• Thrive Juice Bar and Kitchen

  • (28)
    50
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
American
Juice bar
Take-out
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Opened Jun 2015, this little kitchen and juice bar offering mostly vegan food and drinks with the exception of honey in the granola and one salad with lobster. Open Wed-Sun 7:00am-5:00pm. Closed Mon-Tues.


Venue map for Thrive Juice Bar and Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by TheVeganSix

Kate9791

Points +664

Vegan
01 Mar 2024

A Sunday Tradition

Delicious! Since day 1 (opening day), we have always been met with kindness by staff, and ingredients have always been fresh and flavorful. No substitutions is a little prohibitive being that I have a few allergies, but I understand, being in a place with high tourism volume. Aside from that, it’s always a great experience. Lots of vegan and gluten free option. It’s usually an upcharge for gf granola on smoothie bowls, so I appreciate that it’s the standard option here. Prices are reflective of where we are, so to be expected. Definitely getting high quality here though. My fave Mermaid Bowl leaves me full for awhile!

Pros: Loads of vegan options, Outdoor seating options

Cons: Parking can be hard, Closes early

Advertisement

Vestalellie

Points +24

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Filling vegan food

They know what they are doing with vegan food. I had the tempeh blt and it was so great we came back the next day for a smoothie and coffee and it was fantastic. Very vegan friendly and my omnivore husband loved it too

sophiefrenchfry

Points +1333

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Light lunch

Thrive has great lunch options including salads, bowls, smoothies, and juice. I was thrilled to be able to order a vegan, gluten free falafel bowl without having anything customized or made specially. The falafel bowl was good and filled with veggies. I’ve had better falafel, but I appreciate that it wasn’t greasy or heavy.

thinkingaboutcows

Points +498

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

vegans should flock here

so many vegan options that all taste good! many smoothie and smoothie bowls too that most are automatically vegan and can make accommodations and add-ins of flax/chia/veg protein powder/etc. tastes very healthy and natural too!

vegan_or_bust

Points +65

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Solid Vegan Options

A good amount of vegan options for food as well as drinks, clearly marked, and really knowledgeable staff. We got the Tempeh BLT and Vegan Breakfast Burrito, and an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie for food and all were great and flavorful. I also tried a smoothie and loved it. Definitely recommend checking it out here.

VijayMehta

Points +16

Vegan
02 Sep 2022

Thrive review

Tasty options , with good variety, quick service

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Each is tasty, Best in the area

csailor

Points +770

Vegan
22 Jul 2022

Tasty options

Thrive has some solid vegan options on their menu including a breakfast burrito, veggie poke bowl, falafel wrap, and tempeh blt wrap. Their smoothies and smoothie bowls are very good as well. Smoothie bowls have honey on them, but are otherwise vegan. We had PB&cocoa and pink dragon smoothie bowls and both were tasty. Also, they have some GF& vegan muffins. Chocolate was great!

colehan123

Points +35

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

Not Just Juice

I was a little skeptical about going here for lunch because I feared it would just be smoothies but they have a wide variety of savory and filling vegan food.

addisonwreed

Points +117

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

This Juice Bar next to a Bar Harbor bar sets the bar high

Good vegan options, a little pricey. Cool additives like maca powder if you wanna get horned up before hitting the harbor.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-11

Cons: Expensive

noahdaniels12

Points +100

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

Healthy bowls

Most things are vegan but not all (they have a sandwich with bacon and sell salmon). Bowls and sandwiches were both delicious

Pros: They sell beet muffins

long_egg

Points +366

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

So, so good!

I can't wait to visit this place again. The vegan burrito I had was so good, and my partner really liked their smoothie. The food was super filling and was the prefect fuel for my hike up Cadillac Mountain later that day. I couldn't suggest this place more!

Pros: Great food and drinks, Good atmosphere

laurasremedies

Points +58

Vegan
28 Jun 2021

This should be listed as a 5 star place to eat; their food is so good!

Thrive has been my very favorite restaurant on Mt. Desert Island since it opened. I am vegan, and totally crave their vegan Tempeh BLT wrap. It is enormous, usually lasting me for two meals (although my husband scarfs his down in one go), and is so very delicious that I'd eat one every day if I lived closer. Whatever sauce they make for it is perfect; the whole wrap is addictive. I couldn't wait for them to reopen this year as their foods are so fresh, so healthy, so delightfully delicious. Next time I'll also try one of their smoothies, although the Tempeh BLT wrap fills me up completely, happily. Seek them out! Such a scrumptious and healthy alternative to the typical Bar Harbor restaurant offerings. I just wish they weren't closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Pros: excellent, healthy, fresh food!, very friendly staff, good vibes

Cons: that they are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays

TheVeganMo

Points +67

Vegan
17 Jun 2021

Recommend/Didn’t disappoint

I got the Vegan Breakfast Burrito on a recommendation and it was great! Nice cafe sized place with outdoor seating and safe Covid protocol. Plenty of V options plus a lot of food for the non-vegan crowd. Quick service from their helpful staff!

Pros: Good vegan breakfast options, Fair price considering the vacation location

EmmaSteinmetz

Points +30

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Get the breakfast burrito!

