• Mata G's Vegetarian Kitchen

  • (20)
    29
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Indian
International
Take-out
Fusion
Gluten-free

Vegetarian restaurant with vegan, kosher and gluten-free labeled menu. Example dishes include vegan chickpea breakfast burrito, grilled tofu wrap, tofu salad sandwich, quinoa salad, scrambled tofu burrito and more. Grab-and-go items can also be found in various shops - locations are listed on main website. Limited seating available. Est. Dec 2018. Open Mon-Sat 10:00am-6:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Mata G's Vegetarian Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by vsvihla

ElFuctardo

Points +27

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Sold at Triangle Market Cedar Crest

The tofu salad is really good (take-and-make). Wife really likes the pizza.

Pros: Vegan quick bites

Cons: Pretty pricey

Advertisement

SaulK

Points +22

Vegetarian
04 Jul 2023

Our go to place for 'fast' food

Fast because everything is ready to takeout. It's all delicious and nutritious.

lisamfield07

Points +98

Vegan
15 Feb 2023

Perfect for my tiny casita's kitchen!

I come to ABQ for work about quarterly. I found Mata G's this time and I'm in love. I can get fresh and quality variety in my diet without going out for each meal. Prices are definitely fair. My selections included a tofu salad sandwich, a super fresh Asian salad, an Indian mixed curry plate (delicious!), and Dal soup. I took it all cold back to my tiny Airbnb kitchen.

nukinem

Points +660

Vegan
15 Nov 2022

Surprisingly good to-go grub

Seems to be like a catering business that specializes in to-go food. Everything they have is stocked in the case, ready to pick up, pay and go. Everything is clearly marked for vegan options. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our suggestion is to pack it up in a bag and take a walk to Tractor Brewing and enjoy this tasty food with a refreshing local brew.

Pros: Everything is packaged and ready to go, Friendly staff, Super clean environment

Cons: Everything is cold, but can be microwaved there, Only outdoor seating

SlimAndSlam

Points +119

Vegan
26 May 2022

Grab And Go Vegetarian Venue With Lots Of Options

This is definitely a vegetarian (not vegan) venue but the majority of offerings are vegan and are clearly marked. The underlying tradition is Indian with a lot of dal, tofu, chickpea, and related offerings. The venue appears to have a few indoor seats but I'm not sure they're for customers(?). In any case, they do have an outdoor patio with a number of tables and chairs so it is possible to have a sit-down meal. All food is pre-prepared and packaged daily, and available in their refrigerated display cases, so you get your food very quickly. They will heat the food up, if desired.
I had a tofu wrap with lettuce, tomato, and veganaise. It was some quick comfort food before I jumped on my plane at ABQ. Yum!

Pros: Lots of food options, Food is pre-prepared daily so no waiting, Mostly vegan offerings

Knoxland

Points +593

Vegan
19 Apr 2022

Delightful

Been at this joint several times since opening and has never failed with the quality of food and service. Delightful to have met the owners and their energy is breathtakingly refreshing. Always offering a sample of this that and the other. Clean cafe and some of their items had been found in nearby store.

bduboff

Points +1396

Vegan
04 Apr 2022

It was just ok

This was my second visit here. I wish I could give it a higher rating. The tofu salad sandwich was fresh but bland. The seasonal veggies with zucchini asparagus and artichoke was ruined with too much rosemary and thyme. The Asian noodles were ok but odd - I can't tell you what they tasted like but not really Asian. No staff were wearing masks but they wouldn't let us sit inside or use the restroom so are they operating in pandemic mode or not? We couldn't order off the menu either - it's just takeout from the cooler - a microwave is available to heat items. So mostly I'd give Mata G a rating of MEH ... sorry.

Pros: vegan options clearly labeled

Cons: bland or odd seasonings, no restroom, no inside tables

swedash

Points +1677

Vegan
09 Jan 2022

It’s grab and go style

Very good vegan and vegetarian options! Every looks so tasty, it’s hard to choose! Our server was very nice and the place was very garden like.
We’d love to return someday!
Try it now for #veganuary ! #Veganuary

NicoleVanDuyn

Points +48

Vegan
31 Oct 2021

Delicious

Food is always fresh and delicious with a wealth of vegan options!

