• El Gringo y la Gorda

  • (7)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ecuadorian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has menu that is vegetarian - ask for it. Open Tue-Sat 2:00pm-10:00pm.


7 Reviews

First Review by voyegan

Velo

Points +2797

Vegan
07 Mar 2023

Limited options but decent

I think there were like two vegan options without beginning to remove ingredients from dishes. We had the vegan sandwich in its biggest form, which was quite huge and enough for two people. It was decent, but without protein source, which is why I would still give this place 4 stars even I could give it 5.

Advertisement

ChefAntoane

Points +15

Vegetarian
25 Feb 2023

El mejor restaurante Vegetariano

El mejor restaurante con opciones vegetarianas de Latacunga

Pros: Excelente comida vegetariana

xaviam

Points +11

Mostly Veg
27 Jan 2023

Excellent and Tasty!

This place is already a classic spot not to be missed if you are in Latacunga. Tasty food, with some very good options for vegans with the unmistakable touch that Mauricio has put to his menu at this well known restaurant. The staff is friendly and you will feel as in home. Mauricio is always keen to give you an entertaining chat and useful advice for your stay in Latacunga.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-27

Pros: Friendly staff, Delicious and fresh food, Good vegan options

Cons: None

unruly_traveller

Points +261

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Awesome place with friendly staff!

This place is a little more pricey than others, but worth it. They have a whole vegetarian/vegan menu, and seem pretty familiar with what vegan means! The vegan options are limited, but the vegan Thai salad was huge and so yummy, and the vegan sandwich was good too. The fries were on point. Inside it’s super romantic and has a great feel. You’ll feel like you’re in another country!

Pros: Great portions , Friendly staff , Menu in English + Spanish

Cons: Would love a few more vegan options!

livyjasmine

Points +19

Vegetarian
15 Sep 2022

Expensive but tasty!

We wandered over looking for a late lunchtime meal once we’d settled into our hostel. You have to ask for the vegetarian menu, which has a lot of different selections available from tapas, big sandwiches, salads and desserts too. We had a coffee with milk, passion fruit juice, Humitas (served with honey) and a Mexican flavoured sandwich (6 inches and super filled with delicious flavours: black beans, guacamole, gherkins and mustard). All together it came to $11 (inc. service charge) and we were stuffed!

Pros: A specific vegetarian friendly menu, Central location, Lovely surroundings and good atmosphere

Cons: Pricey compared to the area

SamCox

Points +18

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

Great food

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner in this restored historic building. The dishes were prepared with the utmost attention to detail and a lot of creativity. They have a wonderful vegan salad with black beans, veggies and a lovely dressing. The owner has 25+ yrs of experience in the New Orleans restaurant scene as director of operations for Emeril Lagasse. Trust me, you’ll be glad you came.

Pros: Friendly staff, Good value, Great great ambience

Cons: None

voyegan

Points +2089

Vegan
09 Sep 2018

welcoming atmosphere

They have very friendly and ambitious staff, a nice atmosphere, which is outstanding. And they have a second menu card with only vegetarian food. But unfortunately there is only one vegan option which is a huge salad with beans for 8$. The salad was a feast of different tastes, very delicious. I wonder why the vegetarian card is separate and I wish there would be more vegan options and they would include the vegetarian card into the normal one, just to normalize other food preferences and not let them stay a special wish.

Pros: vegetarian food, ambitious staff, welcoming atmosphere

Cons: only one (1) vegan option




This page has been viewed 1568 times.