Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Spanish

Vegetarian restaurant in the heart of the monumental area of Mérida offering several vegan options, variety of teas, cocktails and desserts. Bright decor inside and out. Tofu and seitan dishes, salads, veggie burger, 'meat' balls. Generous portions. Open Wed-Thu 13:30-16:00, 20:00-00:00, Fri 13:00-16:00, Fri-Sat 20:00-02:00, Sat-Sun 13:30-17:00, Sun 20:00-00:00.


Venue map for Shangri-La
© OpenStreetMap contributors

47 Reviews

First Review by Clare

Sofia.in.Wanderland

Points +1288

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

An oasis in the desert

Everything was delicious, starting with the olives (the best I've ever had). I thought the portions would be tapa style, but each one was a proper meal. And all yummy!

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-28

Advertisement

ClaraLuckyLuck

Points +548

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Buen restaurante en una ciudad con muy pocas opciones

Sitio muy agradable, hay bastantes opciones veganas (tampoco demasiadas). Buena calidad

Pros: Platos muy ricos, Personal muy amable, Acogedor

Cons: Hay muchísima gente, mejor ir con reserva

josepas_sr

Points +21

Mostly Veg
13 Aug 2023

Un buen vegetariano

Todo fue perfecto en el Shangri-la, nos permitieron acceder con nuestra perrita sin dudarlo y nos ofrecieron su sabrosa carta con verdaderos y gustosos platos.

Pros: La elaboración de los platos, El servicio, El postre

joseluisalonso

Points +35

Vegetarian
02 Aug 2023

Un oasis en medio de un desierto

Una comida exquisita y unos postres maravillosos!

saturn_enjoyer

Points +22

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Cómodo y delicioso

Excelente restaurante vegetariano/vegano con gran variedad de platos a un precio más que decente, todos deliciosos y aunque en apariencia no muy voluminosos, en realidad llenan mucho. El trato fue realmente exquisito y el local es muy acogedor.

Pros: Trato absolutamente impecable, Comida riquísima a buen precio, Local muy acogedor

Cons: Sin reserva puede no haber sitio

AlejandroP

Points +734

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Qué cena más agradable

Cuando se hacen las cosas con cariño, salen bien. Se nota que el dueño pone interés en aquello que hace para que la velada sea redonda. Sin ser un restaurante espectacularmente bonito, si es muy agradable. La ambientación y la música de fondo invitan a pasar un buen rato.
Las raciones son abundantes y están muy bien de precio. Al existir medias raciones te da la oportunidad de probar varios platos. Hay unos cuantos platos veganos (incluidos postres). Probamos los nachos, la musaka, los champiñones rellenos (de 10) y el burrito. Sin ser platos que requieran alta elaboración estaban muy, muy buenos. El pan de quinoa también muy rico.
Probablemente, la mejor opción vegana de Mérida.

Pros: El trato amable/ambiente, La comida, El precio

Martin60

Points +96

Vegan
10 Feb 2023

Delicious desert

This is a veggie and vegan restaurant. Prob a about 70/30 veggie/vegan. Lunch tapas and cakes really -probably not for dinner. We had burrito stuffed with red beans which was lovely and then some mushroom croquettes which were delicious. Unfortunately I found out after they weren’t vegan as they contained traces of milk. But that was entirely my fault I didnt read the menu properly. For desert we had the applie pie with vegan ice cream which although the pie was cold which was a bit disappointing was still delicious. My wife had a banana cake which she said was superb. It was very busy when we came here and the staff a little flustered but the service was prompt and friendly nonetheless. It’s just a pleasure to find somewhere in Spain where we can comfortably eat vegan food and when the food is great it’s a bonus. Recommended. Ps we saw a few people have the moussaka which looked lovely.

Pros: Delicious, Good range of options

Cons: Bit busy but that’s good to see

janto

Points +847

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

Riquísimo y variado

Amplia variedad de platos veganos riquísimo. Buena atención. Un refugio para vegetarianos/veganos que quieren comer dignamente en Mérida. Es estupendo. Recomiendo reservar, especialmente en verano durante el Festival de Teatro Clásico.

Pros: Platos riquísimos, Variedad, Precios adecuados

AnaBazBur

Points +13

Vegetarian
04 Dec 2022

Recomendable

Buena cantidad y mucha variedad.

MagiaVegetal

Points +24

Vegan
22 Oct 2022

Comida

El trato muy amable y profesional. Toda la comida vegana variada y muy buena. La ensalada de la casa, la musaka, tarta de chocolate con arándanos, todo muy rico y muy cuidado el servicio y la presentación. Altamente recomendable.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-22

Pros: Recomendaciones veganas.

Cons: Nada

JulienBorgesMalheiros

Points +61

Vegan
20 Oct 2022

Recomendável.

Não existem grandes opções veganas em Mérida, portanto não podemos ser muito exigentes 😛
Comi o burrito vegano e fiquei satisfeito.

ManiCaldito

Points +38

Vegan
26 Aug 2022

El mejor de Extremadura

Las opciones veganas están deliciosas, preguntad que se pueden veganizar muchos de los vegetarianos. Los postres son una locura.

