Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Buffet
Take-out
Taiwanese

Taiwanese restaurant and buffet near Mariahilfestrasse shopping district. Offers a la carte menu and lunch buffet. Menu is vegan-friendly and consists of some mockmeat dishes. Location has a beautiful garden. Open for lunch and dinner. Open Mon 11:30-15:00, Mon-Sun 17:30-22:00, Thu-Sun 11:30-15:00.


Venue map for Xu's Cooking
© OpenStreetMap contributors

91 Reviews

First Review by carnilius

Arya_adityan

Points +125

Vegan
27 Feb 2024

Numerous options!

I had a great time at xu’s! But I didn’t realize they were only cash, and I didn’t have any cash on me nor my international debit card was somehow working! After a bit of a panic there, the waiter was extremely calm and helpful and let me do an online transfer! I’m thankful she was so chill.

Oh the food was exceptional!!

Advertisement

EJ_eats

Points +112

Vegan
17 Jan 2024

Many years

They've been around for many many years, even back when it was hard to find vegan options anywhere.
Their food is really good, big portions, staff is always friendly.
Perfect for when you're craving this kind of food. The garden is nice as well.

Pros: Great taste, Many(!) choices, Friendly staff

trinksaufmich

Points +331

Vegan
01 Nov 2023

sehr sehr leckeres essen!

ich war dort buffet essen und es war super lecker! die fleischalternativen bestehen aus seitan und tofu und sind sehr lecker gewürzt. auch die bedienung ist sehr lieb.
es geht aber nur bar-zahlung.

JoelLai

Points +64

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Good chinese food

Good vegan chinese food in Vienna!

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-10

sophiee24

Points +616

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Great vegan food

Almost the entire menu is vegan. The Food is great, the portions are big and the staff is very friendly. Also the buffet is great, non vegan food is clearly labeld with a star.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-25

WalNuss

Points +47

Herbivore
30 Aug 2023

Für uns gibt es kein besseres Restaurant

Immer wieder einen Besuch wert - wann immer wir in Österreich sind statten wir dem Xu's einen Besuch ab. Das Essen ist ein Traum. Das Buffet ein kleines Schlaraffenland!

Wir haben weder in Österreich noch in Deutschland ein ähnlich gutes Restaurant gefunden. Nicht mal im Ansatz....

Pros: Bestes Essen - noch dazu ohne Glutamat , Buffet, Speisekarte ist Wahnsinn

Cons: Es gibt nichts Negatives!

nik27

Points +35

Mostly Veg
17 Jul 2023

Gutes Mittagsbuffet

Große Auswahl und sehr lecker.

MioMauser

Points +364

Vegetarian
17 Jun 2023

veggie taiwanese food nom

this is an awesome place to feast on veggie taiwanese food!!!!

Xariki

Points +355

Vegetarian
11 Jun 2023

Really good food! Lovely service!

So many options, tastes very good and the staff is very friendly. We even got one dessert for free for my Girlfriend cause only my menu had one inclusive! Perfect service!

Pros: Very good taste, So many option, Great service

Cons: A bit far from the city center

RiceRiot

Points +285

Vegetarian
09 Jun 2023

😋Just go there😋

✨A Spectacular Journey into Vegetarian and Vegan Gastronomy✨

I had the privilege of dining at a place where every dish celebrates the diversity and rich flavors of vegetarian and vegan cuisine. This is a haven for food lovers who prefer their meals to be plant-based.

The restaurant presents a myriad of dishes, each featuring an array of unique tastes. A noteworthy aspect is their commitment to inclusivity - any dish that is not inherently vegan can be customized to suit a vegan palette, ensuring that everyone's dietary preferences are well catered for. However, rest assured that each dish on offer is at least lacto/ovo vegetarian.

We chose a mixed three-course menu designed for a party of three or more. Priced reasonably at approximately €20 per person (excluding drinks), the menu featured an impressive variety of vegetables and different mock meats (and even vegan takes on popular seafood dishes are offered).

What took us by surprise was not just the superb taste, but the sheer volume of the food served. Each dish arrived in generous portions that overwhelmed us with their taste and quantity, to the extent that we found ourselves packing some for home.

Adding to the charm of the place was the courteous and congenial staff. They were conversant in Mandarin and proficient in German. I also suspect they would have a fair grasp of English.

The restaurant's location is a little tucked away, but its cozy ambiance more than makes up for it. They even offer an outdoor dining area for those who prefer to eat al fresco.

In conclusion, this is a must-visit spot for anyone who appreciates a culinary exploration of vegetarian and vegan fare in a warm, welcoming setting.

Pros: ✨soo much Fooooooood✨, EVERYTHING VEGETARIAN/VEGAN , Lots of variety!!!

Cons: None...

