Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Take-out

ヴェジハーブサーガ, at 東京都台東区上野5-22-1 東鈴ビルB, moved this space in summer 2015. It's an Indian vegetarian restaurant that offers also Jain food. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Vege Herb Saga
© OpenStreetMap contributors

54 Reviews

First Review by Aya

yungveg17

Points +1035

Vegan
12 Jan 2024

Kinda hit or miss

We went here only because a lot of the vegan places in Tokyo have odd hours and weren't open for dinner that night.

It was okay overall but not great. While I enjoyed the aloo gobhi and channa masala fine, we found the other dishes overly salty (rassam soup, samosa and chutney).

It ended up being one of our more expensive meals in Japan (though we did get a lot in order to have some leftovers).

All in all, it was a pretty underwhelmingdisappointing experience.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-11

Pros: Large vegan menu

Cons: Hit or miss on the dishes

Advertisement

SriramNatarajan

Points +101

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2023

World class vegetarian Indian soul food

If you are looking for authentic Indian food , you must visit this amazing restaurant in the heart of Tokyo. Located next to Okachimachi station, this is your last word in authentic freshly cooked Indian vegetarian food.
The dishes taste better than most places even in India!!
The service is impeccable and caring.
Try their Inji Kathirikai- a unique signature brinjal 🍆 based starter.
The rotis, Naan, paneer subzi, chole and every item in the menu is prepared from scratch after you order. The dal baati choorma is as authentic and delicious as it can get!
And round off the meal with a coconut kulfi or gajar ka halwa!
If there was a Michelin Star for vegetarian restaurants, this one would be right on top!!

AnFa

Points +405

Vegan
18 Nov 2023

Huge Dosa!

We had the dosas which are absolutely huge and delicious! Service is very friendly as well.

The place is located in a basement, just head down the stairs.

kylijshaw

Points +586

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

Sooo many options

Wow so many options! I was actually thrown by all the choices they had (items marked with a star all were/could be made vegan.) I opted for some more veggie forward dishes but all the deep fried “donuts” and potato sides looked super tempting.
We had the a cucumber salad (I forget the correct name) and it was really nice and flavourful and the veggies were crunchy and fresh. I chose the mixed veggie curry and rice and I really enjoyed it. Not too heavy which is what I was hoping for. My sister got the tofu curry and it was really tasty as well.
The ambiance was a bit lacking but for me the food more than made up for it.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-27

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Flavourful

mysticsonic

Points +757

Vegan
27 Sep 2023

Great flavour Indian food

The food was really flavorful and delicious. I had Tofu curry and it was lovely. The vegan options are abundant and well marked - we feel regret that we didn't try more things! There were various Indian breads and abundant delicious looking appetizers which I was amazed to see could be made vegan.
We were the only people in the restaurant (which I assume is due to our early dinner eating habits!), which is tucked away downstairs, and there was no music playing, which made for a slightly off-putting ambiance, but the food more than made up for it.

kaus19

Points +904

Vegetarian
16 Sep 2023

Awesome Food

Tried chole bhature and thali; it was delicious. Many options to choose from but a bit expensive. Staff were good and they even served mangoes upon request. Definitely try it out.

One of the select places where you can find eggless Naan in Tokyo.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-16

JessicaEnglish

Points +111

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

Delicious!

Ordered so much food and everything was wonderful! The tofu curry was outstanding and the paratha bread was perfect. Had so much food leftover was able to have it for dinner the next night. Worth the trip over.

ladygluck

Points +100

Vegan
17 Jun 2023

Great Indian Curry

Loved the Indian curry, I had a paneer curry and lemon daal. Staff very friendly and attentive and speak some English. The lassi drink is also really tasty. Portion sizes are on the small side but for a light lunch it's perfect.

miss_natnat

Points +298

Vegan
16 May 2023

It’s okay

The restaurant was very empty and not really cozy. The food was delicious but the portion size is small. It’s a little bit overpriced. They have many vegan options.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-15

Pros: Many vegan dishes , Easy to find the restaurant , Good taste

Cons: Not really cozy, The staff service was just… nah., Small portions

HeathShadow

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Feb 2023

Good veg food with lot of options

Indian style veg food with lot of options and good taste

Pros: Lots of veg options, Delicious food

Cons: Waiters are kind but pry for an extra dish

jerojeri

Points +80

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Great vegan options

One of my favorites in Tokyo. Excellent Indian food. The staff are very accommodating if not very personable. Vegan options are clearly displayed and there are a lot of them. Everything I’ve had here has been delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-13

GrayHorwitz

Points +1667

Vegan
16 Nov 2021

Great Indian gem hidden away

Chef came out with some on-the-house appetizers while we looked through the menu Wow! What a huge menu! So many choices... I went with the masala dosa which was actually quite cheap, yet more than I could eat! It was the only thing I got and I shared some and I still needed take some home (and yes they had to go containers). Food was very tasty and was pretty spicy which was a nice authentic touch, but also a warning to those who don’t like spicy food; maybe ask for something less spicy.

Updated from previous review on 2020-01-30

Cons: Cash only

AuntieGame

Points +82

Vegan
28 Oct 2021

Absolutely delicious!

The samosas are the best I’ve ever had! The Chana masala and roti are perfection. I did not enjoy the veg kabab, as it was very salty, but otherwise I loved this place.

cbegley1808

Points +380

Vegan
31 Jul 2021

Best curry I’ve ever had!!