Carlotadnc

Points +24

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Many vegan options + tasty dessert

Although it's a vegetarian place, there were numerous vegan options (some of the dishes were originally vegetarian but could be adapted into a vegan version). Unlike other places, many of the vegan options actually included proteins, which is much appreciated. The dessert was delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-20

Pros: Options with plant-based proteins, Pet-friendly, Desserts

VictoriaMailho

Points +31

Vegetarian
18 Aug 2022

Amazing

Everything was great. Very good vegan cheese. The mousaka was my favorite dish!! A lot of options and a lot of delicious deserts.

Pros: Amazing vegan cheese, Amazing food, Lots of options

peiblic

Points +117

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Recomendable

Está genial encontrar en Mérida opciones veganas que no se limiten a una parrillada de verduras. La moussaka muy buena y el servicio amable y rápido

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-22

InésPortolés

Points +39

Vegetarian
17 Jul 2022

Buenísimo

Todo buenísimo, sobre todo los canelones.

IrT

Points +30

Vegan
04 Jul 2022

Todo buenísimo

Pese a que estaba a tope de gente, nos atendieron estupendamente. El restaurante es vegetariano pero son varios los platos que se pueden hacer veganos, sustituyendo el queso por queso vegano por ejemplo. Teniendo además en cuenta que en Mérida es muy difícil encontrar opciones veganas, este lugar es perfecto.

Oorwal

Points +1026

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Good vegan options

The vegan options are quite limited in Merida so we opted for the shangri-la. Nice place, some choice of vegan food.

The burrito was a real bummer, did not taste good and didn‘t fill the hole in my belly…
The salad with mushrooms was great. Plain saitan meat with sauce was a bit boring without any sides.

Amazing cake as dessert surely makes up for the bad burrito. They even had vegan vanilla ice cream for the apple cake!

Piluki_MG

Points +15

Mostly Veg
03 Jun 2022

I love this restaurant!

When I go to Merida this is the restaurante I always go to have lunch. I love it.

Pros: Comida vegana 100%, Es acogedor, Los camareros son muy majos

silviajigar

Points +44

Vegan
24 May 2022

La cocina es casera y muy rica.

Tienen variedad de platos vegetarianos y veganos, también postres. Es comida sabrosa y casera. Siempre están innovando y tienen platos diferentes fuera de carta. La presentación de sus platos así como la decoración del lugar está muy cuidado. Te hacen sentir cómoda.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-24

Pros: Donde está situado, Cocina casera, Camareros muy agradables

Cons: No hay tanta variedad de postres veganos

DientesDeSable

Points +26

Vegan
07 May 2022

Pretty veg spot with interesting dishes

This vegetarian serves international as well as Spanish regional dishes, with seemingly many vegan options. We ordered the burritos, which came as two neat little wraps, filled with really nicely-seasoned TVP and vegan cheese, grilled on a sandwich press. We also got the fricandó, a very savory Catalan dish of seitan, with mushrooms and almonds.

Everything was delicious, served with quinoa bread. We ordered a cocktail as well, and kombucha from Extremadura. It's also open relatively early for lunch.

AlvinBon

Points +5515

Vegan
25 Mar 2022

All excellent!

I can't give 5 stars selling animal products, but everything was surprisingly excellent: service, food, ambience,...
One of the best vegetarian restaurants I tried in my life. There are several vegan options and all delicious!
We had soy burritos out of the carta and vegan moussaka to share. I suggest to change the cheese because does not melt very well. I tried better vegan cheese.
I also had the fricando, half portion as an entree. If you like stews, don't miss this! It does not have stock, by the way.
You can have half portions of some plates. It is a great idea if you want to share or not.
The chocolate and berries cake was spectacular!!

Pros: Delicious vegan plates, Excellent service

Cons: We want more vegan options for next time

María987

Points +213

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Para comer y tomar un cóctel también

A 5 minutos andando del anfiteatro romano

Pros: muchas opciones veganas y sin gluten, Dejan pasar a los perretes, raciones generosas

Cons: Se llena y a veces no hay sitio, Complicado aparcar cerca porque está en el centro

PenelopeF

Points +640

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Great food. Comfy seating. Good spot.

My husband and I ate here twice this week. The food was excellent. Generous serving sizes. Lots of vegan options. Hubby ordered vegetarian meals and I went with vegan options. His lasagna was incredible. The chocolate tart I had was decadent. We don't speak Spanish and the guy who looked after us was very kind and patient as we tried to figure out what we wanted. Soy latte was delicious too.

Pros: Reasonable price, Excellent quality food, Lots of options

LorenaET

Points +226

Vegan
09 Jan 2022

100% recomendable.

Un trato estupendo y muy buena atención.
Los platos riquísimos, sobre todo la musaka.
Les dijimos que si podíamos pasar con nuestro perro y preguntaron en la sala que si alguien era alérgico a los perros que venía una pareja con su mascota y nadie puso ningún impedimento. Todo un acierto sin duda.
¡¡Si visitas Mérida no dudes en pasar por este lugar!!

Tom4t4

Points +20

Vegan
03 Jan 2022

Great

Has some of the nicest salads I've had, don't be afraid to ask for vegan cheese as a substitute if you see a non vegan salad that looks good, and the raspberry and cranberry cake is delicious.

Jessiens

Points +20

Non Veg
10 Dec 2021

Una verdadera satisfacción haber probado tales platos veganos… inolvidable♥️

Admiten perros familia, la comida fantástica y el trato excelente..

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas

Cons: Nada




This page has been viewed 7805 times.