Vegan-friendly
Organic
Raw
Western
Juice bar
Fusion
Honey
Breakfast

Health store with an attached raw food cafe, also known as Centrum voor Energieregie. Serves breakfast, wraps, salads, raw vegan ice cream, sorbet, tea and coffee. Retail area sells organic and raw products including snacks, chocos-macrones, take-away food, smoothies and juices, dried berries, and more Open Mon 10:00-22:00, Tue-Thu 10:00-19:00, Fri 10:00-22:00, Sat-Sun 10:00-19:00.


Venue map for Alchemist Garden
© OpenStreetMap contributors

66 Reviews

First Review by Poliartes

DennisLaursen

Points +1870

Vegetarian
16 Feb 2024

Unhygienic and slow

I came at Alchemist Garden with a couple of friends the 13th February to eat some breakfast. And to be honest: we where all disappointed.
First of all, we arrived a few minutes before 10:00 (it opens 10:00 AM), and it seems very closed. Well, we gave it a couple of minutes, and the employee arrived 5 minutes too late and opened the cafe at 10:05. Well, it can happen, we think, and gave the café the benefit of the doubt.
When we where about to order, we saw that they serve honey in spite of being labeled as a vegan eatery. That lead to a strange conversation where the employee (maybe also the owner) claim to guarantee that it was ethical honey, says that veganism tend to be dogmatic, and starts to talk about that we should stop killing carrots and root vegetables, and should only eat fruits...

The honey thing did that two of my friends leaves, but the rest of us stayed. That make the owner/employee refer to them as dogmatic, but I said that they rather were consistent.
Well, the rest of us ordered the food. And in spite of being the only three in the café, it took an hour to prepare the food. So do not visit Alchemist Garden if you are busy.
Well, I can accept and understand that if you are the only one in the café, it will take some time to prepare the food. But if you arrive 5 minutes after opening, you could help yourself to arrive 15 before opening in stead, and prepare the café.
When our food arrived, some of the items was actually pretty good. I had a breakfast platte , and the yoghurt with berries and granola was pretty good, the banana bread was meh, but the smoothie was poor.
The hygiene does not seems good either. For example, the blender was not cleaned before our smoothies was prepared.

So my final verdict is that I cannot recommend Alchemist Garden. They can improve by doing the following:
- Better hygiene
- Don't sell honey (at least when they call themselves a vegan cafe)
- Improve service, for example that the café should be ready to serve at the opening time

Cons: Unhygienic, Serves honey, Slow serving

Advertisement

small_trees

Points +437

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Authentic raw vegan

This is an authentic raw restaurant and if that’s your thing you will love it here. If you’re expecting a normal restaurant experience you will not find it here but that’s all for the good in my opinion. They take things easy and natural here, so expect them to take time to make your food perfectly and to sometimes maybe not the most organised, but that’s ok. The warm, authentic and honest philosophy of the place is what’s important here. Like every organic place it’s on the pricey side but I don’t think that’s their fault. The food is good but for me not outstanding but I do love their smoothies and raw, sugarless pies which are delicious. If this is how you like to eat, then you’ve found your spot

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-01

Rawvegantim

Points +101

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

This is a magical place

Alchemist garden offers organic raw vegan food - from breakfast to sweet cakes to savoury meals - and green smoothies as well as several herbs, mushrooms, algae and homemade potions with different positive effects on your health an wellbeing.

It’s located near the beautiful Vondelpark and definitely worth the walk from the city centre. There are seats outside in front and inside this lovingly furnished treasure house.

People who love high quality healthy food will instantly fall in love with this place.

The owner is very likeable and regularly gives presentations about the importance of eating „alive“ raw food and the implications for our health and mother earth.

Because as we cook food, we destroy essential parts of the very food, that provides us with life energy and it takes a lot of effort for nature to rebuild these vital ingredients.

