• Burma Superstar

  • (13)
    16
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Burmese, Southeast Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu includes a vegetable & tofu section. Has yellow bean tofu (soy-free). The noodle dishes can be made vegan and are marked if cannot be. Servers understand vegan diets - let them know. Open Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm, Mon-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm, Fri 5:00pm-10:00pm, Sat 11:30am-10:00pm, Sun 11:30am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Burma Superstar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by pepperka

Dextris

Points +16

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Eggplant Curry was fire

They were very respectful to my allergies and dietary restrictions. They did not cook with sesame oil, nor did they have any nuts besides peanuts on the premises.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food

Advertisement

TimH.

Points +1104

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

The Chickpea Tofu and Mango Salad are Divine

Burmese food is one of my favorite cuisines and this restaurant is always busy because they know what they are doing! The menu specifically indicates which dishes are vegan and which can be veganized, which makes ordering super easy! We had the mango salad (a must, and we added pickled ginger to it), the tealeaf salad (exactly what you would expect), and a refreshing ginger/mint lemonade!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Unique cuisine, Friendly and fast service

Cons: Pricey, Can get busy

Sjjk12

Points +1077

Vegan
30 Apr 2022

Food is delicious

Many vegan options, I especially enjoyed the noodle dish and veggie samosas.

Pros: Great vegan options , Great vibe

Bavaricali

Points +104

Vegan
27 Mar 2022

Love it

5-stars spot for me. We go here surprisingly often for a fancy dinner night out. Definitely get on the yelp waitlist, and timing is all. It can be a (45-60 min) wait. But it’s worth it.
The sesame fried tofu, the broccoli dish, the tea peace salad, the curries, the eggplant dish. Lots of vegan choices, great drinks. All is consistently fabulous.
Service is professional and speedy.
And I love their parklet seating.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Outdoor seating, parklet , Burmese food

Cons: Not cheap, Can get very busy, long waits

theNumberOfTheBeast

26 Feb 2023

To respond to your unwelcome intrusion on our convo elsewhere, yes the liberation pledge is dogmatic. If you feel there is some question to the certainty of the authority of inalienable truth to veganism, you could always flicker off to animal abuse land, with your animal abuse friends and dine at your animal abuse businesses that you like to review and finance such as this one with the smell of animal death in the air and the sight of their murdered tortured bodies on your fellow patron's lips. If that doesn't ruin your appetite, you're either a psycho or a fake vegan. Would you dine in the presence of cannibals eating your family? When I mentioned kindness, I was certain that it would be construed to represent kindness to animals, not their victimizers. If it was my child you were sitting with company who was feasting on their corpse, I'd be hard pressed to contain my rage and at the very least my embarrassment for being unwilling to fight to prevent it from happening or having the courage and conviction to refuse to join someone in this act. The animals are the ones who deserve kindness from humans terrorizing them and the more action against this activity, including boycott of the businesses that profit from it, the better. As for isolating, just look at how many vegan restaurants there are in this database, every single one has vegans to socialize with and they need the support of vegans and if you think I miss being in the company of blood mouths think again, they make me sick and the only interaction with them I wish to have is active outreach conversations about abandoning the practice of violence for taste pleasure. Have a good night. 😮‍💨🤪😘

Mandelo

Points +60

Vegan
21 Nov 2021

Tasty - vegan options a little limited

I could eat this coconut rice every day.

MarEichler17

Points +289

Vegan
19 Aug 2020

Tea Salad!

I loved the tea salad with the coconut rice, so delicious with such a great combination of flavors. Plus they have a very easy system for pick-up during the pandemic.

kradel

Points +30

Vegetarian
22 Jun 2019

I love this place!

One of my favorite Asian restaurants in the East Bay.

Pros: Lots of options! , Fiery Vegetables with Tofu, Tea Leaf Salad

Cons: Always crowded

sandykaren

Points +362

Vegan
29 Jul 2018

Three words: Tea Leaf Salad

This salad makes a visit here worth the wait, just be sure to order without the dried shrimp. I usually come with friends and share it, but am always tempted to get one all to myself. I’ve had a few other dishes that I really liked, like the Fiery Vegetables with Tofu and the Samosa soup.

