Vegan
American
Organic
Raw
Juice bar
Delivery
Take-out

Raw food cafe serving meals and dessert pies using fair trade and local ingredients. This branch est. 2010. Confirmed open May 2020. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Peace Pies
© OpenStreetMap contributors

95 Reviews

First Review by FUZZYGUY828

HannaReeves

Points +47

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

THE BEST raw vegan

I went here with a friend and was so delighted with everything we tried, recommended by helpful and kind staff. The tuno wrap was on point, from the wrap itself to the tuno to the sprouts to the honee mustard to the kale chips, 10/10. So fresh and delicious. We also got Twix bars, which were melt in your mouth contemplate the cosmos good.

A few days later same friend and I went back to try out some more of their wide range of deserts… I had the best chocolate cheesecake I’ve ever had in my life, hands down. My friend got the snickerdoodle cookie sandwich which was also out of this world.

I just moved here from nc and between the dank food and the ethical mission statement, peace pies wins the title of my favorite vegan spot in sd. I might even have to apply to work there.

Pros: So fresh and so clean, Friendly staff, Adorable patio with plants and succulents

Advertisement

Retrorambler

Points +44

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

I want this in my neighborhood

This came up after a quick Google search for vegan when I got off the plane.

The staff was great talking me through the extensive menu. I was ravenous so I ordered the special (BBQ falafel wrap) and chips and guac. The special was amazing, it came with a side of kale chips which were so good. The guacamole was really good. The chips had to have been a whole cucumber. I was absolutely stuffed and couldn't finish it all.

Pros: The tortilla used for the wrap was really good , Kale chips, The garden to eat in

holyfire

Points +56

Raw
30 Dec 2023

10 stars😉Ah-may-zing

What a vibe. This gem in San Diego is of another world. The place oozes atmosphere full of love, freshness, and passion. Enjoyed all sorts of dishes and also brought more food for back home. J.P. Alfred is so creative. The staff are all so friendly and don’t miss a beat. They also sell Cana sugarcane juice. Sooo good! I also love that they have a garden where you can enjoy the scrumptious food and delicious mylkshakes.

Pros: Incredibly tasty food , Great atmosphere , Amazing people

Caralucy

Points +110

Vegan
30 Nov 2023

First time trying raw, oh yeah!

The food was ultra fresh and so delicious! The staff was super friendly and we had a nice little chat. So many dishes to choose from, we settled on the curry wrap and Noble nachos. The wrap came with kale chips that were perfectly seasoned, crisp and delicious. They might even be as good as mine!

Pros: Fresh healthy vegan food, Lovely, friendly staff, Menu has tons of variety

Cons: The dining area was a little too dark

I.am.XOA

Points +575

Vegan
06 Nov 2023

Big portions

My partner always comes here for the durian shakes, he is in love! I personally think they taste like onions but I'm happy to tag along because I enjoy all their other treats! Portions are huge (but equally pricey), definitely recommend sharing if your on a budget 😁 Have had wraps, desserts etc from here and they are AMAZING 🤤 The Kale chips are also a must and sometimes comes as a side with your meals.

Would highly recommend!

Pros: Kale chips, Desserts, Raw

Cons: Pricey, Staff can be hit or miss in friendliness

AlixAmu

Points +690

Fruitarian
23 Oct 2023

Favorite raw restaurant

Just wow!
Super flavorful for being raw they have perfected all dishes here.
Make sure to check out the special featured dish of the day. Luckily they had Thai noodles when I went probably my favorite dish there I requested it with zucchini noodles instead of kelp. Also the buffalo wrap was really good.

Pros: Raw, Healthy, Great atmosphere

PureVeganStarSevadar

Points +265

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

ALL vegan food/meals and health drinks.

ALL vegan food/meals and health drinks. i had been there in person and they are very nice.
Ocean Beach
4230 Voltaire Street
San Diego, CA 92107
619-223-2880

Pros: ALL vegan food/meals and health drinks., i had been there in person and they are very nice., pickup picnic treats: not far from surf&sand O.B.

JakeFuller

Points +1172

Vegan
06 Sep 2023

Incredible!

