Living Food Lab Canggu

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 40 reviews )

Find

Jalan Pantai Berawa 8, Units 12 and 13, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia, 80361

Vegan cafe, co-working space, and education lab for cooking classes. Est. 2012. Features four stations: the breakfast station, the juice station, the coffee station, and the salad bar. Serves raw and cooked dishes including a raw mango wrap, spicy Mexican stack, and carrot spaghetti. Can arrange gluten-free, sugar-free, and nut-free options. Also offers catering for events and parties. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-8:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Raw, Western, Salad bar, Juice bar, Fusion, Breakfast, Indonesian

40 Reviews

First Review by patthai74

adventuretime

Points +450

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Peace

Peaceful vibes, clean food. Kind of like a cafe but with a full menu. 100% vegan menu and have a variety of options for dessert. Nice place to dine-in or just have tea and hang out.

Pros: Vegan Menu , Dessert , Relaxing Atmosphere

LivingFoodLab

23 Sep 2021

Hi Advnturetime!
Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review! We are so happy to hear that could feel peaceful vibes in our space and enjoyed your visit at Living Food Lab. Hope to see you soon again!

Take care!
Maria - Social Media Assistant

GaucHummusMaximus

Points +97

Vegan
28 Mar 2021

Nice, But Could Be A Lot Better

The food is good, but the portions are small and it’s expensive!

The restaurant itself needs some TLC as the toilet was broken for months apart...

The service is extremely slow too!

Nevertheless, the staff are lovely.

Pros: Fully Vegan, Raw Dishes

Cons: Expensive , Slow Service , Small Portions

LivingFoodLab

21 Jun 2021

Dear GuacHummusMaximus,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we always find value in what our customers share about their experience. We're happy that you like the food! If you found the portions small, you're always welcome to top up with additional sides. We're sorry to hear that you consider the food expensive. We go out of our way to source all of our ingredients from quality sources, and make everything in house fresh, and the prices reflect that love and care. In terms of the service, we are sorry to hear it was slow. Due to the pandemic, we have cut staff hours significantly due to this, our wait times can be longer on busy days. We appreciate your understanding on this matter. Thanks for complimenting our staff, who we consider as family. They'll be happy to hear you enjoyed them. Thank you again for submitting your review, wishing you all the best! - Sydney, Head of Communication

vegancatto

Points +44

Vegan
23 Mar 2021

Not bad, but definitely could do better!

Love the vibe of the restaurant itself although with Bali weather, we do need AC.
The food though, could do better😅

Pros: Vegan Restaurant

LivingFoodLab

21 Jun 2021

Dear Vegan Catto,

We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback! We are always seeking honest feedback and we appreciate your suggestions. Happy to hear you loved the vibes of our space, we hope you found it inviting! In terms of AC, we understand your concern. Due to the pandemic, we have stopped using the AC in order to cut down on cost. Hopefully when tourism returns, we can get it running again. Sorry to hear that you weren't especially enthusiastic about the food. We'd love to hear your specific feedback so we can improve what was lacking for you. If you come back, please let us know and we'd love to chat! Thanks again for your review, best wishes to you! - Sydney, LFL Head of Communication

Advertisement

StephanieDelacroix

Points +16

Vegan
28 Sep 2020

Great place in so many levels!

Location, space, quality, service, goods everything here is done with an opened heart.
The menu is vast, the coffees are great, you can work upstairs, they also sell clothes and bags to support various causes.
It's fantastic!
Go!

Pros: 100% vegan! Breezy! Spacious!

Cons: The regular coffee milk is coconut.

LivingFoodLab

21 Jun 2021

Hello Stephanie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review! We feel so encouraged to read your positive feedback, and we like to believe what you said is true: that we do everything with an opened heart. Wishing you the best, and hope to see you soon!

-Sydney, LFL Head of Communication

just.a.vegan.girl

Points +953

Vegan
02 Apr 2020

So many options

Everything on the menu sounds so delicious and healthy! I had a refreshing Bali colada smoothie, the BBQ jackfruit wrap (which was a little weird and not as BBQ flavored as I hoped), and shared some yummy cannelloni with my boyfriend. We also ordered a hamper from them for Nyepi and it was such a good deal for the amount of food we got!

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
Thank you so much for your positive words. We were really happy to serve you with the hamper for Nyepi. I've taken your note on-board about the jackfruit wrap not being as BBQ flavoured as you had hoped - I actually agree with you that it could be stronger and will let our kitchen know.
We are trying our best to come up with great packages during this time that we can all do with an immunity boost, so thank you for your support thus far, and we hope to see you again.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

veganomnom

Points +72

Vegan
27 Feb 2020

Typical vegan place.

