Lele's

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 9 reviews )
Contact
+44-7807740049
Find

50 Lower Clapton Rd, Clapton, East London, England, E5 0RN

Serves breakfast, lunch and weekend brunch in a light-filled space; dog-friendly. Daily-changing menu of salads, soups, sandwiches, and cakes. Has cheesy vegan toasties, vegan croissant and cakes. Vegan since Dec 2017. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-6:00pm, Sat-Sun 9:00am-5:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Take-out, Bakery, British, Catering, European, Fusion

9 Reviews

First Review by AndyCB

gorgeous vegan cafe - Edit

I came for breakfast this morning with my partner. My first impression of the cafe as we walked in was very positive - it is really gorgeous, with plants, lovely tiles, cute tables with flowers, free dog treats. The staff member was very friendly and attentive. We ordered an oat milk latte, a full English breakfast and also scrambled tofu & avocado on sourdough ("the ZZ"). The food came pretty quickly and it was all delicious. It was good to have some flavourful tofu scramble for once because I have had so many that are bland and disappointing. I also appreciated the glasses and bottle of water on the tables already so you don't have to chase this down yourself.

Pros: lovely aesthetic, tasty food, pastries

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Thank you so so much Sarah, it means a lot to us, glad you had a great time and hopefully we will see you again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Breathtaking homemade Vegan afternoon tea - Edit

I bought the afternoon tea for for myself, my grandma and my mum (who are not vegan unlike myself) as a Christmas present. I can honestly say It was the best vegan food I’ve ever had. We got to try an array of dishes, from (fish-free)salmon and cream cheese sandwiches, to savoury scones, to the most delicious cakes and tarts. Even the coffee was amazing.

My grandma and mum (the typical vegan critics) were amazed that vegan food could taste so good - in fact, they genuinely couldn’t taste the difference. In their experience, they both said it was the best afternoon tea they have had to date.

All of the food was handmade, delicious and exceptionally well-priced. Along with this, the service was personal and friendly, and it was a pleasure to meet Valentina who has clearly invested so much love and time into such a beautiful business.

Cannot wait to visit again and will be recommending to all friends and family - both vegan and non-vegan!

Pros: Excellent food, Great value , Amazing service

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Hello Paige, I just wanted to say thank you for your lovely words and feedback. It was truly special for me to see you, your mum and grandma together at the same table having a laugh while enjoying our cakes and treats. I know it might sounds cheesy but this is the very reason why I have opened Lele's - chat with the customers and see them happy it is really rewarding! Thanks again  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food and lovely vibe - Edit

This place is such a gem - especially as Black Cat is currently closed. The menu is nicely varied, there are salad specials that can be paired with a daily hot dish, the breakfast menu is great, and there are good desert options including at least one gf options.

I got the full English breakfast with added tofu scramble and it was delicious - the Vegusto sausage was huge and the beans were not sweet. On another occasion I got the beef wellington and salad selection - very good too. The coffee here is fantastic and they do not have soy milk (which is good - oat milk is better!). They have tap water on the tables, a nice bathroom, free wifi, and pretty decoration. The staff are lovely - especially the bearded guy behind the counter who may or may not be in charge.

It's a very dog friendly space too.

Pros: Variety, Taste, Service and ambience

Cons: Limited gf options, Slightly pricey

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a feedback, we really appreciate that and very happy you had a good time. Hope to see you soon at the cafe!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Now fully VEGAN!!! - Edit

Went fully vegan on 1st December 2017! Amazing vegan pastries and cakes, and we love the vegan cheese and garlic mushroom toaster. The owner is really friendly and it's clear a lot of care and effort has gone into this place.

As a local, this has become a regular haunt and all the better now it's fully vegan. Well worth the trip if you're not in Hackney. They even do a vegan afternoon tea!

Pros: Really friendly people, Vegan cheese and mushroom toasties , Great value for money

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Thank you sooooo much, it makes us so happy to read this review. You guys have been truly supportive and we can't thank you enough. See you soon  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The most sensational vegan afternoon tea!!! - Edit

I had the absolute pleasure of enjoying a full vegan afternoon tea at Lele's - and what an incredible spread. All the food was sensational - and the staff were so warm and welcoming. Couldn't recommend it enough to any vegans with a special occasion to celebrate!!

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Wow thank you for your kind words - glad you had a great time :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful Vegan/Vegetarian Cafe - Edit

We went to Lele's for their recent addition, Vegan Afternoon Tea. Before going I was expecting this to be a few similar tasting things like many other vegan places, however...the opposite was true. The variety of food and sweets offered were incredible-everything was delicious and there was so much of it they kindly boxed it up for us to take home! This is a real treat for your vegan loved ones. They did it with either coffee/tea or vegan prosecco. Whilst there we took a good look at the whole menu and wanted to try all of it!

Pros: great variety of vegan options, additional seating downstairs when it gets busy, vegan wine and beer are available

Cons: genuinely no cons

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Thank you lovelies, it was great to having you for tea, glad you guys had a great time and hope to see you soon at the cafe!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious brunch spot! - Edit

My husband (vegetarian) and I (vegan) came here on a sunday for brunch. They had a ton of vegan options. I had a iced latte with almond milk and pancakes with maple syrup and raspberries, which was so delicious! My husband ordered orange juice (fresh squeezed) and french toast. They had options for regular yogurt or vegan yogurt to put on top. almost every item on their menu had the option to be made vegan. The atmosphere was adorable and they had options for take away. I would definitely come back!

Pros: Tons of vegan options, delicious food, cute atmosphere

Cons: none to think of

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Thank you so much Hannah! What a lovely review :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely local café! - Edit

Lovely and cosy place, glad I'm local! nice vegan options, fresh and healthy food along with some treats :) a bit pricey to my budget but understandable due to the quality of ingredients. super friendly staff!

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Ciao Dana, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for supporting our business, it is always lovely to see you at the cafe. Thanks  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Vegan Options - Edit

Great new almost vegetarian cafe with loads of vegan options. The vegan croissants and pain au chocolat are some of the best I have eaten. There are a couple of random non-veggie options on the menu which seems a shame, but other than that a really welcome addition to the growing Hackney veggie/vegan scene.

Pros: Great vegan options, Lovely Service

Cons: A couple of random non-veggie options

1 Response
Read More

Leles 19 Feb 2018 - Hey Chris, I know this is an old review from when we were a vegetarian and vegan cafe but I didn't see this until today and wanted to take the time and say thank you for writing a review then. We appreciate the support and so happy to be no 100% vegan!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to East London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Lele's closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1165 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support