Veggie Castle II

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 22 reviews )
Contact
718-641-8342
Find

132-09 Liberty Ave (at off Van Wyck Expwy), Queens, New York, USA, 11419

Casual vegetarian restaurant with counter service. Uses mock meats in dishes. Open Mon-Fri 10:00am-10:00pm, Sat 10:00am-11:00pm, Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Fast food, Take-out, Caribbean, West Indian

22 Reviews

First Review by Vegan Goddess

If your thinking about becoming vegan! - Edit

This place is a must try especially if your a new vegan. The food is fresh and packed with amazing flavor you won't even miss the meat! I've had friends who are meat eaters and can't believe all the food is 100% vegan. In my opinion the ginger "chicken" is a must try I also really liked the pepper "steak". Everything is made the day of and is out buffet style and the workers serve you. It can get very busy since they are very popular but the wait is no more then 10 minutes usually. This place is great for a quick up and have seating options if your not in a rush.

Pros: 100% vegan, Quick pick up or dine in

Cons: Hard to find parking

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/wolfy">wolfy</a> <br/>"Pepper" steak, ginger "chicken", mac and "cheese" <br/> October 22, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/317690'>Report</a>

"Pepper" steak, ginger "chicken", mac and "cheese"

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/wolfy">wolfy</a> <br/>Ginger "chicken", BBQ "chicken", mac and "cheese" <br/> October 22, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/317689'>Report</a>

Ginger "chicken", BBQ "chicken", mac and "cheese"

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food fast! - Edit

Every dish I have tried in this place has been off the charts good. This is a must stop.

Pros: The staff is friendly

Cons: I wish there was a Florida location 😉

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

a LOT of good food!!! - Edit

There were so many choices that I could not wrap my head around it all. There’s something for everyone. Whether you are having food or you want something light, you can make it work. Desserts are out of this world!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome - Edit

First time tasting the food today. I'm in love. Can't wait to try more.

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/ShaniHannah">ShaniHannah</a> <br/>My first time. So I tried a few new things. Love it.  <br/> September 19, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/305923'>Report</a>

My first time. So I tried a few new things. Love i...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love This Restaurant, Try This Place Out! - Edit

So I'm someone who comes here a lot, and since I do, I've noticed that this place has its good and not so good days. For example, their Mac n Chz is usually really great, but every now and then, taste bland. Their plantains and red lentil patties, on the other hand, aren't usually the best, but sometimes they're superb. Regardless I love this place. They have a large selection of usually great food, friendly service, lovely beverages (they have a smoothie for everything), tasty desserts, and a dining room. In addition to this, this place is owned by a very popular restaurant called Sybil's, located next door. Sybils has a selection of real meats for your meat eating friends so really, this location is very accommodating. If you have a chance, give Veggie Castle a chance, I'm sure you'll love it.

Updated from previous review on 2017-09-04

Pros: (Soy-less) Mac n Chz and Soy Burger, Gus Ginger Ale and Tazo Green Tea

Cons: Crowded Area

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

love it - Edit

Amazing food. Food fresh every time. Their "chicken" wraps are delicious !

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A great find! - Edit

Omg, I really enjoyed eating at this cute little eatery. I had the BBQ chikn, macaroni and cheese, and chickpeas. The flavor was incredible and refreshing to know that vegan culinary creativity could be so delicious.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 - Edit

Everything here is ace. If you want mac-n-cheese, arrive early. Big portions, fair prices, and a nice selection of desserts from Vegan Treats along with in-house Guyanese-style baked goods like pineapple tart and cassava pone. I always bring my own containers and they fill them up for me with all that awesome home-cooked food. I haven't tried the juice bar yet, but they have a nice selection of fresh fruit and vegetable juices to choose from.

For anyone complaining about slow service, this is indicative of many small Caribbean places. Culturally speaking, they are usually not in a rush and move in a very controlled fashion. In terms of seating, this is more of a takeout joint, but if you must sit, please don't clown their lack of arrangements. Their setup is typical of NYC Caribbean take-out shops, so there's nothing out of the norm here. Just have an uncomfortable seat and enjoy some of the best comfort food you'll ever have.