It this typical vegan place, great atmosphere for expats doing their online work. Smaller portions but delicious food. Would recommend and go again.

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hi!
We are happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere at our co-working space upstairs and found the food delicious. For many of our portions you can request a larger size (or double portion).
We hope to see you again, perhaps to try one of our many immunity boosting packages?
We wish you a healthy body and a happy mind, now more than ever.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

BeccaVeg

Points +110

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

Yummy

Smoothies are yummy and cold!! Food was great.

Cons: Whole coconut was warm.

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
We are really happy you enjoyed your smoothies and food. For the coconuts, we serve them at room temperature, as we don't have the facility to store so many coconuts, and many people enjoy their coconuts as is. But I know the feeling when you just want to sip on cooling, cold coconut water, so please know that there is always the option to add ice and lime to your coconut. Perhaps our server forgot to offer this to you, so I will make sure to remind everyone.
Welcome back again, as we keep on adding to our menu and have special packages going on at the moment.
Take care and stay hydrated :)
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

Lisett

Points +89

Vegan
30 Jan 2020

Incredible

The cafe/ co-working space is absolutely amazing. The Living Food Lab has an incredible selection of books on veganism, an outstanding service and a colorful menu with raw and cooked items.

Pros: An amazing service, Beautiful, chic and clean venue , Wonderful menu

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
How wonderful that you enjoyed your experience! It's true, we probably have the widest range of books on veganism in Bali, all available for reading in-house. We are so glad you enjoyed our loving service, which is really at the heart of who we are. And I'm personally happy you enjoyed the design, as we put a lot of love into designing our furniture together with local artisans.
We hope to see you again, and wish you the best of health and happiness.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

Nickose

Points +190

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

The place is nice

Dessert are row and tasteless. Icecream from cashew and can’t say that was as the real icecream.

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
Thank you for your review. Yes, our desserts are all raw, but I'm so sorry you thought it was tasteless. Which one did you have? How about the ice-cream - which flavour did you have? I will certainly check in with our kitchen to see that we're following the recipes as those ice-creams are actually quite delicious when I have had them, so I'd definitely want to see the quality maintained.
We hope you are staying healthy and happy during these times and hope you will give us another change if you are ever in Bali again.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

mcnernrc

Points +85

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

The best restaurant in the world?

It will be hard not to eat here everyday during my stay, I just might have to. Exotic, fresh variety of flavors. Extensive selection, artfully prepared. What more could you ask for? I'm in love. Do your self a favor and get a selection of different items, or better yet go with a friend to have a little sample of lots of lovingly prepared options.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
It's so lovely to read this, thank you! This makes our hearts feel so full, as we are really in the business of serving love. We prepare our food as an offering from us to you, made with love, and it is amazing when you can taste that. Also, as an ethically-based vegan restaurant, love features strongly in our foundations.
Thank you for that tip of sampling lots of different items - we are happy to put together platters of our favourites, if you have time to wait a bit longer, as they are all a bit elaborate, with many components. But we feel it's worthwhile the wait!
Sending you love.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

indibear

Points +116

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

Fantastic find - best coffee

Iced coconut latte was the best. Add the coconut nectar for sure. It’s absolutely delicious. Really chilled environment. Super clean. Staff are incredibly friendly. Decor is modern and lots of effort has been put into making it a place you want to just kick back and enjoy. Avocado on pumpkin toast was yum. Will come back for sure.

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello there!
Our baristas will be thrilled to hear you loved the iced latte. Yes, the coconut nectar does sweeten it up in a lovely way. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness and friendliness. I'm personally happy you picked up on the details in decor - we did think through a lot of details to see how we can make it as comfortable and stylish as possible (in our view, haha - style is so personal).
Welcome back again and stay safe.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

chefryley

Points +82

Vegan
23 Oct 2019

Insane spot

All vegan! Massive menu and just so damn delicious!

Pros: Incred all vegan menu, Yommm coffee!

Cons: Massive portions

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello Chef, and thank you for the love you're sending our way! We're really happy to hear you enjoyed it.
Love back to you,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

pascaleehd

Points +264

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Nice!

We really liked the concept of this place. We both aim to be as mindful as possible with the food we eat and the living food lab caters to this well. The menu clearly states which dishes are cooked and which are raw etc. We had celery juice with cucumber, the soup special which was pumpkin - this was a must! (Small size as a starter - still plenty.) Then the Bali salad which was similar to a nasi with raw noodles, cooked salad and tempura on-top. The ginger sauce was delicious and then my partner had the raw cannelloni which was also nice.

