Romeow Cat Bistrot

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 40 reviews )
Contact
06-57289203
Find

Via Francesco Negri, 15, Rome, Italy, 00154

Opened late-2014 this bistro serves vegan and raw-vegan dishes (from 8pm) inspired by local and international cuisines. Diners eat in the company of six cats who wander around the tables. Cozy atmosphere. Reservations are required for dinner, usually 5+ days in advance. Open Wed-Sun 11:00am-11:30pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Italian, Raw, Fusion

40 Reviews

First Review by MauradelGusto

Overpriced - Edit

Cute Cats, cozy atmosphere ...
The food is okay (I had a chocolat Muffin and a hot chocolate), but simply overprized. It didn't taste bad, it just wasn't worth the money ...
One tea (!) costs 5,50€. The muffin was 4€, and it wasn't that great or just big.
Would be a great place if it wasn't that pricy.

Pros: atmosphere, cats

Cons: pricy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Heaven - Edit

We walked all over rome to get there. Discovered later the metro is 2 euro and the metro station is just next to them...
The food is gourmet and organic, as far as I recall. Really good. If you want to explore something new that you haven't seen before, if you want something different from the usual vegan options this place will leave you pampered.
It is the place to go for a romantic date or a relaxed evening. Very high quality dishes. Costs like any normal restaurant in rome, but you get organic, really good dishes.

Was our favorite place for our vacation.

And, of course, caaaaats! They are well looked for, have their own little private area if they don't feel social and want privacy, and have lots of private spots to play undisturbed. They definitely look after them wonderfully.

Pros: Great organic food, Interesting combinations of flavours, Cats

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Catastic! - Edit

Really nice place! The staff was nice, the food delicious! Although the location is far from center.

Pros: delicious food

Cons: expensive, bad location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Expensive Gourmet Vegan Food in Cute Location - Edit

This is a cat cafe which is cute and special. The decor was very nice and staff was friendly. The menu is limited and all gourmet vegan food if you're into that. The portions are pretty small and each plate is around €13. For an appetizer and two plates you will pay around €45 or €50.

Pros: nice atmosphere, cat cafe

Cons: expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the loveliest places in Rome - Edit

We loved everything about this place: the sandwiches, the cakes(the kitchen wasn't open, but they did offer these options), the cats most of all, the staff, the place and how it was designed for cats. I recommend it to any cat lover!

Pros: Cats, good food, nice staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointment - Edit

We planned to eat dinner there but after our arrival (around 6 pm) we found out kitchen is opening at 8 pm. We decided to stay for some drink before leaving for another place to eat at. After seeing the prices, which are quite high, we agreed on sharing one drink. Therefore it was quite unpleasant when we were told we have to order for each person. So we did order hot chocolate and hazelnut chocolate - what a disappointment when both tasted just the same (plus too sweet), and one had 5 hazelnuts next to it. We felt it as a waste of money and regretted coming there.

Updated from previous review on 2017-12-29

Pros: Nicely furnished

Cons: Too expensive, Bad attitude, We didn't feel welcomed

2 Responses
Read More

CorkVegans 23 Mar 2018 - Opening the kitchen at 8 is very common in Italy. We italians open later and close wayyy later than abroad. The entrées are pricey but I can ensure the quality is insane. They have crazy good ingredients and it's all very fine cuisine. Like that very elegant kind of cuisine you never see anywhere. Really a jewel. It's a place you go to for an awesome treat or a romantic date.

We had similar experience in the sense that we booked for 8, arrived 10 minutes earlier and we had to wait outside. I think they need to be sure the place is super clean because of the cats, so they really take care of it thoroughly.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

laty 27 Mar 2018 - I can understand the opening hours, even that the kitchen is opening later. But what we did not like was the quality vs price vs attitude. As I wrote in my review we ordered 2 types of hot chocolates but the taste was identical. I could not find anything elegant nor inique about the taste / staff / quality.

If you had a better experience than us, good gor you. For ourselfs, we visited many better places thus we can not recomend this one.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious combination - Edit

When my Italian friend announced he was taking us to a cat bistro I was already the happiest person, then I discovered the full menu was vegan I became very excited! The place is beautiful with lovely hosts, the food is delicious with so many options from more obvious to more surprising options! I will return when I'm in Rome.

Pros: Food diversity, Cats!, Friendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Cat's Meow! - Edit

This place really is the cat's meow!
The service is friendly, the cats are adorable, and the food is absolutely amazing!
My husband and I stopped for lunch. He had the ravioli with hazelnuts and pesto and I had the rosemary tempeh. Both dishes were absolutely delicious!
The atmosphere is warm and cozy. While we were having our main course, it started to rain. We opted to have dessert and a cappuccino. Dessert was also wonderful.
Romeow is close to the Piramide metro stop and definitely worth a visit when in Rome!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

MEAOWTASTIC - Edit

This parisian-looking bistro is my favorite place to eat in the whole wide world. The menù always changes so that it's not monotonous, and the dishes are gourmet (raw options included)! The prices and the service are also outstanding... just know that if you get up you might lose your chair to one of the furry owners 😉🐱

Pros: fancy but not too expensive , great food,including raw cakes!!!, great service and company 🐱

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

purrfect place for vegan cat lovers - Edit

Great healthy, well-presented food in lovely spacious, relaxed atmosphere. They had 6 cats in July 2017 and they had play areas but don't worry in case you're allergic/not a cat fan, they are very well-behaved.