Pros: 100% organic, raw, wild, fresh, healthy, Super nice people, Positive vibrations fill the house

itzi

Points +3234

Vegan
23 Sep 2023

I was in the garden

Bring time with, because it is not a normal restaurant. They are not so busy and hectic, as most of us are known. I enjoyed this calm down experience and the room, what’s very unusual for a restaurant. I had a tea and a raw dog, made of veggies. It was good and the money worth, but it wasn’t extraordinary. You will love or hate it, come and try!

Pros: All vegan , All raw, Cheap

Cons: You need time

mockingbird

Points +2150

Vegan
12 Sep 2023

Attention raw lovers

Visited this place yesterday and had a gorgeous lunch. Difficult to find a health vegan place in the city and this one shines out. The space is a community cafe, so the service was friendly and relaxed, it was quiet on this lunchtime but i enjoyed watching the staff work on their small garden space where they grow and use the produce in their recipes. I went for the raw lasagna - absolutely delicious. Finished with a peppermint tea and energy ball.

CraigSinclair

Points +45

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

A must visit

Tasty and fresh options and friendly staff

ChloéSchwizgebel

Points +1074

Vegetarian
02 Jun 2023

Raw haven

Loved the originality of the place, the recipes and the chilled vibes of the owner. The raw Quiche lorraine was amazing as well as the raw lasagne.
Got to try a delicious Pumpkin seeds latte with plenty ginger.
Only small negative aspect, we waited a long time to be served but it was okay given the nice ambiance (and owner gave us free dessert to apologize) but maybe to keep in mind if you are in a rush.

Pros: Stunning recipes, Vibe

Cons: Waited a bit long

PhilomijnSinke

Points +88

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Lekker eten

Het eten was lekker, maar we hebben wel erg lang moeten wachten op het eten.

Haga72

Points +29

Vegan
03 Nov 2022

Excellent raw food

Very delicious raw food and smoothies

vandeVegtable

Points +1536

Vegan
03 Nov 2022

Cozy & wholesome

We were looking for dessert after our Ethiopian dinner at Addis Abbaba at Overtoom (highly recommend as well!) and stumbled onto this lovely place. They were closing up but the friendly owner still let us eat a piece of pie, which was yummy & filling. Perfect sweetness (not overly sweet) and great texture.
It was already dark outside and with all the fairy lights in the cafe it really felt like a magical place. I loved the interior, especially the bananas just ripening in front of the windows and the huge spice/herb cabinet that was on display!

Pros: Everything is healthy, Aka my dream place, Great vibe

JuliaB108

Points +80

Vegan
12 Jul 2022

Amazing!

The food was phenomenal and the staff was so friendly. Absolutely delicious smoothie and pasta pesto. I’ll be sure to visit every time I come to Amsterdam!

Pros: Many delicious options, A number of outdoor seats, Very friendly

dbader13

Points +2002

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Best raw food in Amsterdam

Amazing, healthy food. Try the rainbow plate and raw lasagna!! We also had a piece of mango-blueberry raw pie, and it was so good, we had a second piece! Very friendly staff and service. Highly recommend!!

alexeym

Points +126

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Nice place

Amazing mango smoothie and nice cake.

Pros: Lot’s of vegan options

SquirrelDi

Points +4089

Vegan
02 May 2022

Raw and wonderful !!

Authentic raw cuisine, friendly staff, delicious and wholesome food :). I had a lovely experience here, would definitely come back.

Nikos

Points +83

Vegan
22 Feb 2022

Best Raw Vegan Place in Amsterdam.

Besides the friendly stuff and well knowledged owner, the coconut yoghurt freshly made or chocolat tart and rainbow plate are few of the things you must try...the whole menu is so good you'd better arrange to come here for few days to discover all.

Pros: Coconut yoghurt, Chocolat Cake, Hamburger

Cons: Nothing to dislike :)

digitalmimi

Points +1794

Vegan
13 Dec 2021

Raw vegan

I guess I’m just not into the sort of hippy vibes. The portion sizes are small and its not cheap.