Pros: Lots of options to choose from , HEALTHY considered menu! , Fair prices

LivingFoodLab

27 Apr 2020

Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed description of your experience. We are grateful that you enjoyed yourselves so much, as what more can we ask for than happy guests?
Being an ethically-based vegan restaurant and having a focus on conscious, mindful choices in what and how we eat, I am personally always grateful to see the expanding community of diners who are coming in for this purpose. Together we can make a significant difference to how we consume.
We are also happy to see you considered our prices fair, as indeed, considering the quality of ingredients and time and love put into it, the prices are indeed fair. It's good to get this kind of feedback. I am curious, though: what could we have done to make those 4 stars into a 5?
Take care, stay safe.
Blessings,
Pauliina
Living Food Lab mama and owner

keiarnakerr

Points +66

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Incredible.

We ordered so many options because it was cheap and healthy and delicious. The raw cannelloni and pizza were a highlight. Even our non vegan friends loved it!

Pros: Everything was raw! , Cheap, Delicious

Cons: Sometimes a long wait.

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Hello!

Thank you for coming and ordering so many options. It's great if you can share as a group and get a variety of options. I'm so happy that your non vegan friends loved it - this is always a step in the right direction so thank you for sharing!

You are right in that sometimes the wait is long, and that's because the foods are made up of many components, all of them made in-house. It's more slow food than fast food, so your patience is appreciated! It might be that the order before yours was a more complex one, as we cater to personalised requests from guests, and this usually means that the order will take longer.

In any case, thank you for coming and for your review and hope to serve you again!

Blessings,
Pauliina

(mama and owner at LFL)

lilScorpio

Points +5030

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

Nice atmosphere

We only had drinks at foodLab and a mixed salad to go.
The location is very nice, would have spent more time here! There are a ton of vegan (cook) books and magazines to read, fast/free WiFi and the interior is stylish.
My salad was 40k and contained mix lettuce, tofu, tempeh, kale, Nori and tahini dressing.
Very light and fresh taste.
The iced latte was one of the best I had. They use coconut milk, cashew and almond milk is available too and costs 10k extra.
The staff was welcoming and put the salad in my container to avoid waste.
Recommended!

Pros: tasteful and chilled place , fresh foods , nice staff

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Thank you for your detailed review, it is really nice to read how much you enjoyed it. Our staff is indeed so lovely, we are very lucky to have such kind people on our team. We're also keen not to create waste, hence our take away containers.

I hope you're staying healthy and happy during these times,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

Miamiamia

Points +28

Vegan
31 Jul 2019

YES YES YES

I LOVE everything about this awesome restaurant. The food the coffee the staff...EXCELLENT. Just GO. You’re welcome 😊👅❣️

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Thank you! What a positive vibe you created with your review! It's great to have guests like yourself and we hope you'll come by again.

Blessings,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

heretobehappy

Points +553

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

restaurant and co-working space, mostly raw

living food lab has a raw-focused menu. Upstairs co-working area. Hosts events/classes. Customize your own salad, fresh juices, smoothie bowls, raw meals, some cooked. A few local dishes but mostly Westernized menu. Try the mix & match raw pizza and juices! Raw (un)baked goods. Can bring-your-own-container for zero waste take out. Primarily gluten-free options.

Pros: friendly staff, unlimited water, gluten-free options

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for all these photos. Since you wrote, we've added more cooked foods and Asian foods as well. We hope you'll be back in Bali again soon!

Take care,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

Julien_blutopia

Points +496

Vegan
25 Jun 2019

Very nice place. Good food.

I had a smoothie bowl there. The PB one. As a peanut butter lover, I really loved it. The toppings are so good. The base too but it was too cold for me. Some detail.
And for that price, I expected more quantity.

Pros: Wonderful toppings, Lovely place

Cons: Quantity

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Hello Julien,

Thank you so much for your review. The PB bowl is a favourite amongst PB lovers. I'm sorry it was too cold for you. We try to make them thick, and that requires iced fruit and veg components. We're happy to accommodate if you let us know you'd prefer it less cold.

We make our own sauces and sweeteners in-house for the various elements that make up the PB bowl (instead of cheap sweeteners and fillers), and that reflects in the price. Of course, we'd love for you to feel that you got great value from it, so next time you come by, please let us know so we can make sure to satisfy you.

And thank you for your great work at Blutopia!

