VanGogh's Eeterie

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 11 reviews )

Find

334 E Commercial St, Springfield, Missouri, USA, 65803

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indo-Dutch cuisine with some vegan offerings marked on the menu, including beet hummus, veggie kroepoek, oma's garden soup, a vegan cheese board, the Nancy Olthoff sandwich, strawberry frisee salad, kapsalon tofu platter, Liza's stamppot, vegan nasi goreng, Daubigny's garden savory pancake, a dessert berry lemon tart, and a breakfast tofu scramble. Specializes in Dutch pancakes. Open Tue-Thu 10:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 8:00am-9:00pm, Sun 8:00am-2:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Beer/Wine, Fusion, Gluten-free, Breakfast, Indonesian, Dutch, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by cheerfulwoman

AnnieAnderson

Points +70

Vegan
10 Oct 2021

Wish they had more

Good vegan options love getting breakfast here

arleen3

Points +28

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Great place to eat!

They have several vegan and gf options so I could have given 5 stars but it was not allowed. Great place to eat and great service!

SarahSmile

Points +42

Vegan
12 Apr 2021

Great Vegan Brunch

I have only been for breakfast/brunch which has always been a positive experience. They have a few good vegan options and knowledge team that could probably help if you didn't see something you liked. I haven't utilized the patio area yet, but I love that they have it available for warmer months. A little pricey and not somewhere I would go often, but cute to check out and stop by on occasion.

Pros: Knowledgeable and helpful staff , Cool atmosphere , Good spot for brunch

Cons: Can get very busy and a little crowded, A little expensive

Advertisement

v4g4n

Points +388

Vegan
30 Mar 2021

Cute place, Fun to try once

The resturant was very bright and cute. The vegan options were interesting, however, it seems like most vegan dishes used a lot of the same flavors just in different dishes. A bit on the pricey end for quantity of food. Would make a good lunch date.

Pros: Good quantity of vegan options , Cute resturant

Cons: Reused flavors in all vegan dishes

AnaNuVegan

Points +109

Vegan
04 Jan 2021

Amazing Place

I felt like I transplanted elsewhere once I stepped in here. Bright and fun atmosphere. All the staff was friendly. They have unique drinks along with different plant milk options and local kombucha. The Daubigny's garden savory pancake was flavorful but a tad bit oily for my liking. I ordered the tofu scramble. The tofu scramble had a light curry sauce. It was a good portion and I would definitely order it again. Both options tasted great. I also had the death by dutch chocolate pancake - changed it from the regular pancake to vegan and the regular ice cream to vegan ice cream. It's nice that the restaurant has various vegan options for the breakfast menu and the lunch menu.

All in all, a great and pleasant experience.

Updated from previous review on 2021-01-04

Pros: Breakfast all day, Various vegan options, Unique hot beverages

spiceislandvegan

Points +959

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Yummy Dutch Cuisine

I had brunch with family (vegan and non-vegan) at this restaurant. It has plenty vegan options and they are yummy. I grew up with Dutch speaking parents and food in the house. My parents tried to have the kids speak Dutch too. This restaurant serves Dutch delicacies with vegan options. Dutch pancakes or pannenkoeken (thin pancake) can be made sweet or savory. Some can have ice cream on top(vegan or non-vegan). It was delicious. Everyone went overboard and ordered 2 items each from the menu. The restaurant makes their own syrup from pear, apple, and spices reduction which is called strop. Yummy! The best time to come is on a weekday morning. Weekends are crowded here.

Pros: Vegan options , Yummy, Nice decor

Zoermoos

Points +153

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Not the real thing! Too salty and oily. "

Modern and nicely decorated interior. Coffee was not so great. The food is way to salty and oily. As a Dutchman the food was really disappointing. It is a nice try, but nothing compared to the real Dutch or Indo Dutch cuisine.

Pros: Clean and there are vegan options.

Cons: Too oily, Too salty, Man, man, daar word je niet vrolijk van!

cruisinJr

Points +52

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

You’ll leave full

If you are a lover of flavor, this isn’t the place for you. Everything is pretty basic. The portions are serious.
Vegan cheese plate not worth it in my opinion.

Pros: Good portions., Hand full of vegan options.

Cons: Service is slow.

AHalsey

Points +71

Vegan
31 Jul 2019

Nice find while traveling

NYC feel eatery in the country with Vegan options.

Pros: Vegan options , Friendly staff, Beautiful atmosphere

Cons: A bit pricey for what you get, Staff not as knowledgeable as I would have liked

Eustasis

Points +91

Vegan
25 Mar 2019

Cute atmosphere and unique dishes

I go here frequently and have tried most of their vegan options. The food is pretty good, with the vegetable soup and tofu scramble being my favorite dishes. Sometimes the wait time can be long but they are very accommodating.

Pros: Vegan options clearly labeled , Cool atmosphere and very clean , Dutch cuisine

Cons: Wait times , Hours of operation (closed Monday)

cheerfulwoman

Points +82

Herbivore
08 May 2018

Will be back

We were pleasantly surprised to find this vegan-friendly place in Springfield. They even have a vegan cheese board! While there aren’t tons of options, there is a variety and it would be fun for tea and sweets or a full meal. Very clean and stylish interior. They even have vegan pancakes (their specialty can therefore be enjoyed by all), and a good vegan berry tart for dessert.

Pros: Vegan cheese board!, Friendly staff, Interesting menu

Cons: No vegan chocolate :)

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Springfield Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has VanGogh's Eeterie closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1454 times.