Ooh Cha Cha

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 34 reviews )
Contact
02-23677133
Find

207, Sec 2, Nanchang Rd, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan

Vegan cafe in the Guting area since 2013. Serves western style food plus green drinks, raw desserts. Open Mon-Fri 10:00am-9:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-8:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Pizza, Western, Juice bar, Take-out

34 Reviews

First Review by kim2121

Okay but not very impressive food ~ - Edit

Ooh Cha Cha is using fresh and unprocessed ingredients which is something I always look for! The food is alright, it's just good but nothing too special about it neither. Service is alright, place is a little small and can be crowded sometimes.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice - Edit

My friend and I tried the salad bowls and green smoothies for breakfast. The tempeh is well seasoned. They do label what is fluten-free and allium-free, and also sell vegan beers.

Price is a bit steep tho.

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-01

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Casual tiny but unimpressive cafe - Edit

I was very excited to go try out Ooh Cha Cha after reading the reviews! However, be sure to get to the restaurant early enough so that they don't run out of their patties or cakes or other products. I had to go back twice because I wanted to try their burgers but the first time I went was too late in the night that they had already sold all of their patties. Instead, I ordered their wild mushroom bowl. However, I did manage to go back earlier the next couple of days to try their bean and pesto mushroom burger.

Both the mushroom bowl and their pesto mushroom burger was just mediocre unfortunately. The mushroom bowl was just a cold plate of food that they put together with the prepared selection at their station, nothing special at all. I was really looking forward to the burger but it too was unimpressive.

Rather than a hot crispy bun, the bread that hugged my burger felt like just any other mass-purchased whole grain bun that came straight out of the bag and onto my plate. It tasted fine, just nothing special with the bread. I believe the bread makes up a huge part of an unforgettable burger!

The filling was okay too... mushrooms and adzuki bean patty didn't feel like there was any flavor. The pesto was nice but mild and scant. The burger was served with a side of homemade fries which were cold and (surprise surprise) bland. The amount of pesto was meager, so the burger feel was a bit dry since the dry bread couldn't soak up any saucy sauce. And your only companion to the plate were a sad cold dry portion of fries? No thanks. I went to eat the burger at 5:30pm to avoid running out of food and still got disappointed!

The portion size was modest on the smaller size but still filling enough that it's fine, especially if you decide to pair you meal with a smoothie and/or dessert.

The smoothies I've ordered here were fine, not too watery which I appreciated. They serve your drink with a stainless steel straw which I loved! I ordered their mocha raw cake and matcha ginger raw cake. The mocha was soooo yummy with the velvety light chocolatey taste. I would skip the matcha ginger one though..

Overall, the pricing is all right but the flavors were just so desperately lacking. The space is limited. Make sure to go early to have full menu options. Maybe I just didn't order the right things, especially considering all the raving reviews everyone else have rated this place. Hopefully the flavors work towards your favor if you decide to try out this place!



Updated from previous review on 2018-02-12

Pros: Stainless steel straws, Smoothies are alright , Not too expensive

Cons: Bland dry blah , Hit or miss with the raw cake desserts, Limited seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Plant-Based Health Food - Edit

Lots of options for bowls, sandwiches, salads, and burgers. Also, they have bottles of Anderson Valley!

Pros: Plant Based, Anderson Valley Beer

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful little cafe that serves quite a variety! - Edit

Had a (eggplant) bacon cheese burger and it was delightful, albeit a little bit too salty for my liking (the patty itself and the "bacon") the rest of the burger was fantastic 😌 the smoothie was really good too!! Loved the interior and I was lucky enough to get a seat looking out of the window so it was really nice looking outside while enjoying my meal :) everything's vegan which is always great! Might get a bit crowded because it's really tiny so do go early to get a seat!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious and Healthy - Edit

Delicious, healthy food with beautiful presentation. My non-vegan friends were impressed and enjoyed the food, too!

Pros: healthy, delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

100% vegan & delicious food - Edit

Beautiful little place with lots of light!
We had the tempeh bowl (260NTD), the Vietnam Burger (240NTD) & the raw banana cake (140NTD). Everything was freshly made and tasted great.
There is an English menu.

