• Iron Paffles & Coffee

  • (15)
    31
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Organic
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Puff pastry waffles place able to cater for vegans or those with allergies. Sweet and savory. Vegans have 3 waffles choices or build your own. Open Wed-Sun 7:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Iron Paffles & Coffee
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by fisxoj

jbenter

Points +44

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

Yummy puff pastry sandwich

Small cozy cafe specializing in puff pastry waffle sandwiches. You can go totally vegan here as they have dairy free waffles that I may add taste like puff pastry. I had a sandwich with tofu egg scramble, avocado, tomato, spring mix, vegan mayo. It was delicious. It was a bit salty for my taste though that didn’t stop me 😊 and the coffee is good.

Pros: Good coffee , Unusual sandwich , Takeout as well as sit down inside.

Cons: Over salting

Advertisement

HungryVeganinDC

Points +70

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

Sweet and savory options

If you’ve never had a paffle you’re in for a treat! They always offer both sweet and savory vegan paffle sandwiches.

DrTobysMom

Points +55

Vegan
02 Jan 2023

Some good, some bac

My husband got a vegan breakfast sandwich which was delicious, I got a Nashville hot fried tofu sandwich which was decent, but I think the sweet and breakfast options are probably the best things here. We also got an iced chai latte with an espresso shot that was truly terrible, I’m not sure what happened there—the soymilk was curdled at the bottom and the drink just tasted awful and acidic. We went on New Year’s Day so they could have been rushing and used expired milk or something, but we got it all to go so by the time we noticed it was too late to fix. Will definitely stop here again for breakfast, but I’ll be wary of the coffee next time.

Pros: lots of vegan options, Delicious breakfast options with protein , Cute and convenient store/location

Cons: Bad coffee , Messy to eat

hrn126

Points +430

Vegan
28 Mar 2022

incredible

literally the best food i have ever eaten. so many sweet and savory options, including vegan mac!!! also the almond whip is a must try

DougK

Points +652

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Really delicious waffle sandwiches

Savory and sweet options. Fried tofu one and the banana dessert one were both super tasty. Ask for extra napkins because they are a bit messy. Texture on the waffles was amazing.

Pros: Many vegan options , Lunch and dessert!, Friendly staff

Cons: A little messy to eat

TyNapierskie

Points +34

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Delicious waffle sandwiches and coffee

The coffee has many non-dairy options including oat milk!!! Vegan whipped cream 💖💗 I got a build your own waffle with spring mix, tofu, tempeh, vegan mac, vegan cheese. SO GOOD!!! Staff is super nice and welcoming. If you're vegan this is a great stop.

MelodyVeganJoy

Points +7332

Vegan
04 Jun 2021

What a fun concept!

I love the spicy chick'n waffle. Highly recommend. Will come back here the next time I'm in town.

Mma13

Points +992

Vegan
06 Mar 2021

Messy but yummy

Iron paffles is delicious and I love that basically everything on the menu can be veganized. I ordered the “fried chicken” with tofu, vegan Mac, veg sriracha Mayo and greens. So good but it definitely made a HUGE mess- the pastry falls apart quickly so I wouldn’t eat it in the car ;). I was especially impressed with the vegan Mac n cheese. Will definitely be going back to try a sweet option!

Pros: Extensive vegan options, Incredible vegan Mac n cheese!

Cons: Very messy to eat, Pricey

ScottyBellatti

Points +86

Vegan
08 Feb 2021

5 stars!

So many vegan options and a rotating weekly vegan special!

Pros: So affordable!, Sweet and savory options , Great small snacks too!

ylct

Points +391

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

Tasty little to-go meals

Stopped in on a road trip. They have tons of options, so there is something for everyone. I got the hot chicken (subbed tofu), the pb&j, and the weekly special which was a brat sandwich. I split them with my partner and were all great. The paffles themselves are crispy and flaky, almost like a croissant, which was a pleasant surprise. The sandwiches weren't overly bready, which I was afraid of. My omni friends loved their paffles as well.

Packaging is mostly plastic free, which I love. If you need cutlery, there are wooden ones at the front window. There is a bench in front where you can wait for your food and/or eat it.

Make sure you specify you want a vegan waffle!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly service , Eco-friendly packaging

Cons: No indoor seating during covid

Veggiebeanjen

Points +63

Vegan
03 Sep 2019

Nice vegan weekly specials

Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Two permanent vegan options on the savory menu, but also a weekly special that have been very good.

Pros: Fast, Helpful staff, Vegan friendly weekly specials

Cons: Paid parking 1st hour free at water street (pro)

GabyProctor

Points +156

Vegan
16 Feb 2019

Amazing tofu scramble waffle

The tofu scramble waffle is absolutely amazing - definitely recommend. I also got a chocolate and peanut butter brittle marked vegan. Cute place!

Pros: Friendly staff, Vegan options clearly marked , Tasty food

Cons: Lots of paper / plastic waste

Jessica_Marie

Points +269

Vegan
31 Oct 2018

Carb-loaded and decadent

There are two vegan Savory options. I thought that the tofu one had a kind of bland taste. The Falafel one was better, in my opinion they were kind of hard to eat because they were very stuffed with filling! The waffle itself is quite good. There is a lot of food in just one order! We did also order the one sweet option for vegans, and it was hands down delicious. it was a spin on a peanut butter and jelly, but it use almond butter blended in with coconut milk, and they had made a homemade spread with acai berries.

Pros: great for a fun treat

Cons: heavy, savory options for vegans so-so

SableStrout

Points +1258

Vegan
11 Jun 2018

Delicious, affordable, quick

This is more of a counter top serving situation. The staff was so friendly and the vibe is very hip. The vegan options are clearly marked HOWEVER you have to make sure to specifically ask for a vegan waffle even for the menu options labeled vegan. They will put the vegan fillings in a normal waffle. The food was SOOOO good... coffee was great. I will probably come back to try the sweet vegan waffle but today I opted for the savory! I would just hope that eventually they will realize how much waste they’re creating by only providing plastic cutlery, paper plates, paper coffee cups, and serving every waffle in a paper sleeve.

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly staff, Vegan options marked

Cons: Have to ask for vegan waffle even when labeled, A lot of waste happening, needs mugs and plates

fisxoj

Points +62

Vegan
13 Apr 2018

What a pleasant surprise!

Usually, vegan breakfast is hard to find, so I was happy to find that Iron serves both vegan waffles and a tasty tofu scramble inside!

It seemed like a bunch of the sweet fruit waffles weren't available vegan, maybe because of being a buttery compote, but they have a few sweet ones and scramble and tofu savory options.




This page has been viewed 4614 times.