Vegan
Western
Fast food
Take-out
British

Cooperatively run, non-profit vegan cafe est. 2013. Serves a variety of vegan snacks and meals like sausage rolls and samosas plus cakes, milkshakes, Zapatista coffee. Sells some retail items including chocolates, cheeses, mock meats, tofu, tempeh, and vegan cookbooks. A ramp is available to provide wheelchair access, however the toilet is reported not wheelchair accessible. Open Mon 11:30-16:00, Thu-Fri 11:30-16:00, Sat-Sun 10:00-16:00. Open hours vary so check ahead.


Venue map for Black Cat
© OpenStreetMap contributors

160 Reviews

First Review by HelenGi

victisch1

Points +497

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Cosy and reliable

Volunteer-run cafe. Relaxed and comfortable. Great for brunch.

Pros: Relaxed , Tasty, Friendly

Advertisement

verybadgirl

Points +34

Vegan
20 Aug 2023

Cute spot

Lovely spot, feels very community oriented. Not many options for gluten intolerant people, but worth a visit

NelsonVegan

Points +261

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

nice and relaxed

Food here is usually good and huge portions, home made feeling.
Coop and lot's of charity events.
One of the oldest vegan cafes in London, great place to support.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-19

Pros: Relaxed place, Friendly staff, Cheap

Cons: Really busy at times

framtid

Points +1194

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

🏴✨

stunning food, great stuff, awesome politics

Valeriazwow

Points +1022

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Big delicious bowls of vegan goodness

Wow! The food here is incredible, so many elements to it and so filling. Really good value for money. A really lovely menu too, I wanted to try so much.
I ended up with a salad bowl which was so tasty and so vegan, no fake meats etc just classic veggies and tofu etc

Pros: Big portions, such good value for monej, Healthy

NelsonVegan

19 Aug 2023

LizzieAnnWatts

Points +29

Vegan
28 May 2023

Delicious!

Amazing food, great variety and value, perfect portion sizes

T_uckers

Points +248

Vegan
12 May 2023

Banging

Good food, plenty of choice, reasonably priced. Would reccomend. Had the seitan sando and a frangipane cake, both really good!

veganwarrior666

Points +357

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

For the hipster vegan punx out there

Really cool hip vegan brunch place. 80s hardcore punk music and posters, great vibes. I had the full english breakfast for £12 and an americano for £2.30. very friendly staff, will be back.

Updated from previous review on 2018-06-02

mockingbird

Points +2186

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Cool, ethical cafe

Love Black Cat, cheap food for the (vegan) masses, with a slice of leftie politics as a side serving. Consistently great everytime.

Michael.kalmanovitch

Points +381

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

Power to the Vegan Food!

I like the feel of this place. It pushes their beliefs out there and I admire that. Businesses like this are in business to make the world better and they use their business as their vehicle to share their message with a larger audience.

I stopped in the cafe today (I tried to eat there the other day but got there at 15:50 and they close at 16:00) and I was glad I did.

I had the large mixed salad. It had so many things on this large platter. Three types of creamy dips/sauces, chickpeas, slaw, green salad, olives, tofu, tofu scramble, and more. Normally it came with couscous and bread but I chose the gluten-free option.

The fellow behind the counter was very knowledgeable and respectful of my gluten-free choice. I appreciated that.

The salad was normally 11.50 but they had a "Monday special" and it was only 10 pound.

A kind of place that I like to support because of its social enterprise, mission, and good food.

Pros: Good food., Wearing politics on their sleeves, Good vibes and posters

AndyWilson

Points +15

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2023

Amazing food

The food is all vegan and all fantastic. This is the place I bring people to to convince them that vegan food requires no compromise whatsoever on taste but is actually better than non-vegan / vegetarian food. Certainly the food here is the best in Hackney, whether vegan or not. Their mixed salad is a small work of art. I often sit there eating it, trying the different bits of it in different taste combinations, almost rolling my eyes with pleasure.

Pros: Gorgeous food, Great vibe, The posters!!

Cons: Sometimes very busy

Yergi

Points +145

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

Beautiful food, reasonably priced

What a lovely find; found through the app when in London in December, and just realised I forgot to rate. Wonderful and friendly vibe inside, helpful and knowledgeable staff, and obvious fully vegan menu, so plenty of options.

Pros: Fully vegan menu, Well priced , Friendly staff

PaulDaly☘️

Points +2910

Vegan
20 Jan 2023

Best vegan restaurant in London man!

Nacho & Carla & team are passionate about their venue/brand and it shows in everything. It’s more of a way of life community thing really.

