Vegan
American
Fast food
Gluten-free

A plant-based all-vegan restaurant opened Summer 2018. Serves lunch & dinner and offers burgers, sandwiches, milkshakes, mac & cheese, salads, and more. Relocated from 609 Capitol Way S down the street. Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Wayside Cafe & Deli
© OpenStreetMap contributors

98 Reviews

First Review by guyettjeff

veganprincess2001

Points +24

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

delish!!

huge portions and great food! we got the jackfruit BBQ and the buffalo soy curl sandwiches. we would come back to olympia just to visit again!

Advertisement

pizzybot

Points +625

Vegan
08 Feb 2024

Outstanding vegan food with so many choices

The restaurant is very cute, but parking was a challenge, and there wasn't much outdoor dog-friendly seating, so we got our food as takeout and went to a nearby park with our dog. The portions were huge and meant we had multiple meals from it. The ribs were amazing, and so was the mac and cheese. The chicken sandwich was also excellent. They had great soft serve, too!

Pros: Excellent food, Generous portions

Cons: Challenging parking

anarchavegana

Points +196

Vegan
23 Dec 2023

Amazing vegan junk/comfort food options

Highly recommend this place!! Love all the options, a lot of the menu is hearty American-style food but there’s also some fusion options and healthier Asian-style bowls etc. They have baked goods (!!!!) and milkshakes. I got the Chinese 5 spice breaded chicken sandwich with a side of Mac and cheese that was excellent, such good comfort food.

Pros: Big portions, Lots of variety on the menu, Baked goods

adrienneingram

Points +247

Vegan
16 Dec 2023

Phenomenal!

I got the Almost Famous Bowl which was stuffed with mashed potatoes, creamed corn, fried chickn wings, gravy, and cheeze sauce! It was so good! There was tons of delicious gravy. This is a must try on a cold day. It was to die for. The portions were huge I had plenty of leftovers for later. Everything here is vegan and everything looked and smelled really good. They also had pastry and dessert options. Highly recommend this place. It had a cute atmosphere also. 🙌✨️

Pros: Huge portions, Delicious gravy, Everything is vegan

KanabVegan

Points +156

Vegan
20 Nov 2023

Comfort food

Found street parking about a block away on a Sunday midday. Enjoyed the huge dish of spare rib plate with mashed potatoes, gravy, sautéed greens, and Mac & cheese. Was a lot of food!
I liked that they have a pay-it-forward option to pay for another person who could not afford a warm meal.
There is a clean restroom and lots of great shops nearby.

burnsria

Points +1003

Vegan
27 Oct 2023

love this place!

The food here is always so filling and decently priced for what you get. I love the atmosphere and have been a fan since they opened! My favorite things here are the potato balls, the dip with mash and gravy, and the dan dan bowl. Check them out!

Pros: Very Filling, Casual Dining Experience , Good Location

Cons: Parking can be hard to find

SusieDavid

Points +33

Vegetarian
26 Oct 2023

Loved it!

I had the au jus with a gluten free bun, side salad with ranch. It was fabulous, very delicious, and it feels great to be in a vegan only establishment. The staff kindly gave a needy person a healthful shake while I was there.

DominicHowell

Points +49

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2023

Decent Vegan Comfort Food

I had the five spice sandwich which wasn’t really to my taste but the mac n cheese was good and the staff were very friendly

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-22

Cons: Calls itself a cafe but there’s no coffee!?

godzero

Points +47

Vegan
27 Sep 2023

Pure chance

I had not been to Olympia before and was driving through downtown when I spotted this place. Not knowing what it was like, I asked them if they had any vegan options. The reply was "everything is vegan"! What a wonderful piece of luck. The main dish was great, the dessert delicious, so I went back a week later when I was in town again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-07

Pros: Main dish, Dessert

Cons: No coffee but there's several coffee places nearby

Paigecs

Points +527

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

Great place to grab a quick bite

Clean, bright, cafeteria-vibes cafe centrally located in Olympia. The cajun chicken sandwich was, for me, an interesting experiment more than a definite success--the tofu-skins-as-burger thing was certainly novel, but overall pretty overpowered by the breading, and the flavors didn't really pop. Everything was very fresh! The dessert situation is pretty stellar, with multiple cakes, cookies, and bars that I'd love to come back for.

PopeRigby

Points +40

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Everything was amazing

I got the Almost Famous Bowl, and it was some of the best vegan food I've ever had. I had a hard time believing the cheese sauce was actually vegan!

