Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
80,000+ listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

Afuri

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 8 reviews )
Contact
03-64381910
Find

1F, 3 Chome-6 3-1 Sendagaya, Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan, 151-0051

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ramen restaurant with one labeled vegan choice. Order at the machine in the front of the store by inserting money then select. Machine will give you a ticket which you exchange when seated at the bar. Note: kitchen may stop serving 30-60 minutes prior to closing, check ahead. Open Mon-Sun 10:00am-3:00am.

Categories: Ovo, Japanese, Beer/Wine, Non-veg

8 Reviews

First Review by schonstal

SabrinaNizeti

Contributions +142

Vegan
09 Sep 2018

Delicious ramen - Edit

You order the ramen from a machine. The vegan one is clearly marked. Fast and very friendly service. Great ramen that I really enjoyed with tasty veg.

Pros: Clearly marked vegan ramen

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

jennocide

Contributions +72

Vegan
29 Aug 2018

Kind of flavorless - Edit

Service was quick, veggies were fresh, but lacked flavor

Cons: Only one vegan option

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

konradson

Contributions +63

Vegetarian
04 Apr 2018

vegan ramen - Edit

it‘s easy to order (machine) and you can find Afuri all over the city, but the vegan ramen are not my favourite. the „soup“ tastes more like plain water.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

UrVeggieMate

Contributions +329

Vegan
03 Mar 2018

Quick, light ramen - Edit

NOTE: I went to the branch in Shinjuku station, NOT the Shibuya branch.

Ordered: Vegan ramen. There’s only one option on the menu. Does have the option to change to rice noodles but you have to pay extra for this.

You order from a vending machine. The vegan option is marked quite clearly in English so there’s no chance of accidentally ordering the wrong item.

This ramen is pricier than most other vegan ramens available in Tokyo (Afuri charges 1350 yen for theirs while Kyushu Jangara’s and T’s Tantan’s are 1000 yen or less. I didn’t pay a visit to Soranoiro but after some consulting of the internet, believe that their vegan options are priced around the 1100 yen mark).

It IS the only vegan option inside Shinjuku station though, (this is to my knowledge... please correct me if I am wrong here) and has the drawcard of having a carrot-based stock. This means that the ramen is lighter than a vegan ramen with a shiitake/kombu/soy milk based stock, but just as filling. Also, quite a number of seasonal veggies came with Afuri's ramen. Of all the ramens I had in Tokyo, Afuri’s had the most variety of veggie toppings by far. The ramen itself is rather tasty. The carrot flavour of the stock is quite evident and makes for a nice sweetness in the stock.

This place was BUSY. Shinjuku station is BUSY. If you want a seat here, best to come outside of the lunch rush hours! Having said that, I came here during the lunch rush hour and seats are available pretty quickly. The kitchen is very quick at getting meals out and no doubt the vending machine ordering system helps with that.

In summary, if you are in the Shinjuku area and need a quick tasty fix, then Afuri is a solid choice. However if you are travelling on a budget or are just on the hunt for the greatest vegan ramen in Tokyo, then there are other (read: probably better) options.

Pros: Lots of veggies! , Light but filling

Cons: Only one option , Need to pay extra to change to rice-noodles , Pricey compared to other veg ramens

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

edwardbc

Contributions +933

Vegan
20 Feb 2018

Quick and easy ramen - Edit

Quick option to get a ramen (they're also in Shinjuku station among other places). The vegan label is clearly labeled in the machine.

On the other side, as happy as one can be on chain adding vegan options this ramen fails to be as tasty as other vegan ramens in the city. So for me, this is an option in case I want a quick ramen and don't have the time to commute to a vegan ramen place.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

MelissaW

Contributions +221

Vegan
29 Jan 2018

Great ramen right next to Harajuku station - Edit

Cute ramen place, bar style setting where you order from a vending machine style set up. There is only one choice but it was very good and great to get in some veggies which are very lacking in a lot of the food here.

Pros: right near harajuku station , easy and quick , delicious ramen

Cons: very busy, wait in the cold (also pro because it’s

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

VegDre85

Contributions +66

Vegan
12 Oct 2017

easy to order, tasty ramen - Edit

The ordering-machine has a picture with "vegan ramen" written in english. One choice, but delicious ramen in a bar sitting type of setting. Highly recommended

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

schonstal

Contributions +264

Vegan
13 Sep 2017

good vegan ramen in harajuku - Edit

Only one vegan option on the menu, but it's quite good! A nice option if you're in harajuku.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Tokyo Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Afuri closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 999 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support