• Taste of Saigon

  • (9)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Take-out
Asian
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vietnamese food menu. Includes a vegetarian section, and staff knows which dishes are vegan suitable. The submarine sandwich and the spring rolls are not vegan, the kitchen will make vegan spring rolls on request. Open Mon 12:00pm-10:30pm, Wed-Thu 12:00pm-10:00pm, Fri 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sat 12:30pm-11:00pm, Sun 11:30am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Taste of Saigon
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by kimward8

c.rapuano

Points +69

Vegan
18 Aug 2023

Delicious and huge portions!

Had the vegan vermicelli bowl with tofu and spring rolls. Tofu is actually cooked nicely with great flavour and the bowl is fresh and a huge portion. Great stop!

Advertisement

JohnnyPepperplant

Points +37

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

They have delicious food and make their own vegan “fish” sauce which is great.

What amazing food! It’s easily my favourite of this kind in Calgary. Friendly and excellent staff, too.

Pros: Lots of options, Delicious

Cons: Can be a wait so be patient

jen.elle

Points +23

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

Deliciousness in the suburbs!!

This was our first time going and we will definitely be back! We had the vegan version of the scallion pancakes and they were amazing! Surprisingly filling too! I ordered the vermicelli bowl with tofu and the vegan fried spring rolls, accompanied with the imitation fish sauce and they were delicious! The menu made it easy to order as items were clearly labeled. There was a good variety of items available vegan.

Pros: Good variety of vegan items, Clean and plenty of seating available , In the suburbs

Sonny246

Points +776

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

Been coming here for years

Been coming here for years, love this place. I always order the Tofu & Veggie Noodle Soup, tofu salad rolls are good too.

Pros: vegan items are labeled , lots of seating , very clean

Cons: location

lmcc

Points +1208

Vegan
08 Jan 2018

Great option for Vietnamese food in NW Calgary

I've become somewhat of a regular here since I started going. It's a nice space, and the staff are very friendly. Best of all, their menu is labelled very well. It has a vegetarian section, with what is vegan or can be made vegan, and even some of the appetizers are labelled as being vegan or possible to have made vegan.

The food is decent. The vegan spring rolls are not very similar to other spring rolls I've had. The wrapper on them is different, and they have a unique taste. They are made with mushroom and bamboo, which has an interesting flavour. I've tried a few of their soups, and they are tasty. The vegan curry was pretty boring, in my opinion, but fine nonetheless. My favourite has to be the vermicelli bowl, which comes with a vegan 'fish' sauce.

It's all reasonably priced, and while the service isn't fast, it's not too bad, especially during off-peak times. It's definitely worth a try, and I will likely continue to visit!

Pros: Vegan options labelled, Lots of options, Reasonable pricing

Cons: Boring curry!

ByronSobe

Points +288

Vegan
25 May 2017

delicious!! tons of flavour and huge portions!!

Had the curry vegan soup (posted a pic of it, #82 on their menu) and it was top notch. This place can go head to head with some of the best vegan spots in NYC and LA. Tried my families dishes as well and they were great as well. Vegan fried rice was tasty and didn't need any sauce to doctor it up. Neither did the vegan stir fry with vermicelli. Highly recommend!!! :)

missanj

Points +82

Vegan
20 Apr 2017

yum!

Service is so slow cos their menu is so large and food is quite fresh. Don't expect great service... but still check them out when you are in that area! I always get the vegan vermicelli. Also comes with vegan version of fish sauce.

cathalinag

Points +35

Vegan
11 Nov 2013

Good Food, Slow Service

The server was nice and accommodating , suggested all modifications to 'veganize' our meal. We ordered t thege almond tea, it's made with milk so we got coconut milk instead, it was delicious, very almondy with the bittersweet mix of green tea and coconut that made it very interesting.
We ordered the vegetarian fried spring rolls, with rice wrapper instead of egg; these were salty and greasy, not very good.
The vegetarian stir fry was also made vegan for us; was a bit greasy but flavorful and very fresh broccoli, bok choi, carrots and cauliflower with fried tofu; it improved with sriracha sauce.
The vegetarian curry on rice was ok, lots of vegetables -same mix as the stir fry-.
The service was pretty slow, it took about 10 min for the server to take our order from the time we sat down and 10 more to get the tea. Shortly after they brought up the spring rolls and the main dishes at the same time. We arrived early for dinner so this might have been the reason why service was slow, other people after us got served a bit faster.
$35 for everything makes it a good value. Will come back and try different options

Pros: Food, Vegan Options

Cons: Slow, Need To Request Veganizing

kimward8

Points +574

Vegan
31 Jan 2013

Vegan Vietnamese Options

The staff was very knowledgeable about which items in the vegetarian section of the menu were vegan. We had spring rolls, salad rolls, curry, and tofu veggie noodle soup. They were all good. The spring rolls are normally made with an egg wrapper, but if you ask they will make vegan ones with rice wrappers instead.




This page has been viewed 3486 times.