V Secret Street Food - maybe closed

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 15 reviews )
Contact
+66-873120570
Find

Ploen Ruedee Night Market, Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50000

Makes vegan recipes served on wooden tray with banana leave: tofu curry, laab, sweet potato, soups, tea leaf salad, butterfly pea infusion. At front of the kids'playground, since 2017. NOTE: maybe closed/shut down - please verify and let HappyCow know. Open Mon-Sat 6:00pm-11:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Thai, Fast food, Take-out, Gluten-free

15 Reviews

First Review by Vsecretchiangmai

delicious and you’ll leave full! - Edit

Delicious! You can select 2-4 items so you can try multiple things!!! I recommend the tea leaf salad, red tempeh curry, and any of the fritters!!! Soooo gooodd!!!

Owner is soooo sweet

Cons: slow

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 14 Apr 2018 - :) thank you so much Justin ...  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

still open - Edit

ate there two nights ago had 4 dishes, the Tempe red curry was excellent, tea leaf salad and pumpkin were good, streamed banana flower mushroom and spinach didn't really work just a mush.

Pros: quite cheap 4 options for 150 baht

Cons: not a huge menu

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 14 Apr 2018 - thanks... we try to change menu a bit every day, so the selection is limited... but always fresh...  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely ladies with delicious food - Edit

Love the setup there, you choose 3-4dishes out of an array of dishes - everything I tried was super flavorful and well presented on banana- or on cabbage leaves: not the biggest portions, but I felt very satisfied mindfully enjoying all the flavors and eating superslow haha

You get a free iced tea(?) and rice chips with the food - loved it!

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 14 Apr 2018 - Thanks Annprie
I am happy to know you enjoy what we prepare... t motivates us to continue and create more new flavours  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Kleiner netter Stand - Edit

Kleiner netter Stand auf dem Gelände des International Food Markets. Wir haben ihn gegenüber eines Spielplatzes gefunden. Die Köchin war super nett. Wir hatten Chiang Mai Sausage, Gyoza und Samusa. Preis mit 130Baht hat gepasst. Leider war es mehr ein snack als eine Mahlzeit. Trotzdem top und gerne wieder. :)

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 04 Mar 2018 - Thanks for the visit :)
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Parfait ! - Edit

Tout est bon à ce petit stand.

Pros: Tout est vegan

Cons: Rien

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 26 Feb 2018 - merci bien :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan food cart - Edit

V Secret is located at the back of the International Food Market off Chang Klan Road (Night Bazzar road) and next to the entrance from Thapae Road Soi 1 ... it's a small wooden food cart with the oval "V Secret" sign on the top of the food cart ... I went with a Thai omni friend who really enjoyed the food ... we ordered the 3 items option ฿150 (Chiang Mai sausage, fresh spring rolls and croquettes) ... the food presentation was excellent and both the quality and quanity of the food was very good ... very nice and friendly staff ... if you're vego and you're at the Night Bazaar it's well worth a visit and you will not be disappointed with the food

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 26 Feb 2018 - Thank you for your nice comment Mike
we are glad our little secret place
Wah  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty But Takes Awhile - Edit

This little food stand is in the back right corner of the market. Good selection of food to choose from such as curries, salads and fried stuff. It’s a bit pricey (100-200baht) for smallish portions, but the food isn’t lacking flavor and I love how everything was served in lettuce cups and banana leaves.

I tried the tempeh spinach curry which was tasty, although I couldn’t distinguish what kind of curry it was as it was lacking sauce. I also tried the tea leaf salad which had great flavor, but I wished there were more cabbage and veggies instead of broad beans, peanuts and friend mung beans.

My food took 15-20minutes, wasn’t expecting it’d take that long since it was a food cart.

The ambience was loud and lively.

Pros: tasty vegan food in a sea of meat heavy food carts

Cons: long wait for food

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 26 Feb 2018 - Thanks Amanda, sorry it takes a bit of time as we prepare everything fresh, in front of you...
we try to deliver quality...
hope you will come again

Wah  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice vegan food in the heart of touristic night market - Edit

Placed at the end of a food court/night market don't let its discrete presence fool you. The menu is very much straightforward and for 100Baht you can have a good vegan meal while enjoying the music and activities in the background. I had the crispy mushroom salad which was spicy but tasty, and the delicious tempeh with spinach curry. All served in cabbage leafs on top of a big banana leaf with two wooden sticks. Enjoyed the experience and will go back.

