• The Real Greek

  • (14)
    9
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. UK chain of Greek and Eastern Mediterranean cuisine restaurants. Casual dining style. Has a separate vegan menu listing choices of cold mezze, hot mezze, wraps, a few sides and desserts. Situated between Windsor Castle and the River Thames. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-22:00.


Venue map for The Real Greek
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by GuilaineBlanc

Ricardo

Points +15561

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Excellent value for lunch

I had the falafels as appetizer and the vegan plate for lunch, which had a bit of everything: pita bread, houmous, jackfruit stew, broad beans with spinach, bulgur, salad and raw vegetables.

Everything was delicious, and copious.
The service was also polite and quick; and the interior was also nice.

An excellent value for lunch.
But it would be great if they could offer something else than ice-cream as a vegan dessert.

Pros: great value, good service, yummy food

Cons: not all vegan, could offer vegan desserts but ice-cream

Advertisement

SophY_Travels

Points +398

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

Clearly marked vegan - good food

This place is underrated. It’s a good atmosphere and the food is delicious with big portions. There’s plenty of vegan options to chose from too. Everything is very clearly marked out as vegan and the staff are all aware what that means.

Pros: clearly marked vegan , Lots of options

Cons: Does serve meat

StaceyReay

Points +379

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

3.5 stars

It is good for the options but the taste was a little eh...

Pros: Wide range of vegan options , Good size portions , Inexpensive

Cons: Some of the food was a little bland , Average food , 3.5 stars if I could

·X·

Points +17183

Vegan
22 Feb 2022

The Real Greek

We visited Windsor (where the Queen lives 👑) on a Sunday and didn't have a lot of lunch options available with vegan options. Thankfully, there was a The Real Greek location, which was just as good and consistent with the London locations. See my overall take below:

Great vegan offerings, though, you need to know what to order, because some of their menu items can be quite bland while some are incredibly flavorful.

First let's start with the bland:
- Greek salad w/o cheese ... no taste at all
- Santorini fava ... meh
- Beetroot and lentil salad w/o feta ... unremarkable
- Vegan meatballs ... disappointing

Now let's end with the delicious options:
- Green pea fava ... I can eat spoonfuls of this! Dare me to!😄
- Greek flatbread with dukkah ... pairs well with the green pea fava
- Gigandes with spinach ... great, but I need to add salt to them
- Chickpea filo triangles ... if you like samosas, you'll fall in love with these
- Pourgouri bulgar wheat ... loved this, but it also needed a little salt.

lmd14

Points +244

Vegan
09 Jul 2021

Surprisingly good!

One of the best chain restaurant I've been to! Vegan meatball and jackfruit wraps were both really good. I cant remember the name but the fried chickpea parcels were amazing!

Highly recommended - large choice of vegan food.

Gerwyn

Points +544

Vegan
14 Jun 2021

More gigandes!

I once ate at The Real Greek in Reading. The big disappointment there was the rivithia, which in Siphnos is a hearty chick pea stew with a rich sauce, and which in Reading was a tin of chick peas, quickly boiled. Thankfully, this now seems to be off the menu and I had gigandes with spinach, which wasn't half bad, along with pourgouri (bulghur salad), new potatoes, hummus and Santorini fava.

The disappointment this time was that the advertised pale ale was off, and I was forced to drink lager. Given that this was the hottest day in the year in Windsor, you can imagine this is not the way things should be. This was partly mitigated by a nice Greek coffee, paired with a shot of tsipouro.

Pros: Gigandes, Pourgouri, Tsipouro

Cons: No pale ale

TheUnrefinedVegan

Points +63

Vegan
10 Jun 2021

Amazing food and value

Had the lunch menu of souvlaki with chips and a side for just £7.95. the meatball and jackfruit gyros were both outstandingly good.

Can't recommend this place enough if you are in Windsor; it's 2 min walk from Riverside station

If you like my reviews follow me on YouTube and Instagram: The Unrefined Vegan

Pros: Awesome food., Tasty , Value

Cons: None

HannahDempsey

Points +74

Vegan
02 Nov 2019

Delicious

Had a delicious Gyro here! MmmMMmmM. The pittas are vegan also so tuck into a shared humous if poss.

Pros: Delicious

Cons: Tad pricey

philustrate

Points +122

Herbivore
04 Aug 2019

Great vegan menu

Tried this place on a shopping trip to Windsor. The vegan menu is extensive and reasonably priced, staff friendly, service quick and food really tasty. What’s not to like?

ArnoldM.DAmato

Points +30

Vegan
21 May 2019

Best place in Windsor for vegan food

Spend a lot of time working in Windsor and know all the best places to eat as a vegan - The Real Greek is by far the best. Extensive vegan menu, lots of healthy food, simple food cooked very well, quick service by very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. If you go early for the set meal, it’s ridiculously cheap.

bombecka19

Points +141

Vegan
07 Aug 2018

Great menu

We visited here on a short stop before heading home via Heathrow airport. Excellent location near the car park and close to Windsor Castle & the Thames. We had the vegan mezze and a falafel wrap, both were delicious and staff were very friendly. I was also able to order my kids their own mezze

Pros: Great vegan menu , Children’s menu available, Great location

Qypaddy

Points +30

Vegan
02 Aug 2018

Great Vegan menu - Excellent value

Really good location, friendly staff and great selection from a full vegan menu. Food was fresh, tasty and great value.

Bearmina

Points +252

Vegan
04 May 2018

Good choice & some puddings too

The restaurant has a comprehensive vegan menu and the choices are tasty too.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, 4 dessert options, Friendly

GuilaineBlanc

Points +18

Vegan
06 Mar 2018

Parfait

Les plats végétariens ou vegans sont très bien identifiés et il y a du choix. Les prix sont raisonnables.

Many thanks to Marilena.

Pros: large choix végétarien et vegan

Cons: un peu trop salé




This page has been viewed 3276 times.