• Blue Note Cafe

  • (20)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Fast food
British

Veggie food from light snacks and cakes to main meals. Vegan burgers. Licensed and non-smoking. Open Mon-Wed 09:00-17:00, Thu-Sat 09:00-23:00, Sun 10:00-23:00.


Venue map for Blue Note Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by tinkerbell

Dusty27

Points +153

Vegan
23 Jul 2023

Let down

Don't seem to want vegans, when I asked at the counter I got a tut and she was obviously irritated. The food was bland and we did not get much, The person who brought the food was very nice. This used to be a an excellent vegan whole food cafe. It's a shame it's changed

Pros: Nice place with outside eating

Cons: Attitude, Nothing is marked vegan

Advertisement

El18

Points +984

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Great food, space and atmosphere 10/10

Lovely little cafe. Great interior design. Lovely space, lovely food, great options, thoughtful food. Interesting, unique touches. Great indoor and outdoor seating. Sheltered outdoor courtyard seating, in interesting courtyard market. Worth a visit.

Pros: Great, thoughtful food options with unique touches, Lovely space and atmosphere, indoor and outdoor, Lovely location

KerbieW

Points +103

Vegan
03 Oct 2021

Lots of vegan items and friendly staff

It's a shame nothing is labelled vegan friendly except the cakes, but the waiter couldn't have been more helpful, the burgers and the salads are vegan and wow the salad is incredible. They have milk for humans although annoyed you have to pay extra for these. But the food was lovely and good for my 8yr old daughter

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Milk for humans all kinds, Affordable

Cons: Pay for milk alternatives, Vegan no labelled on menu

Charli-Bash

Points +76

Vegan
06 Dec 2020

Lack of vegan options

Chilled vibes, would recommend for a hot drink but not vegan food

LeoniePujol

Points +132

Vegan
05 Sep 2020

Nothing vegan

Literally everything is fried together, so anything that has a shot of being vegan, isn’t.

Cons: Everything fried together- ie with cheese

HappyNewVegan

Points +464

Vegan
14 Aug 2020

Lovely place

We found this place after searching Happy Cow. It was very welcoming. We only stopped for a coffee as it was an early morning visit. They served plant milk and the tea was good. Although the menu doesn’t advertise vegan food, there are options so worth a visit.

Pros: Great atmosphere , Plenty of seating/Gorgeous outside area, Vegan options

BrodyVeeg

Points +53

Vegan
12 Feb 2020

Great coffee but poor food choices for vegans

We visited earlier this week, in hope of some lunch, but settled on some coffee to go instead. Their coffee was pretty much spot-on, the only criticism would be the oat milk was far too hot.
Great vibe and beautiful little outside area - shame they were lacking food options.

Pros: Great coffee, Nice vibe, Courtyard garden

Cons: Poor vegan choices

Vicky12

Points +96

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Pleasing vegan options 🌿

Lovely place offering quite a few vegan options. We had a great curry with spelt bread instead of the naan, baked potato with beans and vegan spread and chips, vegan sausage and beans. All served very quickly. A jug of cold water was provided too. Lovely, friendly staff. My son played piano - the owner turned the music off so everyone could listen which was nice 😊Would deffo visit again.

Went back for breakfast this morning and was really pleased. Had a huge full Vegan brekkie with extra hash brown and mushrooms to replace the egg. Also had sausage sandwich and beans on toast with vegan spread.

Don’t be put off with some of the negative comments as I think they have obviously really thought about their vegan options now 😊

Pros: A few vegan options , Friendly and helpful , Piano

shane910

Points +16

Vegan
03 Feb 2019

Rubbish

Very few vegan options, no spelt or granary bread available the morning we visited despite being offered on menu because they hadn’t ordered any. Expensive for what it is and devoid of any atmosphere.

Cons:

SandyRedfern

Points +48

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Poor customer service

Have been here before, but have found their staff to be unhelpful. I need vegan and gluten free (for health reasons not fad dieting) so food can be a bit of a pain, however many places are helpful. Here my breakfast options were salad - the staff were unwilling to adapt for a customer, while a nearby (much busier) place was willing to adapt their food for me. Customer lost!

BrambleVegan

Points +74

Vegan
05 Jul 2018

The best Halloumi burger!

Great little cafe, often very busy at lunch. The halloumi burger is truly something else or for vegans, try the schnitzel burger. Great chips too.

Pros: Vegan options, Comfort food, Outside seating

Cons: Sometimes no seating directly on lunchtime

KittyKatPride

Points +85

Vegan
29 Jul 2016

Good!

