• Udupi Palace

  • (9)
    21
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Delivery
Take-out
Catering

Vegetarian Indian restaurant in Chicago featuring authentic South Indian vegetarian cooking. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-9:30pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-10:00pm, Sun 11:30am-9:30pm.


9 Reviews

First Review by mourn-me-in-skirt

Kiru

Points +85

Vegetarian
12 Sep 2023

Off night?

The service couldn't have been nicer or more prompt. But, was it an off night? Nothing that we ordered was good, simply put. The flavors were off, from the soup and appetizers to the Thali platter offerings and masala dosa (which was mostly crepe with a few spoonfuls of bland filling). We know Indian food...we love the offerings at Uru Swaati, Annapurna, Arya Bhavan.... but this was our first disappointing meal on Devon.

Pros: The servers were prompt and friendly

Cons: Nothing was up to scratch.

Advertisement

ap28

Points +53

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Best South Indian food in Chicago

This is the best South Indian food in Chicago - it’s the real deal. Lots of things may not be labeled as vegan but just are and other things can easily be made so.

Pros: Best South Indian food in Chicago! , Incredible flavor, Staff was so kind

PeterRabbitt

Points +34

Vegan
12 Aug 2018

Fantastic Lunch Specials!

Popped in while grabbing groceries on Devon, & wanted to indulge in a South Indian medley of dishes. I seached for the best place & Udupi Palace did not disappoint! I ordered a lunch special that came with 10 cute little dollops of curry, lentils, soup, saffron rice, chickpeas, vegan protein, & 2 types of bread.. amazing! At a
decent price.

Also, the restaurant was very clean with a pleasant atmosphere. The wait staff was super friendly, although I had to have one dish switched out because it had milk as the waiter wasn't sure completely what I meant by 'vegan '. But the other guy replaced it with no problem.

Overall, a very great experience & I can't wait to go back again!

Pros: Vegan options, nice atmosphere, friendly staff

GreenEyedMoFo

Points +78

Vegan
18 Jan 2018

Great Choices

I read that the service wasn't that great, but I had a great experience. I had to explain what vegan was, but the waiter was helpful and the food was delicious.

Alakhniranjan17

Points +25

Vegetarian
09 Jun 2017

Not a desired place for Indian food

Coconut chutney was full of water. Sambar was watered and green chillied in a tasteless manner. In totality, it was not a South Indian taste food. Needs improvement.

darae

Points +62

Vegetarian
26 Mar 2016

Love the food, not the service.

This review may be echoing what others have already said, but... I'll go ahead.

My husband and I visit this location nearly once per month, if we happen to be in the area. He is a huge fan of the floating idli appetizer, and both of us love the dosas too! We've also tried a couple of the rice dishes, and those are well-made also. Everything has the right amount of spice, unlike some Indian places that prefer to make things mild for the American customers.

On the other hand, the service here is pretty meh. Nobody's rude or anything, but they are mostly inattentive. Sometimes employees are just standing around...

Pros: spicy food!, south indian comforts, fair prices

Cons: inattentive service

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
22 Jan 2011

All Around Wonderful

Whenever I'm in the neighborhood, I love to stop in at Udupi Palace. It is so wonderful to be able to order anything on the menu. The dosai are always wonderful (it's a thin crepe filled with a variety of veggie delights). I cannot get enough of their uthappams -- I may have botched the spelling -- it's a huge thin indian pancake that u can get with a variety of veggie combos.

Also worth noting is that this place has always been clean when I've gone there. I have not found the same with other restaurants on the block.

The service is great. Setting is casual. Staff is welcoming, friendly and kind.

·X·

Points +17321

Vegan
28 Apr 2009

They cook the vegetables so well!!! ;)

I eat a lot of Indian food and I will say this place has done it right. Usually when I go to Indian restaurants the vegetables are so over cooked that the meal is just unpleasant. Udupi Palace cooked the vegetables perfectly (so they still had a crunch to them) and I felt the entrees were flavored well; however, I asked for my food very spicy and it wasn't up to my spicy standards. So if you'd like your food very spicy, you may want to strongly emphasize that point. Overall though, I can't wait to come back!!!

mourn-me-in-skirt

Points +40

Vegetarian
29 Mar 2008

Bring your non-veg friends here!

Brought 3 non-vegetarian friends to this restaurant, and they all loved the food. The food was fantastic, there was a ton of it, you can BYOB (IF you can find the single tiny hidden liquor store in the area). This place might be the cliche veg place on Devon, but I also think it really is the best one.




This page has been viewed 6090 times.