I’ve eaten here very very often and have never been disappointed

PROPER portions & killer vegan grub, and that’s why I keep going back. They are like vegan 🌱 family really

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-02

Pros: Lots of vegan desserts , Carla Nacho Marco Maria John & Marcos lady , Amazing staff

Cons: No outside seating

pippydippy

Points +16

Vegan
12 Jan 2023

Revolting food, revolting attitude towards people with different opinions than them

The food is the worst I've eaten.
The staff are rude and ignorant.
Wish I could give it 1 star, but happy cow is biased towards fully vegan places and only lets you give them minimum of 2 stars.
They have stickers up in their toilet that discriminate against people with different belief systems than them, discriminate against protected characteristics and also have signage promoting violent terrorist groups.
Why does this cafe not stick to focussing on making their food taste better than the burnt cardboard it currently resembles.

PaulDaly☘️

20 Jan 2023

Pippy you are on your own with this review unfortunately. Let love rule

dalstonian90

Points +88

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

Best vegan spot in London

Love the food, the changing menu, the staff, the dirty chais… I could go on and on.

Eleni444

Points +289

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

Lovely food and staff

Very nice food especially the breakfast scrambled eggs. The portions are more than satisfying. My only comment would be that in some salads and bowls some of the foods wouldn’t really fit each other and there were too many different ingredients mixed. I’ve been at black cat several
times and will definitely come back again!

dain

Points +15

Vegetarian
16 Dec 2022

Great place with decent portion sizes

Black Cat is an old favourite, you can actually get full under a tenner which is rare in most places nowadays, let alone after the "vegan tax" is added... And luckily the portion sizes aren't to the detriment of quality, the meals are tasty and nutritious.

jill.yersin

Points +41

Vegan
26 Nov 2022

Really good

The fermented lentil pancake was excellent with well balanced sides. Good sized portions too. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The place has a good casual atmosphere. A great place

peppitaly

Points +1804

Vegan
21 Nov 2022

Huuuuuge.....

Portions. They had some special offers, food and soda 10 quid. Did I say portions were huge?! 🤣

pomange

Points +1304

Vegan
21 Nov 2022

Huge portions

Good value for money-portions are very big and on Mondays there are £10 offers with food and drink included.

MCfortheanimals

Points +63

Vegan
13 Nov 2022

Always a fave

Cosy comfort food! Big portions, and the beat ‘shakes around. All vegan too.

Pros: Milkshakes!

Cons: Crowded on weekends

Oscarbonnar

Points +70

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Beautiful atmosphere and unique recipes

The artichoke sauce they added to the burger is like nothing else I’ve tried, for that alone I recommend dining here (yes it’s that good). The English breakfast is comforting and to a high standard, I wouldn’t recommend buying the more expensive sausage with it though, as it takes away from the rest of the meal.

·X·

Points +17327

Vegan
05 Aug 2022

Black Cat

WHY HAVEN'T I EATEN HERE SOONER??? I have been missing out all this time!

I found myself in this area a few weeks ago and popped over to Black Cat for lunch. I ordered the Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Sandwich with salad as a side and was so blown away. The sandwich was so tasty that I ended up eating the whole thing...it was worth it!!!

PaulDaly☘️

06 Aug 2022

Black Cat is the best Vegan 🌱 joint I’ve ever been to. Maybe Spiral in Dallas is as good. But nothing in Blighty compares Px

·X·

06 Aug 2022

Black Cat is amazing, I was so surprised. I went to Spiral Diner probably 7 years ago and remember enjoying the Philly! The best vegan junk food place for me is The Butcher’s Son in Berkeley, California (easy to get to from San Francisco) 😋.

PaulDaly☘️

07 Aug 2022

I haven’t been to The Butchers Son PV but will check it out asap.

frauschi

Points +315

Vegan
28 Jun 2022

Perfect for brunch

Cozy place where you can enjoy coffee, croissant, cakes, salads so on.

StuartChalmers

Points +253

Vegan
10 Jun 2022

Lovely place - went early for breakfast. Good excellent and good atmosphere.

A great cafe tucked away down a quiet street in Hackney. Went for breakfast and had a lovely full vegan one. Great coffee too. Interesting vegan themed punk posters on wall as well!

Pros: Great vegan options, Good portions, Very clean

Paayah

Points +44

Vegan
03 May 2022

The best

Good food, good people.

cdrk

Points +815

Vegan
12 Apr 2022

Great place !

Huge portion (chickpea curry with rice). Tasty muffin (lemon plus coconut), big tea pot.
Highly recommended, nice price too.

Pros: Excellent food, Huge portions, Friendly staff




This page has been viewed 42028 times.