I personally had a great experience here, staff were nice and helpful, food brilliant (A little pricey! But good for a veggie place) and were quick on giving vegan food. Maybe could have more to chose, but still delicious!

Pros: Delicious!

Cons: Could do with more choices

Jayney

Points +17

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2016

NOT SUITABLE FOR VEGANS

This "vegetarian" cafe not only doesn't serve vegan food the staff are really rude and don't even try to accommodate you. I was made to feel unwelcome with the unfriendliness of the staff.

Cons: No VEGANS food

HungryBiker

Points +141

Vegan
28 Jan 2016

PROBABLY THE BEST VEGETERIAN CAFE IN TOWN

I've used almost all the other vegetarian cafes in Glastonbury and called in here today, I was immediately impressed with the cleanliness, something other places in Glastonbury should take more notice of

The menu is fairly brief but covers a lot of diverse vegan and vegetarian meals and snacks, all at a very reasonable price for such a tourist town

I had the snitzel burger, without the cheese and mayo, it was prepared very quickly and delivered to my table piping hot, it was delicious

The menu is easy to adjust for vegans and the friendly staff are only to willing to get you what you want

Pros: Good Food, Cleanliness , Menu

rowansilverbreeze

Points +132

Vegan
21 Jun 2015

Not vegan friendly!

I visited the cafe on saturday. There was no mention anywhere of being vegan friendly. The only food served is vegetarian. I asked if there was anything suitable for vegans. I was told, tell us what you want off the menu and we can see. I looked at the menu but all i could see were dairy options. The only thing that looked like it could be made vegan was a jacket potatoe and mushrooms! I was told that the mushrooms aren"t vegan as already cooked in butter. No offer of cooking some that would be ok. I left feeling hungry and annoyed. If you are vegan go elsewhere.

Cons: not vegan friendly

thewalrus

Points +31

Vegan
30 Aug 2011

I'm vegan, not a stanger

Good food and hippie atmosphere, but not clear vegan options. I think that's not good for a vegetarian restaurant.
Unfortunatly the unique option available for me was resulted hummus and pitta bread.

Pros: variety, hippie atmosphere, location

Cons: no vegan options, no vegan options, no vegan options

Deli Katesen

Points +74

Vegetarian
08 Jun 2010

Veggie junk food

Veggie junk food for the masses. Not bad for what it is. Be wary of anything that needs to be cooked carefully, because the staff are mostly poorly paid teenagers. Also, it's worth noting that the owners are meat-eaters, as are all the staff (at the time of writing). It's not unusual for the staff to be eating bacon butties in the kitchen before the cafe opens.

Pros: Veggie junk food!, Sunny courtyard, Reasonably priced

Cons: Occassionally rude staff, Owned by omnivores, Veggie junk food!

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
12 Aug 2009

Totally deserves a higher rating! Great food !!!

It was so cool, when we ate there the FRY's Vegan Delivery truck was parked outside unloading the veggie burgers they use. I had no idea the UK had trucks full of vegan good stuff driving around making deliveries with the big VEGAN SOCIETY logo on the side! What a good omen about what was to follow inside! We ordered the Vegan Burger & Chili Baked Potato. The burger was amazing with some seriously tangy sauces and not very fatty at all. The Chili had a tad bit of oil in it, but I just picked out the beans/tomatoes to avoid the fat and it was all outstanding. They have a really nice outdoor area in back, too!

Pros: Fry's products, Veg Burger, outdoor area in back

thewalrus

22 Feb 2013

Hi! Are you sure that you're vegan burger was vegan and not vegetarian? I'm lactose intolerant and I asked for vegan options without milk/butter/cream and after a long discussion they told me that the only option for me was hummus :-(
Maybe they serves "vegan" potatoes with butter and if you declare that you're allergic they change opinion?

Shockingfish

Points +118

Vegan
23 Dec 2008

Uninspired food

Mmmm I'm not sure that I am going to be able to give this place a good review, the food is uninspired and rather expensive. If they put more thought into the food Im sure I would be able to give a better review. The choice for vegans is fair but all the food on the menu is dull and has nothing to make it stand out. No vegan cake options on the day that I went in. If you are in the town and no where else is open then I would say go in...

Pros: nice atmosphere

Cons: uninspired food, no vegan cake options

tinkerbell

Points +73

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2007

great food

Always able to find suitable food for us as a family;including my vegan husband. Good prices with friendly service. Lovely to sit out in the courtyard in the summer! Great selection of food served fresh and hot;good sized portions. On dull,wet and windy days their hot chocolate is a great warmer!

Pros: good sized portions, great choice of food, family freindly

Cons: ouside loo




This page has been viewed 12217 times.