Pros: Decent amount of vegan options, Reasonable prices

Cons: Crowded, Parking can be difficult

grrrowan

Points +149

Vegan
06 Jul 2017

Amazing Food & Knowledgable Staff

Really enjoyed the Yellow Bean Tofu Curry - I think the "tofu" is made from chickpeas. My boyfriend enjoyed his Rainbow Salad. Not much is marked vegan on the menu, but the staff was very knowledgable and knew off hand what could be made vegan. Probably about half could be veganized.

My non-vegan family members really enjoyed their food - except you probably shouldn't order "spicy" as your option! Burned my brother's face off.

For me, this was unique cuisine and certainly worth the trip. Be warned, the place is very busy and they do kind of try to "push" people through. But that means quick service! ;)

Pros: Quick service, Huge Variety, Totally delicious

Cons: Maybe 10 minute wait

Tac0_flavored_kisses

Points +150

Vegan
28 Dec 2015

Most flavorful food of my life.

Things to order: Tea leaf salad (no shrimp), rainbow salad (no shrimp), the best soup on earth, the samusa soup and the coconut rice. I dream of these items often because I moved down to LA and away from my favorite stuff. It's not a vegetarian or vegan restaurant, which is unfortunate, but probably why I've been so many times. It's a place that all my friends and family enjoy going to because we can get veggie and non-veggie food, which is what happens in real life. Not everyone is down to go to vegan restaurants (their loss). Yes, the wait is crumby. Go down to Lane Splitters and get a pint while you wait. It's worth it!!

Pros: delicious veggie food, good drinks, inexpensive

Cons: serves meat, long waits, slightly claustraphobic space

jegraef

Points +70

Vegan
11 Mar 2015

Meh

Took some friends here for a special treat based on Yelp reviews. I was excited to try something new. As it turned out, the vegan options are very few and overly greasy and tending to sweet dishes. It wasn't bad, but nothing special. The place was packed, people were having a good time and it was loud. No problem. The problem came toward the end of our meal, before we had an opportunity to finish our entrees or order dessert: The manager asked if we could leave soon because people were waiting for tables. Whaaat? So, yeah, I'm not going back.

Pros: Popular, good service, moderately priced

Cons: only a few vegan options, Rude management, greasy food

SonjaCPA

Points +5270

Vegan
26 Aug 2013

yummy

We met two local friends here for lunch as it's one of their favorite places. They made a good choice! We all started with wine and cocktails along with the lotus chips. We let our friends do the ordering and we enjoyed the eggplant, pea shoots and fiery tofu along with some amazing coconut rice. The service was good and they never rushed us even though we were taking our time ordering, etc. Definitely a place to check out if you are in the neighborhood.

Pros: tasty vegan options, wine, beer and cocktails

Cons: not all vegan

pepperka

Points +83

Vegan
13 May 2011

Undecided

It's hard for me to decide for sure how I felt about Burma Superstar. We went on suggestion from a few friends, some of which are vegan and some not. Be warned you'll have to wait a long time to sit, and there isn't really a good area to wait unless it's nice outside. The seating situation isn't great if, like us, you're stuck right next to the bar in front of the area where the servers are walking the whole time--like trying to eat in the middle of a crowded sidewalk or something.
We made sure to tell the server we were vegan, and didn't explain in as full detail as normal since he jumped in and said he understood perfectly. The Peashoots were really really good... honestly I still think about them fondly and this was two months ago. Oh, and the coconut rice is also really yummy. But I'm 99% positive our spicy tofu dish had fish sauce or something similar. It smelled like fish and had that too-slick feeling in my mouth. We asked the server and he said there was no fish sauce, but his expression read more along the lines of "tell them what will involve the least fixing on my part." We ate some of it, but seriously... when I opened the leftovers the smell of fish just wafted out.
My suggestion would be go for the peashoots, and be extremely precise with your server. And don't take "no" for an answer if your food tastes fishy.

Pros: peashoots!, decor, location

Cons: service, seating, price




This page has been viewed 5486 times.