• Bullet Coffee House and Eatery

  • (19)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Salad bar
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Serves a wide range of food, including in-house-made bread, vegan dishes and gluten free choices. Cozy with lots of windows. Open Fri-Sat 09:30-17:00, Sun 09:00-16:00. Closed Mon-Thur.


Venue map for Bullet Coffee House and Eatery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by Miggi

marikaweinhardt

Points +5145

Vegan
17 Feb 2024

Bad experience

This place has good reviews and on paper looks inclusive of vegans. Unfortunately it served the worst brunch I can remember having. The mealy tofu scramble was a poor advert for veganism and tasted strangely fishy - perhaps badly smoked tofu? The bread didn't seem to have been toasted. A jagged shard of plastic emerged from the scramble - sadly towards the end - which the staff apologised for as being due to how busy the chef was 😭

We were told there'd be a wait but this was not worth the 30 plus minutes. The couple next to us waited a good quarter hour just to order coffees.

The coffees and smoothie were OK but served with quantity over quality in mind.

While I'm sure staff were doing their best, the cafe felt understaffed and unloved with patchy paintwork and a toilet seat split down the middle. Seating was packed in and on a cold day the windows were fully steamed up with kitchen smells invading the air.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-17

norwegianvegan

18 Feb 2024

marikaweinhardt

18 Feb 2024

OMG yes - I couldn't wait to leave! Such a shame 😔

Advertisement

citizenInsane

Points +1397

Vegan
27 May 2023

Decent vegan scramble, lots of vegan items in the cabinet

I went for breakfast and had a tofu scramble on toasted sourdough bread which was decent. The bread was great but the scramble lacked a bit taste despite the blended-in herbs (which made the colour however a bit weirdly green), and was a bit dry.

There were plenty of decadent-looking sweet vegan pastries in the cabinet and a few savoury ones too.

The place is cute and has some outdoor seating but the tables are very very packed inside.

Andrew-Lohmann

Points +435

Vegetarian
06 Apr 2023

Nice cafe mostly vegan and vegitarian

Cakes, savories, lunches, breakfast, coffee, wine. The menu is a reverse of what you find mostly in that there is also a meat option on the menu. The vegan things are very nice.

If it is busy then there are plenty of other places in Robertson street and all over Hastings. Waterfalls for example is probably one of the longest running serving a vegan option. Trinity food co-op you can buy whole food and things to take to the beach.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-06

Pros: Very nice, Good range of vegan, Plenty of other places nearby if it is busy

cdrk

Points +815

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Good if you like English breakfasts

Not outstanding, typical English breakfast but nice vegan options, very good cakes and brownies.

Pros: Very friendly, Nice food if you like English breakfasts, Nice cakes

JollBenn

Points +264

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Great choices!

This joint has moved and the menu is now quite imaginative. Lovely chai latte and pancakes. Facon and 'salmon' available. Gets busy

Pros: Avocado pancake!, Location, Staff

Cons: Plastic sauce sachets, Orange juice not fresh

joluniey

Points +16

Vegan
10 Jul 2022

Plenty of delicious vegan options and the staff is absolutely lovely!

Creative and delicious snacks. Plant milks available at no extra cost.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options (food and beverages), Good location

franarchy

Points +52

Vegan
26 Oct 2020

Brilliant vegan options

Enjoyable meal lots of choice well presented and delicious friendly staff nice atmosphere

Pros: Lots of vegan options knowledgeable staff , Reasonable prices

AliceSAysNo

Points +97

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

What a gem

Brilliant little local cafe, very aware of different diets, excellent quality food, so much vegan choice.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Aware of different dietary needs , Great atmosphere

Cons: Hard to get a seat

Timforanimals1

Points +169

Vegan
12 Jul 2019

Excellent friendly and good food

Had brunch, great vegan breakfast, although vegan sausage could have been a bit sausage rather than veggie fritter

Pros: Friendly staff, Good options, Great location

Cons: None

DanLacey

Points +50

Non Veg
15 Jun 2019

More than worthy of 5 stars!!!

Despite not being fully vegan or vegetarian this place is more than worthy of a 5 star rating!! The food is always unbelievable and the staff are always friendly!!

Pros: Lost of Vegan options, Amazing Food, Good size meals

matt_dairyfree

Points +48

Vegan
22 Mar 2019

Always have vegan, vegi and gluten free options

Highly recommended this place, always have delicious cakes and sweet treats and a good menu catering for different diets and allergies.

Pros: Loads of vegan and gluten free ootuons

ellie257

Points +96

Vegan
04 Feb 2019

Vegan options

Small cafe with plenty of vegan options! Chocolate cake was disappointing though.

AndyTN34

Points +103

Vegan
01 Sep 2018

Good vegan selection

Lovely little café with lots of vegan dishes, great loose leaf teas and cakes. The food we had was tasty and very enjoyable. We had arancini and quiche with salads, followed by Viennese whirls, washed down with teas (the spiced apple was particularly good) all of which were great. Very popular, so can be full at busy times. Lovely owner and staff.

Pros: Lots of vegan choices , Great loose leaf teas, Lovely staff

JoWoody

Points +31

Vegan
08 Aug 2018

One of my favourites in Hastings

Love this place. So many great vegan options, savoury and sweet. Definitely recommend. Would give 5 stars but for some reason it only let me give 4!

Pros: Lots to choose from.

ErwinKiki

Points +1112

Vegan
09 Mar 2017

Nice small Eatery

Polite people, we had a lovely lunch. Not all is vegan, that is a pitty

Pros: Quiet, Friendly

Cons: Not all vegan

Rosa and Joe

Points +469

Vegan
28 Jan 2017

several vegan options

Nice friendly cosy cafe near the sea (some seats have a sea view!) We tried the vegan breakfast (homemade - we think - vegetable sausages, bubble and squeak, spinach, beans, mushrooms, toast) and the potato farls with spinach and chilli and garlic relish. Good creative food. There were several other vegan options that also sounded nice.

Pros: several vegan options, vegan breakfasts! , nice people

Cons: only open wed-sun, 930-5

ecwhite23

Points +27

Vegan
21 Aug 2016

Great vegan options

I went with my non-veg boyfriend for breakfast and was so pleased to see so many vegan options. From a vegan full english, to vegan smoothies and sandwiches. I had the houmous and olive sandwich, which was delicious, and a tropical smoothie which they kindly let me add spinach to - and was one of the best smoothies I've ever had! There were also a great range of vegan lunches and dinners. Staff were super friendly!

Pros: Great number of vegan options, Friendly atmosphere, Sea view

Cons: Only open Wed-Sat and til 5pm.

Mark1967

Points +53

Vegan
12 Oct 2014

Mm Coffee!

Nice little place near the sea,has a good range of vegan options,nice quick service and great coffee!!

Pros: Coffee!, Fresh Food!

Cons: Meat...*:0(

Miggi

Points +2634

Vegan
25 Aug 2013

Vegan options at seafront cafe

The cafe has a nice location and is in an unusual building. Tables inside and out.
The staff are friendly and know which items on the massive blackboard menu are vegan or can be made vegan.
There are usually several options, things like hummus and olive bagel, roast veg wrap with salad / fries, veggie chilli or curry, hummus with bread to dip. Sounds basic but they do it well. Reasonable prices and generous portions.
Good range of drinks available.

Pros: Reasonable prices for good filling food, Friendly, knowledgeable staff

Cons: Not 100% vegan, More vegan cake would be nice!




This page has been viewed 4907 times.