Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Western
Take-out
European

Cafe offering coffee, smoothies, vegan croissants, sandwiches, cakes and more. Open Mon-Thu 08:00-17:00, Fri-Sun 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for Gaard Coffee Hide
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by juliabeaumont

VeganVVitch

Points +826

Vegan
24 Dec 2023

hidden gem

Lovely little coffee shop! We enjoyed the coffee and cake selection! Will definitely visit again.

Advertisement

TigsManley

Points +271

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

So good!

All the food is vegan, they just have options on milks which includes non-vegan milk. The food is amazing. It's a cute cafe and had calm and relaxed vibe. We had some cakes and they were so good.

deadpledge

Points +11314

Vegan
09 Aug 2023

"It's reyt gud"

Very welcoming cafe and great vibe. We each got the breakfast deal (muffin and hot drink £6.50), which was a sausage and hash muffin and it was delicious. The coffees were decent too. Staff were also very accommodating for our 5 year old and provided an oat milk free of charge. Would love to return again to sample the pastries and treats next time.

HarleyJones-Ryley

Points +349

Vegan
21 Jun 2023

Perfect, every time.

I've lost count of the times we have eaten here. Everything we've tried has been spot on: bagels, breakfast muffins (better than the 'Mc' versions!), salads, cakes, vegan sausage rolls. So good. Even our non vegan family can't knock it!!

daisyno

Points +84

Vegan
15 Apr 2023

All food vegan

All food vegan. So many options in the cafe that seem to change/rotate. Love the chicken Cesar sandwich. Also cakes coffee etc

mockingbird

Points +2150

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

All food is vegan

This place is all vegan apart from offering dairy in the drinks.

Today was my second visit to this cafe on a quick pit stop in Kelham island while in Sheffield.

I had pretty nice coffee and delicious cake but there’s a really good selection of vegan sandwiches and a hot vegan lunch menu.

Cool space, seating inside and out, nice friendly staff. What else do you need, duck?

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-12

seagull_with_chips

Points +97

Vegan
29 Jan 2023

Nice food

Visited for breakfast on a Saturday morning. Was a bit confused by the menu whether all the food was vegan or not, but from what I understand everything was vegan. Had hummus and avocado on toast, and they were most generous with the amount of avocado. I also had a flat white which was adequate. Would go again for the food as it was delicious.

Pros: Nice food, Quick service , Friendly staff

Sheffchef

Points +363

Vegan
28 Dec 2021

Bad coffee but okay food

This place is hit and miss. The coffee is sour and tastes as if it made with gone-off milk. The sandwiches are tasty and their staff are nice, but sometimes their food is disappointing. We’ve had their crumpets thinking they’d be homemade like at Ambulo, but they’re just out of a packet, yet still charged as if some effort has gone in to making them. Their muffins are a novelty, but the patty isn’t great and was dry and bordering on burnt.

nagevear

Points +408

Vegan
29 Jun 2021

Perfect for brunch/lunch/coffee.

Having been to both branches of Gaard, I can say they are both great.
Lovely milkshakes, hot drinks, cold drinks, smoothies, lunches, cakes - excellent choice.
Very aesthetic interior also.

Pros: delicious, very aesthetic

Cons: smoothie could have been colder

MelodyDmd

Points +436

Vegan
31 May 2021

Very pleasant experience

I went there twice and both the food and the coffees were very good. I don't understand the logic of having a fully vegan menu and still offering dairy milk as an option for the drinks, when they could just go fully vegan. I hope they'll drop dairy soon. 🌱

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-31

Pros: Nice backyard area, Great breakfasts and coffees

Cons: Dairy milk offered to customers

Fattyted

Points +3061

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

The best vegan breakfast in the world

Seriously the most original and delicious vegan breakfasts I've ever tried. I keep going back time and again and taking different friends (many of whom aren't vegan) and so far every single one of them has completely agreed that it's phenomenal. Highly recommend!