Pros: all vegan, beautiful room, tasty

Cons: french fries were not that crunchy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

clean food - Edit

Their food is very healthy and clean. so I can clean my body. I almost like all the food, especially the ginger kimchi.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Trendy Vegan Spot - Edit

Got to a meet some lovely like minded people here, which makes it the best spot in my memory - but I'll try to make this review objective.

My friend and I order a burger & a bowl. The burger was delicious, but the bowl, although healthy & trendy/pretty, was not very tasty. If I went a second time I'd prolly just order 2 burgers haha. The staff didn't seem to speak english but was still helpful, friendly & they had english menus so it was all good. Also, the architecture was really nice, having a glass wall on one side so you can see outside. They also had wifi-always a plus.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-27

Pros: Yummy Burgers, Wifi

Cons: Slightly Pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing vegan food! - Edit

Comparing to other healthy vegan places in Taipei, they got more reasonable and affordable prices. The sandwiches are great and so do the dessert!!! My mom loves their raw cake a lot even though she's not vegan.

Pros: Organic, Tasty, reasonable prices

Cons: The space is not so big

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good sandwiches - Edit

Small and nice place . During the peak hours is crowded so sometimes you have to wait for a table but it worth it . The sandwiches were amazing amd food is tasty and healthy .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy whole foods - Edit

I really appreciate how they focus on pesticide free whole foods, lots of greens, whole grains, etc. It's a pretty nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and reliable place to eat 100% vegan and healthy, which is nice in Taiwan as you can often have hidden animal products in vegetarian places like in mock meats or dressings. Also not too oily, no additives, and good quality ingredients

Pricing is a little bit high for Taiwan but still ok, especially for organic
The taste is nice, it's been getting better and better :)

Updated from previous review on 2016-12-29

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

$$$$$$$ - Edit

Waaaayyyy overpriced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good sandwiches, mediocre bowls, expensive - Edit

I am editing this review to increase the rating now that I have visited a few times. Based on the quality of the burgers and sandwiches, I would definitely recommend eating here. They are very good and fresh, and still worth it despite being pricey. I did not enjoy my tempeh bowl the one time I tried it and I would recommend avoiding those menu items. The tempeh is bland, the salad has no dressing or flavor to it, the kimchi is okay but fills far too much of the plate and is difficult to finish, and the rice/quinoa portion is too small. The burgers on the other hand are pretty thick and they taste great. I wish that the side portions would be bigger because I feel like I have to order extra food in order to feel full, and that increases the cost further.



Updated from previous review on 2016-12-05

Pros: Burgers and sandwiches are good, Vegan, Close to Guting MRT

Cons: Small portions, Expensive, Bowls are not good

1 Response
Read More

MaiBach04 07 Oct 2016 - Hi VeganDavid,
One of the owners here. Thank you for taking time to write up a review. I can't go into each of things you wrote about, but I can give you a general answer to the biggest grievances, cost and portion. I do understand your sentiments. Due to our sourcing of ingredients, mainly using pesticide-free and locally grown ingredients it does reflect in our prices and we have portioned out food to minimize food waste that does inevitably occur. Our main mission was to make vegan food more accessible, and hopefully you take this at face value, we do not add unnecessary fees to our prices. We also do not use any fryers, or cheap processed oils in our foods, which makes most of our food more labor intensive. If you do make it back to Taipei, please feel free to speak to me or any of our managers. We do appreciate feedback.
- Mai  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pretty decent, but pricey - Edit

Had Acai Twist Smoothie and Bacon Cheeseburger

1 Response
Read More

MaiBach04 07 Oct 2016 - Hi Vinyinnyincy,
We would love to hear if you had any issues with the food besides the price. We do source ingredients that are pesticide-free and local, which does reflect in our prices.We have chosen not to add the normal 10% service charge to try to combat the idea that truly healthy and good vegan food is inaccessible. Hopefully you come in for a chat in the future!
-Mai  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

- - Edit

I used to go here all the time when it was principally a sandwich place. I loved it then. (My only serious complaint was how noisy the smoothie maker was.)

They've updated the menu and included more options overall but reduced the sandwich options. I think it was right to update the menu as one could miss there being something new to try if one was a regular there.

Having said all this, I was a bit disappointed by the changes. I tried a few of the burgers a few months back. I found them pretty dry and uninspiring. They aren't competitive with the burgers available at Miss Green or About Animals. (I've been told that the burgers at Ooh Cha Cha have recently been improved.)

