• Astroburger

  • (12)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Fast food
Juice bar
Take-out
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Burgers and fries, and Greek food in an American diner setting. Has a separate vegetarian menu offering burgers with Gardenburger brand soy protein patty, vegan ribs, soy cheese, and non-dairy milk options. Fresh orange and apple juice available. Veg food is cooked on separate grills and woks. Has drive-thru. Open Mon-Thu 7:00am-12:00am, Fri-Sat 7:00am-1:00am, Sun 9:00am-12:00am.


Venue map for Astroburger
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by christopher byron

Schnicbert

Points +1285

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Solid sandwiches

So I see there were a lot of bad experiences at this place but I personally can not confirm that (which doesn't mean it didn't happen!).
For me it was a nice little place who served vegan burgers and sandwiches and had clearly marked vegan options on the menu. I had the 'veg ham sandwich' (marked as vegan) with vegan mayo and it was fine. So nothing to complain about in my opinion.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-09

Advertisement

Tofuwizvrd

Points +77

Vegan
01 Jan 2022

BEWARE

I was told at the counter that the burgers are mixed with dairy cheese. They are NOT VEGAN.

icesamurai

Points +21

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2020

It鈥檚 fine

I鈥檓 new to a lot of this but I thought it was fine.

TerinaCeleste

Points +145

Vegan
26 Jan 2020

Served me meat :(

Beware! I ordered the chicken vegan fajita burrito but they put real chicken in it. I even asked about the wrap to make sure it was all vegan. I had several bites and consumed meat for the first time in nearly 5 years. Really disappointed.

Cons: Served real meat in their vegan burrito, Staff is not educated on ingredients

MegganAnderson

Points +314

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Only 2 Vegan Patty Options

They only have Gardenburger鈥檚 beef patty and chicken patty. Their marinara sauce is vegan. The only other sauce that was vegan besides ketchup & mustard is their bbq sauce. Sucks that they take cash only!!

Pros: Across from Pramount, Vegan options, Fast service

Cons: Their large fries were *Small!* They charged $5!!, Bland seasonings on patties. They don鈥檛 add more., Only 2 vegan patties with no vegan cheese.

gdawson

Points +16

Vegan
23 Jun 2019

Astro burger is great!

Lots of great vegan and veggie options. They have been selling plant based items for over 30 years!

Pros: Lots of vegan/veggie options

Cons: None

StacyOwens

Points +275

Herbivore
30 Aug 2014

Good Veggie Eats

Thanks Astro!

Pros: scrumptious veggie burger , the sweet potato fries really rock, drive thru is nice

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
26 Sep 2013

I tried Astroburger

I had read about this place on happycow, and came her for lunch once. Here's my Astroburger review.

It's quite a sight from the outside. A burger joint with a huge blue star sign sticking straight up in the air 2 stories high. You can miss it. On Melrose Ave just east of Larchmont Blvd but not in the trendy shopping area.

Astroburger's attempt to provide an alternative to meat burgers is noteworthy and deserves praise, but the food is ultimately conventional American burger joint kind of food.

The vegetarian offerings are prominently displayed on the menu and on signs by the order counter. On the day I went, the special-of-the-day were both veggie based.

The vegetarian items are plenty with several ones marked as vegan. The primarily feature is the Gardenburger brand patty. I ordered the flame grilled gardenburger (marked vegan) with a side of french fries.

The fries were piping hot and tasty.

The burger, however, was blah. I'm used to making fancy veggie burgers at home or eating them at pure veg establishments, so to get a brown TVP patty (textured soy/vegetable protein) gave me a blah feeling. TVP is not so easy to digest, either. However, to give credit, the patty had a decent savory flavor.

Vegan mayonaise is available for extra 70 cents. If you don't order that, then your burger will come dry: wheat buns, iceburg lettuce, tomato slice, TVP patty.

The food is cheap and fast. The interior has a old school diner feel. There's even a drive-thru! And you can get a fresh squeeze apple or orange juice. So not too bad.

Pros: offers alternative to meat, hot fries

Cons: Non-organic

SonjaCPA

Points +5270

Vegan
06 Dec 2011

quick meal

We finally ate at Astroburger as we needed to have a quick meal in the area. The vegetarian menu is fairly extensive, but the vegan items are far fewer. The menu board notes which items are vegan. We had the flame grilled burger and the chik'n burger as well as a side of chili fries. You could make the burgers at home, so nothing special. The chili on the fries was bean and lentil based, so something different. Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way, but it's convenient and quick if you're in the neighborhood.

Pros: quick service

Cons: limited vegan menu

路X路

Points +15739

Vegan
09 Feb 2011

Good for vegetarians

This review is based on two visits about 4-5 years ago, when I was vegetarian. I always remembered their veggie ham sandwich, it was so good that I made a return visit during my one week vacation. I'm not sure that this sandwich is vegan (I doubt it is), but it may be worth a phone call to find out. Overall, I'd say this is more of a gritty, but good, fast food place. Definitely check this place out if you're vegetarian or traveling with a non-veg friend so that both of you can get what you want.

Cons: Possible cross-contamination

ghaider

Points +20

Vegetarian
26 Oct 2010

Love their veggie burgers!

This is a favorite spot when I find myself in LA late at night. They're open pretty late, and the veggie burgers are great! I'm not so much a fan of the their veggie dogs, but my daughter loves them, so it could be just me. Their fries and onion rings are really good, too.

Pros: great veggie bugers, great fries, cheap

christopher byron

Points +106

Vegan
16 Nov 2009

i love it

its so great that astro burger has a vegetarian menu. the food is great, its cheap and its quick. Great place to go for a quick bite

Pros: fast, delicious

Cons: serves meat, only takes cash




This page has been viewed 5620 times.