Khana Khazana

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 15 reviews )
Contact
+852-25205308
Find

1st Floor, Dannies House, 20 Luard Rd, Wan Chai, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong, China

First of the Fusion Concepts Indian restaurant chain to be advertised as vegetarian. Seats 85. English menu and spoken. Nearest MTR Wan Chai exit C. Note: Some drink ingredients may not be pro-actively verified as veg. Open Mon-Fri 12:00pm-3:00pm, 6:00pm-11:00pm, Sat-Sun 12:00pm-11:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Indian, International, Buffet, Beer/Wine, Take-out

15 Reviews

First Review by kajaljewel

Khana Khazana, Hong Kong - Edit

I first raised the concern with them about booze being manufactured with cow / pig / fish extract (to remove yeast) in Nov 2015. As recent as Feb 2017 they were still stocking brands such as Lindeman's and Penfolds. The manufacturers of these brands openly state their booze is not suitable for vegetarians. I'd rate this place as one (or even zero) for that reason if this website would let me.

As for the food, there's much better Indian vegetarian food to be had in Tsim Sha Tsui in restaurants that take vegetarianism to mean in all the products they offer.



Updated from previous review on 2017-05-29

Cons: Use of non-vegetarian products

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy food! - Edit

Lots of yummy vegetarian options to choose from. The staff was nice. The first time we visited they made mistakes with bringing some of the bread and rice we ordered, but the manager apologized and gave us a discount and a free item. We came a second time and service was perfect. Everyone loved the food. I'd definitely visit again when I come to HK in the future, and my HK friend said she will be taking her family there.

Pros: Great food, good service.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow, my favorite Indian restaurant in Asia! - Edit

Hi, how are you?

I have dinned here many times since I've become vegan and I'm impressed. Tasty non-very oily food, quality ingredients, English speaking staff, friendly and helpful owner who always cares about how you feel there and who always wants to assist you, variety, colorful dishes with many veggies, lentils dishes, naan, Aloo Gobi, etc... but the best part is that they can do almost 80% of the menu or more VEGAN! Amazing! I can't wait to go back to the tasty food... I would just love vegan deserts options since there are none... please!
Updated from previous review on Friday June 12, 2015

Pros: tasty, varied food, affordable price, they speak English

Cons: please include vegan deserts

2 Responses
Read More

Stevie 13 Jun 2015 - Hi Lori,

Thanks for this and indeed your other contributions to happycow.

Regards, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

LoriFromAbroad26 14 Jun 2015 - Thank you, Steve. Have a great day!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good Indian food, but not great - Edit

I'm a bit surprised at the glowing reviews of the "authentic" Indian food here. Perhaps it's because I've lived in India, but while the food is good, it fails to impress me (there are better options in Hong Kong, actually).
The staff is friendly and the location good, so it's still a good alternative. I'd just temper the glowing reviews, that's all, but it's of course a matter of personal taste.

Pros: Good location, Good variety

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lunch Buffet A Big Disappointment! - Edit

I was keen to try Khana Khazana for the first time because it's 100% vegetarian and well-reviewed on here, so I went there today, but unfortunately it was a disappointing experience.

First and foremost, the food is quite standard and unexciting, and the selection - though every dish is vegetarian - is limited, with only about 10 items in the line-up. Plus just one dessert and one fresh fruit item. The lunch buffet includes one soft drink, but yogurt-based drinks are excluded. The ambiance is null; it is noisy; and the service is perfunctory.

Finally, at about HKD97 per person for the lunch buffet, Khana Khazana does not represent value for money. At least now I know. [edited by staff - see tos]
Updated from previous review on Wednesday September 17, 2014

Pros: 100% Vegetarian

Cons: Boring food; poor quality & variety, Bad decor, ambiance, noisy, Sub-standard service

1 Response
Read More

Stevie 09 Apr 2015 - Hi Sfvoyage,

If I may politely be allowed to enquire re your comments, what is it that you were expecting exactly please? I've not seen any other all vego Indian restaurants in HK that offer a buffet (if anyone knows of any others, please let me know so I can zip along there and give it a try asap). When I've been to the buffet at Khana Kazana the food has been good. The price you refer to bearing in mind this is HK is pretty reasonable.

