Vegetalia - Gotico

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 165 reviews )

Find

Escudellers 54 (at Placa George Orwell), Barcelona, Spain, 08002

Vegetarian restaurant offering a wide range of dishes, from starters and mains with seitan and tofu to dessert, fruit juices, and cocktails. Example of dishes include vegan paella, tempeh burger, pizza, empanadas, and thai curry. Est. in the mid-2000s, this is its first branch.
Note November 2021: Restaurants in Spain may offer indoor dining. Restrictions regarding opening hours and capacity may vary by region, call ahead. Open Mon-Sun 11:00-23:30.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, International, Organic, Take-out, European, Spanish

165 Reviews

First Review by friendmole

SynthVegan

Points +8443

Vegan
19 Oct 2021

Vegetalia

Lovely vegan paella. I stopped by both locations to have more! It was so delicious!

AlexDenney

Points +47

Vegetarian
12 Oct 2021

Great vegetarian Spanish food

Lovely little place with outside seating, lots of options for vegetarian and vegan tapas and main dishes. Uses a variety of meat substitutes in the dishes and all at reasonable prices.

Pros: Lots of options for vegans and vegetarians, Great Spanish food

Cons: Nothing

VincentDeGasperi

Points +593

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Nice place

Nice place with good vibes and decent food

Advertisement

KathyaDahlbeck

Points +33

Vegan
26 Sep 2021

Try the red velvet cake :D

REeally good vegan paella, and the vegan meatballs too. But the red velvet cake was absolutely the best thing we tried :D

davina13

Points +16

Vegan
16 Sep 2021

Great mushroom nuggets

We had the paella, mushroom nuggets and the chocolate brownie. Everything was awesome and we’ll be back for sure.

GuidoRomeo

Points +199

Vegan
13 Sep 2021

Decent but not the best

I tried vegan empanadas and pizza. It wasn't bad, but you can find better in Barcelona for sure. Not bad but not the first place I would choose.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-07

vanessajhh

Points +100

Vegan
07 Sep 2021

delicious vegan paella

My mom and I both had the vegan paella and loved it. Also the place is really cute and the prices are fair :)

Pros: local spanish food, but vegan, nice location

suhayscarson

Points +56

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Vegan Paella

As a vegan visiting Barcelona, I finally found vegan paella! It was very nice with artichokes, peppers and faux meat included. Also enjoyed sangria, vegan empanadas and vegan Catalan custard.

tzipi201

Points +33

Vegetarian
30 May 2021

Great!

Great food, beautiful place, nices waiters.
אחלה מקום לאכול בו במרכז העיר של ברצלונה. אוכל טוב, מקום יפה, אנשים טובים.

elputocardi

Points +1268

Vegan
19 May 2021

Nice vegetarian in gothic quarter

Vegetarian with a few vegan dishes. Good price quality, not the best in town, regular dishes. Nice terrace and service.

pizzybot

Points +200

Vegan
29 Jan 2021

Exciting vegan variety

My vegan burger with rice was great. The vegan nachos were really good, too. The variety of vegan choices was exciting.

Babesugarbunny

Points +38

Vegan
01 Jan 2021

Pricey, got spot and good food

I've been eating here multiple times and I have never been disappointed in the food. The staff is friendly and can help you in English. The only reason for giving four stars instead of five is that it feels a bit pricey for what you get in food sizes. I recommend every vegan to check this place out tho.

Pros: Big variety of food, English speaking staff , Great outdoor seating on placa tripi

Cons: Portion size, Price

polanito

Points +1189

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

Very meh

I don't really like the vegetalia franchise. They have quite a few vegan options but everything is pretty underwhelming. The taste is not awesome and the servings are rather scarce for the price. You can find much better food in other vegetarian restaurants in town...

