13
  • CLOSED: Moksha Yoga and Surf Hostel

  • (16)
    6

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Pizza
International
Western
Fast food
Juice bar
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hostel with restaurant serving mostly vegan food like curry with coconut milk, pizza, burger, tabbouleh, hummus, chocolate cake, and coffee. Reported closed November 2022.


Venue map for Moksha Yoga and Surf Hostel
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by WimFeijen

_st-3

Points +1055

Vegan
06 Jan 2022

Delicious food, overall service could be better

Our server was an american person who didn't understand very well spanish, so they got some things mixed. However, I really like how it was stated in the menu what was vegan or could be made vegan. We only had the vegan burrito and the masala curry and they were really good! It's not the best restaurant ever but it's really good.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-06

Pros: Good food, Not enough salad in my opinion, Aesthetical pleasing

Cons: A bit expensive, Service not the best, Sometimes small portions

Advertisement

julesboeldi

Points +157

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Great pancakes & positive vibes

We loved the pancake-mix (vegan version) - so delicious! And a great way to start your day right. With strawberries and pineapples. My boyfriend also really enjoyed his coffeeholic (smoothie). And I felt for the pure spicy detox-wellness-Shot (tumeric, ginger, pepper). All of this combined with the positive vibes we recieved not only from the place itself but also the people working there. Especially Coco, the owner, spreads so much love, joy and all positive energy. We say: you should go there yourself and feel it, tooūüėĄ

Pros: Almost everything can be made vegan (just ask) , Big portions , Positive vibes

Quasimone

Points +145

Vegan
16 Oct 2019

Delicious

I had the burger and sweet potato fries, both was really tasty.
I would have given 5 stars, if it would have been possible.
Isn't this restaurant completely vegetarian? I thought it is. Have not seen any meat on the menu.

kach117

Points +116

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Would give 5 stars

Really great vegan options. Had the Valentina plate for dinner which was a mix of the different main dishes which was good value for money as the portion was big. The pancakes for breakfast were great too and the staff were knowledgeable about what was vegan.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Cool atmosphere

KaitlinM

Points +688

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Yum vegan options

Be sure to ask the volunteers for your dish to be made vegan when you order as each volunteer‚Äôs understanding of ‚Äúvegan‚ÄĚ varies. Food is fresh and delicious with fair pricing. My favourite is the Valentina Special made vegan without the coleslaw (mayonnaise), which they can replace with more of something else.

Moksha always has vegan slices, biscuits, and/or cake on offer so be to sure to ask what they have. These are made by a local and are delicious sweet treats.

Pros: Menu items can be veganised, All but 1 menu item is vegetarian, Vegan slices

18 Jan 2019

Nuggets de coliflor

Muy rico, s√ļper buena atenci√≥n y un lugar muy agradable. Nos comimos unos nuggets de coliflor deliciosos y el juguito era gratis, hasta te rellenan el vaso ūüėä‚̧

Pros: buena atención, comida rica , te rellenan el jugo

Cons: sirven carne, leche y huevos

garethdavies514

Points +202

Vegan
04 Jan 2019

Tasty food

We very much enjoyed the food here and went back a couple of times. The veggie burger is great, especially the bread it comes with and the hummus on the side.
I thought the portions were a tad small but for the price and quality I can't really complain (probably just me being greedy and wanting more of the awesome food).
Friendly staff too!

Jess1221

Points +151

Vegan
24 Dec 2018

Underwhelming

The food here was pretty disappointing; we were excited that we found vegan options in such a small town however the veggie burger was poor quality and not what I would call a burger, their homemade bread doughy and dense. The smoothies weren’t super good either.

Pros: Fairly decent for the area; around 13 soles

Cons: Slow service , Disappointing food

AdamHogue

Points +122

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Great food and friendly atmosphere ūüĎć

Was great having vegan options in a small beach town. Loved relaxing with the volunteers (travelers) and ordering a salad, cake, pie, or enjoying their Sunday brunch. The Sunday brunch is a must! Fit as much as you can on one plate!

Pros: Good vegan options, Vegan cake and ice pops, Ran by friendly volunteers

Cons: Not fully vegan, Ask if your food is 100% vegan

veggiesista

Points +237

Vegan
27 Jul 2018

Nice place

The atmosphere is really nice and the service super friendly. Its runned by volunteers so the quality is not super high, but I liked the concept and you get some vegan options. When I went there they had no cake :(.. But normally they have.

DrBB

Points +93

Vegetarian
03 Feb 2018

Small but good menu

Limited but good options. When we ate here there was a choice of chickpea burger, masala curry or cauliflower bites (all s/13) in terms of main meals. Would recommend the burger or curry. Lots of dessert options (although do ask if vegan as vegan and non-vegan cupcakes listed on menu). There's also also a Sunday brunch buffet from 11-2pm for s/13. Friendly staff and boardgames available.

joegelay

Points +519

Vegan
31 Dec 2017

Fave vegan option in Huanchaco

Small menu, ran by volunteers so the quality/quantity of food can vary, but all in all a nice little spot for veg eaters in Huanchaco. I had the masala curry, and lentil burger. Both served with homemade bread and juice. They always have different desserts as well, but not all vegan so make sure to ask!

Pros: Right in front of beach, Warm atmosphere, Good food

Cons: Small menu

Stangler

Points +140

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2017

lunch

Very good lunch. The Card is small... I took the option of tasting a bit of everything and it was tastyyyy!!!
Doesn't look like a restaurant as it is a hostal and surf school too!
Enjoy

Pros: taste, nice and welcoming people, chocolate cake

Cons: confusing of knowing if it is a restaurant or not

tryngl

Points +80

Vegan
29 Oct 2017

great place to eat and sleep

we stayed at the hostel and had breakfast there, yummi chocolate porridge... unfortunately we didn't have the chance to taste any other dishes because the restaurant was closed in the evening (sunday) but we bet they are delicious too (thai curry, burger, humus, ...)

AmyCarmichael

Points +18

Vegan
17 Aug 2017

Delicious with loadsa yummy veg

Lots of vegan options, had a platter of all the mains (breaded cauliflower hummus, curry and veggie burger) and fresh juice for 15 soles and all were interesting and tasty. Chocolate cake wonderfully moist. The kind of food that makes you feel good after. Lovely, friendly service. Chill hostel-y backpacker vibe.

WimFeijen

Points +21

Mostly Veg
11 Aug 2017

lekkere curry

Alles vegetarisch. Heeft een aantal opties. De curry was lekker. Ik begrijp niet helemaal wanneer het open is.




This page has been viewed 2128 times.