• Ground Kontrol

  • (18)
    84
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
American
Pizza
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. 1980s-themed bar and lounge with vintage video games and pinball machines in a 2-story arcade. Offers vegan options for nachos, sandwiches, appetizers, sundaes and floats, wraps. Has cashew cheese, vegan cream cheese, and veggie bacon. Bar opens at 5pm. Only over 21+ admitted after 4:30pm, under 21 years welcomed till 4:50pm. No phone orders. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-12:00am.


Venue map for Ground Kontrol
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by saprock

lucuma

Points +896

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Fun place; great tacos

The tacos and nachos can both be made vegan with a choice of 2 proteins. We ordered tacos with ‘pulled oats’ (which seemed like ground vegan meat). The flavor was great and they even had vegan sour cream. Serves alcohol.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-23

Pros: Vegan options , Awesome tacos

Advertisement

NirvanaRoseWilliams

Points +4386

Vegan
09 Oct 2022

Great barcade

Decent vegan options. Great selection of games and drinks

Pros: Good vegan options

VeganFlojo

Points +110

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Classic Portland

Loved this place more Before they expanded it and updated it. And food isn’t as good either. But I appreciate the fact that they have a vegan menu, good beer selection, and great arcade.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-23

badgirlsvegan

Points +2016

Vegan
04 Feb 2022

Love it!

So many classic games in this barcade and many things can be made vegan (clearly noted on the menu). Food was really good too, considering that this is a bar!

pretty_bb_zia

04 Feb 2022

ElectricAntelope

Points +456

Vegan
16 Jan 2022

Great atmosphere, meh food

Went to Ground Kontrol last night and had a blast. 2 floors of arcade games, much of which I had never even heard of, including probably 40 pinball machines, Dance Dance Revolution, and Crazy Taxi.

Everything on the menu (except the grilled cheese) is available plant based and animal based. Unfortunately it's not that good lol but you're going for the games rather than the food. Think bowling alley style food, gets the job done but you're not ordering it as takeout. My table had the nachos, BLT, and Chicago hotdog and no one was impressed.

Overall had a great time, games and food were inexpensive and ended up spending most of the night there. Highly recommended, just don't expect Portland caliber food in an arcade. #Veganuary

Pros: Really fun arcade games, Inexpensive , Everything is available vegan

Cons: Not the best food

yogaaddict.me

Points +111

Vegan
14 Nov 2021

So fun!!

Such a fun place! The address is wrong on the app, but it’s right around the corner from the old place. Really friendly staff and almost everything can be made vegan. I haven’t had a hotdog in YEARS and they killed it! Soooo good!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced

Cons: None

KatHarb

Points +109

Vegetarian
05 May 2020

Great sandwiches!

The only reason I came here was because my husband wanted to play the video games. I had the BLT sandwich and made it vegan and gf. It was delicious! Not very many places to sit though.

SmittenGinger

Points +45

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Tons of options

I really enjoyed my time here. Pretty much everything on the menu can be made vegan. I had a vegan chili cheese dog and while it was simple, it was very tasty. My husband enjoyed the vegan nachos as well. Not tremendous quality, but solid options to eat between games.

Pros: Choices

PiaAfHällström

Points +92

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Super fun

We got lost in time while playing the games. Noisy and fun place!

Pros: Variety of vegan snacks, Cheep beer, Friendly service

Cons: It’s quite noisy but we liked it

ChickenFeathers

Points +120

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Their vegan BLT and corn dogs were at 100% deliciousness

We’re pretty sure they accidentally made my friend’s root beer float out of non-vegan ice cream though. However that may have been because they misunderstood that she wanted her entire order veganized. My float’s ice cream tasted of coconut milk, her’s didn’t. Otherwise? It was delicious. BLT came with a bag of chips, and we played a load of pinball.

Pros: Almost everything in the menu can be veganized, They have like 10 pinball machines + other games, It was delicious and fun

Cons: May have messed up with non-vegan ice cream

dannyowen

Points +220

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

Food, drinks, video games

Ground Control is a lot of fun. Eat some vegan food, sip some drinks...have fun!

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
14 Feb 2019

Say No More, I’m Hooked

Ms Pac Man. Vegan food. Beer. What more does a girl need?

NaomiJi

Points +231

Vegan
23 Dec 2018

Game and Vegan Grub

Went there to play some games with some friend and got the best vegan chili dog ever. Love that almost anything on their menu can be veganized and so tasty.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Cool game/atmosphere , Yummy drinks

Cons: Needs more vegan goodies.

str

Points +161

Vegan
25 Feb 2018

amazing nachos

The killer nachos were, in fact, killer. Lots of "late-night" options that can be made vegan.

Pros: variety, fun venue

foon

Points +554

Vegan
25 Feb 2018

retro fun and modern nachos

The games rock and obviously that's the reason to come, but stay for the vegan nachos and decent tap list. Excited to return and try the sundae!

YasamanIranfar

Points +47

Vegan
07 Jan 2018

VEGAN CORNDOGS!

two words, VEGAN CORNDOGS! They're like six bucks a piece, but how often do you get to eat vegan corndogs?

Pros: fun atmosphere

Cons: pricey

giant bunnie

Points +480

Vegan
28 Sep 2017

so much fun!!!!

Had so much fun playing games and drinking that I forgot they had vegan food. So yea. Not sure about the food. But the games and beer are great !!!! 10/10 would recommend.

saprock

Points +49

Vegan
03 May 2017

Lots of retro fun!

This place is GREAT! It has a bunch of older games & pinball games. But they also have great food, good beer & even trivia!!

Pros: 21+ only




This page has been viewed 5996 times.