Probably some of the best raw, vegan food I’ve had. I always find this type of eating to be an adventure of the palate. It was so good and very healthy ingredients. The mango-raspberry cheesecake was so delicious and fresh tasting. I will absolutely be back!

allisonangeline

Points +55

Vegan
30 Jul 2023

Delicious healthy food

This place was so so yummy! We got the pizza and quesadillas with walnut meat added. When traveling it’s hard to find unique healthy vegan places, since a lot are mostly junk food. The nacho kale chips were also delicious and can be purchased separately as well. We definitely will be coming back to have some desert!

Pros: Healthy food, Large portions , Dog friendly patio

hrn126

Points +489

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

tasty food, interesting service

let me start by saying i really really enjoyed my meal here. raw vegan food is hard to make these guys seem to have mastered that. some people have made comments about the wrap being sweet- mine was a little sweet but i personally really liked the flavor with the rest of the veggies in the wrap. if you’re going here and have never had raw vegan food before- go in with an open mind and an understanding that it’ll probably taste different from most things you’ve eaten before. i personally think it’s delicious and of course incredibly nutritious.

all that said- i did think the service could have been a little better. the people were not the nicest. although they did get the food out quickly and were not per se - mean. just could have been nicer in my opinion

LorraineGadsden

Points +6212

Vegan
29 May 2023

Mint Chocolate!

For dinner, I decided to try the caesar salad and cheesecake. The caesar salad was pretty good, especially since I love kalamata olives. It was not my absolute favorite, and I personally was not a huge fan of the croutons. Unfortunately for me, there were a lot of croutons. The cheesecake I received (I ordered on UberEats and was feeling lazy, so I did not call and ask the flavor) was a mint chip, and wow. The cheesecake was super good, and as a mint chocolate lover, I was impressed.

I would maybe try Peace Pies again, but I think it is not my cup of tea. Due to that, I am giving it three stars because I love the concept and still enjoyed my meal overall. However, I recommend giving it a try because it just might be your thing!

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-29

yogbram1801

Points +13

Vegetarian
28 May 2023

Nothing special about it

Cold food, sweetest wraps I ever ate! The staff seems to be in no mood whatsoever to serve u food— attitude is like they are donating food to you! You pick up ur own plates, utensils, napkins — and ofcrse pay tip to the staff! Only plus is a nice small patio garden!

Pros: Garden patio

EsraRice

Points +665

Vegan
20 May 2023

It was good

Would have been 5 stars if the tortillas were not as sweet, made with coconut water. Kale chips were excellent, Caesar wrap was better than mushroom quesadilla, in my opinion. They also have a great buffalo sauce that kinda helped with sweetness of red tortilla. They have a cute little patio.

NiaBindi

Points +34

Raw
12 May 2023

Best vegan restaurant in the world!!!

This place blows me away every time!
Best restaurant in the world to me!
We are from London and visit San Diego often. We absolutely love eating here in their cute little garden.

My first choice off the menu would be the raw quesadilla - incredible flavours!
The desserts are to die for!

This time I purchased both of their cookery books to make raw food while recovering from surgery in Mexico. WOW I couldn’t believe I could make raw food taste like that. The owner is so kind to share so many of his best recipes!

I can’t wait to be back in San Diego to come back to piece pies. I just wish we had something like this closer to us!
You guys are the best! An inspiration to us all to eat healthy and with love x

Easyybella

Points +366

Vegan
10 May 2023

Healthy, creative and delicious

We ordered different wraps and a Caesar salad. If you appreciate healthy food, it’s amazing. It was very delicious and fresh. Recommend if you’re looking for fully vegan and healthy restaurant.

DonicaMcArthur

Points +33

Vegan
29 Mar 2023

Desserts are delicious

We tried a key lime and strawberry cheesecake which was delicious, a chocolate cheesecake, a birthday cake which was ok tbh, a passion fruit blueberry cheesecake which was also delicious. We had their snickers bar or something like that and it was very good as well. We have had their durian shake before but it wasn’t our favorite. I still taste the garlic flavor in the durian. 😁 I have had their wraps before and these are really good/ satisfying.

Pros: Everything is raw and very healthy, Staff is very nice and knowledgeable, Cozy outdoor seating with beautiful plants

Cons: A bit pricey but it has quality ingredients, Parking

Tofuttib00ty89

Points +1067

Vegan
29 Mar 2023

Great place!!

