Hiltl - Sihlpost

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 30 reviews )

Find

Europaallee 1A, Zurich, Switzerland, 8004

A branch of Hiltl vegetarian restaurant, this one is in the old building of the main Zurich post office next to the main train station. Offers a vegetarian buffet in addition to fresh fruit juices, ice tea, lemonade, coffee, tea, and cocktails. Open Mon-Thu 6:00am-11:00pm, Fri-Sat 6:00am-12:00am, Sun 8:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, International, Buffet, Salad bar, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, European

30 Reviews

First Review by DonPedro

MarcelR

Points +22

Vegan
02 Nov 2021

Great vegan options

Hiltl is always a safe bet for a hungry vegan. The buffet is rather large so we always find something here that we like.

Pros: Large selection of vegan options, Buffet - take only what you want to eat, Different cuisines - Indian, Thai ..

Cons: Feels pricey, Often crowded

Elnaaa

Points +20

Vegan
02 Nov 2021

Veggie Paradise

Hier kommen Vegetarier & Veganer voll auf ihr Kosten!
Unten kann man sich am Buffet bedienen & es wird nach 100g bezahlt, oben ist a la Carte in schick Ambiente.

Pros: Alles vegetarisch , Schickes Ambiente

arianna.terzago

Points +281

Vegan
18 Oct 2021

Perfect

A lot of delicious vegan options!

Advertisement

LoloPalomo

Points +970

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Delicious

So many vegan options on the buffet! I go there regularly and totally recommend it!

babidi

Points +302

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Mostly good

I had a huge variety of different dishes from the buffet on my plate. Some were delicous. Some others were just average.

davidtay

Points +302

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Awesome spread

One of the best vegetarian restaurants in Zurich 😋
There were so many choices and one visit is not enough to try everything.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Lots of varieties for every taste , Wide spread of dishes

Cons: A bit costly , Meals by weight

OskarKappland

Points +603

Vegan
24 Jun 2021

Very good but could be even better

Hiltl is an obvious place to go while in Zürich and you definitely should. However, I would love to see them make even more dishes vegan and perhaps focus a bit more on quality over quantity with the number of dishes on the buffet.

NonstopDan

Points +1198

Vegan
24 Jun 2021

Small selection

This Hiltl has a smaller selection than other ones, at least when I went there. The location is convenient though. 4.5CHF per 100g of food, so expect to pay at least 25CHF for a meal.

vibez

Points +581

Vegan
06 Oct 2020

What a heaven

Was there four or five times. So many options to try, most of them really good, not everything super special but still good. Like the concept but it’s very expensive.

mchu5pwp

Points +407

Vegan
16 Aug 2020

Vegan Lunch

Buffet weigh and pay with lots of vegan and vegetarian options. Good selection of hot and cold mains in sides and desserts. Close to the station with outside seating. No reservations

Pros: Lots of vegan options clearly marked.

sophielod

Points +54

Vegan
08 Aug 2020

Very good food

There’s plenty of vegan options but a lot of it is vegetarian. Food is by weight so when you simply want to add veggies you’ll pay the same price as adding curry with rice or lasagna. The creamy vegan curry was very tasty and so were the falafels but the hummus and guac tasted store bought especially the guac which did not taste like guac. But besides that everything else was very flavorful and it’s recommendable.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , Friendly staff , Good location

Cons: Pricey by weight

CaluCalu

Points +2496

Vegan
04 Jun 2020

Easily accessible and lots of choices

It's located right next to the main train station. Great food, lots of variety! Everything is very delicious. Free: one slice of bread and tapwater. The place used to be a post office and you can still see some remnants from that era which is great. The only downside is that it's usually packed and super loud.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Free tapwater

Cons: Usually packed and loud

pascale76

Points +29

Mostly Veg
12 Mar 2020

Grundsätzlich lecker aber leider oft zu kalt

War schon öfters dort essen, leider kommt es immer ein wenig drauf an wann frisch nachgelegt wurde...dementsprechend oft zu kalt und dem Preis nicht ganz angemessen

Pros: Schnell, Sehr gute Säfte

Cons: Manchmal zu kaltes Essen

valtterim

Points +28

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

Lots of vegan options

This place has many healthy and tasty options on the buffet. Note that everything is not vegan. Staff was friendly and helped as find a free table. Place is clean and looks nice, but there is not much between tables and you might feel jammed. Anyway I recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Pros: Lots of options, healthy, tasty, fresh, , cold and warm options

Cons: You need to check if the food is vegan or not.

_lisanimals_

Points +52

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Loved It

I went with another vegan friend of mine after the Animal Rights March (2019). There were so many vegan options and it was a very open, comforting atmosphere.

Pros: Food was delicious., The staff was generally friendly. , Many vegan options

Cons: One of the staffs was not so friendly.

Vegancucc

Points +544

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Nice but expensive food, not so nice staff

Quite a few nice vegan food options, mostly curries. Very few vegan desserts but the mango is ripe. Very expensive though. They charge you for the weight of take-away box as weight of food. Even if you bring your own. The person at the counter was difficult plus charged me for bread. A little thing but it was not a nice experience. (Management was nice though).

