Ms. Cupcake

  • Bakery Bakery
  • Vegan
    ( 52 reviews )
Contact
+44-2030868933
Find

408 Coldharbour Lane, Brixton, South West London, England, SW9 8LF

Cupcake cafe. The Ms. Cupcake character is a 1950s housewife with a dream to bring vegan cakes, brownies, cookies, tray-bakes, loaf to the masses. Makes both savory and sweet baked goods. Hosts baking and cake decorating classes. Open Tue-Thu 10:00am-8:00pm, Fri 10:00am-9:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-8:00pm.

52 Reviews

First Review by SaraVegan

awesome and GF options! - Edit

This place is great! I was a frequent visitor when in London and they do a GF slice and have a cupcake available too! Highly recommend (although GF items are not made in a GF kitchen if you require this kind of care).

Pros: deliciousness

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 19 Jan 2018 - Hi there!

Thanks so much for your kind review and the 5 stars, we really appreciate it! See ya again soon! Ms. Cupcake x
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Huge selection - Edit

This is a good place to go if you fancy something sweet - I did not count, but they must have had more than 20 options of cakes, cookies and cupcakes when I visited. I liked the blueberry and lemon muffin and the peanut butter slice (which had a pinch of salt to it) a lot. They were also reasonably priced, at 2-3 pound each. Be aware that the cupcakes are extremely sweet and have a lot of that creamy, filling topping - this might be exactly what you are looking for, but for me it was way too much.

Updated from previous review on 2018-01-07

Pros: Great 'plain' cakes and cookies, Huge selection

Cons: Cupcakes are extremely filling and sweet

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 12 Jan 2018 - Hi there!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience. We're so happy that you enjoyed your items. We're known for our indulgent cupcakes and we like them very sweet, although we appreciate this isn't to everyone's taste. We normally recommend our muffins to anyone that doesn't like sweet cupcakes, so it's great that you've already tried one of them!

Hope to see you again soon! Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Gorgeous cupcakes - Edit

I love this place! Amazing Cupcakes with really cool flavours plus brownies, cakes and various other items

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 22 Dec 2017 - Hi Vicky! Thanks so much for your kind words and the 5 stars, we really appreciate it! See you again soon, Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sweet tooth = Satisfied! - Edit

If you've got a sweet tooth, get yourself here! Amazing cupcakes and other treats. The Biscoff milkshake was SO good (seasonal). Other items available such as vegan Ben & Jerry's, soy spray cream, etc. No indoor seating, only outside but this is under cover. 10/10

Pros: Everything!

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 22 Dec 2017 - Hi there! Thanks so much for your wonderful review and the 5 stars, we really appreciate it! So happy you loved our Milkshake. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

sweet - Edit

Nice wee cake shop.
Really busy as they were getting ready for vegfest. A decent selection of chilled and frozen as well.
The cakes were good, for me the topping was too sweet and too much.
I don't think anyone would ever guess these were vegan.

Pros: cake

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 20 Oct 2017 - Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! That's a shame you found the icing on our cupcakes too sweet, but next time be sure to try out our muffins as they're less sweet! Hope to see ya again soon, Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely vegan shop - Edit

Lovely staff, array of delicious cakes and treats. Would highly suggest the peanut butter flapjack/brownie.

Also has sandwiches, faux meats, crisps and the illusive Vegan Ben & Jerrys!

Pros: All vegan, nothing bit Vegan!

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 29 Sep 2017 - Hey there! Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate it. x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So much choice! - Edit

I was amazed by the variety of cupcakes, muffins and traybakes. All presented so beautifully. The milkshake was spot on!

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 29 Sep 2017 - Hi Veganfix! Thank you you're so kind! Glad you like the different options!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

incredible! - Edit

The cookie sandwiches are insane!! Also a good selection of vegan groceries. Love it here!

Pros: amazing cakes

Cons: nothing!

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 01 Sep 2017 - Hey there, Thanks so much for the 5 stars, we really appreciate it! So happy to hear you love our cookie sandwiches! See ya again soon, Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food - Edit

It's so nice to be able to go into a totally vegan shop! Have had the sandwiches in there, and the cupcakes and other baked goods are just incredible. Plus, there's lots of vegan junk food.

