• Parakeet Cafe

  • (12)
    33
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
International
Organic
Raw
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Bakery
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Well rounded menu with numerous clearly labeled vegan choices, including overnight oats, health breakfast bowl, avocado toast and others for breakfast. Vegan bowls are grilled vegetable, roasted greens and vegan protein bowl. Salads include raw kale, raw zucchini noodle and grilled beet. Vegan soups are tortilla, green soup and roast kabocha squash. Also has some vegan desserts. Confirmed open May 2020. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Parakeet Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by Diet Coach

HalleyPicconatto

Points +44

Vegetarian
25 Feb 2023

Very nice

Small cute cafe with lots of different drink options!

Pros: Lots of plant based options , Affordable , Nice location

Advertisement

Norcal2017

Points +344

Vegan
22 Jan 2023

Great second day find

After a disappointing breakfast yesterday across the street, this was a wonderful find. Had avocado toast and tofu breakfast sandwich with potatoes. Flavorful. Great latte and cacao chai drink.
Twice as expensive as across the street but four times better the food. Well worth it for departing breakfast

Pros: Delicious

monicalarsen01

Points +134

Vegan
10 Jan 2023

Pretty good just a bit overpriced

The vegan options are plentiful and pretty well done.

idash

Points +65

Mostly Veg
13 Dec 2021

Love this place

Fresh delicious food, my favorite cappuccino, very friendly. I forgot my wallet one time - they served me anyway and waited for my next visit to get paid.

Pros: Fresh food

Cons: Hard chairs, Desserts aren’t great

ltracy

Points +74

Vegan
03 Dec 2021

Always great

I get take out at least once a week. They can often make a couple items vegan if they aren’t already. Don’t miss the hot drink options and vegan muffins!!

Pros: Everything is Delicious , Great service, They have an app - you can order ahead

Cons: Pricey and often busy

JackieSohn

Points +75

Vegan
09 Aug 2021

Great healthy foods

Their drinks and selection of vegan foods were amazing. Had different types of toasts. I had harvest toast twice and it was really good with fresh tomatoes and basil and avocados. I also tried their bowls which was very delicious. Def would go again.

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Outstanding Hidden Gem!

Home of the very best vegan chocolate chip cookie I've ever tasted. I got the vegan coconut yogurt bowl. It came with strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, bananas, homemade granola and homemade jam. Amazing!

Tons of vegan options! Vegan overnight oats, a vegan healthy breakfast bowl with milk and quinoa, vegan avocado toast, a vegan harvest toast with avocado tomatoes red onion and basil, vegan Mediterranean toast with hummus cucumbers, tomatoes and colored olives, vegan almond butter toast, vegan golden goddess salad, raw kale salad, a vegan Caesar salad, vegan Farro salad, vegan grilled vegetable bowl, vegan roasted greens bowl, vegan quinoa mezza bowl, vegan hibiscus lettuce cups, vegan falafel sandwich and at least three vegan soups.

Charming outdoor seating (though limited). Friendly, efficient staff. Highly Recommend.

Pros: Free WiFi

Cons: Oat and almond but they don't offer soy milk

AnatElkayam

Points +384

Vegan
14 Jul 2019

Friendly staff, great food!

For me, I've found many vegan options (i was looking for a fresh salad and they have several options). The kale salad was really good, and I can't wait to try more of their menu

elleryno

Points +114

Vegan
30 May 2019

Not the best

There aren’t many vegan options and they’re both similar and not very good. Pretty much just salads with a grain.

Pros: Healthy, Some vegan options, non dairy milks

Cons: Expensive, Doesn’t really taste good, overhyped

PolkaDot

Points +44

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

great taste!

They didn't have many options for me (I don't eat organic and onions). I ended up having the green bowl (sadly without mushrooms), and it was the best food I've had in San Diego! My boyfriend also enjoyed his avocado toast. Despite a big selection of desserts only the chocolate chip oatmeal cookie was vegan, so I passed.
The cafe is quite cramped inside with people in line to order at the counter almost hovering over your plate.. But there are also a couple tables outside.
Our cashier's knowledge of veganism ended at "the ones marked with V are vegan", so make sure you ask about all ingredients if you're trying to veganize another dish.

Pros: delicious

Cons: organic

vegansuncake

Points +76

Vegan
13 Jan 2018

Gourmet food in a coffee shop

The food was surprisingly top notch and definitely not what we expected at a cafe. The chef even came out to ask us how our soups were. Deep flavors and packed with nutrients from the melange of vegetables.

The baker was out of town that day so we did not get to try any of the vegan baked goods however, we were fortunate to try the coconut yogurt bowl- yum!

Only complaint- place is tiny, as are the tables. Be prepared to sit close to strangers like at a big city joint. They left the door open (it can be chilly in December, even in SD) and we were freezing.

Diet Coach

Points +320

Vegan
Owner
01 Dec 2017

Good Clean Food

We visited twice in the 3 days we were in La Jolla. So hard for me when there are so many vegan options. The Grilled Vegetable Bowl was my first choice and my favorite (the buckwheat noodles were delicious). We also had the Mushroom Toast (which was more like a delicious large open face sandwich), and the Raw Zucchini Noodle Salad (which was lacking in flavor--glad I didn't order that first).

Pros: Clean and bright, Nice variety, Friendly and knowledgeable staff

Cons: Limited seating




This page has been viewed 4321 times.