Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
Thousand of listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

Infinity Foods Kitchen

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 47 reviews )
Contact
+44-1273670743
Find

50 Gardner St, Brighton, England, BN1 1UN

Vegetarian cafe turned vegan in Jan 2018, this is a workers cooperative that's part of the Infinity Foods Cooperative Ltd. Serves breakfast, hot lunches, freshly pressed juice to-order, smoothies, drinks with variety of plant milk choices. Sample foods include Indian thali, mezze platter, salad bowl, bbq pulled pork jackfruit sandwich, gluten-free focaccia bread, sweets and cakes. Makes most things from scratch, from mayonnaise to bread. Open Mon-Sat 9:00am-5:00pm, Sun 10:00am-4:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Take-out, Bakery, British, Catering, Fusion

47 Reviews

First Review by Foxtrot

Vegsanne78

Contributions +34

Vegan
30 Jul 2018

Great vegan food - Edit

Loved the jackfruit sandwich

Pros: Great food, Lots of options, Central

Cons: Reasonable prizes

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tim van der Holst

Contributions +166

Vegan
30 Jul 2018

Good vegan place - Edit

All nice food and people. Not outstanding, just good for its price.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DANYRM

Contributions +70

Vegan
23 Jul 2018

it's a nice place - Edit

The staff is really kind and helpful and the place looks cool tbh. It's a bit expensive for what you are getting but I would definitely come back.

Pros: No plastics, 10% discount if you bring your cup

Cons: Bit expensive

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan james

Contributions +243

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

Vegan Food - Edit

All vegan now, so safe to eat here now, but not at the shop as they are still suporting animal abuse, big shame on them.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-16

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

uschiverena

Contributions +286

Vegan
17 May 2018

Nice lunch - Edit

Had a good curry and a kinda bland dal (which needed salt but couldn't find any) with brown rice and some slaw for 7.50 £. Healthy and it made me happy for a few hours.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veronikapaz

Contributions +151

Vegan
07 Feb 2018

Affordable and absolutely delicious veg food! - Edit

Infinity Foods Kitchen (along with the Infinity Foods store) is a total must in Brighton, if you're a fan of tasty vegetarian/vegan "plates of everything". For a very reasonable price of 5.50 pounds, you get either a side with chilli/curry/dhal..., or a massive salad plate with various different flavours (smaller is 4 pounds). All really delicious - my meat-eating partner loved the food too. When I next visit Brighton, I'll make sure to visit Infinity Foods again.

Pros: price for the large portion, good service, nice location

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Claremveg

Contributions +482

Vegan
03 Jan 2018

great little place - Edit

Cafe based a few doors down from the food store. All vegan for January 2018 and if successful will remain so. Please support :)

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Eunice

Contributions +53

Vegan
02 Nov 2017

Tasty food and friendly staff - Edit

We had a reasonably priced lunch with tasty food, which was all vegan and freshly prepared. There was a choice of jacket potatoes with various fillings, so I opted for one with vegan chilli, while my friend had some homemade soup, which came with bread. We both had salad too.
The staff were very friendly.
The cafe is small, but a perfect place to visit if you are out shopping and want a quick, healthy meal.

Pros: The menu had a enough options to please everyone. , The food we ate was really nice, with lots of flav

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AlvinCoxall

Contributions +123

Vegan
10 Oct 2017

Nice :) - Edit

Infinity foods kitchen is lovely.
Went there with some friends who got a curry which was really tasty.

The coffee's are great and so are the cakes!

Pros: Vegan cakes, Decent prices, Located in the lanes

Cons: Serves dairy, Not open late

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

jojo86766

Contributions +49

Vegetarian
30 Sep 2017

Perfect little cafe - Edit

An excellent little cafe to meet with friends, have lunch or a snack, or just chill. The brilliant Infinity food shop is just round the corner too, so ideal to drop in here before or after your shopping trip. Staff are friendly, food is delish and a great price, what more could anyone ask?