Indian food is my go to for comfort and all time favourite so I make a point to try out as many restaurants as I can. I have to say this was the best curry I have ever had, so rich and full of flavour! I can’t wait to go back again!

Pros: Amazing flavoursome food , Huge menu!!!, English speaking staff

Cons: Some dishes are a little expensive

JMeenoo

Points +43

Vegetarian
05 Jan 2021

Too good to be true

It’s the Best Indian cuisine I had till date. The taste is authentic, the staff is accommodating and food is just out of the world . They cater India from all parts - be it Northern or Southern parts of india.

Pros: Pure vegetarian restaurant , The location

ilovevegsince1996

Points +13

Vegetarian
07 Nov 2020

Terrible service!!

Would have rated zero stars but the app only allows a minor two stars. The waiter has an extremely bad attitude, forcing us to order more even when we are already full. He was placing the menu close to my friend’s face to make her order more even when we told him three times, “That’s all for the order. We are very full now.”

Cons: Really bad attitude, Forces people to order more., Slow to service us initially as well

Alohammm

Points +117

Vegan
18 Aug 2020

Vegan friendly amazing pure veg indian food

For Thali lunch, they can make vegan Roti or chapati instead of Naan (contain dairy). Roti was very good. So far, this is the best Indian authentic foods I've had in Japan, especially the aroma and acidity balance of sambar was amazing. Cannot wait to try Masala dosa next time. They said they can make Biryani vegan as well without ghee!

Pros: Everything fresh, feel good foods, Very friendly service , Perfect spicy level

Cons: Vegan milk option would be nice (soy is easy) , Masala chai would be nice instead of black tea

RyoMiyazawa

Points +219

Mostly Veg
27 Jan 2020

Good carry restaurant

Recommended for South Indian food lovers.

Pros: many carry, friendly

carles.lorente

Points +455

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Good indian restaurant

They have so many vegan options. Maybe the orice a little bit high, but all the rest (flavour, serve, good ingredients...) compense this thing.💚

Pros: Many vegan options, Very good flavour

Cons: A little bit expensive, Cash only

ChopinTristesse

Points +65

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2019

Nice food. Good service. Not child-friendly.

Jain dosai 1550yen, a bit pricey. Was given complementary water
Dasai taste good.
Need to take the steps from level 1 to B1. Not for wheelchair/stroller

Pros: Lots of choices. Can request for vegan version

Cons: Expensive, Not accessible for wheelchair/stroller

allergy.traveller

Points +14

Non Veg
30 Oct 2019

Best vege Indian I've ever had

Underground cute with a wholesome family vibe. I stopped in for lunch and was impressed. Curries all authentic, naan fresh, and tasty chai. Cannot fault it. I'll be back!

mstea

Points +91

Vegetarian
25 Oct 2019

Already planning a return trip

Love this place. Amazing selection, and everything we had was delicious.

Pros: Amazing variety of kinds of foods , Perfectly fluffy naan

Cons: Waiter made a couple of minor errors with our ord

Zubon

Points +16

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Nice food, unpleasant staff

The food was delicious and vegan items were clearly marked on the menu, but the deliciousness of the meal was thoroughly mitigated by the obnoxious staff. Touchy-feely and overly familiar, the waiter's attitude was more than enough to ensure that I won't be visiting again.

Pros: Authentic, spicy Indian food, Vegan items clearly marked

Cons: Wait Staff, Wait Staff, Wait Staff

veganboi69420

Points +188

Vegan
21 May 2019

Delicious!

Simple and delicious curry, with vegan options clearly marked. Unfortunately none of the naan is vegan but they do have vegan roti and chappati. I found the roti a little dense and overdone. We had the Tofu curry and a potato curry and both were simple but full of flavour.

This restaurant has a HUGE menu so there is definitely a curry for everyone. Maybe not somewhere to go out of your way for, but delicious food none the less.

Not sure why people have mentioned that there is a language barrier. All staff seemed to speak both English and Japanese.

Zokkery

Points +58

Mostly Veg
29 Apr 2019

Good Food, No Experience

We went the two of us for the lunch set.

I can confirm the rather unpleasant experience with the staff. Low Japanese and English language capacity made it difficult to ask any questions about the menu.

If you want vegan food, the menu seems safe. Point out if you want complete vegan lunch. The menu comes with diary drinks, which can be swapped to tea upon request.

All in all, for lunch it was ok, I guess. I do not recommend it to tourists. There is not much experience here. If you work in the area, and look for an ok place for lunch, then this is an ok place.

Pros: Good food, Vegan possible

Cons: No experience for tourists, Partially unpleasant staff

Chri.st.a

Points +23

Vegetarian
17 Apr 2019

Delicious Lunch Menu

I had a good experience in the Veg. Saga Restaurant. The staff were all very friendly. For lunch you can choose from three different options all served with Naan or rice. Reasonable prices. The taste of the curries was good, not like in India, but good😄Can recommend the place!

Lena_Marie

Points +37

Vegan
29 Nov 2018

Unpleasant

To start with the positive, the curry was good but that's it.
It did not look clean at all.
The waiter was obnoxious, he was almost yelling at us and other customers, no smile, chewing gum. I just wanted to eat my food as quickly as possible and get out.
I would never recommend this place, I'm sorry I didn't just get up and leave but the waiter scared me so I didn't dare.

Pros: Good food, Many vegan options

Cons: Dirty , Obnoxious waiter, Expensive




This page has been viewed 23490 times.