• Williamson Street Co-op

  • (19)
    21
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Cooperative market specializing in natural and organic food, including vegan. Stocks fresh fruits and vegetables, bakery goods, nutritional supplements, cooking and pantry items, and more. Has deli, hot food and salad bar. One of three stores - also known as Willy Street Co-op. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Williamson Street Co-op
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by davielala

veggie_htx

Points +2082

Vegan
16 Apr 2023

Great prepared food options

Everything vegan is clearly labeled. I got a few bean salads, the smoky black bean and sweet potato was 10 out of 10. I got a few baked goods, and the vegan peanut butter rice crispy treat with chocolate was unbelievably good!

Advertisement

111artsgallery

Points +1025

Vegan
15 Aug 2022

Super ! Deli bar w to go cooler

Grabbed to go wrap and some southern fried tofu , friendly co-op exactly the type o like w a Fri hot bar cold bar so yumm for vegans so many options it is a co op and not 100% vegan but I felt good spending money there !

Pros: Lots vegan options , Hot cold deli bar , It’s a co op and really nice staff great section

Cons: Serves meat

vegan_mar

Points +139

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

OG willy at location

This is the original willy st co-op location and has the largest selection of the 3. I love the bakery, hit bar, and deli for finding new vegan foods. They also have many of their recipes online so if you buy something that you like from them you may be able to recreate it at home!

MalloryFlanders

Points +237

Vegan
20 Sep 2020

My go-to grocery in Madison

Everyone is just so nice and great selection for an urban coop.

stezeiger

Points +106

Vegetarian
08 Feb 2020

I literally travel to come here

Such a cute little shop so many good vegan options!

HealYourDisease.com

Points +1223

Vegan
24 Jan 2020

One of the best Co-ops in the country

I was really impressed by the selection, service, and welcoming vibe. I can't wait to visit again.

Irisvane

Points +636

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Great selections of produce

They have produce for days, lots of health food and vegan processed food. They have some vegan baked goods and vefan food at the hot bar too.

Pros: Vegan options for fresh food, Lots of produce, Friendly customer service.

Cons: I want more vegan options

tsworth

Points +115

Vegan
09 Sep 2017

Awesome co-op with a lot of variety

I just moved to Madison from Portland, OR and fell in love with this co-op. Plenty of vegan options throughout the store, including their bakery and hot bar, and a variety of gluten free options for those with additional dietary needs. Also, they have a fresh smoothie/juice bar and kombucha on tap.

shafess

Points +600

Vegan
10 Apr 2017

Blown away

I was absolutely blown away by the vegan options at this co-op. I was just visiting Madison and am a big fan of co-ops so we stopped there for breakfast one morning. I was seriously overwhelmed and wanted to buy everything! We ended up doing the hot bar which had a scramble and french toast, and there was no way I was passing up the breakfast biscuit sandwich. I'd been craving a buttery, moist biscuit since I became vegan almost four years ago and I honestly thought about that sandwich for weeks afterwards. It was just a vegan sausage patty and a slice of vegan cheese but it was heaven.

Pros: Incredible selection, Delicious breakfast, BISCUITS!

Cons: Nothing!

lisaz3349

Points +282

Vegan
16 Aug 2016

Great store

Great shop with LOADS of cool vegan goodies in the bakery, including donuts!!!

Pros: Vegan Donuts , Vegan cookies, Vegan peanut butter bars!!!

m@earthville

Points +9161

Vegan
30 Jun 2016

great coop

Excellent selection of healthy, organic, and vegan food. Friendly vibes, ample parking.

Mpveg

Points +334

Vegan
29 Aug 2015

great Co-op

Crazy good selection for the size of the store. Loved that the bakery items were clearly marked with a case for vegan and a case for gf. Btw the vegan cupcake was worth the calories :) Large bulk food section. We stopped in on a cab drivers recommendation for vegan snacks on half marathon weekend but may drive 2 hours each way just to go to the co-op

starlyse

Points +357

Vegan
08 Sep 2013

best grocery store in Madison

Willie St Co-op always has the freshest produce in Madison. The variety of fresh food and packaged food always surprises me. They're generally cheaper than Whole Foods, and they have a lot of vegan products that Trader Joes just doesn't carry. Also, their bulk food area is constantly bring used and restocked, so you know nothing has been sitting there for a terribly long time.
Updated from previous review on Sunday September 08, 2013

Pros: freshness, variety, price

Cons: parking

knit-picky-vegan

Points +88

Vegan
05 Oct 2012

The Best Natural Foods Co-op in Central Wisconsin!

Willy Street Co-op is one of the best natural foods store icons in Wisconsin, and has been since 1974. The selection of shelf product, fresh foods, bakery, frozen foods, and body care items is completely and welcomingly diverse. I've never walked out of either of their locations wonting, I always find what I need or want, with or without the assistance of staff. As a Vegan I can state with all confidence and directness that Willy St always has what I am looking for - they have an incredibly extensive selection of Vegan products, produce, and offerings of fresh Vegan fare in their delis and bakeries. Plus, their class offerings meet anyone's interest(s).
Willy Street serves and supports the Madison area with deep commitment and joy. It's a place all members and customers are very proud of and support.

Pros: Excellent Delis & Loads of Local Vendors, Complete, diverse selection of product, Friendly, helpful Staff & Leadership

Cons: None, yet..., I've always had great experiences

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
20 Jul 2012

One of the best Co-ops in america

So I LOVE CO-OPs, it doesn't take much to impress me, but the vegan pumpernickel bagels here were just too amazing they've left an indelible impression on my palate and I would fly back to Madison just for these bagels! Wills street has great parking, just mind the no left turn out of the parking lot during certain hours. Every natural grocery item you can think of is there and plenty of live plants and outdoor eating area. This would be my daily jam if I lived in Madison, congrats for having such an awesome co-op!

Pros: bagels!

Rob Latousek

Points +28

Vegan
03 Mar 2012

Best Food Co-op Ever!

I've been a member of several food co-ops over the years, and this is the best by far. Huge variety of foods available, including fair-trade, locally sourced, and largely organic--including almost ALL of the fresh produce (fruits/veggies)! Great deli with plenty of veg and vegan options, salad and juice bars, and ready-to-go items. Decent seating area up front near windows for in-house eating.

KenC

Points +75

Vegan
15 Nov 2009

The Best

This is our very favorite co-op (we belong to more than one and shop in several). The choices are excellent and the prepared foods are especially good. The bakery is a favorite. Even my 90 year old mother loves the vegan peanut butter cookies, which gives me something good to buy for her.

Pros: Prepared foods, Bakery

rccourtney

Points +102

Vegan
14 Jan 2009

Excellent co-op

This is a nice, well lit, clean co-op. Prices tend to be less than Whole Paycheck (Whole Foods). Good selection of vegan desserts and other vegan items. Good sized selection of health and beauty items. If you don't have a membership, you will be charged 10% extra for purchases.

Employees run the gamut and can either be great or more interested in chatting than doing their job. This place seems to have lots of turnover though based on the fact I see new people on almost every one of my bimonthly trips.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great deli , reasonable prices

Cons: staff can be inattentive and unhelpful

davielala

Points +19

Mostly Veg
28 Feb 2007

a definite YES

we love [censored] street and shop there all the time. they have a wonderful salad bar. and their produce is excellent.




This page has been viewed 5806 times.