32
International
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Middle Eastern
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Belgian-run bar and restaurant with back terrace. Offers a large selection of Belgian beers and a changing menu of world cuisine. Vegan dishes may be a wrap, falafels, tempeh sate, bruschetta with olive tapenade, sweet potatoes and lentils, or curry with tofu or tempeh. Open Mon-Sun 15:00-22:00.


Venue map for La Esterella
┬ę OpenStreetMap contributors

42 Reviews

First Review by OlivierJacques

Karah

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2023

Veganes Chili sin Carne

Sehr leckeres veganes Chili sin Carne und super freundliches Personal. Kann ich nue empfehlen!

Pros: Sympathisches Personal

Advertisement

VeganFamily23

Points +165

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

Hit the spot!

We had a great dinner here. The mint tea was delicious. The hummus and olive tapenade held us over until our meals arrived. The falafel and the vegan chili were excellent and liked by all including our 8 & 11 year olds. The lemon grass curry was also excellent. The vegan brownie was delicious! The owner is super friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend!

Juli_R

Points +187

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2022

Vegan Chili was a treat

Really good food, very friendly stuff and very good Belgian beer. Loved it.

summertj8

Points +102

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Lovely vegan food and wine

The food here is great, and a good amount of the menu is or can be made vegan! We tried the vegan chilli and the vegan falafel and both were super delicious, and the olive tapenade appetiser was amazing too­čśä

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Option for vegan wine

anutthar

Points +644

Vegan
20 Jul 2022

Hearty food, excellent service

Food was decent. Huge portions. Cook was super nice and made us food with such enthusiasm and care!

PedroBeltrao

Points +2156

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Not impressed

Had dinner at La Estrella, but I was not impressed. They do have some vegan options which is nice but I found the food kinda bland.

Tried the hummus tapenade, the falafel and the chili sin carne.. none of them were bad, don't get me wrong, but they were just "ok" and I guess I expect more from a restaurant.

The cook is super nice though and came to the room and asked people about the food.

Maybe it will be a nice place for some people, but for me it was lacking.

SanneMeijer

Points +70

Vegan
15 Apr 2022

Cozy restaurant with good vegan options

I had the vegan curry, which tasted really good.
Also the vegan brownie as desert, which was okay, a little overpriced (6,50). Very friendly staff from Belgium. The cook is very friendly and she makes sure that the guests having a good time and appreciate the food. They have also some Belgian beers on the menu! Although quite expensive.

Pros: Enough vegan options , Super friendly staff, Tasty vegan food

Cons: A bit expensive

iamichi

Points +245

Vegan
18 Nov 2021

Great dog friendly bar / restaurant

Loved this place. Super friendly staff, dogs welcome inside, only had a couple of vegan mains but they were both good. Definitely worth a visit.

Pros: Dog friendly

nickywashier

Points +130

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Gezellige bar/restaurant

Gezellige bar/restaurant met veel speciaal bier en live muziek. Vegan opties zijn duidelijk aangegeven op de kaart. O.a. falafel, chili sin carne, curry en vegan brownie. Prijzen vergelijkbaar met Nederland en Belgi├ź.

ÁureaMacia

Points +85

Vegan
27 Aug 2021

Fantástico

Opciones veganas. Todo lo que pedimos estaba riqu├şsimo. El chili sin carne y el falafel deliciosos. Gran variedad de cervezas en un ambiente acogedor y con un personal de 10.

Pros: Comida rica y buen rollo

VandekerckhoveInge

30 Aug 2021

elizajoe

Points +242

Vegan
26 Sep 2020

Good food and nice service

Really nice food, selection of different cuisines and clearly marked menu with vegan options - plenty to choose from. The staff were lovely and happy to chat, they also had a lovely rescue dog. It was a little expensive I felt though. I would recommend the thai curry with seitan - the seitan was delicious and done slightly different to how I've tried before! Went with non vegan friends and everyone enjoyed the food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: A bit expensive

happysarah

Points +70

Vegetarian
29 Aug 2020

War okay

Essen wird frisch zubereitet. Man kann den K├Âchen bei der Zubereitung zuschauen.
Habe den Falafel-Teller genommen.
War in Ordnung, aber nicht vergleichbar mit einer syrischen Falafel. W├╝rde dieses Gericht nicht noch einmal bestellen.
Mein Freund hatte Chili sin Carne, das war sehr lecker.

Fresh food, but not the traditional taste of a Falafel.. You should like coriander, they used lots of it.
Chili sin Carne was much better than the Falafel menu.

wyrd

Points +2955

Vegan
05 Aug 2020

Good, but...

I had dinner with non vegetarian friends at La Esterella and I could eat quite a good amount of vegan stuff (felafels, fries, chili sin carne...). Staff is friendly, and the atmosphere was quiet.

However... It's right besides Est├║dio Vegetariano! If you can, go there, it's my favorite restaurant in Lagos!