AimPB

13 Aug 2023

S.M.Snider

Points +22

Vegan
30 May 2023

20+ years of all you can eat goodness

been going there for 20 years, highlight of every vienna trip.

Pros: very tasty, all you can eat lunch, super friendly staff

Cons: austria

Julie90

Points +932

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Mock meat heaven

Firstly: The staff here is lovely. Secondly: The food is sooo incredibly good. We had the menu for 3 people which would have easily accommodated 4. Therefore we found the 60€ for it quite fair! Big indoor seating.

TomerHasid

Points +50

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

Best vegan Asian restaurant I've been to

The best vegan Asian restraunt I've been to. A lot of special vegan dishes, the service is great and prices are more than reasonable. I highly recommend the vegan shrimps, won ton dumplings, picant soup and cucumber garlic salad. If you are a vegan then it should be at your must visit places :)

Pros: Almost all the menu is vegan, The food is great and special

julicooli

Points +38

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Schmeckt super!

Haben eine gemischte vegane Platte mit verschiedenen Hauptspeisen bestellt und alle waren sehr lecker.

Pros: 90% vegane Gerichte

Cons: Portionen etwas kleiner

lisamariaschreiber

Points +1758

Vegan
20 Jan 2023

Amazing Buffet

Buffet was great for what you pay. Everything non Vegan ist Marked with a Star. So, almost fully Vegan! #Veganuary

Best.4u_

26 Feb 2023

ChiaraFabienne

Points +876

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

So zu empfehlen

Waren Mittagsbuffet
Große Empfehlung
Sehr lecker

Pros: Nicht teuer , Sehr lecker , So freundliches Personal

Cons: Paar Gerichte mit Eier

Best.4u_

26 Feb 2023

bough

Points +334

Vegan
17 Oct 2022

Great Chinese buffet

Great buffet! Well labled when not vegan.

Pros: Good prices, Nice staff

LouiseCharlotte

Points +508

Vegan
02 Oct 2022

Amazing food and stuff

The vegan chicken was unreal. 😍 Can’t believe it was vegan, honestly soo good. They offer so many dishes and the stuff was very friendly. 10/10 would recommend.

Pros: many vegan options , great taste , great value

SonjaSchönbauer

Points +30

Vegan
25 Sep 2022

Super lecker

Das meiste vegan, viel Auswahl

Pros: Das meiste vegan, Super lecker, Viel Auswahl

AmySutton

Points +29

Vegetarian
19 Aug 2022

sooooooooooo good

I had special chicken and fried rice, it was incredible

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-19

Pros: soooo many options, service is fab

cokru

Points +86

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

Best vegan Restaurant in Vienna

As someone from Vienna I have to say, that Xu’s is definitely the best and our favorite place for vegans. They have an incredibly large amount of vegan options with some of the best meat substitutes we’ve ever had and the only reason why they are not listed as a fully vegan restaurant is because of their egg fried rice and some desserts, otherwise everything you’ll find is vegan. They have an all you can eat buffet, but I would definitely recommend to eat something from the menu as they have more/ better options there.

The restaurant may not look that pretty, but if you are in Vienna and are in the mood for Asian vegan food you have to give Xu’s cooking a visit.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, All you can eat buffet, Very good meat substitute

Cons: Literally nothing

KaceyQuennell

Points +38

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Brilliant place

English menu for easy translation, such lovely service, big portions, delicious… what a great place.

VeganSquirrel

Points +48

Vegan
30 Jun 2022

Amazing food, amazing price

One of my absolutely favourite places to go to in Vienna. The all you can eat buffet has incredible options, is 95% vegan and very affordable!

Pros: Lots of options , Very cheap , Delicious!

Cons: Nothing!

MilenaSK

Points +160

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

Empfehlenswert

Ich war schon mehrmals hier. Die Bedienung ist immer nett, die Atmosphäre auch, und das rein vegetarische Menü mit überwiegend veganen Optionen wirklich lecker, auch für nicht-VeganerInnen :)

Pros: Fast nur vegane Gerichte, alles vegetarisch , Gastgarten , Freundliches Personal

Cons: Preise im mittleren Segment, lohnt sich aber

KatziW

Points +258

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

mixed feelings

I have known this restaurant for years and have been there several times. I don't like the buffet at all. I prefer the dishes on the menu. The tables are often dirty and so are the toilets.

PiaG

Points +196

Vegan
05 May 2022

Wirklich ein geniales Konzept

Eine (fast) komplett vegane Speisekarte

Pros: Alles vegan, bis auf Eier in manchen Gerichten, Toll gekennzeichnet (nicht-vegane Gerichte), Sehr freundliches Personal

mrsgreeniii

Points +110

Vegan
18 Apr 2022

Super!

Wirklich leckeres chinesisches Essen. Sehr viel Auswahl. 😇 Die Vorspeise mit den Gemüsebällchen war der Hammer!




This page has been viewed 19412 times.