• The Coconut Tree

  • (17)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Sri Lankan
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Sri Lankan tapas and cocktail bar. Has a vegan section on the menu. Dishes include Sri Lankan cashews and green bean curry, roast potatoes, kale & cabbage sambol, coconut sambol, parippu dhal, tender pumpkin cooked in coconut cream, polenta battered mushrooms, vegan fried rice, vegan kotthu, rotti, and more. Has vegan stracciatella for dessert. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-16:00, 17:00-22:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for The Coconut Tree
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by FrankieW

BaileySheppard

Points +20

Vegan
24 Jan 2024

Amazing flavours

Me and my partner went to The Coconut Tree for our monthly date night. It was our first fully vegan restaurant experience. My partner is not vegan and I asked if he was going to eat meat and he said he didn’t want to, he was there for the experience to see if the food we make at home is as nice as restaurant vegan food. Oh my didn’t it exceed! It was full of such amazing flavours and different options. We have never eaten Sri Lankan food before but it was delicious! I would highly recommend everyone to honestly give The Coconut Tree a go because it was outstanding!
I have found some recipes on their website that I shall be remaking myself at home! My partner said he didn’t even miss Meat or Dairy with how amazing the food was. #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-24

Pros: Amazing flavours , Lots of variety, Catered well for vegans

Cons: A bit too spicy, Cocktails weren’t the best but still lovely , Need more ingredients in some dishes

Advertisement

VeechE

Points +118

Vegan
27 Apr 2023

Very good, stay for the kotthu

Really enjoyable food here. Well spiced with lots of vegan options, very tasty and fresh.

- The curries are soooo nice, recommend the pumpkin. Very creamy.
- The battered mushrooms are great.
- The kotthu is the star here. My fav dish and I order it every single time. Well spiced and very very good.

Really nice food, shame it’s not fully vegan, good drinks too.

Pros: Great cocktails , Delicious curries , Kotthu is phenomenal

Cons: The seats are terrible and uncomfy lol

MissAmelia_k

Points +482

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

Delicious!

Great variety of tasty vegan Sri Lankan street food. Started with the Hopper - very good! Loved the cashew curry dish, mushrooms, both the vegan rice dishes great. All very good!

Pros: Really tasty, Variety of unusual vegan food, Reasonably priced

Cons: Only had 1 vegan dessert option , Waitress wasn’t very friendly, Bit chilly

JoeyR

Points +326

Vegan
02 Jan 2023

Pretty good

I had this via delivery and it was OK, I have been told its much better when you go to the restaurant

robpeck98

Points +488

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

Good variety

Good variety of decent vegan food. As a PSA, I’d get at least 2 curries to make sure you’ve got plenty of sauce for all your other dishes

morganeveganscran

Points +637

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Tasty Sri Lankan food

The food here is good with quite a few vegan options across the menu. I particularly liked the pumpkin and potato dishes I ordered. The main issue is that we felt very rushed by the staff; it’s a popular restaurant but you’re only allowed to stay for an hour and a half which means that you don’t really get to enjoy the tapas style food in a relaxed way.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Rushed by staff

sashamurray14

Points +118

Vegan
13 May 2022

I love this place!!

So many good vegan options here.
My partner is omni so it was great to have such good options for both of us. We’ll definitely return!

sarahhh.johnsonn

Points +22

Vegan
04 May 2022

Amazing options!

Great tasty food! Vegan,veggie,gluten free and meat eaters can all eat here and throughly enjoy their meals !

Pros: Vegan,veggie,gluten free and meat options , Bursting with flavours , Can have mains or tapas style sharing

Cons: Is spicy (I love) but check the heat of you don't , Good idea to check bookings ahead of time

HelenJDrew1

Points +210

Vegan
28 Apr 2022

Delicious Sri Lankan food

Plenty of vegan choices and really tasty. Great to get a variety of different dishes. Especially loved the roast potatoes, chickpea dish, and dhal. But we enjoyed all of it.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

DaJaffaMan

Points +34

Vegan
02 Nov 2021

Was banging

Got a huge array of things and just kept eating more, had a mini food coma after

Pros: Lots of options, Tasty, Good location for beers after

Jenzibar

Points +505

Vegan
25 Oct 2021

Great food!

Never been to a Sri lankan restaurant before - really enjoyed this for a change. Some interesting dishes on the menu I've never tried before such as mango and pineapple curries..some dishes too hot for me (but I'm a spice wimp!). The hoppers are the real winners on the menu, don't leave without trying them! Really busy when we visited, booking is still definitely recommended!

TheGingerDays

Points +247

Vegan
19 Sep 2021

Delicious

A vegan friend had recommended coming here while in Bristol so we'd assumed the menu was 100%. Sadly it's not, but it is about 70/80% vegan so there's tons to choose from. We had three small dishes and one large plate between two of us and that was enough. The dishes were full of flavour, all real ingredients and healthy which was great after a weekend of vegan junk food and cakes. We'll definitely be back next time we're in the area.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-19

GemmaWilson

Points +176

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Nice change

Really liked the vegan choice, friendly staff and food was yummy although didn’t quite hit that 5 star for me

becwallis

Points +298

Vegan
11 Dec 2020

Beautiful food

Such good value for money, tasty and nutritious food. Couldn’t fault it and will 100% come back again! Polenta Mushrooms were amazing!

Pros: Vegan options, Tasty food, Reasonable price

AmyL.p

Points +73

Vegan
04 Oct 2020

Good for sharing

Lots of vegan tapas style options. Warning some dishes v.spicy!

Pros: Polenta mushrooms and Dahl v.tasty

Cons: Could of had more main/bigger dishes and sides

mrsshoebox

Points +203

Vegan
13 Aug 2020

Lots of vegan choice

Delicious Sri Lankan food with lots of vegan options. We shared some dishes amongst our table and all were delicious. The polenta mushrooms were very good, as was the dhal.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

FrankieW

Points +2509

Vegan
05 Aug 2019

Sri Lankan tapas.

Authentic reproductions of Sri Lankan fare.

Proper spicy, delicate flavours and chilled yet friendly staff.




This page has been viewed 1888 times.