Lacto
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant that can adapt many menu items to be vegan or vegetarian. On the water with view. Reported open November 2022. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for La Cabana de Raya
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by JoanReding

WhitneyWelker

Points +38

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

Exceeded Expectations!

Ordered through DoorDash and was blown away, even after reading all the rave reviews here. Not common to find a vegan friendly place on the coast, even less common is one that's actually GOOD at turning something vegan, and not just throwing something together that you're super unsure of (think "do these beans have lard in them...?")

We called in to double check the order notes to veganize the taco/burrito, and they were super helpful, kind, and made us feel really confident that they knew what vegan meant. Even threw something up on the menu for us to order!

The food is great even through delivery, the service is amazing, what more could you ask for? Try it!

Pros: Great food, Great service, Knowledgeable staff (about veganism)

Cons: None, will be coming back often!!

Advertisement

adrienneingram

Points +232

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Vegan chorizo and vegan cheese!!! Tons of options

This place offers vegan cheese and chorizo. Their menu doesn't list vegan cheese, but does state almost anything can be made vegan! Just FYI! The flavors are fantastic and so is the view. I got the French fry burrito made vegan and had it covered in enchilada sauce. It's huge I had to get the second half to go. The vegan chorizo platter was also fantastic! They also offer tacos, tortas, enchiladas, taquitos, nachos, and nacho fries.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-02

Pros: Vegan chorizo, Vegan cheese, The patio view of the water was fantastic

brandiramus

Points +142

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Delicious vegan dinner in Astoria

The menu says they can make anything vegan 😃 I ordered the Guisado Burrito with potatoes smothered in enchilada sauce…Yum! My partner had the Gorditas, also delicious.

The spot is right over the bridge, they have a nice patio on the water. Everyone is super nice. I’m so glad we tried this place!

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-18

Pros: Can make anything vegan!, Such nice people., riverside patio

Cons: Not a lot of parking

brandiramus

22 Jun 2023

This our favorite place to eat around Astoria OR.

Makol

Points +35

Vegan
11 Jun 2023

So good!

I asked the server what he recommended for vegans and whatever he brought me was delicious!

DianeH

Points +989

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Maybe next time

I really wanted to love this place. I appreciate that they’re willing to veganize their dishes…. But, the empanada came with different fillings than the server offered, and the vegan cheese tasted strange (spoiled?). If I lived in the area, I’d give it another chance though and see if something else would be tasty to me.
Friendly service and great view.

MicheleStrawnHart

Points +37

Vegan
23 Dec 2022

Hidden vegan gem

Right on the water!
Small little place that will make everything but chili rellenos vegan. And! The best part! When I said I was vegan they were genuinely thrilled to share their optiins.
Is this place a vegan place full of lots of greens, no, it is a while in the wall Mexican place. Which is sometimes harder to find them the latter.
If you're vegan do your best to head in over and support them.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-23

Pros: Lots of options. , Waitstaff know what being vegan is.

Cons: Nothing.

in2insight

Points +445

Vegan
28 Feb 2022

What a gem

First, everyone was so welcoming and nice. They know how to spoil us vegans for sure.
The vegan burrito was delicious and there was so much yummy stuffing! The soy chorizo was good. Did not have the vegan cheese, but it is available.
The mole sauce was great.
The non vegan had the special, tamales, and said they were super good.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-28

Pros: Vegan options, Big portions of great food, Friendly and knowledgeable team

Tarabell150

Points +1087

Vegan
13 Jan 2022

Vegan options and so good!

I ordered the veggie burrito and asked for vegan. I also got it smothered in a red sauce. It was very delicious!

Edit to add: we went back today and since it’s open now we can sit indoors and out and they are expanding their back patio! Food was just as delicious as last time!

Edit to add (January 22): They offer vegan cheese (Vevan) and soy chorizo now!!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-02

Pros: Great food and service!, Beautiful view and sitting area out back!, Lots of options!!

yourmoderndayhippie

Points +214

Vegan
07 Jul 2021

Would rate 5 stars if I could!

A bit of a hidden gem in Astoria. I already had high hopes for this place based on reviews but the food and service exceeded expectations. The host seated us on the patio (gorgeous view) and brought water to us, our pup, and offered to fill my water bottle.

We ordered pico & chips, a mangonada, and two wet vegan burritos with soy chorizo, covered in enchilada sauce. THE BURRITOS? YOURE KIDDING. SO. GOOD. Oh! And very reasonably priced! Seriously, I cannot wait to go back. Most items on the menu can be made vegan by request so I’ll have lot’s to look forward to trying in the future.

If you’re in the area and looking for a place to eat, please consider giving this place enough. I couldn’t recommend it more!

Pros: Affordable , Lots of delicious vegan options, Beautiful view

FlopStar

Points +218

Vegan
08 Apr 2021

No vegan cheese, but no problemo

Vegan burritos smothered in sauce, and so much flavor. I had mole, spouse had enchilada, both loved it. Also tried a Sope and was good, but the burrito was perfect. Was a good portion of food with beans, rice, veggies, and even avocado inside. Asked about vegan cheese and didn't have on a Wednesday in april 2021.

Pros: Flavor, Horchata, Burrito size

Cons: Chips were a bit meh., Guac was lacking seasoning and on the smaller side

thechadmiller

Points +153

Vegan
12 Oct 2020

Great surprise.

Super nice folks. Said they can make most things vegan. Had vegan cheese. I had a empanada plate. Rice and beans are great. Really nice view too.

HeatherSundean

Points +28

Vegan
22 Jan 2019

Menu items easily adaptable to vegan

Server knew exactly how the cook would adapt various items to make them vegan. Food plentiful and delicious. Hole-in-the-wall location right on the water with a gorgeous view.

Pros: Easily veganizable, delicious, plentiful, Not all vegan

JoanReding

Points +353

Vegan
06 Jun 2018

Nice find

I ate here with my family as vegan eats are hard to find in Astoria. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that the menu stated they could modify many items to be vegan so I asked the waitress for a recommendation and was not disappointed.

Pros: good value, friendly, nice view

Cons: no vegan entree




This page has been viewed 4776 times.