I'm really lucky to live only a couple of miles from here. If you're in town or flying in/out of JFK, stop here on your way to or from the airport. You'll be in for a great experience.

Pros: Mac-n-cheese is legendary, Big portions/inexpensive , Caribbean specialty items

Cons: None

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/unabashed">unabashed</a> <br/>Brussels sprouts, drumsticks, and two portions of mac-n-cheese.  $8.75 and more than enough food for one person.   <br/> June 3, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/265467'>Report</a>

Brussels sprouts, drumsticks, and two portions of ...

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/unabashed">unabashed</a> <br/>Choose 4 selections for $8.75.  <br/> June 3, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/265466'>Report</a>

Choose 4 selections for $8.75.

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/unabashed">unabashed</a> <br/>Veggie options along with MAC-N-CHEESE and drumsticks and ginger chicken. Select 4 options for  $8.75.  <br/> June 3, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/265465'>Report</a>

Veggie options along with MAC-N-CHEESE and drumsti...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ital jockey is my fav - Edit

as good as it gets for vegan take out.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth a trip from JFK - Edit

Kind of hole-in-the-wall looking, but everything is vegan, and quite tasty. You order at the counter, and if you like, you can follow a corridor in the back for place to sit and eat. There were several people in line with me, all regulars, and everyone was saying how much they love the place.

The eggplant side dish that I had was delicious! If was hungrier, I'd try the vegan blueberry cheesecake that the woman at the next table is liking so much that she called her cousin to tell her about it.

Pros: Tasty!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing food - Edit

I have tried their food and it's pretty good. They even have a sitting arrangements. Great place to eat Vegitarian food. Must try!!!

Cons: hard to get parking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

slow and steady - Edit

If you're not hungry, just get in line because by the time they reach you, you'll be starving. This place is always packed and the employees act like there is no one waiting HOWEVER it is so so so worth it. The food is amazing! I guess try non peak hours?

Photo of Veggie Castle II  by <a href="/members/profile/SarahEatsPlants123">SarahEatsPlants123</a> <br/>mini meal! <br/> April 26, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/9740/146353'>Report</a>

mini meal!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

LOVE this place! - Edit

I absolutely love this place! I stop here every time on the way to and from JFK. Their mac and cheese and their drumsticks are amazing! And so are their cheesecakes, especially the chocolate/peanut butter ones... Their prices are also very reasonable considering how large the portions are. Highly recommend it!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Mac N Cheese - Edit

This mac n cheese.... Out of this world... Cannot believe it's vegan!!! And their jerk chicken and chicken burgers were awesome. Cannot wait to go back and try everything.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +16

Great vegan caribbean food - Edit

Over the past week, I've been to Veggie Castle II at least three times. The food tastes great and they have very good customer service. I think their vegan mac 'n cheeze is popular because each time I went their I was only able to order it once - it was sold out on the other days. The barbecue vegan drumsticks are very good. I also had some vegan pepperpot (tasted just like the pepperpot from back home - minus all the animal meat). This is one of my favorite restaurants/bakery and I would recommend anyone check it out. They also serve many smoothies - my friend tried one and said it tasted really good.

Pros: everything is vegan, good value for your money, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow!! So good!! - Edit

I went here last night for the first time and got food to go. It was amazing. There are a few vegan Caribbean places in NYC but this is the best I've had so far. The prices are fair and the portions are huge. There was so much to choose from, and they just kept putting out more trays as I was waiting to order. I was overwhelmed. It was so hard to narrow it down! There were a few people in front of me but the line moved quickly. Because they're busy, the food doesn't just sit there- everything was fresh and delicious!
I had the large meal- 3 sides and 2 proteins for $13. I ordered kale, spinach and curried chickpeas with BBQ drumsticks and ginger chick'n. The drumsticks looked so good I knew my family would want more so I ordered 3 extra. I was right, they loved everything! The greens were so, so fantastic. I also ordered 2 veggie patties and 3 desserts and the whole bill came to $35. The cakes are from Vegan Treats, not that they label them but I've read that in other reviews and saw a bunch that I have already had at other places. The selection at Veggie Castle is bigger than I've seen anywhere else though. The cakes I got were flavors we'd never had before: peanut butter chocolate cheesecake, German chocolate cake and a huge cinnamon bun. Because of the fast turnover there, the desserts were super fresh. Vegan Treats makes great stuff but sometimes they are a little dry but I figure that's because they are a little stale. Not at Veggie Castle; everything was moist and delicious- and they were at least half the price of the same thing at say, Atlas Cafe in Manhattan. The German chocolate cake with coconut frosting was amazing. I will definitely be back. They have so many options- all vegan, all fresh. I can't wait to try their breakfast. They also have burgers and fries as well as fresh juices. I'm so excited to have found this place!!