Flollpower123

Points +16

Vegan
08 Sep 2023

Best vegan food

We aren’t familiar with the Olympia area so this was the first vegan restaurant we tried here. Omg everything was so good!! We got the bbq bowl, potato balls, and buffalo salad. Everything was amazing. 10/10.

Pros: Service was fantastic super friendly , Prices were great, Easy location

PNWBriar

Points +161

Vegan
05 Sep 2023

Great comfort food and baked goods

The cakes and cookies are super tasty. My favorite appetizer is the fried mashed potato balls and The Dip is my fave sandwich. The Mac n cheeze is top notch.

rionthelion

Points +274

Vegan
26 Aug 2023

Nothing Wayside About It! Right down the center of the road!

Amazing, lovely, yummy, divine. Love this place. A must stop every time. My only complaint is that they did not exist when I went to school here, which is an unfair complaint but certainly after eating here, you could possibly imagine why I feel that way.

Pros: Vegan , Options galore , So good, so yummy, so delicious

Larry74

Points +169

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Yum!

Got the Cajun Chicn sandwich and the collard greens. Greens are a bit salty for my taste, but they are still quite good. Sandwich is a monster!

Walked in as War Pigs was begging. There is nothing better than hitting a vegan joint and hearing some good metal or punk blaring from the kitchen. I know I'm in the right place!

Pros: Good food, Good atmosphere , Friendly staff

chrispychrispy

Points +46

Vegan
28 May 2023

Omg good

Loved everything. I had the Dan Dan bowl. My kid: French dip. Other kid: tofu skin burger. Husband: red chili soy curls. We all tried each others food and it was all a HIT. Mac n cheese was amazing too. My daughter went back to buy herself another passion fruit cheesecake slice because she loved it so much and the slice we all shared as a fam wasn’t enough for her.

Pros: Jackfruit and soy curls on the menu, Wide variety, Kombucha in the fridge

PaulAtreides

Points +765

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Wayside, more like "must-try-side"

This place is a "must stop at Olympia" destination every time I make the drive up to Seattle from Portland. Everything on the menu is super cravable. The rib plate is complete food perfection.

Pros: Everything on the menu is excellent, Incredible desserts and to go food, Rib plate is chefs kiss

XtalF

Points +201

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Wow!!

My family loved the food here. We enjoyed the Buffalo cauliflower wings, potato balls, Arugula beetroot salad, and Mac n cheese. My kids were completely floored by how cheesy tasting the Mac n cheese was. For dessert they had some generous slices of carrot cake and chocolate cake. I saw they also offered ice cream and milkshakes (when available). My personal faves were the beetroot salad and Buffalo cauliflower wings. The batter was crispy and the Buffalo sauce was just spicy enough and delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-10

Pros: Something for everybody, Family friendly, Delicious noms

Cons: Parking in the city can be hard., Isn’t open until 2pm.

Rob-o-bot

Points +304

Vegan
21 Mar 2023

Good food

Super local feel place with good food. Comfort over health here which is nice.

giantvegan

Points +495

Vegan
12 Mar 2023

Great food

Big fan of this place. It’s good food and very consistent. Has a decent variety and has way more hits than misses on the menu. Buffalo chicken sandwich is messy but delicious and I love all their bowl variations. Great vegan spot.

MandiCoyne

Points +826

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

Vegan comfort food

Honestly the mashed potatoes were the best. Seems simple but their gravy was PERFECT. Highly recommend. #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan

Cons: The hours are horrible

ms_snow

Points +139

Vegan
24 Dec 2022

Good desserts

Vegan soft serve ice cream which is not easy to find and other great desserts.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-24

GreatDay

Points +26

Vegan
27 Sep 2022

The Grub you can feel good about

The five spice sandwich was so unique and different. The jackfruit BBQ I have to know how to make at home. Two people split two dishes and were stuffed. Will be going back.

Pros: No beyond meat

Cons: Mac n cheese was good but tasted like Panera

TheFriendlyGiant

Points +141

Vegan
23 Sep 2022

Excellent

Great food here. Something for everyone.

veganmarketingpeople

Points +1473

Vegan
14 Sep 2022

Jeeeeeeeeezzzzz

Hands down the best cauliflower wings I’ve ever had ❤️

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-14

Turnipthebeet206

Points +108

Vegan
14 Aug 2022

Great fast food

Such good food and reasonably priced!

Pros: Always have specials , Great food, Great pricing

DeanJen

Points +4962

Vegan
01 Aug 2022

When wayfaring wander to this welcoming estaminet.

Outdoor dining available but not always a serene space.




This page has been viewed 16307 times.