br/>Yum ! <br/> January 27, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/133923'>Report</a>

Yum !

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful! - Edit

We had not been here in a couple of years, but the food seems to be much better than I remembered. It was always good, but now it seems to be at a whole new level. Lovely flavor combinations, and beautifully presented. Definitely worth the trip to Brighton.

Pros: Delicious food, Interesting cocktails, Churros!!

Cons: Far from London

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dishes that are out of this world! - Edit

Amazing vegetarian and vegan food! A delight for all your senses! Also beautiful dining room and goodies to purchase!

Pros: amazing presentation, friendly service, great atmosphere

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/burgerabroad">burgerabroad</a> <br/>green beans! <br/> October 5, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/120316'>Report</a>

green beans!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The fanciest vegan food - Edit

Terre a terre is the most upmarket meat-free restaurant I've been to, with a fitting price tag, and it provides the finest vegan food I've had. It's perfect for a special occasion. For a starter you really can't do much better than the sharing platter which incorporates little morsels from all around the menu. There are so many beautiful tastes, it just fills you with excitement about the meal to come. The mains were great too, and they were the perfect size and pacing for a three course meal. For dessert the churros are incredible, especially the salted caramel dip. The staff are friendly without being obtrusive, and the place itself is smart-casual. A wonderful dining experience.

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/jennyc32">jennyc32</a> <br/>Vegan afternoon tea <br/> April 28, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/100544'>Report</a>

Vegan afternoon tea

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

well presented but bland... - Edit

Lovely looking upmarket restaurant, food was very well presented and there were lots of vegan choices on the menu. I was underwhelmed by all three vegan courses on the set menu. Descriptions on the menu suggest a mix of many different flavours but I found all three courses rather bland. My partner ate vegetarian dishes and was happy, so perhaps this just applies to the vegan dishes. Disappointing, particularly as it was more expensive than most places in Brighton.

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/VeganDakini">VeganDakini</a> <br/>Churros and blackberry tart <br/> October 26, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/83924'>Report</a>

Churros and blackberry tart

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So good! Perfect for a special occasion. - Edit

Have eaten here for my birthday this year and last, and not even been in Brighton in between, but when me and my partner walked through the door, the waiter actually recognised my face, and remembered that I was vegan! Whaaat! Unless he's just super cheeky and made a lucky guess :)I mean I recognised him too, but presumably he sees a couple of hundred new faces every week working there! When I mentioned that I was returning for a birthday dinner since I loved it so much last year, he must have tipped off the pastry chefs, because my Churros (god I love those churros) arrived with a 'happy birthday' piped onto the plate in melted chocolate, and a candle! Brought a tear to my eye, so nice!

The food as always was gorgeous, I'm glad we went for Terre a Tapas for our starter, it may seem expensive at £20 (it serves two) but it's actually HUGE and contained some incredible stuff, including a butterbean 'cassoulet', which was dusted with something incredibly smoky and yummy...I was swooning.

Well done Terre a Terre!

Also. Cocktails. Get them. You will not be sorry, I've tried most of them by now and they're all fabulous.

Pros: Service, Cocktails, Creative menu

Cons: Could have more vegan options ;)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A must if you're in Brighton - Edit

I'm vegan and my partner eats meat but we both agree this is our favourite restaurant of all time. If I want to impress people I always bring them to this place; about a year ago we bought a couple of our friends here from France, when it comes to food and wine they have very high standards. They loved both the food AND the wine at Terre a Terre and still talk about it to this day! It's pricey, but if you're travelling by train it's included in the Southern Rail 2 for 1 offer booklet.

Pros: Extensive and creative menu, Helpful and knowledgeable staff, Totally unique

Cons: Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Still the best. - Edit

Been coming here for years, they constantly innovate creating the best fresh menus for veggies & vegans alike. Puds are worth a visit alone.

Pros: Great service, Good for vegans, Best puds around.

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best Yet - Edit

I am a vegan, here with a couple of omni. friends. they thoroughly enjoyed it and there were enough stimulating vegan options on the menu for me. Worth a special visit to Brighton

Pros: Quality, Service, Friendly

Cons: Price

Photo of Terre a Terre  by <a href="/members/profile/jgbillingham">jgbillingham</a> <br/>Aubergine Dengaku <br/> January 18, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/625/313303'>Report</a>

Aubergine Dengaku

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Brighton Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Terre a Terre closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8269 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support