• Samosa House East

  • (13)
    26
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Fast food
Take-out

Vegetarian Indian fast food with many vegan options. The dishes are pre-made and kept warm in a glass steamtable. You order at the counter. A combo with 3 curries/dishes, white rice, and bread costs around $8.50 (extra for brown rice). Offers soy yogurt for vegans. There's also a small chaat menu (samosas, pani puri, bhel puri). Casual, clean-lines decor with a large wooden communal table in the center of the dining area. Parking in lot behind or on the street in front. Same owners as Bhahat Baazar, but this location is restaurant only and no Indian groceries. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Samosa House East
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by gr8vegan

zoedet

Points +77

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Tasty

Great vegan options including vegan lassi!

Advertisement

andyjng

Points +4367

Vegan
13 Jun 2023

Decent Combo Meal

You can select a two or three combo plate that includes rice and bread of your choice. Everything is already made and placed in heaters to be scooped up onto your plate.

Surprisingly, the vegan options weren't clearly marked and I mistakenly ordered a veggie chicken dish that ended up not being vegan. It was a mistake on my end to not ask, but I falsely assumed most items would be okay, but definitely double check to make sure.

I went with their Daal, Jackfruit Curry, and another dish that I honestly can't remember because the food was fairly plain and basic. I appreciated having the veg options but nothing really blew me away or left a memorable mark for me.

My friend seemed to love the samosas so I likely messed up by not ordering the restaurant's namesake. Next time!

Pros: Good vegan and vegetarian options

Cons: Vegan items aren't clearly marked

ElVeganoLoco

Points +244

Vegan
14 Jan 2023

Quick & filling!

Samosa House East (and West) has some of the best Indian fast food around. Most of the options are vegan and loaded with flavor. I have yet to be dissapointed, it’s a sure way to fill yourself up at a reasonable price. #Veganuary

PaulaBryant-Ellis

Points +85

Vegan
14 Jul 2021

I can’t get enough of Samosa House!

Our son introduced this place to us and we’ve been hooked every since. I always get a combo plate and that Naan!!!

Pros: Reasonably Priced, Quick Service

Cons: Only 2 locations in LA, Parking

Karditi

Points +198

Vegan
24 Jun 2021

Just ok

1st I want to say there were plenty of vegan options. Only a couple of options had yogurt which made them vegetarian, but otherwise there is no meat or fish here which is a huge win!

The Samosas and lentil soup were good. The rest was ok, some things even tasted watered down and lacked flavor. I ordered 3 options from the food bar, chana masala, saag, and an eggplant dish. Came with lentil soup.

Good quantities, lots of options, excellent prices but the flavor was just ok (and I usually love Indian food). Hubby had the 2 vegetarian options w yogurt in the sauce (can’t remember his dishes) and said they were pretty good. I could be open to trying this place again to see if I prefer other dishes.

Pros: Great vegan options , Great price, Friendly, informative staff

Cons: Food was just ok , All disposable plates, cups, utensils , Tables were not wiped down

DaliaBessudo

Points +39

Vegetarian
29 Mar 2020

Delicious

To be fair, I’m not the biggest fan of soy meat. I wish they had more options with veggies.

bokertov

Points +47

Mostly Veg
20 Aug 2019

One of my favorite spots

The jackfruit is delicious

Pros: Great variety of delicious food, Good service, Fast

Cons: Uses plastic cutlery

Veggieroni

Points +410

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Perfect

This place is on my way home. Love to go there. Generous portions, I take a 2 combo with rice and a samosa for under $10. Nice that there is no wait, the food is spicy and delicious.

Pros: Fast, Inexpensive, Delicious

kenvegan

Points +12624

Vegan
16 May 2019

Quick and Delicious Indian

If you want a quick and Delicious plate of vegan Indian food, this is one of the best places in town. I highly recommend the jackfruit and the chana masala. Consistently delicious and fast.

cheddabrown

Points +239

Vegan
30 Mar 2019

Simple and good

Just as the Samosa House west, simple and easy and good. Never disappoints and fairly priced.

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
18 Aug 2012

Great place to get my Indian fix

I had first read about this place on happycow, and here's my Samosa House East review

Since it opened, I've eaten here countless times. I've also been to their other restaurant & store, Bhahat Bazaar and The Samosa House, though I like this location. It's modern, bright, clean, and easy to access. I like the simplicity of restaurant space and decor. It's very un-like other vegetarian Indian restaurant I've been to.

Diners can sit around the large communal table in the center of the room with other patrons and enjoyed their Indian fix.

The steamtable buffet selection features around 10 buffet options (usually 2 will contain dairy, the others vegan). There is also a menu of some snack sides.

I especially like the samosas, which I always get when I eat at Samosa House. They're served with a mint and a sweet & tangy tamarind sauce dip. I also like the naan bread, the jackfruit dish, chana masala (chickpeas), and the eggplant curry. The saag (spinach) dish is a bit on the salty side. The potatoes cauliflower dish is pretty good, but the lentil soup can be salty. The mango chutney, which you can find at the checkout in a little plastic container for 50 cents, it okay.

Parking in the back lot is limited, but there is street parking in front.

Overall, I would recommend Samosa House East for anyone who's in the Culver City and wants a tasty Indian meal.

Pros: nice space, delicious samosas, vegan friendly

rikki

Points +25

Vegan
23 Sep 2010

Incredible Food/Value!

Fantastic place, we eat there at least once a week. Love the food, and it's an incredible value. Samosa chat is great, and I almost always try their new dishes, but Saag is my perennial favorite (love the jackfruit too).

Pros: Great food, Friendly Staff, Great Value

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
24 Jan 2010

A couple of oil free items, but a nice modern look

Make sure you tell them you are vegan. I really like the chana masala, it was pretty much the only item that didn't have oil in so all that I could eat with Papadam, but the woman behind the counter was very helpful. The rice is covered in oil so that was a bit of a let down. I prefer Chandni where you can get anything customized, but really appreciated the modern flow to an all veg Indian place. The Combination plate seems to be the way to go, but make sure they don't put yogurt on it. I'd really like to know the ingredients in the dal. Does anyone know if its vegan? I guess I should have clarified that first.

Pros: chana masala is oil free, papadam

Cons: rice is oily, most of the food is oily




This page has been viewed 4919 times.