Pros: CATS!! , Lovely food and strong cocktails, Friendly, quiet place

Cons: out of centre area but easy to get by metro/train

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the best restaurants in Rome - Edit

Romeow is one of my favourite restaurants in Rome. The place is really stylish and there are climbing trees and paths where the cats can play or find a place to sleep. The cats are very friendly and it is great to watch them play. The food is amazing. They change menu quite often and every time I went there I found mouthwatering options. The desserts are amazing too. It is a bit more pricey than other restaurants in Rome, but considering the quality of the food, the fact that they use also ingredients that are not easy to find in Italy and that they have six cats to take care of, I really think that the prices are quite reasonable. Book well in advance because the restaurant is not very big and it is always fully booked.

Updated from previous review on 2016-07-26

Pros: delicious food, cats, cats cats, nice vibe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

The aesthetic of the restaurant is so lovely. The cats were adorable and fun to play with. The food was INCREDIBLE, unlike anything I had ever eaten before. Even my non-vegan brother was amazed by this food. I wish there were a Romeow closer to home!

Pros: Aesthetically pleasing, Unbelievably flavorful and beautiful food, Lovely cats

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

seriously beautiful food! - Edit

Visiting Romeow was one of the highlights of our visit to Roma. The bistro was clean and full of interesting things to look at including local art and lots of places for the resident cats to hang out. The food was really very special...we ordered a starter, main, dessert and drinks and it was all to die for! The manager and waitress were lovely too and it's great to see the welfare of the cats being put first. I saw the manager reminding a couple of the customers of the rules surrounding the cats (eg. If they are sleeping, let them be!) . It was a joy to watch the cats do their thing...be it sleeping, climbing their indoor tree or hanging out on the wall high up in a box :) Well worth the visit!

Pros: Exceptional food , Cats! , Lots of gluten free options

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

absolutely delicious cakes!!! - Edit

The bistrot has a lovely relaxed calm atmosphere and is beautifully laid out! We tried the chocolate mousse cake (unbelievably good!!! Topped with salted hazelnuts that gave it a perfect edge!), the berry cheesecake (which my usually cheesecake hating sister adored; it's very light but retains delicious taste) and the raw cake of the day which was a blueberry cake that was beautifully marbled. We parked it with a strawberry lime and ginger juice and everything tasted sensational. Didn't have any lunch because we were short on cash but the food looked delicious! However if you're looking for lots and lots of cats you may be disappointed; there were only a couple when we were there. I guess you could say it's more of a cafe with cats rather than cats with a cafe! Also the food came to about 30€ which is pretty pricey.

Pros: excellent food (!!!), lovely tranquil atmosphere

Cons: very pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

IL MIGLIORE! - Edit

È in assoluto il mio posto preferito! Locale particolare, gatti meravigliosi e per niente invadenti, il personale è sempre molto disponibile. La cucina non delude mai e i dolci soprattutto sono i migliori che abbia mai mangiato!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

paradiso per gatti e per vegani - Edit

Locale molto bello, padroni di casa umani e animali gentili e accoglienti, cibo molto buono che strizza l'occhio alla corrente vegan/orientale,dunque sapori particolari e tutti da scoprire. La white cake e la torta crudista ai lamponi sono qualcosa di paradisiaco.

Pros: dolci fantastici

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Elegant! - Edit

What a sweet restaurant! The menu is sophisticated and the setting is elegant. Their resident cats are very friendly but you have to go looking for them, they did not roam around the restaurant as we would have imagined. While the quality of the food was excellent, the portions were small and the prices were a little high. I would recommend this restaurant only as a special night out and not for a family dining experience.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cats to attract customers - Edit

Most of people eat here because "it is the place with the cats walking around". this means to me an explotation of the animals, even if nobody hurts them of course.
I had a quick meal here and left even hungrier because of the small portions.
I would not eat here again.

2 Responses
Read More

Romeow 29 Jun 2017 -
Hi, that's not exactly what you are saying. Romeow was born to bring people closer to vegan cooking, a kind way to savor the extraordinary cuisine without cruelty to omnivores. I'm sorry that you've only seen her that way.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

CorkVegans 23 Mar 2018 - I thought the same when I saw the prices, but when I got the dishes I understood. You cannot have gourmet +organic food for 5 euros. They do seriously refined stuff. I'm definitely on Romeow's side here.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Badgering - Edit

Made a reservation recently while staying in Rome and due to scheduling lost track of time and 5 minutes after our reservation time had passed I received a rather indignant call from someone asking where I was and why I wasn't there only to go on and on about being a small restaurant and by me not being their was costing them money. I did apologize but the tone set by this individual only elevated my response back to them.

