• Flying Star - Central Ave SE

  • (12)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
International
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Regional chain run by people who support locavores and understand that people have varying dietary needs. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free and other alternatives are clearly marked on menu. The moove over meat veggie burgers are custom made for them. Try the buddha bowl. Open Mon-Thu 7:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 7:00am-9:00pm, Sun 7:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Flying Star - Central Ave SE
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by nc71087n

amandareagan92

Points +40

Vegan
24 May 2023

The Vegan Breakfast Tacos are dynamite!

I’m giving this only 4 starts instead of 5 for the sole purpose that this isn’t an all vegan restaurant. Otherwise, the vegan breaky that I had was delicious!

Pros: Moderate amount of vegan options, Large portions (fed me for two days!), I’ll alternatives for coffee

Cons: No vegan pastries in the case (that I saw).

Advertisement

Knoxland

Points +593

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Just the Slice

Found out by staff that the vegan chocolate cake is not outsourced. Confused here, not enough disclosure. Which is it? Nonetheless, cross contamination with animal utensils when preparing the cake. Not good. If a eatery going to sell vegan, the least they can do is ensure separate kitchen space for prep. There is other concerns, yet for the most part. I will skip getting my favorite chocolate cake here or any of their locations until I can get clarity on plant based standards. For folks transitioning, this is likely fine. I can only recommend the vegan cake, don't purchase anything else at this place.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-23

Pros: A place for those transitioning or in a pinch.

Cons: No disclosure how food is prepared., Cross contamination with making vegan cake., Not clear on sourcing.

crystalnm

Points +224

Vegan
01 Jun 2022

Not really that vegan friendly.

If you google “Flying Star Vegan” you can find a menu with what menu items are vegan and how to modify others to be vegan. It hasn’t been updated in years though. Their regular menu also has clear markings for vegan items, however the restaurant really isn’t as vegan friendly as they seem. They serve two Beyond burgers which are not marked vegan. I was very sad to learn today that none of their buns are vegan (regular and gluten free both contain milk apparently.) I’ve ordered the street tacos before which are good, but I found a piece of meat in them the last time I ordered them. Their Buddha bowl is just vegetables and rice and some under-seasoned tofu. They seem to put more effort into making their menu ~look~ vegan friendly instead of actually making their food vegan friendly.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan items

Cons: Mediocre food, Expensive, Limited options

pronoid

15 Nov 2022

Agree completely. Overpriced and really not that great. Made the mistake in testing it out last night. Only go as a last resort..

MollyElwood

Points +343

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

Tacos and cake!

They have a delicate vegan street taco on their main menu, plus slices of 4-layer chocolate cake!

Nice space for coffee and working, lots of seating, great booths and giant windows. Kind people who work there, too.

Pros: Cake, Tacos, Service

carrie_mangia

Points +92

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

16 bucks for a beyond burger

Only a few vegan options, none of which were very impressive. Got a dry beyond burger, wasn’t impressed.

DavineMusic

Points +172

Vegan
30 Oct 2021

Eh

They were okay. They didn’t have any of the items others have pictured, so no wings or that funky burger. They did have a beyond burger that was pretty good. The tacos are sweet which was different. And the pineapple paradise(that might be the wrong name) is literally pineapple juice that they water down with either flat water or sparkling, your choice for 5 bucks. So maybe opt out of that one. The place is really nice and you can bring your dogs outside on the patio and if eat.

Pros: Can bring dogs on patio , The beyond burger is okay

Cons: Very little options. , Expensive

JillPletcher

Points +21

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Great vegan options and fabulous coffee!☕️

Tofu scramble was awesome!

billierod

Points +149

Vegan
08 Dec 2017

Vegan friendly

This place was very vegan friendly and their staff was very helpful in accommodating our requests to substitute ingredients to make a dish vegan. Knowledgeable staff and friendly service! Would definitely recommend! (Ps. Their vegan migas was delicious!)

AlexandraPhillips

Points +497

Vegan
19 Jul 2017

Great vegan options

My husband and I really enjoyed this place. Since it was our first stop in Albuquerque, it definitely started us off with a great impression of this city. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very nice and helpful employee. She explained the drinks that I had never heard of (i.e. Pink or red drink), what was vegan friendly, and how the rewards system worked (I joined while we were driving there). We placed our order at the counter and then headed to our table. Within seconds, another very nice employee came over and swiftly cleaned our table for us. He continued to check on us, clearing old dishes, bringing us to go containers, etc. Our food arrived about 15 minutes later. We had the vegan chocolate cake, a pot of chai tea, and a burrito with added avocado and both red and green sauce. Omg, everything was just so delicious!! The vibe inside was great too! Art from local artists hung inside, they have gender neutral bathrooms, and I could tell from all the people in there with laptops that it was a great place to hang out and do work. We plan to frequent this place a lot while we are in ABQ!

Pros: friendly staff, nice vibe, large portions

Cons: Could use more vegan options

ASomerville

Points +508

Vegan
20 May 2015

Pretty Good

All the Flying Star locations are pretty consistent, in my experience. There are a couple of vegan options (not a ton), but the staff is always knowledgeable about what vegan means and what options we have, so that helps a lot. I'm fond of their giant breakfast burritos, making a few modifications to "veganize" it. They have good coffee too, with almond and soy milk options.

They do have a vegan chocolate cake, but I wasn't very impressed. A giant dessert bar, and just ONE vegan option? And the cake was okay, but not any more than okay.

Also, you can hang out as long as you want, so it's a nice place to study and eat/drink.

Flying Star is expensive for what it is, but they try to source locally and I think that has an impact.

Pros: Awesome burritos, Fast service, Knowledgeable waitstaff

Cons: Not that many vegan options, Too expensive for what it is, Sad dessert section

Bourqueee

Points +34

Vegan
05 May 2015

vegan cake!

They have vegan cake and it is delicious! Very chocolatey. Hit the spot.

nc71087n

Points +75

Vegan
05 Jan 2015

Great food!

The food here was amazing. The menu was clearly labeled with vegan and gluten free options, and many substitutions were available for things that weren't vegetarian. I got the stuffed veggie sub which was on a pretzel roll and it was delicious. Would definitely recommend this place!!

Pros: lots of vegan and vegetarian options




This page has been viewed 4396 times.