Pros: Really creative food, So much choice, Not just cupcakes

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 28 Jul 2017 - Hiya,

Thanks so much for the amazing review! We're so happy you enjoyed our sandwiches. You know where to come when you want your next junk food fix!

See ya again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very disappointing - Edit

We knew this place for its reputation among vegans. We had two cupcakes and they were terrible to say the least. They tasted of nothing apart from sugar and they both had a stale flavour. Probably because those things are kept at room temperature in the shop without a fridge.

Pros: None

Cons: Outrageously expensive. Horrible taste. Sugar over

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 02 Jun 2017 - Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. We like our cupcakes rich and decadent with lots of icing and, although we realise this might not be to everyone's taste, we like them just as they are. You might enjoy our muffins as these are not as sweet.

Our bakery items are best stored at room temperature; putting them in a fridge will dry out the sponge, so that's why they're kept in a cabinet. Hope that gives a bit more information about why they're stored like that.

Ms. Cupcake  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Way too sweet - Edit

We went here before a gig at Brixton Academy. We picked up some Buccaneer and Twilight bars (like Milky Way and Mars Bars) which are awesome. We also had some cupcakes and milkshakes. I like sweet things, but the milkshake especially was way too sweet for me. I actually threw some of it away which is something I've never done before. The range of things they sell look brilliant and would definitely be back to buy more chocolate bars, but the cakes and milkshakes weren't to my taste.

Pros: Awesome vegan chocolate bars, Good product range

Cons: Very very sweet

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Laura,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes and milkshakes are very rich and, although we realise this isn't to everyone's taste, that's just the way we like them. You might like to try some of our muffins next time as they're not too sweet!

Hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x

 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty, but there are some downsides - Edit

The cupcakes had a lot of frosting on them which was too sugary for my taste. I also got a chocolate chip cookie which was perfect. The only seating they had was outside, which was kind of dirty and hadn't been cleaned in a little while. They also didn't have a bathroom available to use for customers. The staff was also not as friendly as I was expecting with all of the good reviews. I would come back to grab a few cookies or some snacks if I was in the area, but I wouldn't stay long.

Pros: Yummy cookies, good cake

Cons: frosting was too sweet, no bathroom, Limited and only outdoor seating

5 Responses
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Hannah.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes are rich and decadent, and we realise this might not be to everyone's taste. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the choc chip cookie! You might also like our muffins as they're not too sweet.

Our staff check the seats/tables every hour or so to see if they need cleaning, however, we will be sure to take note of your comments about the outdoor seating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Hannah.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes are rich and decadent, and we realise this might not be to everyone's taste. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the choc chip cookie! You might also like our muffins as they're not too sweet.

Our staff check the seats/tables every hour or so to see if they need cleaning, however, we will be sure to take note of your comments about the outdoor seating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Hannah.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes are rich and decadent, and we realise this might not be to everyone's taste. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the choc chip cookie! You might also like our muffins as they're not too sweet.

Our staff check the seats/tables every hour or so to see if they need cleaning, however, we will be sure to take note of your comments about the outdoor seating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Hannah.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes are rich and decadent, and we realise this might not be to everyone's taste. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the choc chip cookie! You might also like our muffins as they're not too sweet.

Our staff check the seats/tables every hour or so to see if they need cleaning, however, we will be sure to take note of your comments about the outdoor seating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ms. Cupcake 25 May 2017 - Hi Hannah.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your visit, we really appreciate your feedback. Our cupcakes are rich and decadent, and we realise this might not be to everyone's taste. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the choc chip cookie! You might also like our muffins as they're not too sweet.