Pros: Handy for centre, Delicious food and drinks, good service and prices

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AndyTN34

Contributions +54

Vegan
04 Jul 2017

Fantastic food, great value - Edit

We were in Brighton for our dog's ct scan, popped into Vegetarian Shoe shop at long last and it was a toss-up between Infinity Foods Kitchen and Iydea for lunch. As Infinity serves all organic food and is a workers co-operative, we decided to go here and were very glad we did.

All the dishes were vegan on the day we went and I had the chilli and dahl with wholemeal rice and coleslaw and my partner had the same with the addition of courgette fritters. All of these dishes were really tasty and great value. We had a selection of cakes for desert, all of which were amazing. A pot of Earl Grey tea was great, but the real star of the day was the golden turmeric latte (plant based milk), which has to be the best hot drink I've ever tasted.
Tasty and healthy food, organic, a workers co-operative run on ethical grounds, vegan (mostly) and great value: what's not to like?

Pros: Great food and drinks, great value, Organic, environmentally and ethically aware, Workers co-operative

Cons: Not wholly vegan

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

burgerabroad

Contributions +423

Vegan
17 Jun 2017

Fast, friendly and yummy - Edit

Recently stopped in and got an amazing vegan mac and cheese with some tasty sides. Fast friendly service and good price for a gigantic amount of food! Two thumbs up!

Pros: tasty food, friendly service , good prices

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Frogalina

Contributions +415

Vegan
13 Jun 2017

lots of vegan options - Edit

A good variety of options, seating outside and possibly upstairs too.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

niallmc

Contributions +120

Vegan
11 Jun 2017

Lovely Spot - Edit

Amazing workers co-op for a shop with a huge selection of wholefoods and cakes and snacks for veggies and vegans.

The cafe around the corner is a bright clean environment stocking many of those snacks and great breakfast offering. Scrambled tofu, beans and mushrooms were my choice with toast.

Had to pay extra for coffee with my breakfast special which was surprising but food was excellent. Lovely vegan cakes on offer

Pros: Good breakfast options, Nice cakes, Very clean

Cons: Little pricey

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Arnold&Valerie

Contributions +88

Vegan
07 May 2017

A Restaurant Without Food - Edit

We tried to eat here on Saturday afternoon at 2.30, and tried to order the All Day Breakfast, with no success -- they had run out. I think they don't quite understand the "All Day" concept. We saw that two other dishes had Sold Out too, and that there were only some pathetic little bits of salad left in the corners of the trays. It was as if John Cleese was behind the counter: "You want food? Oh, I'm sorry, some people came in earlier and ate everything. Quite rude of them, really, but there you are!

Pros: None, really. What would you think?

Cons: Everything.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lottie

Contributions +22

Vegan
05 Feb 2017

A good pitstop - Edit

Saturdays in Brighton are BUSY which means many of the small cafes fill up fast. We'd hoped to try nearby Idyea but it was full so we wandered down the road until we found Infinity Foods Kitchen.

Here, we ordered a thali each (£9) and took it up to the busy seating area upstairs (there are also a couple of stools downstairs and some outdoor seating available). The food was good - big portions, variety of textures, subtly spiced flavours, a poppadom on top. Plus the crunchy slaw, two dressings and sticky spiced nuts added texture to the lentil dhal and cauliflower curry.

If you're looking for an authentic Indian thali you might want to go elsewhere but as a quick, tasty and filling lunch in nice surroundings with friendly people you can't go wrong here.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

super8J

Contributions +132

Vegan
30 Dec 2016

A tad disappointing - Edit

Visited in December 2016, each having the full vegan 'all day breakfast'. The cafe itself is rather stark, with bare board walls upstairs and no attempt at comfort in seating. Cannot vouch for other food on this visit, but the breakfast was not brilliant, overly reliant on a pile of devilled tofu accompanied by a 'sausage' which seemed to be made from the same stuff. The coffee was very bitter (I always drink black, so know a nice coffee!). View over the street from our bench upstairs sort of made up for lack of atmosphere in the cafe itself.