Pros: lots and lots of choices, fresh food, fair prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome Food! - Edit

Only place in queens where I can get Vegan "BBQ Ribs" and some Okra and Collard Greens.

It's the tastiest thing ever.

Seriously, I had a fix for this stuff for weeks and everyday I would drive down that crazy crowded van wyck just to get it.

Only downsides are: Hard to find parking, and is not a sit down place.

Pros: Casual Atmosphere, Great Food, Nice Service

Cons: No Parking, No Sit Downs (well they have two stools)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Caribbean Food! - Edit

I love it here! EVERYTHING is vegan. This is a counter service type establishment. They make a number of dishes that you can take with you or eat in their newish seating area (they used to just have a couple of stools and a little counter, but now they have a whole room with several tables and chairs).

Everything is so good! I buy a lot of vegan goodies from Vege Eats in Flushing, and a lot of Veggie Castle II's food seems to be made from the same stuff (which is really interesting, because most of the products at Vege Eats are from Taiwan). I just wish my cooking was as good as Veggie Castle II's! My partner and I love to order a large meal (two protein dishes and three sides) and share. It is plenty of food for two, though you may love it so much, you'll want to get more. AND they have vegan patties (fake Jamaican beef patties, callaloo patties, bean patties, fake fish patties, etc etc etc).

They also have a lot of desserts. Some look like they are from Vegan Treats in PA, but the flavors are unlike those that are usually sold in NYC. I've seen pistacchio cake at Veggie Castle II. Some desserts are made in house, including their Jamaican cassava cake. It's so delicious! Much like a Filipino cassava cake, but much more coconutty. Next Christmas, I'll be sure to see if they sell vegan rum cake. MMMMM!!!

Also try their herbal root beverages, if your curiosity is piqued!

The restaurant is only closed three days a year: Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's, I think!

Pros: Everything is vegan!, Caribbean food!, Patties!

Cons: None!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent Food - Edit

What a FANTASTIC Restaurant! Everything was great--the food, the service, the dining area. We loved the curry "chicken" and the BBQ "drumsticks" most of all. (They use May-Wah products, but they cook them so that they are tender and delectable. I’ve never had such delicious May-Wah chicken!) The side dishes are tasty, and the desserts are incredible and reasonably priced. We had chocolate peanut butter cake and avocado cheesecake—both were spectacular. Cheerful reggae music plays in the background, and overall it has a very positive vibe. We will definitely go back next time we are in NY.

Pros: Good food, Good service, Nice dining area

Cons: Some items can be a bit too oily

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Get This! - Edit

I went a few miles out of my way to JFK to try Veggie Castle and it was a delicious detour! It's a treat to have an all-vegan menu to choose from and it was difficult to choose. Ended up with a plate of sweet and sour tofu, steamed greens, and kidney bean stew. All were excellent. Huge selection of juices to cure any ailment you may or may not have -- went with a kale and citrus mix to battle "fatigue." Vegan cake slices were 3 for $10 so had to try three -- get the carrot cake and you will not be disappointed. In addition to the tummy-pleasing food, the staff was delightful and there is seating in a very sleek little dining room where you can take your time to savor the food and listen to reggae.

Pros: amazing menu selection, generous portions, huge juice variety

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Soy burger was amazing! - Edit

I was suprised how good a plain vegan soy burger with ketchup tasted!
The people working there we're very nice.

Pros: Nice people

Cons: Not everything looks fresh

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good - Edit

This is vegan caribbean food that's very good. It's cafeteria style with only 2-3 places to sit. The food is big portions and reasonably priced. The shakes/smoothies are VERY overpriced. They also have the vegan cakes from PA for a reasonable price.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Queens Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Veggie Castle II closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8342 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support