Our staff check the seats/tables every hour or so to see if they need cleaning, however, we will be sure to take note of your comments about the outdoor seating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Ms. Cupcake x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Cupcake - Edit

Very easy to find, at the one of main roads in Brixton. Went there today while visiting family in London. The staff was very friendly and smiling. Especially the Italian guy behind the counter. Unfortunately the icing is way too sweet. And I really like sugar haha I don't really like to complain about vegan places. I honestly wish them all the best and want to see more of them around the globe. But it has to be shared. Good luck guys and next time less sugar please

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 23 Mar 2017 - Hi Synneve!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our bakery! That's great to hear our staff treated you so well, we'll be sure to let them know you gave them a big thumbs up!

We love the sweet stuff at Ms. Cupcake and we pride ourselves on how rich and decadent our cupcakes are! However, we totally get that it's not everyone's cup of tea, so we have loads of less sweet treats always in store.

We'd love to have you pop by again and try one of our muffins, cookies or one of our savoury treats. Hope to see you again soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Milkshake I've Tasted - Edit

I stumbled across this place in Brixton while having a wonder around. It was near closing time at Ms. Cupcake and I seen their menu for the milkshakes so I went in and had a very tasty delicious milkshake. Best tasting milkshake I have had and I can't wait to go back and have another! Staff were very friendly and service was good. I was served by a lovely female staff member called Smulan she was very friendly and added a lovely smile, as were the other staff members very friendly and attentive. This place was very clean and well presented and I can't wait to come back here.

Pros: Location, Friendly Staff, Tasty Milkshakes

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 23 Mar 2017 - Hi Dom!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - sorry we are only replying to you now! We'll tell Smulan you gave her a shout out and btw great choice with the milkshake, we love them too!! See ya again soon! x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Brilliant in Brixton - Edit

We were here only for a short while, and Id heard these guys did amazing pastries.
Unfortunately I was too early for them, so they offered me a scone and a sandwich instead.
They were both pretty good, even tho Im generally not a fan of 'mock' meats.
And then I spied the Ferrero Roche cupcake.
If you only buy one thing at this bakery, buy that cupcake.
Its so good!!

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 01 Aug 2016 - Hi Nik,

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review of our bakery. The Ferrero cupcake is a great recommendation - it's one of our best sellers! See ya soon!! xx  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Cupcakes - Edit

We popped into Brixton this afternoon to try Ms Cupcake's lovely cupcakes for the first time. Most impressed with the cakes although a bit on the pricey side.

Pros: lovely looking, lovely tasting

Cons: expensive

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 01 Aug 2016 - Lovely to hear you enjoyed the cakes, Karen! You may want to consider coming on a Monday next time (if you can make it). Our cupcakes are 50p each less every Monday. Hopefully see you back at the bakery. Lots of love, Ms. C xx  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan treats - Edit

This wasn't terribly central but we made a trip there to grab some vegan baked goods. Had a lot more than cupcakes, including cookie sandwiches and brownies, as well as a small vegan food for sale section. The cupcake was an okay vegan cupcake but nothing special. We enjoyed the cookie sandwich more although it was heavy on the icing.

Pros: vegan desserts, can buy vegan groceries

Cons: not necessarily easy to get to, not in best area, calls itself "café" but only a couple of seats and

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 01 Aug 2016 - Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write up your feedback. We're glad that you discovered our wide-range of vegan groceries and confectionery. We would love to see you back at the bakery next time in London - we'd love to give you another opportunity to fall in love with the cupcakes. All the best, Ms. Cupcake xx  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Our vegan wedding cake - Edit

I first met my partner in Ms Cupcake, so it was the obvious choice for our wedding cake. We ordered the biggest possible 3 layer rectangular vanilla cake with jam and vanilla buttercream in advance for our wedding. We had our photo printed on icing on the top of the cake. On arrival for collection we were asked if we wanted glitter. We were so happy, we definitely wanted glitter! Our wedding guests enjoyed the cake. Our non vegan guests were surprised at how like non vegan cake it was. Totally delicious! The best cake! Very very happy!

