• Cafe Zaehringer

  • (16)
    18
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Organic
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe Zähringer offers made in-house organic cuisine from sustainable sources. One daily special is usually vegan. English spoken. Between Rudolf Brun Bridge and Predinger Church, 5 minute walk from main train station. Open Mon 6:00pm-12:00am, Tue-Sun 9:00am-12:00am.


Venue map for Cafe Zaehringer
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by Stevie

Evington

Points +2426

Vegan
28 May 2023

Quirky original place with some vegan options

Outdoor and indoor seating. Menu is clearly marked with vegan (and gluten-free) options. Options are limited, soup, a simple pasta, a daily dish (which was roasted potatoes and asparagus). Nothing particularly special but in the context of Zurich it’s fine, especially if you’re looking for a place that non-vegans want to go to.

Advertisement

swiss_vegan

Points +77

Vegan
05 Feb 2019

Fine food, good beer, nice place, cool location.

Hochwertige schweizerische Küche mit Fleischgerichten und deklarierten veganen Gerichten. Angenehme alternative Atmosphäre mit gemischtem Publikum.

Pros: Saisonale Küche, Feine vielseitige vegane optionen, Sehr fein

Cons: Häufig voll

Noly

Points +309

Vegan
22 Dec 2018

Zähringer

We always enjoy the food at Cafe Zähringer. They have a good coffee. Altough only one vegan main dish, it was always delicious

Pros: Reasonable prices for zurich

marky_mark

Points +20304

Vegan
26 Mar 2018

Alternative & very friendly

These are very, very friendly people in a self-organized no 'owner' restaurant in the nice part of town. Two tram stops from central train station but super close to walk, too. One 'full' vegan dish (often a curry) but also vegan cake and salad and soup. Worth a shot! Not posh but cozy and old school European. They have art & a book shelf, too.

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-26

Pros: Very friendly, alternative environment, in nice part of town

ErinLeaP

Points +180

Vegan
01 Jan 2018

expensive but nice

Not a huge selection of vegan options, the two things we had were nice but expensive.

Pros: tasty main dishes

Cons: expensive, not many options

Phoenjx

05 Aug 2023

For Zurich not acutally expensive though - if you order a proper meal elsewhere you pay just as much. And water is free here!

Safia

Points +17

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2017

nice place

was good to try spaghetti there :)

very cool in the summer days to enjoy with lot of streets shows ..

and the staff there very friendly .

Andeyork

Points +29

Vegetarian
06 Aug 2017

Eclectic with buzz, and good food

A hip place to spend a Friday night in Zurich. Good food for two fussy vegetarians who enjoyed the informal atmosphere. It's not cheap, Zurich isn't ...

Pros: nice people (it's a co op), buzzy place , choice of dishes

acadiechick

Points +106

Vegan
06 May 2017

Great vegan options

Cosy restaurant serving an alt crowd. The food was very good! We had a traditional Swiss stew but made with seitan. Delicious! If you're looking for non-pretentious traditional Swiss food, this is a great place.

Pros: Traditional Swiss dishes made vegan

Lida

Points +196

Vegan
29 Nov 2015

one love

❤️

pablo.labhardt

Points +35

Vegan
03 Apr 2015

Nice restaurant in Zurich

The Zähringer is nice and serves a lot of nice food. They always have at least one seasonal vegan dish and use organic products. Some other dishes (for example the mixed salad) can be changed to a vegan version which is not as nice as the vegetarian option.

Pros: organic food, no hierarchy, at least one vegan dish

Cons: they serve meat, rather expensive

KennyHurts

Points +38

Vegan
10 Feb 2011

Zähringer

An alternative Restaurant in the middle of the old city in Zurich. Very delicious meals also for vegans for a very good price.

Cons: l

Hanna Louise

Points +92

Vegan
24 Jul 2010

Good but I wouldn't go out of my way to return

Good but not extraordinary food. Some vegan options. The server we first got was very nice but did not speak English, so we got a second server who seemed always in a bad mood and did not give a hint of a smile once, which was actually rather entertaining. They had one vegan cake when we went there, which was interesting but I'm not sure if it was good enough to get again.

Pros: pleasant atmosphere

Cons: not a ton of vegan options

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
22 May 2009

not a bad place

they have daily vegan specials, we had a really rock'n hummus sandwich. Its inexpensive and I highly recommend it. Party ended with smokers lit up all around us, but on that side of town its the only game. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: hummus sandwich

Cons: smokers

pradipd

Points +347

Vegetarian
09 May 2009

Huge Portions!

Limited selection of vegetarian items, but the waiter (seemed more like the owner) was very helpful and understanding in coming up with suggestions. The portions are huge, and the quality is quite good. It is a typical NYC Village type artsy place with communal tables, though we managed to find a separate table. A good option in pricey Zurich.

Pros: Location, Value

Cons: Limited choices, Not fully veg

Qtea

Points +231

Vegan
21 Jan 2009

One of the most comfortable places in Zürich

Zahringer is more relaxed than the other places in downtown Zürich. Being run by an independent cooperative is also a plus. Rice and soy milk available for coffee, many vegan lunch options, but only one type of cake (which was dry).

Anyway, in Swiss context (=lots of milk, cream and cheese everywhere) Zahringer is still quite okay.

Pros: atmosphere, vegan lunch

Cons: cake options, smokers

Stevie

Points +11765

Vegan
28 May 2007

Cafe Zahringer, Zurich

I'm only going to give this place 3 out 5 below. That's simply because it isn't 100% veggie. Otherwise it's fine. Centrally located, easy to get to. The staff speak English and were very helpful when I asked them what they could do for me as a vegan veggie (it turns out vegan veggie wok fries are indicated on the menu). I will always favour 100% veggie places but if I was with someone who insisted on eating non veggie then I'd happilly go to this place as a compromise venue. Good atmo, long opening hours.

Pros: Central, Long opening hours, Good atmo, nice staff

Cons: Not 100% veggie




This page has been viewed 6495 times.