• Side Street Cafe a.k.a. The Annex

  • (24)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub-style restaurant with a few vegan choices, including a couple of salads (minus the cheese), hummus and olive tapenade, vegan black bean burger patty, fries. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Side Street Cafe a.k.a. The Annex
© OpenStreetMap contributors

24 Reviews

First Review by Alma074

CuddlyKitten

Points +158

Vegan
23 Nov 2023

Excellent service & choices

My SO introduced me to this place years ago when I was still a vegetarian. Now that I am vegan I appreciate it even more, despite the fact that the choices for a vegan are not extensive, because the ones that are available are so incredibly good!

I recently had the “lean machine” plate: black bean/portobello burger with avocado & greens & mustard, along with a side of the house fries (skip the chipotle sauce as it has dairy — your server will probably tell you that — but thought I would mention it). I also ordered the tomato basil soup, which was also excellent.

And I topped it all off with a Cosmo.

As always the place is very friendly.

If they ever expand the vegan options —even a little bit— it will be hard to find anything better on the island.

Pros: Delicious , Very Friendly & prompt service, Reasonabe prices for Bar harbor

Advertisement

apells

Points +156

Vegan
04 Nov 2023

One of my fave spots in Bar Harbor

I’ve been here a few times and have loved it each time! Got a black bean burger- one of the best I’ve ever had. Usually get the hummus plate too (which is amazing) but not available on their off season/ winter menu. Clearly labeled vegan options. Love this spot!

Pros: Clearly labeled menu, Great food, Good atmosphere

Amyladedada1

Points +458

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

Labeled vegan options & dog friendly

This was my second time eating here and it was good both times. I enjoy that the menu has labels for what’s vegan. There’s only two vegan meal options but I’m sure the staff could accommodate if asked.

Pros: Dog friendly , Labeled menu

DirtyDiana

Points +180

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Filling lunch on the Patio

I really enjoyed the hummus and soup! If my stomach had not room, I could have eaten another hummus plate, it was delicious!

DawnRice

Points +1085

Vegan
26 Sep 2022

Sweet Potato Soup is Delicious!

Enjoyed a tasty lunch of sweet potato soup (must try) the hummus platter and a blueberry mint lemonade. Nice to have great tasting food and drink at the same place my husband enjoyed his non-vegan must haves!

Pros: Sweet Potato Soup - must have! , Local beverages -blueberry mint, root beer & more, Friendly service

sheilahoff

Points +74

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

covered porch for outdoor dining

My husband and I did a 600 mile tandem bike tour around Nova Scotia. As vegans I used Happy Cow extensively, in advance, to plan where we'd be able to eat on the trip. Note we are not hyper-strict vegans so a tiny bit of dairy in a baked item is OK when our options are limited.

I enjoyed the hummus plate and it was yummy. Hubby had the house made vegan bean burger. For us being able to sit on the covered porch made it so we could keep an eye on the tandem while we dined.

Pros: covered porch, decent food

MichelleP36

Points +1580

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Good Hummus, dog friendly

The hummus appetizer was amazing. The sandwich option was ok. Glad they were dog friendly.

sarahdavis89

Points +1132

Vegan
12 Jul 2022

Great atmosphere!

Side street is a awesome little cafe! Not a ton of vegan options, but things that can be made vegan. Had the Jena’s Jam bowl without cheese or ranch, black bean wrap with no Mayo, and the sweet potato soup! Everything was good!

Pros: Cool atmosphere, Good food

Cons: Limited options

Jessyr898

Points +57

Vegan
10 May 2022

Yummy housemade vegan patty!

Great spot for a salad or black bean burger (I had it on “the Emmy” minus pesto & mozz). Cute patio and great service!

Pros: Great atmosphere! , Great service and knowledgeable about vegan subst

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +1090

Vegetarian
21 Nov 2021

Lots of vegan/vegetarian options - good service

We ate lunch here recently on our road trip to New England. We ordered make your own mac and cheese, loaded nachos and veggie quesadillas. The food was good, our server Travis was great. The restaurant was a bit chilly since they had the doors open but they were good about changing our table and putting us in a more insulated area.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-21

Pros: veg options clearly marked

DannyG

Points +65

Vegetarian
21 Sep 2021

Great roasted veggie salad!

Good selection of things to choose from. Liked this place! Would definitely go back!

Pros: Lots of good options, Service was good (we did take out; it was speedy), Fairly priced (for Bar Harbor)

jgoldfish7

Points +16

Vegan
20 Sep 2021

Bar Harbor options are limited; Side St. Cafe may be about as good as it gets

We were happy to have found this place in the vegan desert of Bar Harbor (and the Maine coast in general). The vegan soup was delicious. The black bean burger wrap was OK; we suspect that the assuredly non-vegan aioli we omitted would have punched up the flavor some. The black bean burger sandwich comes with bacon and cheddar cheese so we skipped it. The hummus platter looked good; that plus the soup may have been the winning combo.