Pros: Close to the station

Cons: Expensive, Difficult staff (many of them are nice though)

Shingylein

Points +33

Herbivore
09 Mar 2019

Riesenauswahl, gute Ersatzmenus

Riesiges Buffet (Hauptmahlzeit und Desserts) mit sehr vielen veganen Optionen. Auch viele „Ersatzmenus“ für Bekanntes wie „Züri-Gschnetzlets“, sogar teilw. in veganer Variante. Immer wieder top. Leider am Mittag extrem voll, man miss auf Plätze warten und braucht Geduld am Buffet.

Pros: Gute Qualität, sehr lecker, Riesige Auswahl, Schönes Lokal

Cons: Sehr teuer, Oft sehr voll

RhiannonB

Points +39

Vegetarian
27 Feb 2019

Got takeout here

Had takeout from here - you just get a container and fill it up with food from the buffet and they weigh it and charge accordingly at the till. No problem getting my food quickly. And again delicious buffet food with marked ingredients.

Pros: Plenty for vegans , Ingredients are marked

Cons: Expensive but it is Zürich

kezburke

Points +143

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Great choice

Lots of vegan options, almost too much choice. It’s a place that even non veggie/vegan friends like too. Cost is on the pricey side but it’s yummy!

die_lala

Points +116

Vegan
07 Sep 2018

Coole Location

Das Hiltl Sihlpost hat eine besondere Ausstrahlung. Die Inneneinrichtung ist außergewöhnlich und hat Flair. Das Buffet bietet eine riesen Auswahl (beinahe etwas zu viel) und die Abfertigung an der Kasse geht schnell.

LolaNachtigall

Points +773

Vegan
08 Dec 2017

Nothing if you are in a rush for a train

Vegetarian restaurants that serves a lot of vegan options, has a coffee bar and offers everything to go, bit even though they are right next to the train station you need to bring time, even a coffee to go can take up to 10minutes

Pros: Tasty Food

Cons: Expensive, slow staff

elcamino

Points +26

Vegetarian
03 Nov 2017

Delicious

Sometimes a little bit crowded during lunchtime. If you have the choice avoid 12-1

Buffet, you pay what you put on the scale. Be careful not to put too much on it, it‘s expensive but delicious. Highly recommended!

Magdalene

Points +83

Vegan
17 Sep 2017

Expensive but really nice

It's Zürich, it's expensive... But the buffet is really big, with lots of vegan options (clearly indicated). Also, it's right next to the railway station.

Pros: big variety, also for vegans

Cons: expensive

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

07 Aug 2017

one of my favourites in Zürich!

With Hiltl being the first vegetarian restaurant worldwide it definitely deserves being so famous and popular.
The first thing I noticed is that with all the hiltl restaurants the location and interior is always spot on, especially this one: Hiltl Sihlpost is in an old post office which is incorporated in the interior design brilliantly. Charge your phone in letter boxes and pay for your food where people used to pay for sending letters or parcels all around the world. A very nice place to eat, inside is my favourite because I love the industrial style it's kept in but outside is just as nice, especially on a sunny summer day.
The food of course is excellent. I highly recommend the "Sellerie Schnitzel" and "Gehacktes mit Hörnli". For those who like it a little more spicy I suggest you try the Samosas. My personal favourite, of course, is dessert: The Soya Chocolate Mousse is perfect for vegan chocolate-lovers like myself and the Zuccini-Chocolate Cake is something every cake-person should try (don't worry, it doesn't acutally taste like zuccini).
Another notable thing is that still water is offered for free, The only thing I do not like all that much is that the cups for the free water are plastic. It would be better if there would be reusable cups offered for eating in and plastic ones for take-away.
Anyway, an amazing place to eat that vegs and also non vegs (!) in Zürich must try.

Pros: Clearly labelled vegan food, allergies, etc., Option to dine in or take away, Very quick self service

Cons: plastic cups for free water

lasabrina

Points +38

Vegan
17 Jul 2017

huge buffet, huge selection, beautiful interior design

I love eating at hiltl sihlpost because you don't have to order from a menuecard but you can choose by eye and put on your plate what ever looks good to you.
they don't only serve special salads, maindishes and desserts but also very unique drinks.
What makes this restaurant even more special is it's interior design. The restaurant used to be a post office and they intigrated the atmosphere and the look of it perfectly.
I'll be back :)

leanni

Points +634

Vegan
10 Jul 2017

Big buffet

Lots of diffrent vegan food. Go befor or after lunch-/dinnertime. Otherwise tooo many people!!

Pros: Large selection, Take away possible

Cons: Crowded

AgiVegan

Points +48

Vegan
20 Jan 2017

love this place!

???
I'd definite recommend eating from the buffet there. You won't be disappointed!
Going their on a regular basis

Pros: vegan dream , lots of Desserts , so many choices

Cons: none- well maybe it's a little bit pricey but

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Zurich Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Hiltl - Sihlpost closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3096 times.