Similarly your comments re ambiance, noise and service, I'd be fascinated to know what your expectations were.

I hope my message comes over in the constructive tone intended.

Regards,
Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent Indian vegetarian - Edit

The food here is always excellent and is the best spot for Indian food in Hong Kong Island.

Particular favourites include the tandoori platter which is a sizzling plate of several items good enough for 2 to share.

The samosas are a good size and a portion consists of 3.

The daal makhani is also a very tasty dish. They serve poppadoms and a few sauces to start. The only extra thing I would like would be a sweet naan but apart from that it's perfect.

Service is fine and prices reasonable with most dishes around 60-80HKD.

Highly recommended.

Pros: Great food, Easy to get in, Good location

Cons: No sweet naan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Go For The Lunch Buffet! - Edit

Delicious all you can eat veggie lunch buffet, lots of options. South and north Indian.
Was popular with business lunches.
Not sure how vegan everything was, you would need to inquire.
Not bad value for what you could have.

Pros: A Feast, Choice

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent food, nice atmosphere,attentive service - Edit

Went there on a friday night with my family. The range of available dishes is amazing, Southern Indian dishes (which are hard to get in many Indian restaurants in Europe) are well-represented. Portions are well-sized and the food is really tasty. The marinated and tandoor-roasted paneer is outstanding. I also recommend the masala papadum and the South Indian platter. The bhel puri is a huge in size, but quite spicy. Among the desserts, I missed barfi, but they have a very tasty, cardamom-spiced firni (creamy milk rice). We paid 812 HKD for five persons, including drinks. Many Indian guests. The atmosphere is nice and quiet, the waiting staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommendable.

Pros: excellent food, attentive service, nice atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good - Edit

Very tasty Indian vegetarian. Nice service. Clean. Has a perfect sampler plate for individual diners.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent Indian vegetarian restaurant - Edit

Excellent Vegetarian Indian restaurant. The buffet luch that is available on weekdays is really recommended: various delicious dishes for a ok price: 80 HKD. Quality food, nice place.

Pros: Buffet, Food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Another great eatery for Indian food lovers - Edit

Came here on a Sunday looking to try their lunch buffet, only to find out that it's not available on weekends. So we ordered a la carte, and it did not disappoint at all. The food was wonderful, and much less greasy than many other Indian restaurants that I've eaten at. Waiting staff were attentive, the place was spotless. I wouldn't say it's cheap compared to other similar restaurants, but it was well worth every cent. Definitely recommended!

Pros: Food, Service, Cleanliness

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

Good - Edit

I love Indian food, and I was not disappointed with Khana Khazana. Although you can get vegetarian dishes at most South Asian restaurants in Hong Kong, there is something reassuring about the idea that there at Khan Khazana is no meat surreptitiously making its way into your supposedly vegetarian Chana Masala or what not. I encourage lacto-ovo vegetarians to try some of the other not-exclusively vegetarian South Asian places in HK as well (some of which are better value than Khana Khazana), but do give Khana Khazana a try.

Pros: good food, location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Favourite Indian Restaurant - Edit

Love this place! Owner and waiters are always happy to make dishes vegan upon request. Mushroom mutter and dahl are my favourites.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

It is the best "Indian" now in Hong Kong - Edit

Yes - I fully agree with the previous Reviewer.

I really enjoy my meals in Khana Khazana now.

The restaurant looks to be doing good business.

On my last visit it was busy with Indian family groups & business people dining.

The lunch-time buffet was very good with several vegan dishes & 2 simple salads.

Freshly cooked Indian breads are brought to your table.

The table waiting team are knowledgeable about the food & are very helpful.

Good value for the area - remember that Wan Chai is a high-rent district.

I wish them continued success!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Place for Veg food in Hong Kong - Edit

very good & tasty food, after change of ownership the concept of food & higine is also changed.. ours is first preference or you can say whenever we are in Hong Kong in evening it is the place we will be there without fail for all the days

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff, good value

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hong Kong Island Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Khana Khazana closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4722 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support