Before the changes they had their bowl dishes. These are healthy dishes with good ingredients. Now there a lot more of these dishes on the menu. They're fine and I'm sure they're good for me, although I don't find them that exciting.

Ooh Cha Cha is incredibly popular, it's often difficult to get seats, has a nice relaxed atmosphere, and the food is good. Give it a try!

1 Response
Read More

MaiBach04 07 Oct 2016 - Hi Shanery,
Thank you for your valued feedback. We did run into some kinks with the burger preparation in the beginning roll out. Due to circumstances out of our control, we did have to move away from the sandwiches and switch the menu up a bit. We do still commit to preparing our food in the most healthy way possible, which means we do not deep fry or used processed vegetable oils in any of our food. If you ever see the owners or staff, please feel free to chat!
-Mai  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DELICIOUS!! - Edit

This is excellent, fast, healthy vegan food at restaurant quality but without the restaurant prices! My friends and I shared the Banh Mi, the beet ball bowl and the pesto mushroom burger, all of which I would recommend getting. I had the blue goji smoothie and my friend had the green standard smoothie; both exceeded my wildest expectations of how great a healthy smoothie can taste! If I could, I would have one of these smoothies everyday of my life for dessert, they're that yummy. We got a chance to chat with the owners, whose genuine cruelty-free philosophy made me tear up a little as a longtime vegan. They make everything from scratch (except the bread & kimchi), even stone grinding their own almond butter! Wonderful people who have truly created a heart-filled cafe. It's such a cute space, too!

Pros: Excellent healthy food, Great value, Very friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent! - Edit

Not a full-service restaurant (order at the counter and then delivered to your table) but great food quality and very friendly staff. We had to wait a few minutes for a table as they are a relatively small & busy cafe. However, that did allow us some time to read through the menu and decide on what we wanted to have. We opted for the Beet Ball Roll with Eggplant Bacon and Balsamic Mushroom "Add-Ons", the Friendly Macro (biotic) Bowl, and a couple of Anderson Valley Pale Ales. Everything was well-presented and tasted great.

Pros: Great quality food, Friendly staff, Reasonably priced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

newly rennovated - Edit

I ate here right after they finished renovating after Chinese New Year 2016.

I had the hummus bowl. It was extremely delicious. I don't know how they get their hummus to be so rich and creamy. It wasn't oily.

I also had a smoothie and a slice of cake. Overall the whole meal was very filling, I almost had to the force the cake down but it was delicious.

I ordered a Bahn Mi sandwich as takeout. It was not bad. I think the other sandwiches might be better.

I definitely recommend the bowls and cakes!

The space was also lovely and very clean.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great spot - Edit

really good bowls, salads, smoothies, reminds me of the kind of cafe I'd find back home in Portland, Oregon. it is a bit pricey compared to how cheap food is here, but you can't find this kind of food everywhere, so I'll keep coming back.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

They are improving...:) - Edit

Hello, I was pleasantly surprised when I went back here with how they've improved in just a few months.

But before addressing that, you should know what to expect. It is not a restaurant, it's a sandwich small place, so I will rate it according to that.

The smoothies are healthy, fresh and tasty, but small sizes and expensive. The salads are plain, just brown rice or quinoa with a classic veggie salad. The sandwiches are yummy and healthy! My top two are the Ooh Cha Cha (made with lentil and cashew cream...oh God, still thinking about it) and the Hummus Garlic! You won't be disappointed, plus the bread slice size is just right this time. Try the first one for a good surprise. The raw cakes are varied but not my type. They are healthy and they taste like a regular raw cake tastes like. Anyway, I'm picky cause I cook and bake at home almost daily, so don't mind me. It's a great sandwich restaurant. The only problem is the price but I think the price is high cause of the quality of the ingredients. That matters too, at least to me.

I'll encourage them and give it a 5 star. Congrats on improving!