I was skeptical that the breakfast burrito would be worth the $11 price tag, but I was wrong! It was almost the size of a Chipotle burrito and contained cashew cheese, lentil-walnut chorizo, and a chipotle mayo in addition to the usual burrito fillings. Would definitely go back.

MellyRoseC

Points +68

Vegan
15 Aug 2020

My Bar harbor go to

Fresh, yummy, food. I tend to always get the avacado toast. The berry smoothie bowl is another favorite. My husband had the cold killer smoothie two days in a row, to boost his immunity. This is our second year visiting the area. I made sure I ate here at least twice!

Pros: Fresh, Options

Cons: Closed Mon& Tuesday 😭

AugustFern

Points +275

Vegan
25 Feb 2020

Nice Stop for a Couple of Vegans

I was here visiting Acadia National Park, and it was the first of two restaurants we ate at (we planned on cooking ourselves during our 9-day stay at our camp site). It was good, and I'd most likely stop here for the occasional wrap if I was local to the area. It was the first thing I ate that I didn't make for myself in awhile, so it was nice to sit down and enjoy it. I think it was a bit more than I'd want to pay for a wrap, but I think it's understood considering the location. I liked the clean atmosphere here, and the smoothies were flavorful.

Pros: Flavorful Smoothies, Quiet, Fast Service

Cons: Pricey, Meal could have used a side

KikoOla

Points +384

Vegan
16 Oct 2019

Lots of healthy options

Many options including smoothies, salad bowls, soup and some takeaway items. Also had vegan pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookies!

VAVegan

Points +49

Vegan
18 Sep 2019

Loved it!

We ate at Thrive after a fun day exploring Acadia National Park! I had a Fresh Start juice ( kale, pineapple, cucumber) which was excellent, and then a Kale Caesar with crunchy chickpeas, cashew dressing, avocado and added vegan bacon on the side. It was delightful! Finished with a delicious spiced oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. My partner had the Falafel salad and enjoyed it, and finished his meal with a Cocoa Pick me Up (Peanut butter/banana/cocoa smoothie). Staff was friendly, service was fast, We're here in late September, they closed at 4pm. Highly recommend, we would definitely go back!

Updated from previous review on 2019-09-18

Pros: Excellent food, Multiple vegan options, Friendly staff

JenniferGanzStacy

Points +60

Vegan
23 Sep 2018

VGFNF yum!

Awesome salad bar and banana oat coc chip cookie. Tried the ginger carrot soup...definitely ginger! Appreciate having such yummy options...and a few cookies to take back with me.

Pros: great find, super nice folks

AnatElkayam

Points +384

Vegan
07 Sep 2018

The best place for vegans and vegetarians in Bar harbor!

It’s not a fancy or a big place, but it is cozy and quiet. The food is really good, very fresh and versatile. There are smoothies and juices and also a yummy salad bar (priced by weight).

kfreeman.03

Points +22

Vegan
29 Aug 2018

Amazing!

excellent service and great food! going back again

Pros: lots of vegan options , very friendly service , organic, delicious food!!

maritimemaartje

Points +21

Vegetarian
01 Jun 2018

Amazing smoothy bowls

The smoothy bowl I had was amazing! In two days the ship will dock again in Bar Harbor and I will bring my friends to share this place.

Jack+2

Points +44

Vegan
26 May 2018

Best place for a vegan

I was feeling the usual frustration with trying to find something tasty and vegan. Tried vegan pancakes at another establishment that were gooey and disappointing; we came here and I am back in my Happy Place!

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , Healthy and fresh , Friendly staff

stoprockandroll

Points +76

Vegan
02 Sep 2017

Pretty solid

For a non vegetarian place, this is a good go-to given the limited options on the island. Their juices and smoothies are delicious and they have multiple pre-made vegan lunches, such as a chickpea "tuna" sandwich. They also have a salad bar you can definitely work with, which looks good. Overall not bad at all

sullivusb

Points +287

Vegan
12 Aug 2017

Good breakfast and lunch options

Our group came here a few times for breakfast / lunch during the week we were in Acadia.

Great, healthy smoothie, breakfast, and salad bar options. Our particular favorite was the smoothie bowls.

The only real downsides were that a.) the restaurant closes at four which can make it hard to get there b.) it was pretty crowded every time that we were there which meant a bit of a wait but nothing terrible.

Pros: Great, creative smoothie and breakfast options, fairly reasonable prices, (some) Nice outdoor seating for a sunny day

Cons: restaurant closes at four, can be crowded

RhondaHowerton

Points +54

Vegan
17 Jun 2017

wow

This place is exactly what I was looking for. Great healthy food. Super friendly staff!

eileenkm

Points +33

Vegetarian
28 May 2017

Excellent for lunch or breakfast

Tasty veg or vegan juices, smoothies, and smoothie bowls, as well as salad bar. Salad bar did have one section of chicken and one for hard boiled eggs, but rest were vegan: marinated tofu, sweet potato and lentil patties, spiced chick peas, plus plenty of raw veggies. The berry smoothie bowl was yummy. Gluten-free items clearly noted. Also has premade vegan sandwiches In fridge and gluten-free baked goods. Energy balls were just OK--a bit bland. NOTE; Seating is very limited. There are four stools at a bar indoors, plus a few more seats on the porch, so you may need to take items to go.




This page has been viewed 5330 times.