What really got me was 4+ hrs after the initial call (805pm now 1239am) I received a text from the restaurant basically apologizing for the misunderstanding but going on to school me about the reservation and them being a small restaurant.

I have travelled to many places all over the world and not once have I received any type of behavior over a reservation that I received from the Romeow Cat Bistro.

While I wish them all the success in the world I would seriously rethink on how to speak to potential customers and leave the badgering skill set at home.

1 Response
Read More

Romeow 10 May 2017 -
Hi, Mike, I'm sorry but what she tells is really a big lie. His reservation was for 20 and at 20.45 she had not arrived yet and when I called her he told me he could not come and asked me if there was availability for the next day. Obviously I was not very happy and I told her (in my imperfect English) that the work of people should be respected, especially because we are a small restaurant and many people who are visiting Rome as they want to meet us, and often We say no because the restaurant is always full. So if you had warned us we would give other guests a chance to come and visit us.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

We loved it! - Edit

Food was excellent, high quality, good portion sizes and amazing desserts. Staff friendly and helpful. A little out of the central area but an easy metro ride and nice to see a different non-touristy part of Rome. Need to book, it was packed when we were there on a Wednesday evening in March. Some of the best vegan food (definitely the best cheesecake!) I have had anywhere. Cats were an added extra, mostly asleep- if we had gone mainly to play with cats we might have been disappointed, but the food is well worth the trip.

Pros: superb food, lovely atmosphere, cats!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

First vegan cheese cake - Edit

I've been here a few months ago. Everything we ate tasted really nice. I also really liked the interior with this whole cat theme, it really makes the experience of dining here a unique one. I especially recommend the chocolate cheesecake, which was the best out of everything we had. It was also my very first vegan cheesecake and it was a real pleasant experience!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Room for improvement - Edit

Any place that is delivering mostly organic, vegan food deserves a huge thank you! We loved the coffees and the little biscuits served with them. But we expected healthier fare. The food was really lacking any finesse and flavours were strange. Frustrated in Rome trying to find HEALTHY vegan options- besides salad.

Pros: Nice staff, Great almond milk cappuccino , Generous portions

Cons: Vegan yes, healthy no, Strange flavour pairings, Poor location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

An experience - Edit

Very cool place! Weloved the interior and the cats way of ovine around in the room.

Pros: Cats, Interior, Food

Cons: Far away , Simple food but okay

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food but slightly ruined by unfriendly staff - Edit

We booked way in advance of our trip to Rome and were really looking forward to our visit. We arrived early and the lady who greeted us was happy for us to have our aperitif outside. When we moved back inside to the table we had been told was reserved for us, at the time our table was booked for, another lady insisted that we had to move. She would not listen when told her that we had been told this was the table we had reserved. We both thought the food was excellent but the experience was marred by the attitude of that one member of staff, which is a shame.

Pros: lovely vegan food , greeted by friendly member of staff

Cons: one member of staff rude made us feel very unwelco

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cats + Great Food = Fun Experience! - Edit

We had a great time dining with the cats! Gourmet vegan food was delicious. You must have a reservation; we saw lots of walk-ins being turned away because every table was full.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

You get what you pay for - Edit

Went there for a quiet lunch by myself and got a quinoa dish that was mixed with some veggies and decorated quite elegantly with a few dabs of vegan mayo and a few currant berries, then had a berry cheesecake for dessert. It's a cute place, but it is very expensive. I understand that it's a high quality restaurant but I won't be going back for a while because eating there often would be way too hard on my wallet. The cats are nice and the staff is welcoming, but I got a bit of a tense/snobby vibe when I was there. Not necessarily towards me, just that if I wasn't dressed nicely and if I were less of a well-mannered and properly educated person I would not have been as welcome. It's not a place you can go to in a pair of sweats for a quick coffee, it's more high-end and classy than that. It's definitely a place well suited for those who are a little more on the "pariolini" side (fellow Romans, I know you know what I'm talking about). It's a bit cozy in there, but if you are polite and respectful (aka you follow the rules of proper etiquette, aka a couple sitting at a nearby table was asked to turn their music off because they were playing it out loud) then you will feel right at home. But you're either going to feel that tense vibe or you'll feel there is a homey air, there really is no in between. Aside from the atmosphere it was a pleasant experience. You do get what you pay for in the end.

Pros: Excellent food

Cons: Didn't like the atmosphere, Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really lovely atmosphere in this cat cafeteria - Edit

I just went for a cappuccino (excellent, by the way).
The place is really lovely and cozy, the owners very friendly and easy going. Six cats play around the place, so it is a place for cat lovers.
Prices are in line with the quality and attention, so quite high.
Cappuccino was 3,5 euros, but came with some vegan heart shaped biscuits, so it was ok.
Dinner seems expensive but would definitely give it a try next time in Rome.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Rome Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Romeow Cat Bistrot closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9447 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support