• Sosta Cafe

  • (19)
    20
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. European coffee shop serving sandwiches and salads made to order using local produce and breads. Fresh soup daily. Free Wi-Fi. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm, Sat 10:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Sosta Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by raleighvegan

chuckfofnc

Points +173

Vegan
28 Nov 2022

Multiple vegan options

For lunch I had the Rizo (vegan chorizo) sandwich with sides of Israeli couscous and cannellini bean salad. It was very tasty with a nice kick in the vegan chorizo. The serving size was ample enough to take home for dinner as well. The meals are prepared fresh after you order, so there’s a bit of a wait…but well worth it.

Advertisement

Ember

Points +153

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Love Sosta!

Can't believe I haven't posted a review yet! I've been going to Sosta for lunch anytime I'm in Raleigh for years now. The Dude Where's My Chicken sandwich is the absolute best vegan chick'n salad ever. The pearl couscous salad and chickpea salad are my favorites. The food is so filling and the prices are great. I bring everybody here whenever they're traveling with me. It's also right in downtown, a quick few blocks from the museums.

Pros: Great price, Delicious food, Good location

Vegan_ACL

Points +2417

Vegan
03 May 2022

Such a pleasant spot

I got the veganized version of the sampler platter and it was way more food than I was expecting. It was wonderful and trying a little bit of everything makes me really want to come back. The gentleman, who I assume is the owner, who took my order was so nice and helpful with all my questions. He was funny and you could tell he loves what he does. It wasn’t super busy at noon on a Tuesday and had a few tables outside in the shade so it was completely wonderful.

leaf____

Points +195

Vegan
15 Mar 2022

Great hearty options

Multiple vegan options and really generous portions. I got "This Little Piggy" and an almond milk latte, plus the two sides of couscous and garbanzos all sandwiches come with. Absolutely delicious, have brought my family here multiple times!

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Generous portion sizes

corythacker

Points +42

Vegan
17 Jan 2022

Angus Beef Sandwich 100%

The vegan Angus beef sandwich is spot on! Side of white beans and cous-cous. #Veganuary

Pros: Great food, Great atmosphere , Root beer!

Cons: No vegan cheese

VioletVoid

Points +21

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Very tasty

Has several vegan options, and then a few more vegetarian options that can be made vegan by just removing cheese.

clairecollett

Points +59

Vegan
31 Aug 2021

Authentic, fresh, delicious

This is my go-to lunch spot downtown. The food is always so fresh and you get a very large portion size (I usually take half of my sandwich to-go). The owner and staff are great and the restaurant itself truly feels like a French café. I would rate 5 stars if I could.

garageflowers

Points +20

Vegan
25 Feb 2021

Delicious, healthy vegan options available.

I've been going here for over 10+ years. I love their food, and it's a joy to talk with the owner. My favorite is the Dude, but I also love the mock BBQ sandwich. The best part for me may be the sides you can get with your sandwich which is why I will usually also get the vegan sampler to go. I rarely drink coffee, but my wife seems to really enjoy it from here. I've been on Happy Cow for a few years now, but supporting this great cafe is why I'm leaving my first review. If the requirements would allow me, I would give 5 stars.

MickeyYost

Points +81

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

Delightful cafe with yummy food

Great food with yummy flavor and nice textures. Friendly staff that stops to talk to you and when you start reading, knows when to leave you be.

Pros: Vegan/Vegetarian section of menu, Very yummy food, Friendly, personable service

Cons: Downtown location requires street parking

RuthVegan

Points +16

Vegan
05 Sep 2020

Delicious food

This is my lunch stop after hiking in Umstead state park. Angus “steak” sandwich (ask for it without cheese to make it vegan) is delicious and filling.

Pros: Delicious, Quick, Friendly

Chelsea724

Points +1110

Vegan
17 Jun 2020

AMAZING FOOD!!!

I am new to the area and had lunch (take out) from Sosta Cafe today. I had the vegan "chicken" salad sandwich. IT WAS SO GOOD!! Each sandwich comes w/ 2 sides (all of the sides are vegan) - which really gives you enough food for two meals. The "chicken" salad had raisins which is something I dont usually like but loved them in here. Even a few pecan pieces for crunch. Can't wait to go back and try more vegan options.

kristiannarae

Points +56

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Love!

We came when they were closing early, and they were so kind and helpful even though they were about to close! We enjoyed both our meals to go! So delicious. I had the pulled “pork” type sandwich and my boyfriend had the “steak” type sandwich. I would say I’d like it better with a different side other than couscous or chickpeas though. Both aren’t my personal favorite, but they were tasty overall. It was definitely worth stopping by, and I would make a trip to eat here again!

Pros: Delicious vegan options

Cons: Also serves meat ;)

Snolet

Points +28

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Amazing lunch and friendly staff!

Searching for a place to go to with omni friends and this place popped up as somewhere with vegan options. Their soy based chik'n salad sandwich was amazing, so flavorful!! And all their sides are vegan too! With Israeli cous cous and white bean salad, there was enough food that it served me for dinner too. Highly recommended!!

Pros: Friendly service, Delicious vegan options

bochulindra

Points +185

Vegan
04 Jan 2019

3 good vegan options

Love the owner, the 3 vegan options are delicious though they are all soy-based. The sides are delicious.

hannahgreene

Points +20

Vegan
19 Aug 2018

I love having this place around

This place is super friendly and their vegan chicken salad sandwich is delicious. It’s a great spot for a quick lunch or coffee.

Pros: Vegan options are labeled

Cons: There are only three vegan sandwiches

stbenjam

Points +260

Vegan
25 Jul 2016

Great lunch options!

I work at Red Hat and visit Raleigh every now and then. Sosta Cafe is right next to the office, and has awesome vegan lunch options, including a chicken salad sandwich that I get with a side of couscous.

Pros: great lunch options, fast, friendly

aliciajkern

Points +129

Vegan
25 Nov 2013

Loved it!

Friendly service, generous portions, delicious food. I am so glad I found this place on Happy Cow!
I ordered the vegan BBQ sandwich. It came with a white bean salad and Israeli couscous. Everything tasted fresh and wonderful.
I'll be back next time I visit Raleigh!

Pros: Yummy vegan options, Friendly service, Good value

Michael X. James

Points +945

Vegan
12 Oct 2011

A breath of fresh air

Visiting the Raleigh area you'll notice quickly that there are not many vegan options. This place has at least 5 options on the menu available any time not to mention the soup or other modifications that the owner is willing to do at any time. I got "This Little Piggy" which was very good. Artistic atmosphere and very friendly service.

Pros: Artistic atmosphere, Friendly service

raleighvegan

Points +20

Vegan
04 Feb 2010

Sosta Cafe

Sosta is a great lunch spot in downtown Raleigh. They have really good vegan chicken salad and a vegan bbq sandwich too. Ciabatta bread is definitely vegan -- not sure about some of their other breads. The veggie burger is vegan as long as you order it without cheese and mayo -- can't comment on it though because I haven't tried it. You can also order a vegan version of their sampler plate which is awesome because it gives you a sampling of both the chicken salad and bbq as well as all of their great bean salads (garbanzo, cannellini and israeli couscous) -- which are all delicious! They have the best soy chai and good coffee drinks. oh -- and the owners are very helpful and friendly!

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, good size portions

Cons: not open on the weekends or evenings




This page has been viewed 7314 times.