ScottCline

Points +2699

Vegan
20 May 2021

Delicious food to go

As part of my travels to Albuquerque, I was going to be at a site where I did not have access to vegan meals. As a result, I picked up the Mexican tofu scramble wrap and the spicy tempeh wrap the day before planning each of those for breakfast and lunch, respectfully. Both were delicious and easy to bring. The staff were very friendly and the peanut butter cookie was yummy!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff

Barney Big Ears

Points +358

Vegan
14 Feb 2021

Fresh, tasty food

Easy place to grab and go. Friendly staff.

Pros: Clear vegan labels, High quality

Cons: Small portions

rowanoaktree

Points +50

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Punjabi chickpea burrito!

Everything I’ve had here has been tasty but that chickpea burrito is seriously the bomb. The menu rotates somewhat often and there are lots of vegan options both for entrees and dessert.

athleticvegan

Points +71

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Friendly service

Small little deli with mostly prepackaged ready to go items, but all looked pretty good. No bathroom, so have hand sanitizer, or be prepared to go to the co-op to use the restroom. Plenty of vegan options.

oak_leaf

Points +1218

Vegan
29 Nov 2019

Delicious!

Vegetarian and vegan restaurant! The hot meal of the day always has a vegan and a vegetarian option separately. They now partner with other stores and establishments, keep an eye out for Mata G food at other places around town!

The_Hydrated_Pilot

Points +89

Vegan
07 Oct 2019

Such a cute hole-in-the-wall

Very clean, well lit, well managed & maintained. The staff is friendly & knowledgeable, & will explain all options. Limited seating, but very comfortable and welcoming, & the background music is calming. The food was very flavorful & there were many grab-n-go options. Will definitely be stopping by again.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lots of vegetarian options , Non-vegan products: honey/dairy (clearly labeled)

Rasputin

Points +530

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Everything on shelf was EXPIRED

Was only serving pre-packaged food the day I visited. Everything on the shelf was expired-some items were a week past their expiration dates. One employee looked as if they had just rolled out of bed and sprinted to work. Drinks were drastically sub-par. Service was extremely slow-even though nobody else was there. I’m honestly surprised they are still in business. Don’t waste your time.

Cons: All pre-packaged food was expired, Slow Service

tqudduss

Points +25

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2019

Great find

Found this place on our way to the Albuquerque airport. Amazing food. Manager was very welcoming and engaging. I had one of their rotational specials. Very good.

alizzzy

Points +24

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Tasty!

Beautiful space, great service and tasty food! We had the hot enchilada plates they were serving fresh.

Pros: Beautiful/Clean space, Friendly staff and owner, Delicious house-made teas and food.

Cons: Seemed a little pricey

JBGilmour

Points +16

Vegan
14 May 2019

delicious

I was greeted warmly by Guru Mata G, and promptly given a tour of the delicious wraps, take-home meals, and side dishes, was convinced to go with the special of the day after a proudly excited description— couscous, vegetable kebab, and chickpea masala stew. When I tasted it, I knew it was exactly what I was looking for today!

As they say here, they are 100% vegetarian, and 80% vegan.

Wonderful people. Delicious food. Welcoming, clear, high vibes abound.

vsvihla

Points +538

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Vegetarian and vegan deli

This tiny shop carries a big selection of prepared foods. We went during its soft launch recently. We ordered from the hot entree and some prepared foods, then ate at one of the few cute tables along the window. The space is attractive and bright, and staff very friendly. One person did not know if a dish was vegan or not, and quickly went to ask someone. This is a good sign for a new restaurant that is still training staff.

We ordered the yellow dahl and rice from the hot buffet. The rice was tasty and fluffy. Neither seemed greasy or over salted (in fact, we added a bit of salt). From the prepared goods, we selected a tofu pita sandwich with tabouli, the tofu salad, and a Lebanese set of rice, green beans in sauce, and grain-based kibbeh.

Everything was tasty. I especially enjoyed the kibbeh and tofu salad.

Prepared foods all have the date written on the bottom. Some were older than I would expect to see (3 days old), but everything tasted very fresh.

I wish they used re-usable/washable cups/plates/silverware for dine-in customers. They have compostables and recyclable plastic and they said they do separate them.

I would certainly go here again, and this place would be a great option when feeding a big group and needing a couple grab-and-go options for the vegans.

Pros: Multiple vegan options with protein, Rotating selection of hot dishes, Great grab-and-go / take-out

Cons: Tiny space, Some dishes would be better heated, so dine in is




This page has been viewed 4863 times.