Amazing place!! Everything was so good!! Food and flavors so creative and colorful!!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-29

vegonugs

Points +1506

Vegan
30 Jan 2023

AMAZING EXPERIENCE

This place is so cute and the outdoor seating with all the plants is beautiful! They are so creative with all their food options. I find it hard to make raw vegan stuff, and this place does it so creatively and effortlessly! I have eaten here multiple times and plan on going back for many more!

wendo

Points +68

Vegan
26 Jan 2023

Lots of options - yummy

We enjoyed our lunch. Tried the kale salad, pizza and quesadilla

Pros: All Raw Vegan, Good portion sizes , Outdoor seating (pet friendly)

Cons: The staff were not friendly

CayleyBaker

Points +27

Vegetarian
27 Nov 2022

delicious

their Caesar wrap is so good. it tastes so healthy & fresh

andyjng

Points +4389

Vegan
12 Nov 2022

Going Raw Is Never Easier

First off, I absolutely love the aesthetic and outdoor dining space. It felt like you were at a close friend's home just relaxing on a beautiful sunny day - lots of greenery and calming energy about the entire spot. If I was on my own with a book, I don't think I'd ever want to leave.

I ordered the Loving Lasagna ($15) which uses zucchini lasagna noodles, homemade tomato sauce, and loaded with veggies. I also ordered the Mediterranean Falafel Plate ($11) to share with friends but was accidentally delivered the Bruschetta. When I told them that my order was incorrect, they happily came back out with the falafel plate, which was such a sweet gesture. They really do care about their customers so I am extremely appreciative of them for accommodating the miscommunication. Oh, and the bruschetta and falafel plates were both outstanding - especially their cilantro dipping sauce.

The lasagna was indeed delicious - savory, sweet, and incredibly fresh with their cashew cheese. My friends each got a wrap - one curry and the other Caesar, and boy were they enormous and filled with flavor. Each came with a side of kale chips - for being 'raw,' how do they get it so crispy and delicious?!

There are a lot of nutritional benefits and unique ways of preparing food without 'cooking' it in the traditional sense, so I'm so glad that places like Peace Pies exist where I can enjoy a wonderfully, filling meal based on another style of vegan eating. Thank you Peace Pies for existing and your amazing food.

Pros: Excellent variety of raw cuisine, Cute outdoor space

alannahneedham

Points +370

Vegan
04 Nov 2022

Pretty dope place

Liked some of the cheesecakes!

Crazyplantslady

Points +285

Vegan
02 Nov 2022

Lacking desserts

I only tried some desserts so this isn’t a full review. I got a pumpkin cookie, a snickerdoodle stuffed cookie and a pop tart. They were all seriously lacking in flavor. I was so disappointed because I spent a lot of money on these items. I left them on OB for the hungry. 3 stars because of vegan that’s really all. The staff wasn’t even that friendly at all. I won’t return.

Marie-MicheleDore

Points +665

Vegan
01 Nov 2022

Good for everyone

I don’t often eat raw food, but I’m glad I wasn’t stop by it. I had the mushroom quesadilla and it was really good, left me satisfied all the way until dinner. I sat in their cute little outdoor area (beware of mosquitoes).

RoylinDowns

Points +32

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

What an amazing find!

So grateful to have found this place. Was at a more commercial vegan restaurant as I was trying to accommodate my niece, but gratefully we all wanted more pure food… so we stumbled upon Peace Pies in this app. What a blessing! We tried 2 appetizers (the bruschetta and the falafel plate) as well as a salad (kale ) and the mushroom stroganoff. Wow! We all enjoyed everything, with my niece loving that Kale salad, and my favorite being the stroganoff. Loved it so much, along with the Leek chips, that I HAD to buy the cookbook! Can’t wait to cook some of this at home! Can’t wait to come back and visit again, from Ventura!

Pros: Love their many diverse options, Love that they carry ingredients to cook at home, Love that they sell the recipes in their cookbook

Cons: Loved everything about this place!

LarissaK

Points +3145

Vegan
25 Oct 2022

Fantastic raw cake

Amazingly delicious place! We had the blueberry rasperry cake and it was so yummy! It's so impressive how creative they are with their raw vegan food. A must try in San Diego!

Pros: 100% raw vegan, friendly staff, nice decor, lots of plants

Cons: Lots of plastic package and paper cups

Shanti Moon

Points +24

Raw
19 Oct 2022

Best restaurant ever!!!!

My favorite restaurant ever!! Really, All raw and supper tasty. The owner has put much love and thought into his recipes and serves generous portions. He also has a book that’s beautiful and full of many delicious looking recipes!!!




This page has been viewed 28691 times.