Pros: Reliable food options, Good location, Reasonably priced

Cons: A bit bare for my liking, Food could be a bit better thought out, Noisy from other diners upstairs

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

marcbr

Contributions +159

Vegan
07 Dec 2016

Outstanding food - Edit

Great freshly prepared food with very original offer that changes over the days. The lunch deal (one main with 2 sides) for 8,50£ is definitely worth it.

There are also sandwiches to take away.

Very centric, lovely food and great staff.

Pros: Great variety, Homemade food, Lunch deal

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

viclazyvegan

Contributions +56

Vegan
11 Nov 2016

Normal food, delicious cakes - Edit

Today I tried Infinity Foods Kitchen for the first time. The raw avocado and coconut cake was delicious!

I also tried one stew so I can't say, that all of them would be the same, but this one wasn't something exciting to come back for, just simple stew as I would eat at home, only more expensive :D

As there are lots of great reviews I think I will come back to try something else.

Updated from previous review on 2016-11-08

Pros: Delicious cakes

Cons: A bit pricy for simple food

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

sallynews

Contributions +28

Vegan
31 Aug 2015

Great vegan scones - Edit

Ate here today, nice little place with outside seating to watch the world go by down the Lanes. We ate vegan scones with jam & a pot of tea. Very reasonably priced. Lots of tasty food to choose from. Would definitely go back.

Pros: Cakes

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good for Vegans

Contributions +436

Vegan
28 Aug 2015

Great lunch options - Edit

Nice to have a choice of vegan sandwiches as well as salads and jacket potatoes. Cake options too. Great for lunch.

Pros: Vegan sandwiches, Vegan Cake, Friendly staff

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Zora2015

Contributions +15

Mostly Vegetarian
18 Aug 2015

great food! - Edit

Had a hugh mezze plate, really good food, best quality, nice prize.
The bistro is small, but has a good view on the crowdy old town lane.

Pros: fresh, vegan, tasty

Cons: small

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

rosie

Contributions +383

Vegan
04 Jun 2015

Bit disappointed since the refurb - Edit

They had a refurb last year, I used to love this place. There seems to be less seats and the menu is harder to work out. I had spinach and mushroom on toast last time. It was a bit bland and the toast very soogy. I've had it before and really liked it.

Pros: Good range of vegan options , Friendly staff

Cons: Menu isn't that clear , But bland sometimes

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Captain Mainwearing

Contributions +48

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2014

My number one in Brighton - Edit

This is my favourite eatery in Brighton. With its superb, tasty, mouth-watering vegetarian food and excellent service!

What else could one want?

Pros: Food is perfect, Great atmosphere, Value

Cons: None

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no8odle

Contributions +58

Vegan
18 Jul 2014

Best carrot cake ever! - Edit

My favorite vegan carrot cake! i can't say anything less than Thank You to whoever makes it! :)

Pros: great vegan options, friendly staff

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

imogenmichel

Contributions +1182

Vegan
05 Jun 2014

Lovely vegan breakfast/brunch - Edit

I came here with a local friend on her recommendation for vegan breakfast/brunch and loved it. I had some really tasty scrambled tofu and portobello mushroom with roasted polenta slices, but was intrigued by the delicious full vegan breakfast my friend had. I also thoroughly enjoyed their peanut butter and pistachio vegan cheesecake! I would definitely go here again.

Pros: Amazing vegan breakfasts, Tasty coffee, Nice space and atmosphere

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

JesseWaugh

Contributions +347

Fruitarian
31 Jan 2014

Only Cake - Edit

Great place but the only desserts they have are cake. Cake is bread. I don't want bread for dessert. I want custards, puddings, pies - anything that is not cake. The bakewell tart is cake with too much icing on top.

Pros: nice place

Cons: only cake

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Brighton Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Infinity Foods Kitchen closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7637 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support