• Chaia - Chinatown

  • (18)
    43
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Lacto
Ovo
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican

Fast-casual vegetarian tacos eatery est. 2015. All tacos and sides can be made vegan with the exception of the creamy kale potato taco. 2nd location. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm, Sun 11:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Chaia - Chinatown
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by cookiem

LoganMelton

Points +1245

Vegan
21 Dec 2023

Great food, a little pricy

The food is great, but the portion sizes are small and you need to order a couple of items to get a real meal. A little pricy for what you get.

Advertisement

TheTofuTyrant

Points +1754

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

best tacos and enchiladas ever

The vegan taco trio and the braised mushroom enchilada are FABULOUS

Pros: all vegetarian or vegan , delicious

ayoung03

Points +222

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

Love it!

I tried the vegan black bean enchiladas which were great. My non-vegan friends recommended this spot to me, and we all went together. Love that they have options for everyone!

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-13

Pros: Well-labeled menu

irise102

Points +673

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Flavorful fast casual Mexican food

Many vegan options available. Mushroom Quesadillas were small but delicious. Sweet potato nachos had a vegan option and very tasty with the pickle onions on top.

Pros: Tasty food, Pleasant and fast service , Open atmosphere

hetalshah24

Points +705

Vegan
02 May 2023

Unique tacos

Loved the options on the menu as most options can be veganized. However, they messed up our order by giving us dairy cheese on one taco and no cheese on the other. The food was just ok. The tacos themselves are very good but the filling and sauces were ok and the 3 tacos option is not filling. Maybe adding some vegan protein would have made them more filling. Overall preferred the enchiladas to the tacos.

Pros: Unique taco flavors. Tacos themselves are good., Most options can be veganized

Cons: Need to add more protein option to tacos, Tacos can be more flavorful , A bit pricey as you need to order multiple items

Breah

Points +447

Vegan
15 Apr 2023

Pretty good all veggie tacos

Everything here is vegetarian, and many items can be made vegan. The sweet potato taco and the mushroom taco were underwhelming; but the collard green taco, the beet taco, and the potato kale were pretty good. The sweet potato nachos were also yummy with creamy black beans and cilantro sauce. They change some tacos seasonally.

Pros: All veggie/vegan

Cons: Expensive

sapientia

Points +1030

Vegan
21 Mar 2023

Crisp and clean eating

Nice open space with great lighting. Menu driven which means you need to know how to veganize your own dish

Pros: Easily made vegan

Cons: Pricey

veggie_htx

Points +2082

Vegan
01 Mar 2023

Delicious tacos

Loved the corn tortilla and fillings (the smoky collards, fantastic, a fave)! Make sure to ask for vegan! Nice indoor and outdoor seating

Hellveg

Points +31

Vegan
19 Aug 2022

Fresh ingredients and great taste

Enchiladas are great. You can turn most options to vegan.

Pros: Many vegan options , Fresh ingredients, Vegan cheese,

Cons: Beyond tacos were listed in the menu but no , In the ordering , Items list

ChelseaN

Points +320

Vegan
18 Aug 2022

Yum

Love the mushroom enchilada and kale salad!

FionaKniaz

Points +65

Vegan
20 Jun 2022

Delicious, unique, and affordable!

Pretty much everything (except for 2 tacos) can be made vegan upon request. Vegan cheese can be added for no additional cost. I tried 3 tacos - the braised mushroom and chipotle sweet potato hash were out of this world, but I probably wouldn’t get the green bean taco next time (just a bit of an odd combo). Draft margaritas are quite good and very affordable ($8 regularly and $6 during happy hour) and they don’t skimp on the alcohol. Highly recommend their canetas (which are vegan). Will definitely be returning!

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-20

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Affordable, Cute decor

ShesVegan88

Points +392

Vegan
18 May 2022

Delicious

Plenty of options and very clear vegan labels

VeerD

Points +68

Vegan
16 Mar 2022

Great vegan nachos!

The nachos are a meal onto themselves! Ask for vegan cheese in the modifications, and enjoy the crisp chips and great toppings.

We also had a few tacos and the vegan black bean enchiladas. Very filling overall.

morgb

Points +36

Vegan
17 Nov 2021

Enchiladas!

Ate here with a friend last week and was so pleasantly surprised to see they offered a vegan enchilada option! They were so good. I will definitely be back to try vegan-izing some of their tacos in the future. My boyfriend isn’t vegan and really liked his vegetarian tacos. Really like the decor and vibe of the restaurant as well, it’s more casual and there is a self checkout kiosk where you place your order.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good vibe

csailor

Points +770

Vegan
19 Jun 2021

Incredibly unique and flavorful

I was extremely impressed with the selection here. Everything is vegetarian but almost all can be made vegan. You can add Daiya cheese to these items or forgo the cheese completely. I chose to avoid Daiya as I’m not a fan and everything was amazing! Tasted so fresh and flavorful.

Honestly I don’t know why they just don’t make the jump and go all vegan- That is my only complaint!

Twillsmomnp

Points +209

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Fresh and delicious!

I would highly recommend. We each had 3 tacos and shared a carrot salad for around $30. Fresh corn taco was sweet and tasty. Loved the grilled eggplant and mushroom ones, too. Everything easily made vegan. A/c was delightfully cool and bathrooms were very clean. Restaurant uses reusable or compostible materials.

PamelaBenjamin

Points +18

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Good food at a good price

The cashier was friendly and helpful to point out that I could change the menu items to vegan versions. The food was ready within minutes and it was filled with flavor.

Pros: Relatively low cost

cookiem

Points +5865

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Veg tacos in downtown DC

This place is wonderful and fresh, modern and delicious. The space is open and beautiful. The menu is entirely vegetarian. The food is based on tacos - so, why not go here?

There are about half a dozen choices each day, and usually all but one of them can be veganized. The menu even says so. There are mushroom tacos, and collard greens, and asparagus and rainbow carrots. There are also sides like rice and salad and beans. There are a couple cookies for dessert. Many choices of beverages like teas, wines, beers, and other herbal drinks.

The tacos are homemade tortilla-based with so many fresh veggies inside. It's so good!

It seems a little pricy for tacos, but it's so good! Support this place so it stays open. Really great space to sit and have a meal.

Pros: 100% veg, Fresh tortillas, Ambiance/ space

Cons: Not 100% vegan




This page has been viewed 4191 times.