Stay safe,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

AshtrayArts

Points +133

Vegan
03 Jun 2019

Love!

I absolutely loved everything we had there but the raw pizza was my favorite! Simply amazing!

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

Thank you! It continues to delight me how that raw pizza is such a favourite! We're really happy you loved it!

Take care, stay safe,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

travellingbutterfly

Points +970

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

This place is the raw deal!

I found this place by accident and it was one of the best mistakes of my travels. Really nice service, delicious food and the decor is so cool - just like a...well, a lab! While I dined, I got to read through the huge selection of raw, vegan literature and just enjoy the clean, nourishing feeling of eating and being there. Will definitely be back!

Pros: Lots of raw, vegan food options and lovely staff.

Cons: Location can be missed. Look up for the sign.

LivingFoodLab

11 May 2020

What a brilliant review, thank you! We're happy you made this best mistake of your travels😄We hope to see you back in Bali one day.

Blessings,
Pauliina

Mama and owner at LFL

chloeamandab

Points +56

Vegan
22 May 2019

This is a must

I had the BBQ Jackfruit wrap and veggie sticks and hummus. Plus an almond latte. The almond milk here is made in house, but so so smooth. The coffee is great. The food is amazing. I am still here writing this review. The design of the facility is also awesome. Very open and homely. Loved it!

Pros: Vegan, Almond milk is so smooth , Price is great

emilymercer

Points +20

Vegan
15 May 2019

Fantastic!

Beautiful place with an exciting menu, amazing food and lovely staff! Had the tofu benedict which was really tasty with creative ingredients.. They use volcanic black salt to flavour the pumpkin 'yolk'! The raw chocolate brownie was delicious also. Can't fault this place, highly recommend!

Pros: Entirely vegan menu, lots of variation on the menu

Cons: Slightly expensive, but worth it!

jastin

Points +192

Vegan
01 Apr 2019

Uns hat es sehr gut gefallen!

Wir waren einige Male zum Arbeiten im Living Food Lab und würden immer wieder kommen! Man hat auf der zweiten Etage ruhigere Plätze und im Erdgeschoss ist ein wenig mehr Leben und Musik. Das Personal ist sehr nett, uns wurde jede Stunde neues Wasser kostenfrei eingeschenkt und auch das Essen ist super lecker! Man kann sich selbst einen Salat zusammenstellen oder aus verschiedenen kleinen, mittleren und großen Gerichten im Menü wählen. Alles ist vegan und super lecker! Die Preise sind wirklich okay! :)

popossum

Points +88

Vegetarian
16 Mar 2019

Great vegan food in Canngu

I’ve been here several times and everything I tried was delicious, this is the place if you’re not a fan of coconut in every dish (in contrast with most of other vegan places I’ve checked in area). Soups are nice but may be a little bland, I liked all the sandwiches I’ve tried, they also sell really nice and durable eco bags for your groceries. Pizza was pretty weird though, it’s more like a big round sandwich on a weird bread with some stuff on top. Not a terrible taste but also not really a pizza

paula_gore

Points +111

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

We enjoyed lunch today, plenty of options, very tasty, delicious fresh food!

Definitely worth 5 stars

Pros: All vegan , Friendly staff , Clean and spacious

maynard7

Points +2944

Mostly Veg
14 Feb 2019

Good food

An upscale raw food restaurant in the Canggu area. I had the Zoodles (65.000 as of February 2019). It comes with raw spiral zucchini noodles, herb pesto dressing, croquettes and Tahini dressing. I also ordered a small plate with smoked tempeh, raw crackers, and hummus. The total for the food came to exactly one hundred thousand and they add on 10% tax 5% service. The portion size seems small but it was surprisingly filling. Overall a good place although the prices are a bit high for a budget traveler (although in line with other upscale vegetarian and vegan restaurants in this area). Recommended when in the neighborhood.

Pros: Vegan, Tasty food

Cons: A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Shireef

Points +64

Vegan
14 Jan 2019

Tastiest healthy vegan food in canggu!

In my opinion , this is the tastiest healthy food spot in Canggu. I have been coming here most days for the past few months to work online and eat good healthy food. The space is great, WiFi is speedy, the food is amazing and the staff are incredible and make you feel like you are part of the family. If you are in Canggu , vegan or not, try this place out it's definitely one of my favorite food places ever!! ❤❤❤

Pros: Healthy food that tastes and feels good, Amazing staff, The best co working space and its free!

Cons: Non at all, don't miss out

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Canggu Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Living Food Lab Canggu closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7109 times.