Vegan-friendly
Fast food
Egyptian

Like El Tahrir, Abu Tarek serves only one dish: koshary/kushari which is a traditional Egyptian vegetarian dish made with chickpeas, lentils, tomato sauce, vinegar, fried onions, rice, and noodles (which is almost always vegan). The kushari at Abu Tarek is reportedly vegan, and your only choice when ordering is what size (small or large). Vegans ask about beverages. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Abu Tarek
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

38 Reviews

First Review by m@earthville

SquirrelDi

Points +3774

Vegan
08 Nov 2023

The real koshuri

Great koshuri, great sauces. Super tasty 馃構

Advertisement

NickBoee

Points +27

Vegan
26 Oct 2023

Amazing!

My first ever koshary, the staff were very friendly and helpful! Food was delicious and very cheap! 馃檶馃徏

ConsciousEntrepreneur

Points +212

Vegan
20 Oct 2023

Best Koshary sauce in town!

In a nutshell: Cairo鈥檚 popular Abu Tarek is the first koshari/koshary experience you should have when arriving in the country.

THE GOOD
Conveniently located steps away from Cairo Museum, this multi-level koshari house walking distance from most hotels in the city.

THE BAD
The only dish they serve is koshary, so if you want to eat something else, side-dishes ect you鈥檙e out of luck. They do have desserts in the lower level but they鈥檙e not vegan, so you need to go somewhere else to satisfy your sweet tooth.

THE BEST
Koshary is humble Egyptian dish that is available in many places, but, the secret to this brand is in the sauce. In my first time, I was lucky to get a very vibrant waiter that not only asure me the dish is vegan but also mix the ingredients for me and his very friendly disposition left a great impression.

Pros: The sauce, The service

Cons: No sidedishes , No vegan desserts

PatRed

Points +30

Vegan
19 Oct 2023

Nothing but good Koshary!

Fast service and flavorful koshary. Was a nice break from falafels and the few other Vegan options in Cairo.

Pros: Flavor, Fast service, Cheap

JustinCoyne

Points +177

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Fresh Koshary, great service

Similar to El Tahrir, but this is more of a full service sit down Koshary restaurant. Great service, prices cheap. Koshary a bit more dense with Chickpeas.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-12

ElenaChiaradia

Points +176

Vegan
03 Oct 2023

Great koshari and great service

We enjoyed eating here. They serve only one type of koshari for a super affordable price. The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is lively.

Pros: Authentic Koshari, Friendly staff, Affordable

Cons: Toilet a bit dirty and no toilet paper

路X路

Points +15739

Vegan
30 Sep 2023

Abu Tarek

Delicious vegan Koshary and very nice service.

Monica&Swami

Points +621

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Ottimo prezzo e sapore

Il piatto 猫 vegano, molto saporito e tipoco

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-10

Pros: Sapore , Tipicit脿

Cons: Acquario

Desh

Points +865

Vegan
28 Aug 2023

What can you say

Vegan-y food in Cairo when you鈥檙e hungry. Not bad and it was close to where I was staying

KhaledKamal

Points +11

Mostly Veg
01 Jul 2023

Excellent service, taste, and prices

Abu Tareek is becoming my favorite koshary place.
Service is super fast
Tastes very well and consistent
Prices are very reasonable

Pros: Excellent taste, excellent prices, very fast service

NicoleMirasol

Points +90

Vegan
23 May 2023

Super delicious and great experience

super delicious and lovely staff, such a good experience. Highly recommend

SergAMox

Points +344

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Great

This is a bustling, busy restaurant in Cairo with koshary as the only dish available, just specify small or large. Restaurant has four floors The staff could tell we were foreigners but noticed us and told us to upstairs, we ended up in the top floor and we were eventually seated with three other local couples in the same table. The Koshary itself was a very large portion, filling and delicious. This place is recommended for vegans in Cairo.

daniellealexander

Points +244

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

Great koshary

Not much else to say. Koshary is vegan anyway and obviously delicious!

Pros: Vegan , Cheap

dominik.pietryga

Points +1316

Vegan
18 Dec 2022

Best koshari I tried in Cairo.

Very helpful staff. The restaurant has many levels, it's really big. And most importantly the food is amazing. Really really tasty. So simple and so delicious.

GillVHibbitt

Points +507

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Delicious food

Very good service , checking what level of spice I like.
Busy when I went so not a place to linger.. food finished and bill there in a heartbeat!

m.veg

Points +286

Vegan
18 Aug 2022

An experience

Loved the atmosphere in this local restaurant, the koshary is super tasty, really filling and unbelievably cheap. I was so happy to take part in this experience as a vegan and will definitely come back when I鈥檓 in Cairo!

Pros: Koshary is already vegan , Cheap , Filling

myrsky

Points +586

Vegan
29 Jun 2022

Fabulous Koshari & Experience

I love everything about this place, the food, the atmosphere the view, the bustling streets outside. Perfect for a proper portion of Koshari馃挆

Pros: Tasty Koshari, Good portions, Cheap

Cons: -

hatszepsut

Points +463

Vegetarian
16 Apr 2022

Simply amazing!

I absolutely loved the place! Definitely the best koshari I've ever had.
The manager is a lovely lovely man - very kind and friendly.

Patatine

Points +2323

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

The best Koshary in town!

We went there randomly and we got the first portion or Koshary with something to drink. We only paid one euro and it was AMZING. The Koshary is a mixture that contains check peas, lentils, pasta and rice and the tomato 馃崊 sauce they make is AMAZING. They also give you spicy oils and something to drink.
The place is so authentic and full of locals!

phonebox13

Points +560

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Never disappoints

This place never disappoints. their standard Koshari is always good. Super consistent馃挭

Pros: Always good

AlexanderGrass

Points +6

Non Veg
25 Aug 2021

Best Koshari in Cairo

The best Koshari I had so far in Cairo. It is really lovely and damn cheap!
20-50 EGP depending on the dish size (small, medium, large).

Pros: Cheap, Tasty

lettix

Points +1196

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Best Koshary in town

I ate the best Koshary that I ever had here. Also, the service is really good and fast. They prepare the sauces and everything for you if you wish to. The restaurant has three floors to sit and dine. You get one medium sized Koshary for 25 EP.

fionadraiocht

Points +158

Vegan
10 Nov 2020

Excellent koshary

Abou Terek only serves one dish: koshary 鈭 but it does it excellently, so excellently that the restaurant stretches to at least three and possibly more floors. It's cheap, it's tasty, it fills you up and it's all done with a minimum of fuss.

SoyStina

Points +2977

Vegan
03 Jun 2020

Koshari Place

The food here is a classic vegan Egyptian dish. Affordable and filled with locals. Good food. When I went there the staff was rude and tried to cheat us. Look out for getting the right price.

Pros: Vegan meals, Affordable

Cons: Rude staff

Ezey11

Points +958

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Carb it up!

Koshari- While this sounds like an odd combination of carbs on carbs, it really is delicious. Spaghetti, small round macaroni bits, rice, brown lentils with a tomato sauce and crispy fried onions. Add vinegar/garlic and hot sauce.
Keep me full for may hours.
There is a take away section down stairs, just head upstairs and find a spot to sit.

dan&mia

Points +759

Vegetarian
28 Nov 2019

One good option

No choices, just koshari and we liked it

Indigiveg

Points +82

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Delicious and cheap

My first day in Egypt and tried this place. Service is hit and miss but the food is absolutely delicious. A medium size was big and filled me up for hours.




This page has been viewed 13049 times.