MaylaNebeská

Points +1482

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Nice place

Positive atmosphere, great food (big portions and lovely food styling), nice staff and wide range of beers.

Cons: Serves meat

AnoushaMariaKhan

Points +28

Vegan
03 Sep 2019

Welcoming and accommodating

We had a lovely Thai seitan curry and a falafel salad. The food was fresh and the staff ensured we were satisfied with our meal. Overall a great experience and recommend!

Pros: Fresh food, Lovely staff

Cons: Could have more options

JedidjahArentsen

Points +158

Vegan
11 Jul 2019

La esterella

Friendly staff, excellent food. Vegan options are clearly signed on the menu, but there are also very good meat options.

GM11

Points +34

Vegan
21 May 2019

Wonderful Place

Has great ambience, sensational and attentive staff and beautiful food.
The vegan Chilli con carne is tasty and full of flavour.....Highly recommended

Pros: 3 main dishes

Cons: Mid price range

MarissaWFPB

Points +30

Vegan
14 May 2019

I am writing this review as I am eating here - it's that good

Exceptional! Disappointed that I can only award 4 stars.

The fritters were absolutely amazing with a light fragrant light veganaise!

I had the falafel platter which is absolutely ridiculously tasty! And also tried the Thai curry which was one of the best curries ever eaten (yes even those had in different parts of Asia).

I am not recommending - I am URGING you to give it a try if you're around. What e GEM! Belgian beers and a fantastic chef!

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-14

Pros: Amazing food, Great range of drinks, Gourmet food

Cons: None

KevinKeightley

Points +18

Vegan
20 Sep 2018

Amazing Find

A really good selection of creative vegan food. Service was wonderful. There is a lovely ambience in this place. Falafels were delicious as was the tempeh starter. I actually ordered too much food and was stuffed. Great selection of beers too. Small patio at back. Also had a chat with the chef at the end of the evening ... she was really lovely and passionate about her job. Hotly recommended place.
I want to give five stars because service and atmosphere are impeccable as well as food ... but option not available

beckylyk

Points +102

Vegan
13 Sep 2018

Excellent food & lovely staff

A great little place with excellent vegan options. I had the vegan cappuccino, falafel and seitan curry which were all excellent. The staff were really knowledgable about the beers and I would definitely come back! Only downside was no vegan dessert.

Pros: Fair few vegan options, Great beer choices, Lovely staff

Cons: No vegan dessert

CamilaSer├│dio

Points +118

Vegan
20 Jul 2018

Nice place

This place is really nice, good staff and good food! The falafel is delicious and the tempeh is very good too.

Cons: Open late and close early

LeighMcLaughlin

Points +18

Vegan
21 Mar 2018

great food, great hosts

Greeted with a smile, closely followed by a couple of high quality cocktails. We ordered the Thai curry Vegan & the beetroot and peanut plate with some frites on the side and were really sad when it ended. Exchanged some nice stories with the owners who are lovely Flemish folk Igna & Oliver. Massive thumbs up would strongly recommend to anyone travelling to Lagos looking for good food.

Pros: Good music, lots of vegan options including desser

Cons: None.

MoniqueBrok

Points +18

Vegan
03 Nov 2017

Lovely food from lively people!

I found this restaurant through happycow and thought I would give it a try! And IÔÇÖm so happy I did! I had fries with veganaise as a starter and it was lovely! As a main dish I had the thai curry and the portion was perfect for me! It was full of fresh veggies and the taste was wonderful! Really happy that I came to this place! Extra plus: the people who own the place are really nice and friendly! Would recommand! ­čśŐ Would have given 5 stars if it was possible, but happycow doesnÔÇÖt allow it as it is not a full veggie restaurant..

Pros: Loads of fresh veggies, Great portions, Really cheap for the quality of food

Cons: Not all dishes available; outside tourist season

AndyMay

Points +48

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Amazing Food!!

I recently went on holiday to Lagos and I was worried about what vegan options there would be. I used the happycow app and managed to find a good few that catered for vegans but this was the best by miles!!

The Thai yellow curry was so good!! And the vegan chocolate brownie was to die for!!

Great service and the owners were lovely, would of given it a 5star rating but as it's not fully vegan I can't!

ParceusP

Points +224

Vegan
05 Oct 2017

Very tasty

We had the french fries and falafel. It was very nice! Unfortunately they gave us Joghurt sauce instead of Vegannaise, but that was not auch a big deal.
In summary everyone can find fitting food, so just try it.

7stepsfromhome

Points +120

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2017

Amazing Veggie Food!

I had the seitan satay and gobi masala and both were amazing! They also use fresh fruit for all their juices and smoothies. The staff here are great as well - definitely recommend!

AngieSin

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 Jul 2017

Amazing food.

The food was tasty and the portion were huge! I had sweet potatoes with lentils, beetroot and carrot in a peanut sauce and salad, it was so delicious!
The staff and the owner Oliver were very welcoming and friendly.
Highly recommend this place :)




This page has been viewed 6843 times.