Pros: On a nice night market area, Easy costs calculation, Good food

Cons: Stall in a market, so not quite, Small portions

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 30 Jan 2018 - Thank you for your visit and review Mustarda  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing!! - Edit

Delicious!!
Very nice owner.
Fresh and quality products

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 07 Jan 2018 - :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food! Interesting Place - Edit

I love this little place! There are a few different things to choose from which I believe change every day. Different prices for 1, 2, 3 or 4 dishes. The dishes are quite small so you should get a set. Prices are very cheap, only 130 BAHT for three dishes (these filled me up.)
I love the way they serve the food inside the food. Yes my meals were served with cabbage leaves as the plate. Splendid idea - no wasted packaging or anything.
It's just a cart though so you have to sit outside and eat in the shared area which is fine but the market is busy so you're right on top of all the neighbouring bars, etc.
If this is an issue for you, just take home.
The dishes taste really good and are uniquely created. It makes a nice change from all the usual stuff.
Great place. I think this place is quite new and I really hope it survives - it certainly deserves to!

Pros: Interesting Dishes, Cheap, All vegan

Cons: In a busy market

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 07 Jan 2018 - Thank you so much LilacHippy.
Yes we just opened 2 weeks ago, we cook everything fresh everyday and it changes with what we get from the market.
we are so happy you like it. We do not use any disposable paper plate or plastic... we use what nature gives us.
Hope to see you again at the market  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So good - authentic local food - Edit

I love the food here! Different everyday, vegetariand and vegan, and always filled with local ingredients and lots of flavor. Unlike most of the other veggie restaurants in town that offer a mix of Thai and Western (or just Western) dishes, the dishes here all inspired by Thai, Myanmar and Laotian home cooking.

It's also cheaper than most of the other vegetarian places in town for what you get - about $5 for a set menu of several dishes, rice, etc. instead of that same amount for one dish.

Pros: Good value, Fresh and different

Cons: 1-2 set menus everyday - no a la carte - but good

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 07 Jan 2018 - Thank alanamo for your nice comment.
We hope to see you again soon :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegetarian - Edit

Love the food. Nice presentation. Different test. LOVE LOVE

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food - Edit

The food is so delicious, i like this place, so cute and interesting, and the seller very nice and patience

Pros: This place so clean and interesting, The food is so delicious, The seller kind and polite

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 03 Jan 2018 - Thank you YusTiraSinaga, we are glad to now you enjoyed the dinner last night.
We hope you have time to come again during your holiday in Chiang Mai  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Happy Surprise - Edit

Wow! I wasn't expecting a gourmet vegan meal at a night market (a slightly upscale night market). There's a list of about ten dishes. You can pick 3 for 120 baht. Takes about ten minutes. Served on wooden tray, banana leaf, and absolutely beautiful presentation. It's clearly marked V Secret at the back right corner of the food court. Food court has nice ambiance. I had pumpkin tofu curry, fresh spring rolls, and tofu fritters. Each dish was excellent. Nice place!

Pros: gourmet quality food, beautiful presentation, fun atmosphere at the night market

1 Response
Read More

Vsecretchiangmai 30 Dec 2017 - Thank you for your nice comments Bob.
VSecret is just newly open (2 weeks) and we try to be original and cook with heart
:)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Homemade Vegetarian food in Chiang Mai - Edit

V Secret is a vegetarian new outlet in Chiang Mai, at the night market. Everyday new dishes created based on the fresh ingredients found at the market or local suppliers, mood of the day and inspiration of the moment,
Rather that having the same everyday, we prefer to create.
Food is served as "combo" of 3 or 4 items for you to choose

Pros: Creative, Tasty, new everyday

Cons: Hidden in the night market, still new on the market

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has V Secret Street Food - maybe closed closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 625 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support