Pros: Quite a few vegan options

Cons: Small servings, Expensive, Not very tasty

katzi

Points +267

Vegan
14 Aug 2020

disappointed

you can find the best paella at sangria bar

dishes were not that good
not worth the money

BarbaraG.Baz

Points +1427

Vegan
01 Aug 2020

Great restaurant

Nice restaurant in central Barcelona. Good food and nice atmosphere

Misanthropia

Points +2011

Vegan
25 Jul 2020

Passable

I feel a bit bad writing this review considering that this restaurant has a lot of vegan options and it seems like they are really put effort into it. Still, I had the vegan pizza and the cheese tasted a bit odd, it wasn’t bad put not tasty as well. Also, the Seitan had no taste at all and was rather disappointing. To be honest, I wouldn’t order a pizza there a second time and if this was the first vegan pizza I ever ate I would be put off. But on the other hand, they have vegan cocktails and the pina colada’s was the best vegan cocktail I ever had, rich and creamy, almost like a dessert!

VanessaIglesias

Points +144

Vegan
11 Jul 2020

Muchas opciones veganas

Muy muy rico y comida típica de España pero interpretado de forma vegana. Los camarer@s han sido muy amables. volvere. Muchas gracias.

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas , Fresco , Muy muy rico

YmirREQUE

Points +28

Vegan
20 Feb 2020

Mal sitio para gente vegana

Se nota que es una cadena donde el propietario no deve ser ni vegano ni vejetariano.

El queso horrible y el ramen savia mal también.

Es el típico restaurante que hace creer a los especistas que comer vegano save mal no vallais.

La cocina es enana.

Pros: Nada

Cons: Todo

OreganoZen

Points +84

Vegan
13 Feb 2020

Uma boa paella

O restaurante é muito agradável e conta com um menu bem interessante de opções vegetarianas, veganas e sem glúten. 

O atendimento foi bom, eficiente e a cerveja estava bem gelada, uma delícia! 

Pedimos de entrada Nachos e como prato principal, a Paella Vegetariana. Tínhamos muita curiosidade sobre o prato e realmente agradou muito! 

Tamsinfm

Points +210

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Amazing

Food was amazing and the staff are very helpful the cocktails were great to, nice outdoor seating for a warm evening.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

chrdold

Points +1198

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

great pizza

came there late so I could only get something to take away.
The slice of vegan pizza was one of the best I ate so far.

Pros: open till late, great pizza

Puravida

Points +68

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

I love this place!

Always super good food. Friendly staff.

Pros: The food is great, Nice options , Good price

s36e175

Points +51

Mostly Veg
30 Sep 2019

Very nice hummous

Very nice hummous. Weak coffee. Very slow to bring la cuenta. A fly on every outside table suggests a disinfecting wipe might be a good idea between customers.

Pros: Great hummous

Cons: Weak coffee.

Elena16

Points +63

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Awesome Pizza

The vegan cheese on the pizza was probably the best I had ever tried.
The paella was nice and tasted good but it was nothing special.
The area was pretty nice to sit outside.

Pros: Lots of great vegan options, Nice location

Cons: Unattentive staff

Anton107

Points +23

Vegetarian
14 Sep 2019

Ok but not great

Paella was nothing special

slo0go

Points +1535

Vegan
26 Aug 2019

Nice place for a meal

Veggie restaurant with vegan options well marked. We got the premium burger, heura (Spanish vegan chicken), and veggie paella, with a pitcher of sangria. Heura was excellent - just a tad salty. Paella was a generous portion and very yummy. Burger also very good. Servers were friendly. A nice veggie respite in a very touristy area.

Pros: Vegan options well marked

imogenimogen

Points +169

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Great food and nice place

Really great central location in the Gothic Quarter with ample outdoor seating- even to a play area for kids.
The food was delivered quickly by friendly staff and was delicious- very filling.

Note that the burgers don’t say they come with patatas on the menu, but they do. We ordered some on the side but i wasn’t complaining- the more the better!

Pros: Good food, Friendly staff, Outdoor seating

Cons: Some meat options

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Barcelona Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegetalia - Gotico closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 20136 times.