• The Library

  • (10)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Beer/Wine
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Large multi level pub, restaurant and lounge bar with external patio. Offers an extensive, separate vegan menu with items such as jackfruit burger, chilli and rice, falafel salad, chilli cheese fries and butternut squash mac and cheese. Open Mon-Thu 10:00-00:00, Fri-Sat 10:00-01:00, Sun 10:00-23:00.


Venue map for The Library
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by deadpledge

BusterV

Points +55

Vegan
16 Aug 2022

NEW MENU! Lots of vegan options

All sorts of fast food has turned vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-24

Pros: Reasonable service, Improved clientel, Average price

Cons: Earth bowl no longer vegan, Caulilower wings were nearly all batter, Salad was tiny

Advertisement

eatwellwithell

Points +69

Vegetarian
10 May 2022

Lots of vegan options

There are so many vegan options here and is very reasonably priced. I opted for the vegan burrito, it was so yummy.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced

ElaineHey

Points +641

Vegan
07 Apr 2022

Lots of choice for vegans

Large, vegan friendly pub in the historic part of Durham. Our large group took shelter from terrible weather in this cosy pub. The menu was excellent with loads of vegan options including all day breakfast, burrito bowls, melts etc

hack_man

Points +23068

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Midweek Cowboy

Never been here for food and never will. From experience this is a rowdy night out kind of place where you can watch the football on a big screen and drink over priced beer surrounded by late teens, students and older men who are desperate to get away from their wives. Midweek offers on drinks and vegan menu options are available. Steer clear of weekends, plan your visit strategically during the week and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Thislittlevegan

Points +722

Vegan
24 Oct 2020

Affordable and tasty

Very affordable food. Lovely atmosphere and nice place and a good variety of vegan options! Moving mountains burger was very good. Wouldn’t have any complaints!

Pros: Good vegan options , Variety , Affordable

xoxoramengirl

Points +62

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Eh

It’s a nice bar with loads of great drinks, but the vegan food is not so great. When you can get the vegan options they are nice but I’ve had nicer food. It’s not bad, but it’s not the best value. Otherwise the staff are fantastic and the drink selection is good

Pros: Vegan options, Fantastic drinks , Friendly staff

Cons: Not value, Only a few vegan options they run out of sometime

WilliamLloyd

Points +15

Vegetarian
03 Feb 2020

[censored] bouncers

I was chilling with my friends perfectly sober and got kicked out, you are probably thinking this is a drunk persons opinion on the events but it is true I had a conversation with the bouncer to try and legitimise me being sober but he would not listen- missed a night out with my friends sack the bouncer on the 2/2/20

KirstyUK

Points +44

Vegan
29 Dec 2018

Training needed??

We ordered the vegan platter which comes with a "chapati bread filled with chickpea curry". A waiter came to our table and explained that they had ran out of the curry and would it be alright if we swapped that curry with a "Paneer Tikka Masala(V)". My husband said if it's alright, could we swap for more of the cauliflower instead as that comes with cheese. That was no problem. Our food came out with the paneer tikka masala anyway so we immediately explained that we hadn't wanted that on account of it being cheese. So she went off and came back saying the chef said it was tofu but had given us extra cauliflower anyway. We were dubious as there was no mention of tofu on the menu. So I tried it and it was the cheesiest tofu I've ever tasted.

They have made such an effort to have loads of vegan options on the menu but I feel it's all a bit shallow if not upheld by the staff.

RachelJenkins

Points +2512

Vegan
25 Sep 2018

Great bar food

One of the best bars I’ve ever eaten at as a vegan. There were so many options, the staff were accommodating and there was even vegan mayonnaise! On Thursdays there are also discounted cocktails and pitchers.

deadpledge

Points +11354

Vegan
25 Jul 2018

Read all about it

Very impressed with our visit to the Library. The vegan options were creative and reasonable priced and staff were friendly and knowledgeable about veganism too. We ordered the bao buns and tater tots to share. Both dishes were extremely flavoursome and delicious and I could have quite easily ate a couple of platefuls they were that nice. Definitely a place to go when visiting Durham.

Pros: Creative vegan menu, Friendly staff, Inexpensive

Cons: Serves meat




This page has been viewed 3116 times.