Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Organic
Raw
Juice bar
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Health food cafe est. 2015. Menu is mostly veg with many vegan choices, including: tofu scramble, veggie wrap, raw pancakes, avocado sandwich, lentil salad, kale salad, squash noodle with nut cheese, burrito with nut meat plus beverages like cold pressed juice, elixirs and smoothies. The interior of the building and the furniture are composed of reclaimed and recycled materials. A purification system filters the water used for drink and food preparation. Open Mon-Sat 9:00am-7:00pm, Sun 9:00am-5:00pm. Sometimes closes randomly, call ahead.


Venue map for Green Zebra Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

51 Reviews

First Review by jillhiggins

Tooz

Points +42

Mostly Veg
10 Sep 2023

Tasty!!!

Mushroom Gorgonzola Wrap and Sweet Potato Toast were amazing this morning!
Get you some!!

Advertisement

JasonTroop

Points +92

Vegan
12 Aug 2023

Delicious

Kind and friendly staff— very knowledgeable and helpful
The salads are amazing, and for the first time in a long time, I had Vegan French Toast, a comfort food I haven’t had in a while. So good!

Pros: Food and variety , Good to bring omnivores along, Ambiance and staff

MamaK

Points +18

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Yum!

Easy to find and tasty vegan items on the menu

JessicaAuld

Points +335

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Good food

I loved that there was another vegan who started working there and understood what vegan was. The first person who helped me became a little confused about what vegan and gluten free was. The lady asked to look at the wrap ingredients and was able to let me know everything was vegan. The very veggie wrap was awesome and the ambience was okay. Not too busy and quick service. I would say that the staff may need additional training in food allergies! Thank god the vegan lady was on duty to ensure that my food wouldn’t have any eggs or dairy!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-04

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Quick service , Good location

KaylaisVegan

Points +79

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Brunch by the beach!

Amazing vegan options for a quick, healthy bites! Highly recommend the summer breeze juice too!

Pros: Great vegan options , Clean , Quick bites

vegangrandmas

Points +92

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Nice place with vegan options clearly marked

Nice options. Most were raw options.

Mari4

Points +898

Vegan
23 Nov 2022

Exceptional - visited a few years ago

We visited a few times a few years ago before I had joined this app. Excellent food and a cute place.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-23

Vegan_

Points +141

Vegan
20 Jun 2022

Owners don't care if marked vegan items are not vegan.

It has been a few years since I was here, but I think of it every time I see the place. I ordered a sandwich marked vegan & available GF on there menu online and on both there chalk board and paper menu in the store. I even asked if I got the Gluten Free bread if it was still vegan & they said yes. I ate the tiny sandwich which tasted horrible and like it had rancid oil because I was hungry. Then as I was walking near the counter to throw my trash away a couple comes in and asks them what bread they use for something and they show them the Udi's gluten free bread in a bag and the people walk out.Then I asked them what bread they used in my sandwich. They said the same one. I said that's not vegan. Both owners just looked at me with a blank look and said nothing. The husband was holding it so I asked him to look at the ingredients. Finally after I asked again he did look and said nothing. I said eggs are not vegan! Then I pointed out non vegan items on the label. He just had a blank stare, shrugged and walked away. How rude and inconsiderate! Neither one of the owners cared that they gave me non vegan food! I am not sure if they understand what vegan is. There was no one else at the counter or close to it at the time other than myself and the 2 owners. They never apologized or even tried to make the situation right. They could not of cared less! I left frustrated that I was still hungry, bought a over priced horrible sandwich and ate non vegan food that was marked vegan with a gluten free option and when I asked before I ordered they told me the GF bread was vegan. Clearly they didn't care either way if it was or not. I would never trust that any of their items are truly vegan. I would never want to support a business that operates like this again.

Cons: They don't care if they mark non vegan items vegan, Tastes horrible, Tiny portions & over priced!

LucySharon

Points +346

Vegan
15 May 2022

Very Tasty

Great vegan wraps. Had lunch one day and went back the next day for breakfast. Delicious tofu scramble. Good coffee. Highly suggest the chia pudding.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-15

Pros: Vegan options, Fresh food, Good portion sizes.

MissShiitake

Points +18

Vegan
29 Oct 2021

Good food with decent vegan options.

I got a portobello mushroom sandwich minus the cheese. There are more sandwiches and salads to choose from along with fruit smoothies.

Pros: Vegan Options

Cons: Expensive

fruitiJulie

Points +3193

Vegan
17 Sep 2021

Call first- Closed for staff shortages sometimes

Call before going, you may get there are they are closed for the day due to staff shortages. If closed, go to the downtown location.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-17

Petite&Chic

Points +54

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Delightful options, some room for improvement.

Breakfast proved to be exciting. Their protein packed tofu plate was nutritiously sound. I asked for avocado & additional cheeze.
The dinner entree I ordered on a separate occasion failed culinary execution. It was a carrot chimichurri dish with minimal portions of sauce and an uneven manifestation of carrots & beluga lentils. I would still return again as their menu still remains promising. Their lavender latte is a treat best enjoyed to go waltzing down Main Street.