Pros: Vegan Sweet Potato Soup is excellent

Cons: Not enough vegan options, Black bean burger COULD come w/vegan bacon, etc

Vegan_ACL

Points +2417

Vegan
13 Sep 2021

Not impressed, but not terrible

The black bean wrap and vegan soup comes out looking like it’s going to be so tasty but I’m just not impressed. Both lacked flavor and was just okay. Neither were terrible, but I would probably just get the hummus plate if I ever came back. I imagine you can’t go wrong with hummus and pita.

Pros: Decently priced for amount of food, A few vegan options

MaryT

Points +386

Vegan
11 Sep 2021

Pleasant

What we liked best about this cafe was the friendly service. The squash soup was peppery and squashy and fairly good. Hummus and tapenade appetizer was good and that and the soup made a filling lunch.

weskivt

Points +147

Vegan
03 Sep 2021

Cute place

Cute and very popular place. The vegan options of a Sweet Potato Soup was underwhelming. It really needed salt and it had too much pepper. It was only fair. Also, my husband had the Black Bean Patty. He said it was not good, edible, but not tasty. On the other hand, the french fries were delicious, as was the non-vegan Mac & Cheese with lobster eaten by our son.

Pros: Nice Staff, Pleasant atmosphere, A few dedicated vegan options

Cons: Vegan food was just ok

Ericaps

Points +22

Vegan
10 Aug 2021

Nice meal

Had the black bean Patty wrap with no Mayo. It was delicious. I also had a vegan sweet potato soup. So good!

Pros: Great service and food

Cons: More vegan choices are always needed

KathyT-WFPB

Points +795

Vegan
20 Jul 2021

Delicious Vegan Sweet Potato Soup

Would like to see a few more vegan options. I had the black bean wrap which was good. However, the vegan sweet potato soup was amazing. I ended up having a bowl AND a cup of the soup and could have made a meal of
just the soup. This was one of the few places still open after 8pm with outdoor dog friendly seating, so we were happy to find it.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-20

Pros: Great outdoor dog friendly porch, Friendly staff, Amazing tasting soup

Cons: Staff not entirely knowledgeable about vegan items

jayluhx

Points +1462

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Delicious!

Not a ton of options but really good food. Our server was amazing too!!

chardog

Points +66

Vegan
16 Aug 2020

Get the soups

I wanted to get the black bean burger but none of their bun options are vegan so I had to do a wrap and it wasn’t very flavorful and kind of dry. They do offer a vegan soup every day though, and they were great! Is a fine place to go if other people with you aren’t vegan. My omni fiancé said he had the best lobster in his life here.

plantbasedgal

Points +449

Vegan
04 Aug 2020

Happy Vibes

This is such a friendly eatery! The staff understands the vegan lifestyle and can make good suggestions. There is a daily vegan soup. The one we had was delicious. We also enjoyed the housemade black bean burger, made with quinoa. You can swap out chips for yummy roasted veggies for a nominal amount.

Pros: Fun place, great staff

TomIngersoll

Points +26

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Oh wow...just fantastic! Welcoming, accommodating, and SO delicious.

Warm, nice fun music, awesome help from Kristin.

Pros: House-made vegan burger., Conscientious staff...thank you Kristin!

cheagan

Points +20

Vegan
08 May 2019

Vegan Friendly

Very cute outside eating, has a funky feel. A couple of tasty Vegan choices. I had the kale mushroom salad excellent, omitted cheese and added avocado. Wish one of their soups was dairy free, seems that would be easy. Had the humus tapenade appetizer that was stellar. They had a nut milk for coffee.
Had 2 lunches there, staff helpful and attentive. They have a Mac and Cheese theme too bad they wouldn't do a vegan cheese version.

RachelAnnCoops

Points +91

Vegan
18 Sep 2018

Visiting from UK

Had a warm wrap with quinoa and veg - specified no mayo.. delicious. Have various make your own sandwich/burger options with homemade veg patty.

Pros: ‘Make your own’ options

Alma074

Points +19

Vegan
30 Sep 2017

Friendly happening spot with great food

Great place with friendly service. They have a few vegan choices, including a fresh huge roasted veggie salad (minus the cheese), to which you can add their housemade black bean burger or you can build your own burger with the black bean patty and various other ingredients and different breads. Their homemade olive tapenade is delicious. You can add it to your black bean burger or it also comes with an appetizer that has yummy pita bread and hummus.

The pub fries are yummy and not greasy. I loved that they're made in olive oil and not cheap vegetable oil. The guacamole appetizer was great and came in generous portion. Service was quick and great! Do let them know that you are vegan as to make sure that they don't use butter to fry your black bean patty or on your bread. They were VERY accommodating to vegans and I even saw on the check that they specified vegan by every menu item that we ordered, so it was nice to know that they take this seriously. Will be back!




This page has been viewed 4566 times.