MariaD

Points +2396

Vegan
14 Nov 2021

Cosy restaurant with great raw vegan options!

Tried their chocolate pie and loved it! Really liked how they have raw vegan, gluten free and sugar free dishes.

Pros: All vegan!, Cosy ambience

TobiasPolenz

Points +30

Vegan
20 Sep 2021

Perfect for a short visit

Cozy restaurant & lots of tasty raw vegan foods

greenvalley

Points +23

Raw
27 Jul 2021

Lovely place with nice desserts

I'm in love with the atmosphere for some unknown reason. Maybe it's because of the ice-cream?
Food is tasty, portions are small but filling. Love smoothies, desserts are delicious.
So I must admit that the menu is on a pricey side (that's why I can't say it's 5/5).

Still, service is super helpful and polite.

Pros: Tasty food, Great atmosphere, Friendly staff

Cons: Price

AdrianaMatsufuji

Points +227

Vegan
31 Aug 2020

Food is ok, dessert is good!

Food is ok, I thought it was a little bit expensive for the quantity served. They also didn't have many options on the day i was there, so I was still hungry when i left. Dessert was really good though!

Miroya

Points +54

Vegan
19 Jul 2020

Love this place!

First of all the atmosphere was so nice and cozy and the people that worked there very helpful when I had a few questions. Second I looooved the food it tasted amazing, and it looks small but really fills you up so you won't leave hungry😉I had to wait on my order for a bit, but that's allright because preparing good food takes time! All in all I'm very happy that I stopped by🌿

Pros: Such delicious food, very healthy food, And the food is very fresh!

EfiB

Points +988

Vegan
02 Nov 2018

Not 100% vegan

They offer honey so it's not 100% vegan.
The food was okay, nothing more than that. Portions are small and I think it's a bit over-priced.

DidierM

Points +51

Vegan
20 Aug 2018

Raw vegan cafe

Laid back atmosphere. Had an excellently prepared zucchini lasagne.

JuliaGeorge

Points +28

Vegan
21 Jul 2018

Cool atmosphere

Service is super friendly and helpful. Healthy drink options are great and I wanted to come back for the vegan lasagna but I ran out of time.

HappyCouple

Points +43

Vegan
25 Jun 2018

Good smoothies, but limited options

After walking almost all morning, my boyfriend and I were really looking forward to drink a nice, healthy smoothie and eating soms snacks. The place looked cosy, clean and very 'natural', the guy who worked there was friendly. Unfortunately, we had limited options when choosing the ingredients for our smoothies, because most of it seemed to be out. There was also a weird and expensive system for charging the ingredients and the fruit bars we asked for, weren't made yet. We saw some other people ordening food and it looked fine, but the portions looked small and not worth the money. We would not recommend to go here when you're hungry, but it's OK to have some healthy snacks and drinks.
Updated from previous review on Saturday April 12, 2014


Updated from previous review on 2014-04-12

Pros: Healthy, Fine, clean place

Cons: Expensive, Food was out

DavidO'Donnell

Points +19

Mostly Veg
18 Jun 2018

Lovely breakfast

Had a lovely breakfast on a rainy early June morning. The breakfast plate had a tasty coconut yogurt and a great vegan granola. Unusual and beautifully prepared. The smoothie of the day was strawberry pineapple and very good, not overly sweet. The vegan quiche and pumpkin bread were more on the vinegar-y end of the taste spectrum (fermented?) which I liked but my 13yr old did not. Nice small charming place—more on the raw food trip, so friends who are not vegan might not be as enthused. Very welcoming and casual and a great cozy room with a scrabble set. Perfect place to start the day before heading out to see the sights in the drizzle.

nicosoto

Points +640

Vegan
04 Jun 2018

Perfect portions

Tasty Raw vegan food! Try the cakes and smoothies! Rainbow salad was perfect. Nice music and atmosphere. Free WiFi and good prices! @drnicosoto

Pros: Good prices, Wifi




This page has been viewed 47339 times.