Pros: Resonably priced wedding cake, Utterly delcious cake, Friendly helpful staff

1 Response
Read More

Ms. Cupcake 01 Aug 2016 - Wow, what an amazing story! Thank you so much for sharing. We are so happy that y'all loved the cake. We'll definitely pass on this feedback at the next staff meeting. Much love and congratulations, Ms. C xx  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

THE place for vegan treats! - Edit

All the staff are very cheerful and friendly, even when they're busy, and they take a lot of care to make your visit special. 'Ms Cupcake' herself is probably the jolliest woman I've ever met. The cupcakes and cookies are enormous, moist and delicious, with a massive range of flavours and toppings. I've never had vegan baked goods like this anywhere else. Some stuff can be a little bit sickly and greasy - the nanaimo bar gave me heartburn (never had a non-vegan one though, so maybe they are just very sweet?). They also do savoury sandwiches which are full-to-bursting and very yummy! The shop has a little grocery section with loads of vegan favourites such as Vego chocolate and Nakd bars, as well as stuff I'd never seen before. My bank balance and waistline suffer every time I think of paying a visit to Ms Cupcake.

Pros: Huge, delicious cupcakes, Friendly, happy staff, Amazing range of treats

Cons: Can be a bit sickly/greasy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

bangin - Edit

Got hella cupcakes for my birthday it was sweet and lit I was so happy yasss

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

World's best Vegan cakes! - Edit

I visited here in January and fell in love, not only are the cakes themselves out of this world and better than some veggie cakes I've had it the past, but they do 50% cake 50% icing which is AMAZING! I can't wait to get back and try some more, had the Ambassador (I think) like a big vegan ferrero rocher, I was seriously impressed!
The staff were friendly and helpful, and there are gluten free options available and clearly marked! They also stock loads of other vegan food so you can stock up the cupboards ☺

Pros: Great value, Best Vegan cake I've ever tasted, Delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Birthday to Remember - Edit

I was so elated when I first became vegan but had wondered what on earth I'd do regarding my birthday but then someone linked me to Ms Cupcake's website. I submitted my order and went to collect it on the day.

I was so taken aback when I entered the bakery, the best possible way. Everything looked so delicious, I didn't know how I would possibly make a choice.

In the end, I left with a few items along with my beautiful birthday cake. Everyone was very friendly and the fabulous Ms Cupcake herself came out and said hello.

Definitely a place to visit if you're in the Brixton area!

Pros: Delicious Food, Accommodating Staff, Big variety of food

Cons: Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Must Check - Edit

1- Location : 3.5/5
2- Service : 4/5
3- Food : 4/5 (amazing but really fat food, too much ?)
4- Price : 4/5
5- Decoration : 4/5

GO VEGAN

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Oreo brownies!! - Edit

The most intensely chocolate Oreo brownie I've ever had the pleasure of consuming. Just go and try it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best cupcakes ever! - Edit

Best vegan cupcakes! Took some to a friends dinner party, they were shocked after eating the cake 'I thought you were vegan!?' Me: 'I am... And so are the cakes! Mwhahahaha!' They were surprised vegan cake could taste so good, showed them vegans do it better!

Also do gluten free options so no one has to miss out :)

Pros: cake, cake, cake

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great if you're into cupcakes! - Edit

Ms Cupcake does cupcakes. They're good cupcakes. They're vegan cupcakes. Pretty much everything they do is a cupcake (with a few sandwiches). There are a couple of places to sit outside to eat your cupcake. The cupcakes are reasonably priced. The cupcakes are tasty. I'm not much into cupcakes, but if cupcakes are your thing then go to Ms Cupcake!

PS. Cupcakes.

Pros: Cupcakes

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantabulous - Edit

As soon as you enter you'll be enticed by the sweet aroma of this bakery and its absolutely amazing staff. There are so many sweet options and there is almost always a chef making something new on your right so you know everything is fresh. I ordered 4 cupcakes and tea and they were better than any cupcakes I've ever had, vegan or otherwise.
If you're in London then this is definitely the place to go to satisfy your sweet tooth.
Sells a bunch of refrigerated vegan snacks too.

Pros: Amazing sweets and atmosphere, Lovely staff

Cons: Not in the nicest part of London

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to South West London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Ms. Cupcake closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6097 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support