Pros: they speak English, they've improved, they have pictures of the food

Cons: very expensive , not a lot of variety

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great space - Edit

I love this place! We come here all the time. The bowl with the Kim Chi is amazing, so is the Tofu sandwich. The mocha cake is absolutely Divine! The coffee and teas could be better, but they do really well on their smoothies. The service is fine, sometimes the staff look a bit stressed and don't really make conversation, but the food arrives on time and is delicious, so you can't go wrong! It's a tad bit pricey though, but they do have a stamp card so every, say 3rd or 4th meal ends up being free. Great place, definitely worth a visit, or two! :-)

Pros: Good food, Great Space, Great raw cakes

Cons: Bit pricey, Food could have a little more flavour, A specials menu would be great!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Simple & Healthy - Edit

Ooh Cha Cha serves principally salads, sandwichs, smoothies and raw desserts. Everything is fresh, a lot of vegetables and fruits. Nothing transformed which is really refreshing! You can choose any sandwich or salad (prices are between 130 and 250 ntd) and do a set meal by adding 200 ntd to the price of your sandwich or salad. The hummus is very good! The smoothies and desserts are also good.

Pros: healthy, good and fresh

Cons: very small restaurant

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love it - Edit

Super good and healthy food, some raw.

Very friendly and perfectly situated next to mrt dong man, exit 2.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Simple, Healthy , Delicious Western Food - Edit

It's interesting to see such mixed reviews of Oh Cha Cha, because people seem to expect different things, so I hope this will clarify what it is and what it isn't.

Oh Cha Cha serves simple, healthy, western food, and in my opinion it's done very well; their sandwiches are by far the best in Taipei, especially their handmade sauces.

There's nothing fancy about Oh Cha Cha's's food (except the raw desserts, which are amazing, when available). It's not the place to come for your only meal out in Taipei. If you want Taiwanese food there are plenty of places offering it, with the Guangfu Loving Hut probably the best, or for a European twist head to Sophie's Garden.

But sometimes I just want the type of food I'd love to cook myself every day, if I had the time, know-how and inspiration to do so. I don't want over-boiled vegetables or fake meats made of who-knows-what, drowned in MSG-laden sauces, so I don't want to go to the local buffet. And I don't want to spend a fortune either. That's when I go and have a delicious, healthy sandwich, or a bowl of whole grains and vegetables from Oh Cha Cha. And I'm pleased to be able to - as strange as it sounds a simple healthy sandwich while out and about in Taipei is not easy to find! And with sandwiches starting from 140NT it's excellent value.

It's the best option if visiting the Botanical Gardens / History Museum, and also for Liberty Square / Dictator (Chiang Kai Shek) Memorial Hall.

Five stars because what it does it does brilliantly, being one of a few good truly western-style restaurants in Taipei.

Pros: Delicious, Healthy Food, Real Western food, all vegan, Excellent value

1 Response
Read More

MaiBach04 01 Apr 2015 - Thank you JesseD for your visit! You definitely understand our food philosophy!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Quite good - Edit

I don't know what I ate or drank but it was quite good, and especially nice to find western vegan in Taipei. The main, a dessert, and a drink cost me NT 450.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not bad, not special either - Edit

I went there today with a friend at about 5 p.m.
I had seen the menu online and I was really looking forward to having a delicious slice of vegan cake. Unfortunately the one I would have liked to taste was sold out, and so were other two types. So, amongst 6 types of cake, 3 were sold out. That kind of forced me to order one I wouldn't have chosen and which was not very good. The one my friend had also was average, but better than mine.
Coffee and smoothie were nice, but pricey overall. Sad.

Pros: vegan, english menù

Cons: few choices available, pricey

2 Responses
Read More

MaiBach04 04 Feb 2015 - Hi Peas-full, sorry to hear about your unimpressive trip to our shop. I don't know the exact circumstances of that day, but I do apologize. Our cakes our handmade, in-house following raw food theory, which means it takes hours for our cakes to be made and set. Once we run out for the day, we can't really make more in a timely manner. Our goal is to make sure at least four flavors are in stock at all times, but we can't always anticipate demand. I, for one, know the disappointment of ordering something not available. Hopefully you give us another try and we don't disappoint you.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

peas-full 19 Feb 2015 - Hi MaiBach04

Thank you for your reply.
In fact I went to your shop a few weeks later with the same friend and we had the chance to taste the cakes we wanted.
One flavor was sold out but the waiter offered us to cut a slice from a new one, even though it should have set a little longer. So we get to taste the cake we wanted and it was absolutely delicious. I bet it is highly demanded! :-)

 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Taipei Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Ooh Cha Cha closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5221 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support