Pros: Amazing vegan breakfast!, Friendly staff, Fresh healthy ingredients

Bertiebertbert

Points +33

Vegan
24 May 2020

Don't quite know whether to give this place two stars, three stars or four!!

Just moved to Sheffield from London where I have been spoilt in regard to Vegan and/or coffee shop venues, was told about this place by one of my housemates when discussing places to grab a coffee, was very excited to visit as housemate raved about the place.......so gave it ago yesterday!!

Quite a queue outside (so that must be a good thing....right!!). Advised by the person serving me that all food served was Vegan (lots of brownies to choose from), but plumped for a 'sausage' roll which to be fair was as good as other good sausage rolls in the whole sausage roll hierarchy (so that's where the four stars come in!!). But the coffee, well if I'm honest that was a bit of a disappointment, it tasted like it had been over-extracted (a bit burnt/bitter) which I found a bit of a surprise (and that's where the stars come in!!).

The staff was friendly enough, but when I asked if I could have sugar in my coffee (which is usually added to the espresso shot prior to the milk being added....isn't it??!?) I was told that the sachets of sugar were over by the door along with stirrers (?? landfill)....so this is where the three stars come in!!

Anyway I have decided that I will give this place another visit, maybe I just caught it on a mediocre sort of day....here's hoping my next visit is more of a four/five-star event....but for today's visit, I'll give 3hree stars

Pros: Great 'sausage' roll, Friendly staff

Cons: Over extracted coffee at this visit, Individual sugar sachets and stirrers - any need??

vegan-7

Points +117

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

A great spot for coffee or snack

A very good range of food and drink and very nearly vegan

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Freshly made in house , The menu is default vegan with NV mark non vegan

Cons: Stops serving food at 3pm, Food is a little pricey for a coffee shop

Enjali

Points +1561

Vegan
05 Jan 2020

Delicious and interesting

I’ve only been here once and my friend and I ordered the exact same thing so I can only comment on those. We had baguettes with avocado and roasted veggies and a lovely and plentiful side salad. It was a big plate that was tasty, fresh and pretty all at once (my instagram profile appreciates the pretty stuff). We also had creamy oat milk hot chocolates that we really enjoyed. We’ll be back to try some of their cake and coffee and their vegan BLT that I’ve heard great things about.

Pros: lots of vegan options to choose from, good prices

Cons: staff could be a little more friendly

emmatron

Points +80

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Bad Coffee

I had heard good things so I was excited to check this place out. The first time we went the food was average. The coffee was actually awful and undrinkable, tasted burnt and bitter. I thought maybe they were having a bad day so returned a few weeks later to give it another shot and it was basically the same story. For a coffee shop I don’t understand how the coffee could be so bad. I want to support a veggie business over the many meat serving cafes near by but it’s really not great. The only saving grace is the biscoff nice cream shake which is to die for so that might sway me to give them a 3rd chance! I do admittedly want to try some of the sweet treats they have on offer at the counter. Always been too full from a main savoury meal and the shake to have something.

Pros: Loads of vegan options, Awesome nice cream shake

Cons: Awful Coffee

Shelgy09

Points +67

Vegan
14 Aug 2019

A Little Gem

Best onion bhaji wrap I’ve had, lovely coffee and cake. Well worth a visit!

Pros: Quality, Quirky, Cosy

Cons: Street parking can be a pain to find.

Cathy2001

Points +416

Vegan
27 Oct 2018

Tucked away Coffee joint in old industrial area

This area in town is really upcoming, lovely old factories are restored and converted into restaurants and so. Gaard is clean and bright, with lots of vegan options. I had a croissant and a coffee and they were great. Baked goods also looked very good and they were all vegan.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Good coffee

Cons: Not very cheap

juliabeaumont

Points +222

Vegetarian
04 Oct 2018

New favourite lunch spot

I work in Kelham Island and Gaard is my new favourite place for lunch, with plenty of delicious vegan offerings alongside hot drinks and smoothies there's something for everyone. Also the vegan cookie sandwiches are AMAZING.




This page has been viewed 5068 times.