SarahBS

Points +96

Vegan
09 May 2021

Also Main Street location- amazing vegan options!

So many incredible vegan options across a huge range of tastes- from savoury breakfasts including healthy tofu scrambles and vegan benedict to smoothie bowls, chia or oat jars, raw vegan gf pancakes, and loads of raw and cooked vegan entrees. Great quality produce and great service

Pros: Loads of vegan options, Raw and gluten free options, Great quality produce and great service

kcavataro

Points +45

Vegan
22 Apr 2021

Vegan French Toast!!!

Best French toast and tofu scramble! Try the smoothies the avocado smoothie and jumping monkey so yum!! Baja burrito very good as well!!! Great for vegans and non vegans!

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-22

AlfreAmin

Points +39

Vegan
19 Nov 2020

Delicious vegan options

We had the raw pancakes and the tofu scramble and both were absolutely delicious!

KLyndsey

Points +278

Vegan
06 Sep 2020

Super friendly staff

I went to the location on Main twice and everyone was so upbeat and happy! Delicious smoothies and lots of vegan options - everything from French toast to a raw taco salad.

Pros: Happy staff, Lots of options , Great location

mskroque

Points +28

Vegan
28 Jun 2020

So so so good

Friendly service and incredible food. I had the Raw Pancake -yumm O. Andrew was very helpful.

vibravegan

Points +26

Vegan
23 Jun 2020

Amazing raw vegan wraps

We had the Baja and mango wrap. Both delicious and filling.
We went to the one on Main Street.

Pros: Good vegan options!, 2 locations in Sarasota , Friendly staff

DavidHoelzer

Points +18

Vegan
29 Jan 2020

Five stars

Since the zebra isn’t strictly vegan it won’t allow 5 stars. The food, however, is incredible. Friendly staff, amazing eats... wonderful.

Pros: Great vegan options

kroethle

Points +32

Vegan
28 Jan 2020

Fresh!

Many options, smoothies, coffee, bowls, wraps

Cam787

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Amazing atmosphere

There were a variety of vegan options! Everything was clearly labeled for dietary needs each item meet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food also was made fresh and fast. Would definitely go back again!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Delicious food

Cons: None

coreythib

Points +20

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Amazing vegan food!

I wish the app would allow me to rate it 5 stars! The food and service was awesome. We had the tofu scramble and the sweet potato toast. It was fast, fresh, and delicious. Great vegan spot if you’re in Sarasota or Siesta Key.

RebeccaHolbrooks

Points +438

Vegan
04 Oct 2019

Great Food!

I was dying to try their Baja Burrito but they were out - probably because it's awesome! My friend and I decided to split the Raw Taco Salad and the Very Veggie Wrap. We were not disappointed! Both were delicious but the meal was pricey.

Pros: Vegan variety

Cons: A little pricey, Slow service, Small portion

julesdaz

Points +18

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

This place deserves 5 stars

Interesting that 5 star is only reserved for fully vegan/vegetarian restaurants. I honestly love that they have options for everyone because it means I can take other people with me who aren’t vegan and we all have lots of great options to choose from.
The meal was so good! The service was quick too. It wasn’t crowded either time we came. Both times we could find seats and had speedy service. I got the Baja Burrito, which was to die for. Their vegan nacho cheese was really delicious. My boyfriend got the Awesome Avocado smoothie. It was really creamy and had well balanced flavors. We will definitely be coming back!

Pros: Lots of options for vegans and non-vegans alike, Really well done flavors, Perfect for anyone with dietary restrictions

KCeatsvegan

Points +142

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

Awesome food but very crowded

I have had breakfast and lunch here. Every time I went, the food was great. Their breakfast bowls are particularly amazing. My favorite breakfast though is the tofu scramble and the avocado toast. The place is neat inside but always packed and the seating is not set up the best. You wait for a while for your food and might not have a place to sit. If you do have a place to sit, it might be dirty because it’s a clean up your own space situation. The gross thing is the dirty plates and silverware are RIGHT when you walk in and are waiting in line. Food is amazing but they need a better set up of tables and counter space.

Pros: Amazing vegan options

Cons: Not the cleanest with seating , Very crowded

Mattsgirlelle

Points +167

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

really great food

The Monterrey avocado sandwich was so insanely good. The taco salad was pretty good but could use some other items besides just lettuce, tomato, avocado. Onions and peppers would really help it out. The vegan deserts were sublime. My hubby had the tiramisu vegan cheesecake. I don't like cheesecake, but I couldn't stop stealing bites. I had the chia pudding and it was phenomenal. I definitely recommend this place.

Pros: lots of vegan options , vegan breakfast, vegan deserts

Cons: limited seating , really uncomfortable seats

JanMarie

Points +42

Raw
03 Mar 2019

Great!!!!

My first time here and loved it!!! Quaint, friendly staff, varied menu and delicious food!!!

Pros: Throughly enjoyed the raw pancake!!!!

Cons: Quite busy for breakfast BUT worth the wait!




This page has been viewed 8075 times.